Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8 9  10  next  >>
2009 Pédesclaux, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-23-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of the best values from this great vintage. This property is on a roll.
Drink from 2016 to 2030

1998 Latour, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-23-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of the best of the Medoc 1998s-excellent wine.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2013 Lynch Bages Blanc, Bordeaux  
Review Date: 3-23-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Great balance and fine acidity, this is the best Lynch Bages Blanc ever.
Drink from 2015 to 2017
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2011 Petit Guiraud, Sauternes (375ml)  
Review Date: 3-23-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Wow! This wine is a baby Guiraud for one fifth of the price. Some coconut and pineapple aromas and flavors. Honeyed flavors and incredible acidity. Perfect balance.
Drink from 2015 to 2025
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2008 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-23-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Our fourth vintage to sell of this outstanding third wine from Chateau Latour. After twenty years of begging the property to sell the Pauillac, here it is and the 2008 vintage is quite good and priced well under the 2009. Powerful red fruit aromas with some cassis. The palate impression is powerful with some tannins to settle out. perfect acid balance-cellar it five years minimum. You can buy 2 bottles of latour or a case of this beauty. -Clyde beffa
Drink from 2020 to 2025
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 McClean X "Simone" Paso Robles Zinfandel   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-22-2015
McClean X Vineyards has done a tremendous job with this Zin based red blend. It has an expressive nose with notes of mocha, coffee bean, toffee, and blackberry fruit. The mouthfeel is velvety plush. Rich flavors of juicy dark fruit, blueberries, and chocolate make this so easy to enjoy.The wine has hit a really nice point in its life and is ready to drink now. For $20, it's a keeper.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

2013 Eric Cottat Sancerre   | Approved
Review Date: 3-21-2015
Looking for a snappy expression from Sancerre for under $20? Look no further, here is a simple yet great representation of a wine that displays that inimitable mineral sensation that only Sauvignon Blanc from this region embodies. Perfumed with white flowers and a tangy, crisp citrus palate, this is a total go-to white that never disappoints.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Marisa Cuomo "Ravello" Costa d'Amalfi Bianco   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-21-2015
Marisa Cuomo makes so of my favorite whites, period. The Ravello emanates notes of lemon oil, white flowers, crushed wet stones and peach fuzz. The palate expresses lemon zest, white peach, and nectarine, but that’s just the beginning. Honeysuckle, almond skins, pithy and chalky minerality integrate perfectly with the high acid and beeswax texture. Try it with a seafood risotto!!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Rosado Rioja   | Approved
Review Date: 3-21-2015
From the Rioja Alta comes a totally affordable, fun and vibrant rosado. Brightly colored pink with the scent of strawberries, the palate is tangy with flavors of red berries, and a refreshing acidity. This is a total slam dunk to pair with your favorite taco truck fare especially tacos al pastor! Think of this as your dry, adult version of Jarritos -- not too serious just totally enjoyable. Salud!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Kalinda Yountville Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 3-20-2015
If you haven't already heard, the 2013 vintage is even more exciting to Napa winemakers than 2012! Hard to believe I know, but wait to you taste our new release of the 2013 Kalinda Yountville Cabernet you will need to sit down for this! It's coming from one of my favorite producers in Napa Valley making balanced age-wothy Bordeaux style Cabernet. All the fruit used is second from this powerhouse estate and it is stupid-good for the money. I can't wait to put a case away and see how it develops over the next few years!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne  
Review Date: 3-20-2015
A new Direct Import for us and I'm in love! This is the perfect Champagne to start out the night with! Although dry, it has a ripeness to the fruit that makes it a great aperitif or sipping Champagne on its own. This will be great for anyone that wants to dive right into our grower Champagne program and see what it has to offer! Great Champagnes for less than you'll find anywhere!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $34.99
BC 0

2013 Calera Central Coast Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 3-20-2015
This Pinot is full of cool, brooding black cherry fruit and framed by high quality savory flavors. It is great to see a wine of such depth and character at this price in the current Pinot Noir market. Calera has delivered richness, power and length for a fair price with this excellent wine.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2013 Chehalem "INOX" Willamette Valley Chardonnay   | Approved
Review Date: 3-20-2015
I'm always on the look out for unoaked, Chablis-style Chardonnays, and this one really impressed me in our most recent staff tasting. With great floral and orchard fruit aromatics, this lighter bodied Chardonnay has all the pure, extracted fruit you look for from Chehalem, but a great balance of fresh minerality and acidity to keep it in check. Truly lovely.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Paicines Pinot Noir   | Approved
Review Date: 3-20-2015
We see a number of California Pinots in this price range at K&L, and several from prestigious wineries like this Von Strasser, but this wine stood out to me. The Rudy Pinot is neither overly extracted, or big bodied. Rather it has a medium to light body, with fresh, bright cherry fruit, fine, integrated tannins, and lovely, crisp acidity. Quite a find at this price!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Mercer Canyons Columbia Valley Chardonnay   | Approved
Review Date: 3-20-2015
This is a lovely wine, and a no-brainer at this price. Surprisingly great aromatics for a Chardonnay, this wine has crisp, tropical fruit and good refreshing acidity. This may well become your summer stand-by.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8 9  10  next  >>