Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8 9  10  next  >>
Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne  
Review Date: 1-3-2015
This is composed of a third each Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Meunier from Mr. Le Brunís estate, and nearly every wine in this blend has gone through malolactic. This Champagne has a rich bready nose from the over 20 months it has aged on the lees and some very nice savory qualities as well. In the mouth the high quality Meunier gives this wine great roundness as well as some tasty baked apple flavors. The cool climate Chardonnay and Pinot Noir show their stuff on the dry, long finish. It is dosed at 6g/l.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $34.99
BC 0

Colonel E.H. Taylor, Jr. Small Batch Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon 750ml  
Review Date: 1-3-2015
The E.H. Taylor series is an interesting side project from the Buffalo Trace distillery portfolio (Eagle Rare, Weller, Elmer T Lee, Pappy, etc) offering a drier, less sweet profile than what many of us expect from Bourbon. For me, the Taylor Small Batch 100 proof is the most intriguing of the series; truly a grainy and evocative Bourbon that goes from oak, to oil, to sweet corn, and then back to a dry grainy finish. For me personally, the whiskey is great on the rocks, but really shines in a Manhattan or Old Fashioned. The 50% helps bump up the flavor, allowing it to hold its own with the added sweetness, and the drier profile doesn't add too much extra sugar. The oak and corn flavors are really well balanced as well, creating a back and forth of sweet vanilla and baking spices that goes on forever even after you drink it down. It's a fun change of pace from the standard Bourbon fare and a chance to really delve deep into the complexity that Bourbon can offer. There's a lot going on in this whiskey; perhaps more than you're really looking for. Each time I taste it I find something I didn't taste the previous time. It's almost like the Boigneires Armagnac equivalent; that's a brandy that cuts out all the sweetness and gets right down to the core flavor. It's the Bourbon version of that.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Seikyo "Omachi" Junmai Ginjo Sake 720ml  
Review Date: 12-31-2014
A real treat for sake lovers - a chance to try a sake made from the historic "Omachi" rice rather than the dominant "Yamada Nishiki" variety. Fat and spicy with hints of melon and grapefruit.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Tozai "Typhoon" Futsu Sake 720ml  
Review Date: 12-31-2014
Our best value futsu-shu. Soft, round and fruity. Delicious either chilled or gently warmed.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne  
Review Date: 12-31-2014
The current disgorgement of the Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne is perhaps a little firmer, a little less open knit than previous bottlings. But the tradeoff is more focus, more purity, and more length. Quite dry, but with remarkable sweetness of fruit and a light toast that adds depth and character. The ideal New Year's Eve companion - complex enough to be interesting but not so serious as to dominate the conversation.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico  
Review Date: 12-30-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
From one of the top Chianti producers and a direct import for us, this lovely Chianti Classico is deeply colored, offers an opulent nose of currents, blackberry and anise fruit with just a touch of wood, all of which carries over well in its nicely integrated, viscous, superbly complex palate impression. Excellent and complete mid-range, this Gem finishes with a long, warm feel. Rusty has informed me that we need cases of this Gem to consume over the course of the next three to five years. 13.5% ABV
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

St. George Pear Brandy 750ml  
Review Date: 12-29-2014
This eau de vie is packed full of happiness. If you like pears and booze, this is a wonderful combination. There are expressive pear aromas followed by nice clean and dry pear flavors. Great alone, but I bet some creative cocktails could be made with this product.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Dewatsuru Kimoto Junmai Sake 720ml  
Review Date: 12-29-2014
This exceptional Junmai (no added alcohol and a seimaibuai of 65%) is made in the original, or "kimoto" style. It is more painstaking, labor-intensive, and time-consuming than using more modern techniques, but the result is a creamier, more complex, more savory style of sake that pairs well with robust dishes like fried foods, grilled meats, or aged cheeses. This semi-dry sake is nutty and creamy with hints of oyster mushroom and roasted chestnut. If you have never tried the kimoto or yamahai style, this is a superb introduction.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Villa Pillo Sangiovese Toscana (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)  
Review Date: 12-29-2014
The nose is classic ripe cherries and strawberries and a hint of cocoa powder. On the palate of this medium-bodied wine, you will find the fruit described above, with a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and an incredible long finish. Turn down the heat in your house; this will keep you warm on chilly winter evenings!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Bellevue-La-Randťe, Bordeaux   | Approved
Review Date: 12-29-2014
A gorgeous, full bodied wine that is super easy to drink. Not just easy, but FUN! Bright red fruit and incredibly smooth tannins.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $9.99
WS 87-  90 BC 0

2013 Valle dell'Acate "Il Frappato" Vittoria  
Review Date: 12-26-2014
Made from grapes known also as Frappato di Vittoria, this wine is fragrant, fresh and bursting out, intense notes of cherries, blackberry and raspberry. The palate impression is bright and fresh, light but persistent; with small black and red fruits coating the mouth. Wonderful with all cheeses, it is equally at home when served with fish. Give a slight chill.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival  
Review Date: 12-24-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I find that Tenuta di Sestaís wines are always overlooked upon release, they are never the loudest, tallest or heaviest the just seem to be pleasant. Yet after years of tasting their wines I find they are just slower to develop and end up morphing into silky, elegant masterpieces. In this the 2010 vintage their Brunello shows far more upfront earth and mineral than usual at this stage, yet the pure Sangiovese aromatics of wild cherry and plum cut in behind the earthy elements along with hints of dried roses and freshly cut leather. On the palate the wine is graceful, seemingly plump yet the acidity is present in the finish and the longer the wine is in your glass the deeper and more profound the flavors become and the longer the aftertaste. This wine always puts a smile on my face it just feels so good, never pushy or demanding just there growing with each minute in the glass. I canít wait to see this wine in another 5 years, stunningly good.
Drink from 2015 to 2030
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

2010 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino (1.5L) Pre-Arrival  
Review Date: 12-24-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of the curious attributes of the stellar 2010 vintage is that most wines are darker in color than normal, Ferrero is no different and the lustrous sheen should prep you for what is coming up. The nose is full of tight black cherry aromatics, focused, vibrant and penetrating. On the palate the first thing I noticed was the length and balance, normally in Ferrero I usually find itís the weight and richness in the first sensation but this winesí incredible balance just jumps out at you. The flavors are saturated, dense, layered and all held in perfect balance, the black cherry is accented with hints of earth and spice and the finish goes on and on. The best wine Ferrero has produced.
Drink from 2015 to 2030
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

2010 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival  
Review Date: 12-24-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of the curious attributes of the stellar 2010 vintage is that most wines are darker in color than normal, Ferrero is no different and the lustrous sheen should prep you for what is coming up. The nose is full of tight black cherry aromatics, focused, vibrant and penetrating. On the palate the first thing I noticed was the length and balance, normally in Ferrero I usually find itís the weight and richness in the first sensation but this winesí incredible balance just jumps out at you. The flavors are saturated, dense, layered and all held in perfect balance, the black cherry is accented with hints of earth and spice and the finish goes on and on. The best wine Ferrero has produced.
Drink from 2015 to 2030
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

1998 Mortlach 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Finish Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 12-23-2014
It is a peculiarity that there's still plenty of this old Mortlach available, while the pricier 25 year Blair Athol that came in about the same time is completely sold out. Exactly the opposite has occurred in my liquor cabinet, after I purchased both: The Mortlach is going much faster than the near-full Blair Athol. The latter may be more concentrated, with rancio and spicy wood notes, but the Mortlach is silkier, with butterscotch warmth and a piney top note. I even prefer it to the current Glenfarclas 105.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8 9  10  next  >>