Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8  9 10  next  >>
2013 Domaine Guindon Muscadet Coteaux de la Loire Sur Lie  
Review Date: 8-27-2014
There is a common misconception about wine geeks that we spend a lot of money on wine. And while we might be willing to pony up more cash for a special bottle, many of us look for everyday drinking wines that over-deliver for the price. This Muscadet sings! Packed with peachy, nectarine fruit, with a musky undercurrent and a mineral/saline finish. More going on than your average crushed oyster shell Muscadet.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé  
Review Date: 8-27-2014
This is not a simple summer rosé--I plan on having a few bottles on my table at Thanksgiving this year. I love its pretty, citrusy, strawberry-inflected nose. Juicy blood orange, wild strawberry and cherry fruit are strung together on the palate with tangy acidity. Delightful.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Franck Millet Sancerre Rouge  
Review Date: 8-27-2014
This is an unbelievably filigreed Pinot Noir. Lacy plum and rose petal aromas. On the palate this is juicy and delicious, the kind of wine I want at the table every night. Stunning.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Pascal Janvier "Cuvée du Rosier" Coteaux du Loir Rouge  
Review Date: 8-27-2014
Janvier is one of my favorite Loire Valley producers--see note on vintages of his Cuvee Silex, usually one of my top wines each year. But I was taken aback by this rouge, made entirely from Pineau d'Aunis. Even paler in color than the Reynouard version I also tried today, it was also even more fragrant. Notes of cola, raspberry, raspberry leaves and cedar carry over to the palate, which is taut and bright, with a firm grip on the finish. A red wine with the acidity of a white. Try it with a bit of a chill on it.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Guillaume Reynouard "K Sa Tête" Pineau d'Aunis  
Review Date: 8-27-2014
I was enchanted by this wine's pretty cranberry/rose petal hue, and once the slight hint of sulfur blew off, equally enchanted with the wine's peppery, red fruited nose. It dances on the palate, with light, tart cherry and cranberry fruit, a squeeze of citrus, and a vein of taut acidity that ties everything together.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Venus Spirits Gin 750ml  
Review Date: 8-27-2014
This one is coming home with me! I love it when a local, small production product delivers not just quality, but also excellent value. The wonderful, creamy texture of this gin is balanced by high toned citrus and grounded by clean juniper. I can't wait to get some fever tree tonic, lime and obnoxiously large ice cubes into this... It will be hard just to have one.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

La Cigarrera Manzanilla Sanlucar de Barrameda (375ml)   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 8-27-2014
A true Manzanilla with a bouquet full of oysters, clams and salted toffee. A flavor intense palate of oceanic salt and seaweed, peanut butter, bitter almonds and squash. Impeccable quality, a crazy value. What a steal!!!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

El Maestro Sierra Fino Jerez de la Frontera (375ml)   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 8-27-2014
At this stage, this delicate Fino has subtle notes of pecans, fresh apples, pie crust, and toasted pumpkin seeds with a mildly salty palate of butterscotch, almonds and bitter orange peel. Great companion to a tomato, basil salad!

2010 Mount Langi Ghiran "Billi Billi" Shiraz Grampians Victoria   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 8-26-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A great deal in Shiraz. From the cooler climate of the Grampians Mountain range in Victoria, this is a balanced style of Shiraz with plenty of fruit and concentration but also great structure and brightness. Mostly red fruited with some meat and black pepper nuances. Good mineral structure from the granitic soils and long, temperate growing season. Mt. Langhi's high end wines have a long held reputation of utmost quality but this entry level bottle shows they can hold their own in the value category as well! Fantastic value at $9.99! Crazy!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2013 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 8-26-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Screaming deal! Rich, medium-full bodied Pinot with great purity of fruit and silky smooth texture. Lots of exotic dark red fruits, toasted spices, suave oak, bramble fruit and cocoa dust. Really packs lot of flavor for such an inexpensive bottle, drinks above it's price point for powerful Pinot. Perfectly ripe and rich but without too much Alc (only 13.5%). Direct from the Importer pricing and big points means this is deal to be snapped up ASAP!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

1989 Lanessan, Haut-Medoc  
Review Date: 8-25-2014
I am glad that I wasn’t given this wine blind, because I would have missed it entirely. It was an impressive dark color and looked quite young in the glass. The bouquet had an amazing aroma of lavender in it, and that combined with a warm earthiness made it a dead ringer for old-fashioned Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Since my experience has taught me that first impression is always the most accurate when tasting blind, I would have blurted out Châteauneuf-du-Pape… And been dead wrong! The seamless, medium-bodied texture of the wine was all claret, and it lead into a mineral strewn, lively, long finish. I have often heard the term “exotic” applied to the very warm and ripe 1989 vintage, and now I know why. This is a truly exotic Bordeaux, but without the excess baggage of alcohol, wood and clumsy thickness that one usually has to endure to get that exoticism. If you have occasion to drink a special bottle of claret, this is a great candidate!
Drink from 2014 to 2029
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 8-25-2014
Classic Pinot Noir cherry aromas are followed by delicious, medium-bodied cherry flavors. This wine is tasty alone or with chicken, salmon or vegetarian dishes. A great value for lovers of California Pinot Noirs.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino  
Review Date: 8-25-2014
The best Rosso that I have tasted so far this year. It has the classic cherry aromas and flavors that are balanced and dry. This is a delicious wine and will go great with Italian-inspired foods.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago  
Review Date: 8-25-2014
This is another top flight Pinot from Central Otago, and a new one in our portfolio as well. In fact, I was drinking this wine in downtown Napa five hours before the quake hit. So, it could have been the last wine I was to have drank in my glorious and wine-filled life. And that would have been just fine and without any regrets! The nose shows purity of fruit with dark plum and black cherry abundantly displayed with notes of earth and dried orange peel. On the palate, the wine is juicy, with good drive, structure and fine, supple tannins that lead to a long finish. Truly a lovely bottle of Pinot Noir.

Villa Sandi "Il Fresco" Rosé  
Review Date: 8-25-2014
This light pink bubbly is dry and refreshing. It is full of live and energy and should add sparkle to any occasion. It will go well with light foods or alone.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8  9 10  next  >>