Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>
2013 Akitu "A2" Pinot Noir Central Otago (White Label)  
Review Date: 3-28-2015
Serious, interesting and delicious Pinot for about $20? It doesn't seem to happen often enough so when we tried this I had to stop and do a double take. The wine is driven with a solid core of mineral laced acidity that has gorgeous layers of dark fruit and subtle earthy spice wrapped around it. It is has depth and a unique sense of place, and this is the entry level wine for this estate!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Antaño Reserva Rioja  
Review Date: 3-28-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Deeply colored, this exceptionally produced Rioja Reserva is loaded with curranty to cassis-like fruit qualities with a creamy, mocha undertone on the nose. All of these excellent qualities carry over well across a broad, lush, bright, flashy palate impression with expansive and deep flavors. The finish is long and warm. You can consume this Gem near-term if you want, but it will age another five to ten years easily. Tons depth and complexity! Rusty has ordered me bring several cases of this Gem home for our enjoyment for the next three to ten years. Exceptional vintage, exceptional value! 13.5% ABV
Drink from 2015 to 2025
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

1995 Miltonduff 19 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 3-28-2015
An inviting noise that is expressive, floral and maltly. In the mouth this Miltonduff is pure, round and refreshing. Michale Jackson, the great whiskey writer, used to describe single malts sometimes as resorative, and I think that that is what this single malt is.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Mortlach 7 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 3-28-2015
This young Mortlach has a lot to offer. It has a pretty aromas that are sweet and floral.It is pure, lively, and soft with a sweet core of maltly flavors. This is one single malt that is hard to put down.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Caol Ila 5 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 3-28-2015
This is a lovely Caol Ila. It has some nice smoke in the noise but not too much. It is light bodied and very easy to drink. There is a pretty fruity finish. I think that this a single malt to drink and enjoy anytime.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Pinot Noir Marlborough New Zealand   | Approved
Review Date: 3-27-2015
This is probably one of my favorite value wines. As New Zealand pinots gain the recognition they deserve, the prices have begun to reflect the wines, but Henri Bourgeois's Petit Clos pinot from Marlborough is an exception. Here we have a lovely wine with characteristic bright cherry and strawberry notes, a generous, soft body, and great balance. Yet somehow it's still only 15.99!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2014 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza  
Review Date: 3-27-2015
Yet another tasty, crisply red fruited Malbec from Elsa Bianchi. One of our most popular Malbecs, year in, year out.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-27-2015
Pour me a glass of Launois Champagne any day, and I'll be happy. The 2006 Special Club is a richer, fuller style with plenty for all to enjoy. Save this one for a special occasion.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena  
Review Date: 3-27-2015
This is a very quaffable red, as usual per this cooperative in the Cariñena D.O., locate in Aragon, the heart and Spain's extensive plantings of Garnacha. Red fruit flavors abound, and at 12.5% ABV this is fresh and easy to drink.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Del Professore Vermouth 750ml  
Review Date: 3-27-2015
Looking for a great Spring Time Apertif? This is semi off-dry Italian White Vermouth is soo delicous and refreshing! Its a great option for someone who wants something a little different than there typical Litllet Blanc or similar. I love it over the rocks with a twist of lemon or other citrus! I will be enjoying this all summer!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Venus "El Ladron" Blue Agave Spirit 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-27-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Pure Agave encapsulated in a spirit. Fresh, spicy, peppery, Aloe juice, yellow florals. Incredible soft, viscous texture, supple and pure. I get salinity again here...I have found this a few Venus Distilling products...perhaps it relates to the address just a few hundred years from Santa Cruz's rugged coast? Great stuff!
Top Value!
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1996 Tobermory 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-27-2015
This K&L exclusive bottling comes from Tobermory’s unpeated stocks but still shows earthy and savory characteristics. A nose of toffee, salt and nuts combine with a palate of malt, sea salt and herbs makes for one of my favorite whiskies of the year!
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Kalex Pinot Noir Central Otago   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-27-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Really interesting wine. This is carefully and very deliberately made to be a true "Central Otago" Pinot. By this is mean winemaker Theo Coles selects fruit from top vineyard sites in various sub-regions of Central Otago (combining warm areas / cool areas, schist soil, clay soil, glacial deposits and different aspects). Therefore what you get here is not a snapshot of one site or a particular sites specific terroir, but rather a broader more inclusive flavor composition of the region as a whole. The hope is that the whole expression will be greater than the sum of it's parts, and I think Theo has done a great job synthesizing these elements together. The wine is very powerful and masculine in structure (60% whole cluster) with dark spicy berry fruits, plum, briary notes, clove and struck stone. The wine has considerable extract but is not sweet or too viscous, just powerful and brooding. With air the wine gains some nice floral high notes which help give lift and hint at the wines potential a few years along. This is very serious, ambitious and dense Cental Otago Pinot that is worth checking out.
Drink from 2016 to 2025
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine du Tariquet "Classic" Cotes de Gascogne Blanc  
Review Date: 3-27-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Distinctive aromas of lime-zest and dandelion greens, which carry over in the mouth to a really crisp, clean, mouthwatering set of flavors. From Southwestern French regional, this Gem is comprised of Ugni Blanc [hey, Wente Brothers use to call this varietal Grey Riesling back when I first started in this business many, many, many years ago and they even allocated it], Colombard, Sauvignon Blanc, and Cros Manseng [native grape to that area] and provides a wonderful bright, flashy finish with a slate-like mineral note. This Gem is a go-to wine when you want to serve shellfish or lighter seafood dishes. The Bean has informed me that I need to bring home this delicious wine in case lots. Don’t miss it! ....... 10.5% ABV
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 La Cabotte "Colline" Côtes du Rhône   | Approved
Review Date: 3-26-2015
The 2013 "Colline" Cotes Du Rhone is a great effort to produce great quality table wine while offering it at a more than fair price. This biodynamic wine has a dark crimson/purple hue with dark cherries and spice on the nose following through with great length and grip on the palate. With rich, ripe fruit and smooth medium tannins, pick up a few of these gems for everyday enjoyment with friends and family. 14% ABV.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>