Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>
1990 Glenfarclas K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 12-20-2014
Another outstanding release from this fantastic Highland distillery! Even at 100 proof--I felt that this malt didn't need any water addition. The flavors are so mellow and integrated from age, the whisky is smooth as silk--more exquisite and elegant than most Scotch on the shelf. Light fig, caramel, coffee, and oak flavors dance behind a rich and malty core of deliciousness. Any fan of Highland whisky will love this very special release!
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival  
Review Date: 12-20-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I first tasted Poggiarellino’s 1999 Brunello in 2003, they were a tiny producer making a couple of hundred cases and I was looking to write about the northern portion of Montalcino, they just happened to fit geographically. We started to import their wines with the 2000 vintage and the quality of their wine grows every year. Since I first tasted the 2010 from their 25-hectoliter barrels I’ve been waiting for this day to offer it to you, it is simply the best wine they have ever made. When you first smell this wine the gamut of aromas is classic Poggiarellino, wild Marasca cherry, plum with a certain wild sauvage that the Italians call sotto bosco (the aroma of the forest floor). On the palate the wine shows a broad richness with a decisive tannic structure, not obtrusive or harsh just powerful, fine grain and shows the how big frame of this wine really is. The flavors reflect the aromatics, more Marasca cherry, with plum and red berry then hints of saddle leather followed by that sotto bosco intrigue. The wine’s rich powerful presence glides easily to the back of your palate with a long and elegant finish, impressive for such a powerful wine.
Drink from 2015 to 2030
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

1998 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja  
Review Date: 12-17-2014
Sultry only begins to describe this exquisite wine from Lesmos. Showing mulled raspberry and strawberry fruit on the nose, it quickly evolves into notes of leather (like really good expensive leather) and grilled chorizo. Beautiful spice and chalky notes round out the flavors. I've tasted the '98 several times and it has always impressed. This should continue to evolve for years to come but what an impressive wine it is right now.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1990 Glenfarclas K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 12-17-2014
Stunning. Has some similarities to the "Faultline Casks" bottling but with more refined flavors and more developed, savory rancio characters. The texture is supple and elegant. Whilst this doesn't seem to have the chewy texture and raw "youthful" exuberance of the 9-10 year old bottling, it oozes subtle flavor intensity, focus, and purity. The sherry quality shows a little drier and more nutty rather than sweet and fruity. A beautiful bottle and crazy good for the age / money in today's climate!
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Chateau St. Jean Sonoma Coast Chardonnay  
Review Date: 12-16-2014
Can you really teach an old dog new tricks? I don’t really know but I think that some old dogs are smart enough to pick some new things up as they go along. That is exactly what Chateau St. Jean did with this brand, spanking new Sonoma Coast bottling. (By the way please don’t confuse this with the Sonoma County bottling that is everywhere and is completely different.) To say that I was taken by surprise by this new wine would be an understatement. I was blown away by the amount of power and richness it had, all the while keeping true, cool weather Sonoma Coast acidity throughout. With a nose laced with apricots, crème brulee and persimmons, while having an underlying citrus backbone, this was completely appealing and felt really natural. On the palate comes waves of vanilla, baked apples, some crushed stone and a lovely white floral highlight. For the under $20 arena of Chardonnay it certainly does not get much better than this. I’d scoop this up before the powers that be at CSJ realize just how good this wine really is!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

Michel Arnould Verzenay Brut Rosé Champagne   | Approved
Review Date: 12-16-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Tasted this at the San Francisco store and promptly took one home for dinner. This is a great, and versatile, food wine. About 15% of the blend is vinified red, which gives it the stuffing to stand up to a variety of foods, but it is still elegant with persistent bubbles carrying the berry fruits along. Duck confit salad with cherries would be a perfect match. 100% Grand Cru Pinot Noir for $35? Yes, please!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape   | Approved
Review Date: 12-15-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is a very enjoyable wine. It has a savory game flavored richness, which I love. For those who like to drink Châteauneuf-du-Pape wines young, this should be right up your alley.

