Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8  9 10  next  >>
2003 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc (375ml)  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Perfect size for one from a ripe and sexy vintage. Old school style meets hot vintage equals delicious.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A perfect wine just like the 2009. Classic 100 point wine for one fourth of the first growth prices.
Drink from 2020 to 2050

2010 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
This is drinking beautifully now and will age gracefully over the next 5-10 years as well. No expense spared by the folks at Amici Wines to make the absolute best wines possible for the price! Dark, rich, supple, juicy, with integrated oak and polished tannins on the finish. This is always a staff favorite!

2012 Krutz Family Cellars "Magnolia Series" Napa Valley Zinfandel  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
A Napa Valley Zinfandel for $19.99 ? Very impressive indeed. This Zinfandel is not for the faint of heart. It's a big boy with a lot of big dark fruit, big spice and a multiple layers of flavor. The wine also has amazing backbone which balances out the lush fruit giving this wine great character. Krutz Family Cellars was started by Patrick Krutz back in 2003. A young man from Jackson, Mississippi who came West to find his dream. He found it in the wine business. I have been a fan of the winery and Patrick for several years. The first wine we brought in from them was a 2006 Cabernet Sauvignon. Over the years, we have brought in many different varietals from many different area of California. Patrick continues to find great fruit sources and the wines continue to get better and better. In 2011, two of Patrick's brothers joined the Company and now it truly is a family affair.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2009 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Fabulous vintage and my favorite property for many years
Drink from 2016 to 2036

2010 McClean X "Simone" Paso Robles Zinfandel  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
I'm not the first person to jump up when someone pours a Paso Robles Zinfandel. However, this wine was a real surprise both in its ripeness and its structure.Dark blue fruit intermingled with hints of red fruit, tobacco, clove and chocolate. The wine is well integrated with great depth and length. This is a Zinfandel several steps ahead of other wines in its price point. Very limited. Get it while you can.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

Glenmorangie Túsail Limited Edition Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
The Glenmo Tusail has been a decade in the making. This is not some hodgepodge blend of differently aced barrels, this is a whisky that was conceived of 10 years ago, brought to fruition with floor malted barley, and laid to rest, creating a Malt that is truly unique. The Maris Otter barley gives an amazingly nappy texture, delivering notes of vanilla and baking spice in a palate coating luxury. The bourbon barrel aging allows all the complexity of the Scotch to shine without covering it up with pure wood notes. Candied ginger and sweet lemon zest make for a delicious dram.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Lewis Cellars "Reserve" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Big, bright and intense Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon with plenty of cedar, vanilla and clove. This is a giant of a wine that can drink early or hold for 3-5 years.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenfiddich 12 year old Signature Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
A Classic Malt in every aspect of the term. Clean and bright, a touch of honeysuckle, a kiss of vanilla sweetness, this malt has a little bit of something for everyone. A soft entry gives an easy going feel, on the palate dried fruits, honey and heather give added complexity, the finish is composed and not harsh in any way. A staple.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

Santa Teresa 1796 Ron Antiguo de Solera Rum, Venezuela 750ml  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
A demandingly decadent Rum, full of dark hued flavors of maple and brown sugar. The Santa Teresa is a wonderfully balanced rum with years of solera aging to create a spirit that is past the complexity of a single age statement. A nose of maple cake and burnt sugar. Vanilla cream runs throughout adding a beautifully sweet crescendo to a long and lush finish.

2011 Raymond Fabre Crozes-Hermitage  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
It's Wednesday night, right, so maybe you're in the mood for a big juicy bacon, mushroom and swiss burger to go along with that latest big juicy action flick, Spiderman vs. Speedoman or Ironman Finally Rusts 7, but what wine do you pour? Something with rich, mouthwatering flavor and just enough sinew to compete with the endless earth-shattering explosions onscreen. Since I track the Northern Rhone like a drone and just opened this Crozes-Hermitage, well....it's a medium-built, savory Syrah with impressive aromas and notes of bright cherry-red fruit, garrigue and licorice, with a welcome tinge of pepper and minerality on the solid finish. So bring on the monster cheeseburger and silly spandex superheroes, this supertasty red wine can handle 'em, and with no special effects needed.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1976 Couly Dutheil "Baronnie Madeleine" Chinon  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
I can’t believe how well this wine is holding up! Unlike me, this 1976er is aging gracefully and with class. Such sweet fruit on the nose with touches of tobacco, strawberry and earth.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Château Musar Rouge Bekaa Valley  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
The wines from Musar continue to fascinate me again and again. I find this wine absolutely intriguing. It truly has the ability to make you think and ponder about how much we don’t know. Young now with lots of life ahead of it.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

2013 Bernier Chardonnay Val de Loire  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
If you’re looking for the perfect party white, look no further. Very inexpensive and easy to drink. Light, crispy, refreshing with just a kiss of Chardonnay richness...
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Josef Leitz "Dragonstone" Riesling  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
My favorite vintage of “Draggy” yet! This shows all of the textural power and drive that came along with the 2013 vintage while retaining freshness and vibrancy - a really nice example of the vintage. But, most importantly this is a quintessential porch slammer.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8  9 10  next  >>