Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8  9 10  next  >>
1993 Macallan 21 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 2-27-2015
Macallan fans will still love this, even though it might just open their minds a little. Not as sweet and sherried like many Macallans, it still has enough richness to keep the Macallan faithful happy. It is dense and floral, but dry, with thick flavors of caramel and coffee.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Miltonduff 19 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 2-27-2015
You don't get much more quintessential Highland than this, and it's a little more restrained than Hepburn's Craigellachie. This malt is spicy and citrus laden, with subtle chocolate, chili, and cinnamon flavors and a touch of oak.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Enmore 25 Year Old Faultline K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Rum 750ml  
Review Date: 2-27-2015
My favorite of the Faultline rums we just brought in. This beauty is rich and creamy, with loads of vanilla and spice and a long, sweet finish. Fans of dense, older rum will love this!
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2000 Gruaud Larose, St-Julien   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 2-27-2015
The people who know my palate and eating habits will say this: "there is nothing she wouldn't try once, and when it comes to wine, the dirtier the better." I had the honor to taste through 15 different vintages of 2000 Bordeaux earlier this week and I have to say the Gruaud Larose (very generously provided by our colleague Sean Fernandez) was right up my alley with the earthy, dusty, forest floor and mineral mouthfeel; it still has so much body and power and could lay down for another 10+ years, in my opinion.

2000 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 2-27-2015
I had the honor to join the 2000 Bordeaux wine dinner hosted for K&L employees earlier this week and taste through 16 amazing wines from many different regions and price points. I've always like the price-to-quality ratio for Malescot St-Exupery and their consistency through the years, and the 2000 vintage definitely did not disappoint. It was very approachable and showed a warm, rich and round mouthfeel and a touch of red clay mineral on the finish. Smooth, elegant and very well put-together, it's a great wine to drink now or keep in your cellar for a few more years!

2000 La Gaffelière, St-Emilion   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 2-27-2015
Wow, I was impressed by how much this wine stands up in a lineup of 16 great 2000 vintage Bordeaux we had earlier this week. A lot of Bordeaux collectors I know tend to shy away from the Right Bank because of the general conception that Merlot (which is used mostly in the Right Bank of Bordeaux) is "softer," not as age-worthy and such... Well, you must give this bottle a try. The wine shows firm tannins, powerful intensity, high complexity and a long finish. It hardly showed any sign of a 15-year old-wine. I would highly recommend aging for at least 5 more years before drinking.

2013 Sharp Zombie Rioja   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 2-27-2015
It's hard to beat the value that this wine brings for under $10. Succulent red fruits, peppery spice, and light floral notes are all present on the palate. This'll ease up those dreary weekday nights in a snap. Fun to have while watching the Walking Dead, Shaun of the Dead, or any of the plethora of zombie shows out there.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Masseria del Feudo "Il Giglio" Nero d'Avola  
Review Date: 2-27-2015
Amazing palate full of juicy red fruit with hints of spice and sweet herbs. Perfect for an evening of family-style pasta or pizza.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $13.99
BC 0

2013 Cane & Fabel 373 Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 2-27-2015
This is an amazing $20 California Cab! The palate is loaded with tons of blue and purple fruit with hints of tobacco spice and sweet toast. This wine continues to please with a full bodied palate that can only be described as luscious.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Lewis Cellars "Barcaglia Lane" Russian River Valley Chardonnay  
Review Date: 2-27-2015
Rarely do I ever say this about a California Chardonnay, but the 2013 Lewis Cellars "Barcaglia Lane" RRV Chardonnay is beautiful. Over the top oaky, butter-bombs are at the bottom of my list and it's always a true pleasure when I find a Cali Chard that dares to veer away from that style. The Barcaglia Lane is elegant, sophisticated and in the best way possible, understated. Loaded with notes of tropical fruit and Asian spice, this Cali Chard is sure to please the adventurous Chardonnay drinker that is looking for something unique and special.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino   | Approved
Review Date: 2-27-2015
Surprisingly approachable right now, the 2009 Saporoia has a soft texture and comfortable acidity integration for an elegant but still substantial and well-structured Brunello. Deep, ripe strawberry and red cherry, hints of leather, minty spices, and a satisfyingly savory finish make for perfect pairing with lamb meatballs or a Bolognese ragu.

Maker's Mark Cask Strength Bourbon 375ml  
Review Date: 2-26-2015
I can promise you that every store from here to Bangor, Maine is sick and tired of the question, "Do you guys have any Pappy?" The only question even more frustrating that that one is: "What do you have that tastes like Pappy?" Not because it's a stupid question, but mainly because there isn't anything available that even remotely tastes like Pappy that isn't Pappy. Except the Maker's Mark Cask Strength Bourbon. Now HERE is a whiskey that DOES rather taste like Pappy. The only problem is getting your hands on some. Big power, creamy texture from the wheat, and bold spice on the finish. This is something you can hang your hat on if you're tired of the Pappy hunt. If you ask me, the MM cask strength is even better than many of the younger Van Winkle expressions.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ronco Blanchis Pinot Grigio Collio  
Review Date: 2-26-2015
This is what Pinot Grigio is all about. The Collio in northwest part of Italy, they are producing the most distinctive whites. This wine over delivers for the price! This has a great intensity of floral and stone fruit on the nose. Great acidity but with a surprising weight on the palate. Great freshness and tanginess with a very long finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé  
Review Date: 2-26-2015
Before Champagne,there was sparkling wine in Limoux, France. Talk about getting it right! Antech Emotion Rose is the perfect accompaniment to any occasion. Fresh berries and lively bubbles jump out of the glass. Dry and medium bodied on the palate. Lovely red fruit and slight toast leading to a long lasting finish! All this for half the price of Champange. Buy it buy the case.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja  
Review Date: 2-26-2015
I love Rioja! With a vintage like 2005 you can't go wrong. This is very traditional bottle with wonderful earth and spice. The oak is very well integrated, so it is not over powering the plush fruit and spice on the palate. Rounded out by good acidity and super dry finish. Perfect for lamb or the next taco truck you hit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8  9 10  next  >>