Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8 9  10  next  >>
2012 Savage "Red" Western Cape   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 11-24-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Finely honed flavors and textures all intricately strung out with lovely acidity and silky long tannin chains. This truly reminds me of the glory days of Châteauneuf-du-Pape before high alcohol and new oak took its toll on many of those wines. This wine is about allowing every part of this complex symphony of grape varieties play its part. No one element is trying to out-play the other. Balance, poise and perfect synthesis is at the heart of this wine. Delicious now, but I can't wait to see where is goes with some time in bottle. Intriguing wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 95 BC 0

2010 Viticcio Chianti Classico Riserva  
Review Date: 11-24-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This wine took me by surprise but it needed an equipment change suggested by my dining companion to fulfill its promise. It being Sangiovese-based, I went to my tried-and-true Chianti/Zin glass but this wine struggled--it was tannic and awkward. But switching to a Cabernet/Bordeaux glass opened up this wine's depth and smoothed out the tannins. Layers of spice, dark fruit and leather just flow from the glass and on the palate; the richness and concentrated character adds real length and concentration. Drinking well now, but still capable of aging another decade! Try it with a grilled rib-eye drizzled with extra virgin olive oil.
Drink from 2014 to 2022

2010 Mercedes Eguren Cabernet Sauvignon Vino de la Tierra de Castilla   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 11-24-2014
Simply put, the best value Cabernet for this holiday season. Juicy, fruity and easy-drinking, this is a great choice for holiday parties or to have at home as your everyday Cabernet! Who said you can't find a good bottle of Cabernet for under 10 bucks?
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley  
Review Date: 11-23-2014
An excellent NZ Riesling with a gold straw color. Its musky, apricot nose gives way to a generous body of sharp stone fruit, white flower, and honey flavors.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough  
Review Date: 11-23-2014
A rich nose of earth and raspberry gives way to red fruit and fig flavors. This Marlborough beauty has many layers of fruit complexity and reminds me of an elegant Sonoma Pinot from the best of vintages, albeit a little more racy and edgy than most domestic Pinots can get.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Morrison Vineyard" Pinot Noir Lowburn Central Otago  
Review Date: 11-23-2014
Any fan of Pinot will love this bottle--it's one of the more well-rounded and delicious Pinots we've brought in from NZ. A light body of blackberry fruit notes is held up by subtle cinnamon and leather flavors. The finish is very long, full of the understated earthy tones one expects from a real Pinot of this caliber.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 11-23-2014
Bright crunchy red fruit--cranberry, cherry and strawberry with medium-plus acidity. Zippy acid and fleshy fruit make this Pinot hard not to love!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 95 JS 95

2013 Savage "White" Western Cape   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 11-22-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Very skillfully crafted wine. Containing elements of both subtle minerality and textural power / intensity. As good as this is now, I suspect it will age like great white Bordeaux. Very serious wine of depth and intensity.
Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2007 Reinhold Haart Piesporter Goldtröpfchen Riesling Spätlese   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 11-21-2014
What an impressive Riesling! It’s starting to come into its age by developing beautiful aromatics of petrol, honey, and orange blossom. While it does have the typical light body of the Mosel, it’s light without being thin and shows richness and complexity. The palate provide bright acidity, lemon zest, nectarine and white peach notes. This medium-sweet style can be admired on its own or paired exceptionally with spicy foods or dessert.

2012 Zepaltas "Clay Wheels" Rhone Blend   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 11-20-2014
Former pro-skater Ryan Zepaltas really brings it with this juicy, drinkable red blend. Grenache, Syrah & Carignan. Plum, cherry, and currant with medium plus acidity. A fun wine for every day drinking!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Muirkirk Vineyard" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 11-20-2014
Strawberry, thyme, red cherry, and rose leap out of this wine. Medium plus acidity with fine, easy tannin. Elegant and polished, a stunning example of Central Otago Bannockburn Pinot Noir. Love it!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 11-20-2014
A sexy little find from our friends at Tongue & Groove, this wine shows black currant, red cherry, and cranberry with an underlying minerality, medium plus acidity and fine tannin. Beautifully balanced and elegant. Love it!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2012 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 11-20-2014
The Tongue & Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling is a totally brilliant find! Apricot, citrus, mineral, slate with hints of botrytis. Medium plus acidity makes this wine so, so drinkable. Fabulous balance. A must for riesling-lovers everywhere!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Château Trillol Corbières   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 11-20-2014
What an incredibly expressive nose! Crushed rose petals & smokey meaty wildness fly from the glass. The palate is full of dark, rich berries and savory forest floor. Incredible wine for less than $15.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley  
Review Date: 11-20-2014
This one is the more earthy of the two tongue in groove pinots we're offering. The bright red fruit here is complemented by noticeable leather and dark cherry with a dark underbelly of minerality.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 95 JS 95

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8 9  10  next  >>