2013 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc   | Approved
Review Date: 12-15-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is a very delicious Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc! Rich, crisp and well layered. The combination of grapes work perfectly together. Enjoy this wine with a variety of fish or chicken dishes. This is also very easy to enjoy on its own.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 York Creek "Lake Block" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 12-15-2014
After the rousing success of past vintages and the first couple of Single Block offerings, the 2005 “Sunny Hill” and 2004 “Track,” both of which sold out in a matter of weeks if not days, we have another great wine in the pipeline. The 2007 “Lake Block” is the youngest wine we’ve worked with to date from York Creek. But don’t let that youth fool you, this is one amazing wine. Powerful and completely reminiscent of some of the great wines from Spring Mountain, this is a superstar Cabernet. Full of the minty, sage, chaparral, black currant and licorice aromas so often found on the upper echelon Cabernets from the region. This is unmistakably “mountain” Cab. With its adolescent, grainy tannins and a tight core of black fruit, spice box and pipe tobacco flavors on the mid-palate, this is certainly a wine that can age for another 10-15 years without issue. Just look at some of the other wines we’ve already sold from YC if you need a track record. However with a perfect rare steak or other hearty/braised meat dishes this is about as close to a wide open Steph Curry 3 pointer as you can get in the wine world. Automatic!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 York Creek Spring Mountain District Meritage  
Review Date: 12-15-2014
After the last few years I think just about everyone has heard us pontificating about just how good, and how insanely inexpensive, the York Creek wines are. Luckily for us and our thirsty customers, Fritz Maytag kept deep cellars over the years and still has plenty of wine for us to sell. After the rousing success of past vintages we just keep reloading because the wines are that good and you keep asking us for more. We’ve found an extra special treat to roll out this time: The 1995 Meritage. That’s right... we are wildly excited to sell this wine, which was made when Clinton was president, people went to see Waterworld just because of Costner, and somehow Hootie and the Blowfish sold like seven million copies of a record. Luckily this wine has aged much better than at least those last couple things. Still vibrant and with a lovely bouquet of dried rose petals, new leather and red currants, this is a wine that is a testament to just how well California wines can age over long periods of time. With a solid entry of sweet black tea, fresh tobacco, cocoa powder, spearmint and dried blackberries, this is one complex and likeable wine that is just about perfect for folks that are fans of more mature wines. Fully meshed and with little to no desiccation of fruit, this is just great old wine for a silly price. Think Toy Story rather than Jumanji and Radiohead’s The Bends over anything from Silverchair.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Lafage "Grande Cuvée" Côtes du Roussillon Rosé   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 12-14-2014
What a gorgeous rose. Bright strawberry, blood orange, & lemon dance across your palate. The texture is creamy yet finishes with a tangy, vibrant acidity. Brilliant!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart RP 94 BC 0

2012 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé   | Approved
Review Date: 12-13-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is a very elegant, easy to drink rose. Crisp and refreshing...perfect for Christmas and New Year's Eve holiday parties!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 12-12-2014
The Faust is rich and decadent. Ripe cherries, raspberries, mocha and soft cedar envelop your palate and warm your heart.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 12-12-2014
Sophisticated and supple. Yes, the second label from Quintessa has done it yet again. The Faust Cabernet is pure and straightforward. Black currant, cassis and blackberry fruit on the nose, with just a wisp of toast. Fresh minerals and finely integrated tannins make this Napa classic very drinkable now or easily cellarable for the next 5+ years or so.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 12-12-2014
This Estate Pinot Noir from Mount Edward is a very pretty and elegant style, and is a steal at this price. The red fruits in this wine are very soft, and have a pretty floral note. It is balanced out with baking spice and vanilla flavors with soft tannins. This is a great style of Pinot Noir for salmon.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>