Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8  9 10  next  >>
2012 Bodegas Castano "Solanera Vinas Viejas" Yecla  
Review Date: 7-10-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Boom! Another knock-out value from Spain, the 2012 Castano Vinas Viejas Solanera Red is sensational. A blend of 70% Monastrell(Mourvedre), 15% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Garnacha the 2012 Castano Solanera has an exceptional nose of dried plum, spices, fresh berries and just a hint of iodine while the palate is densely packed with black pepper, cassis, licorice and blackberry fruit. Great length coupled with good energy and a long finish give this wine a distinctively aristocratic feel while keeping a modest price of only $13.99. A case-worthy buy if there ever was one, the Castano Solanera is the perfect wine for entertaining a crowd or for drinking well on a tight budget!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart RP 94 BC 0

2012 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino  
Review Date: 7-10-2014
This is drinking GREAT ! right now and will over the next couple of years (but only if you can keep your hands off it and keep some in the cellar). Here is a wine that packs a wallop and lots of bang for your buck all in one! Give this rosso about an hour to open up and stand back, on the palate you will find strawberries and black cherries, a little bitter coco and some toasty oak & vanilla, fine tannins and a hint of Montalcino dust on the long finish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 7-10-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Iíve been tasting Ferreroís wines for a decade and I really think this is one of the best balanced Brunello that winemaker/owner Pablo Härri has made and from the first time I tasted it this wine put a smile on my face! Aromatically focused, the ripe plum is very inviting and it gives the impression of freshness. The flavors are clean, tight plum with hints of smoked meats in the background but the really impressive portion of the wine is its palate presence, supple, soft, round but with enough tannic tension to buoy the wine and keep extending it to a long and vibrant aftertaste. Really easy (and so pleasurable) to drink now, Iíd have it with a more complex meaty pasta dish or just about anything meaty off the grill!
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Brangero "Monvigliero" Barolo  
Review Date: 7-9-2014
This wine is so stunning. I've been enjoying it for two days, and it continues to evolve and morph into pure pleasure. Soft and seductive on the palate, intriguing nose, begging for a grilled pork chop with a cherry compote or rack of lamb charred over rosemary twigs and eaten off the bone.
Price: $66.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

2012 Ridge "Three Valleys" Sonoma County Zinfandel Blend  
Review Date: 7-9-2014
This is surprisingly a softer style of Ridge than I've seen in vintages past, which means it's super food-friendly and accessible for every occasion!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Daou Vineyards "Seventeen Forty" Paso Robles Bordeaux Blend  
Review Date: 7-9-2014
I'm loving this Cabernet Franc based blend from Paso! The reason is that 2011 being a cooler vintage, the fruit is much prettier and showier without the over-ripe, reductive raisiny quality that so many big Paso reds struggle with vintage to vintage. Lots of gorgeous violet, blue fruit, spice, and soft velvety tannins that keep your palate balanced and loving every sip! Drinking great now no need to wait!

2013 Bodkin "The Victor's Spoils - Sandy Bend Vineyard" Lake County Sauvignon Blanc  
Review Date: 7-9-2014
Fresh, lively, bright, subtle citrus-stone fruit, and low alcohol! What more could one ask for a perfect summer Sauv Blanc! I love that it isn't grassy or oaky, its very much in the Loire style, and the price is perfect!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2006 Ch‚teau des Tours Vacqueyras   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-9-2014
With a lovely light red, almost brick color, you can see this wine has seriously developed. The nose reflects its light appearance with bright fruits like fresh cherry, candied orange peel and cranberry. The palate provides flavors of candied fruits with nice acidity for balance, fresh tobacco, cedar and a dry, almost amaro, finish. Open this bottle with pâté or gamey meats.

2013 Bodkin "The Victor's Spoils - Sandy Bend Vineyard" Lake County Sauvignon Blanc  
Review Date: 7-9-2014
Plain and simple I was shocked when I tasted the 2013 Bodkin "The Victor's Spoils -Sandy Bend Vineyard" Lake County Sauvignon Blanc. Why? Because in all my years in this business I canít remember ever tasting a Domestic Sauvignon Blanc that was this close to the wines of the Loire. From the intense minerality and slight oiliness on the nose to the laser-like acidity and leafy, slate-y, grapefruit, quince and lemon rind on the palate this is a dead ringer for Sancerre or Pouilly Fume for a fraction of the cost. Hell, even some of our most Francophillic employees were raving about this wine after trying it. Seriously if you love Loire Sauvignon Blanc this is a must try, I think youíll be as floored as I was.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2011 Alberto Nanclares "Dandelion" AlbariŮo Rias Baixas   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of the best Albarinos I have tasted, period! This is not a wine for those afraid of a little acidity. It has laser-like focus and a firm acid line...but that is what I love about it. It's pure, racy, mineral-infused and zesty. The wine is fleshed out just a touch by a lovely, slightly raw leesy element that adds a nice savory grain or yeasty edge to the citrus blossom and purity of fruit. Serious wine to contemplate. A real benchmark wine for me.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Carlos Diaz "Estrela" Ribeira Sacra   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-8-2014
Amazing value thanks to Joe's direct buy! A fresh wine with lots of floral notes, juicy raspberry fruit, lots of fresh spices, a hint of green tobacco and some darker edges of blackcurrant. There is a a real purity to the wine with some soil nuances coming through to add complexity to the eminently drinkable juicy fruit.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Brangero "Monvigliero" Barolo   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
My best descriptor for this wine is "authentic." Unfortunately this does very little to characterize the wine. It does however relate to how the French often compliment wine in a way that doesn't translate very well into English. They often say a wine is "typique" or "typical." While this could be taken as meaning "standard" or even "average" a more suitable translation is that the wine is a true reflection of its place and history. For me this wine from Brangero speaks purely of the soil from which it grew, unadorned by winemaking tricks and manipulation. This "sense of place" is often pretty much impossible to put into words so you are just going to have to buy a bottle and see how it speaks to you personally.
Drink from 2016 to 2036
Price: $66.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

2010 Oddero Barolo   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Lovely wine showing the purity and focus of the vintage. The 2010s are not showing as the biggest most masculine wines that often garner high scores. Instead they seem to be about purity, drive and subtle but substantial power. This wine has all the hallmarks of great Barolo, some floral highlights, dark fruit, scorched earth, worn leather and actually some quite exotic clove and cumin spice with sandalwood accents. The tannins are present but are long, fine silky chains that are not at all aggressive after being beautifully refined for years in large wood vessels. Classic Barolo in a very polished package.
Drink from 2014 to 2030
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

2012 Envinate "Lousas" Vino de Aldea Ribeira Sacra   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A great nose of hard ground spices, clove, anise, nutmeg and sandalwood leads you into polished dark berries, purple fruit, plum and even blackberry. There is cedar, and cigar box also. A complex wine that keeps revealing new elements with every sniff. On the palate it is vibrant and dynamic. Mid-weight with plenty of structure but nothing too astringent. The wine broadens and picks up density towards the back end as more layers emerge. A rich and layered wine focused into a remarkably elegant package. Another standout Ribeira Sacra from a recent tasting.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Seghesio Barolo   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-8-2014
Wow what a great intro to Barolo at a steal of a price! Fresh accessible bramble fruits, spice, supple leather and fine tannins. Very much a mid-weight wine, pretty, floral and elegant but with plenty enough structure and grip to go with rich foods. This wine shows the brightness and quality of the 2010 Barolo vintage without breaking the bank or requiring you to wait half a lifetime to drink it!
Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8  9 10  next  >>