Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  <<  prev  6  7 8  9  10  next  >>
Nonino Quintessentia Amaro 750ml  
Review Date: 7-14-2014
There's a reason this grape distillate-based Amaro from Friuli is one of our biggest sellers, it's the easiest-drinking Amaro I've every tried! Cocoa-dusted orange, cream, butterscotch, roasted nuts, lemon pitch and rosewater notes. Don't waste this in a cocktail, it sips smoothly on its own.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart WE 96 BC 0

Amaro Montenegro Di Bologna 750ml  
Review Date: 7-14-2014
This is one of the most popular Amari in Italy. Packed with notes of nutmeg and bitter orange, it's very pretty and soft on the palate. It has a creamy, not-too-bitter creamsicle character. Medium-sweet.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart WE 97 BC 0

Lucano Amaro 750ml  
Review Date: 7-14-2014
The last time I ordered an Averna at the end of a meal, I sat considering its medicinal, bitter qualities, and lamenting its syrupy sweetness. The Lucano has the best of Averna's herbaceousness, with earthy, bitter citrus flavors and a light, balanced texture.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "D" Marlborough   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-14-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
From the oldest Riesling vines on the property and some of the oldest in New Zealand. Intense linear drive, persistence and minerality. Crisp, focused acidity but nothing astringent or harsh. Just so refreshing, mouthwatering and food friendly. This is a summer classic.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "M" Marlborough   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-14-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Any fan of Kabinett to Spatlese Riesling will appreciate this bottle. A fascinating combination of juicy exotic richness, racy acidity and wet stoney minerality (everything I want in Riesling!) Tastes drier than the 30g/l RS suggests thanks to the mouthwatering acidity.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Beaux Frères Willamette Valley Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 7-14-2014
This blew me away! Never light in style, the 2012 is about as full and opulent as you can get from Oregon without being clumsy and disjointed. Despite its size and power, this wine has wonderful perfume and freshness, as well as length. I would love to hold a few bottles of this for five years or so to see how it rounds out.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Pirramimma Petit Verdot McLaren Vale South Australia   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-14-2014
Potentially my favorite of the 04 Pirriamimma bottles. This wine shows that not only is Petit Verdot a very useful blending component but that it can also stand alone and make very compelling wine. This shows tons of fresh tobacco, crushed mint, cigar box and small berry forest fruits. The tannin structure is beautifully developed at ten years of age but retains ample grip to tease out the wine long on the palate. Excellent persistence and brightness for a wine of this age especially when you consider our fantastic pricing on this bottle! Any Bordeaux lover will appreciate this wine and the price is very hard to beat!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.3 Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-13-2014
The #3 Sauvignon Blanc is their version of a more tropical style Sauv Blanc. It’s quite aromatic with white flower, kiwi and grapefruit and tropical flavors on the palate like passion fruit, honeydew and lemon zest. A very bright, flavor intensive Sauv Blanc with lovely acidity, perfect for those hot summer days.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-12-2014
The previous 2012 vintage of this wine was heavy on the green bell pepper, tomato leaf type characteristics. On the contrary, the warmer 2013 vintage has brought a rounder, more fruit forward style SB and I think it is delicious! Even though it has more fruit than it has in the past, this wine is far from being overly ripe. Apple, lime blossom, and white floral notes are paired with a crisp acidity and chalky minerality. Yum!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-12-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Love classic Brunello? Don't have as much patience as you might need!? Grab some of this little baby from one of our top Direct Import Brunello producers Baricci. All the classic flavors of Montalcino but ready to go now and a price tag barely over $20! Baricci is a very classic producer. The wines are about purity, elegance and balance. They are very food friendly and versatile. The 2012 vintage is remarkable supple and forward allowing easy drinking with dry, harsh tannins. This wine is always a huge hit with our staff so you better snag some now before we drink it all!
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-12-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Another stellar effort from Baricci (my favorite Direct Import Brunello producer that we work with). This amazing vineyard site on Montosoli produces wines with such elegance, purity and drive. The wines are always precise and balanced and this 2009 is no different. What is really nice about this wine is that it is so accessible now! The flavors are bright and youthful but there is no hard tannin. A very classic flavor profile, beautifully unadorned by oak, dusty red and darker fruit tinges, sweet leather, spice and warm earth. Supple and drinkable now but will surely give lots of pleasure over the next decade (at least).
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2025
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

Balcones Single Malt Whisky 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-11-2014
I would seriously never have considered a Texas single malt whisky unless it was sitting in front of me, nearly daring me, saying, hey, I dare ya. What a surprise. A surprisingly developed aroma of roasted walnut, with a deep, darkly sherried palate that reminds me a little of, say, the Cragganmore 23, but with cinnamon spice, too--not in a bourbony way. This rich, dark single malt may be not quite as complex of some of our older, nutty Scotch single malts, but it is a really great effort from the single star, I mean the Lone Star state.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Lost Spirits Distillery Leviathan III Single Malt Whiskey 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-11-2014
Like the "Seascape," there's a honey-maple smoked sweetness to the aroma, but in the Leviathon, it trends toward leathery, like a sweet-smelling new leather handbag or something; nutty and rich, the fire on the back palate is delayed, but still there, on this whisky. Definitely exceeds my expectations for a California single malt whisky.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Lost Spirits Distillery Seascape II Single Malt Whiskey 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-11-2014
"Warning" duly noted, but this whisky was as friendly as a Sunday brunch...sweet, smoky maple syrup on the nose, glazed ham notes, and rich palate...until the hot "kick" up the retronasal on the finish. Definitely different, has a structure, and with the smoky maple aromas, it's quite intriguing.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1989 Cragganmore 23 Year Old Faultline Single Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-11-2014
Is it any wonder that this is richer than the silky, golden Cragganmore 12? This one's a deep gold-bronze, has a deeply nutty aroma of caramelized walnuts, and an earthy touch of wet plaster. Good, rich sipping, and very interesting.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<  prev  6  7 8  9  10  next  >>