Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  <<  prev  6  7 8  9  10  next  >>
2012 Joseph Jewell Russian River Valley Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 9-15-2014
From out of a lineup of domestic Pinot Noirs recently, this one really stole the show for me. Funny thing is, it isnít a show stopper: it is commendable for the restraint it displays. The fruit is very pure and natural, dialing back the ripeness quotient you often contend with in California Pinot Noirs, the flavors have intensity without heaviness, and the body is trim, taut, and focused; in other words, it shows all the gracefulness you might hope for in a Pinot, but which is often sadly lacking for one reason or another.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart W&S 95 BC 0

2012 Oakridge Single Vineyard Series "Guerin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley  
Review Date: 9-15-2014
I served this for a friend the other night, and her response was "Oh my...what a pretty wine." Across the board, the wines from Oakridge have shown great varietal character with superb balance, detail and drive. The Guerin Pinot Noir is bright and lifted, with a bouquet of dried rose petals, tar, raspberry, tart cherry, rhubarb, clove, earth and dried orange peel. On the palate, the wine is silky and supple with superb balance and a long, persistent finish.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

2012 Oakridge Single Vineyard Series "Oakridge/Whitsend Vineyard" Shiraz Yarra Valley  
Review Date: 9-15-2014
This wine shows the beautiful character of cooler climate Shiraz. The nose offers notes of white pepper, meats, camphor, and a mix of red and black fruits with plum and boysenberry in the mix. On the palate, there is good structure with ripe fine-grained tannins and very good length.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

2012 Oakridge Single Vineyard Series "Guerin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 9-15-2014
The Oakridge Pinot Noir is really amazing. The Guerin Vineyard displays very nice intensity with a great mixture of fresh, just-ripe fruit aromas with lots of earthy secondary components. For a girl who loves her mineral-driven, earthier style Pinot Noir, this is right up my alley. The wine finishes with soft baking spices and great complexity.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

2012 Oakridge Single Vineyard Series "Oakridge/Whitsend Vineyard" Shiraz Yarra Valley   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 9-15-2014
Woo! What a spicy little guy. There's fresh black pepper, green tobacco, dash of green olive notes right off the bat along with the classic raspberry. This is NOT your typical big tannin, high alcohol Australian Shiraz at all, but more reminiscent of a Northern Rhone style. Elegant and classy!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

Singani 63 Bolivian Muscat Brandy 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 9-15-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Seriously one of the coolest things I have tasted in a while. It's amazing how this retained so much of the pure Muscat flavor profile through distillation. Fantastically floral aromatics, very delicate and yet flavorful all at the same time. Like the finest Muscat-based wines this is not about sweetness but about perfume and delicacy on the palate. I can only imagine what people will think up to do with this intriguing little spirit but it is certainly something worth having on your bar.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Singani 63 Bolivian Muscat Brandy 750ml  
Review Date: 9-15-2014
Exactly what we love to drink. After a "serious day in the office" tasting as many as 40 different whiskies, the Singani is the type of spirit I want to come home to, delicious. Fresh, and lively, you get the essence of the Muscat grape, floral, with ripe peach and apricot, this is super clean and dangerously drinkable. So much to do with it: Pisco sour stand-in, add some tonic, or lemon soda with a twist; I would even venture to say it would be killer in a Mojito.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Singani 63 Bolivian Muscat Brandy 750ml  
Review Date: 9-15-2014
The is the do-it-all spirit for your liquor cabinet (and you don't even know what it is!). Fruity, floral, and clean, this can be substituted into a number of different cocktails in place of tequila, vodka, gin, and rum. I've made Singani Daiquiris, Singani Margaritas, Singani Negronis, Bloody Maries, Singani and Tonic, Singani Sangria--they're all fantastic. Bolivia's finest export may indeed be Singani. Now you just need to queue up "Che" on Netflix-instant, imagine you're Soderbergh drinking Singani on the set, and drink until your heart's content.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1996 Giboin K&L Exclusive Fin Bois Vintage Cognac 750ml  
Review Date: 9-15-2014
This Cognac is a wonderful and interesting spirit with floral and herbal aromas. In the mouth it surprises, with bright fresh flavors that are integrated and complex. The Giboin Cognac should add joy to any occasion.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mount Eden Santa Cruz Mountains Rosť of Cabernet Franc  
Review Date: 9-12-2014
I have been waiting for four long years for Mount Eden to make another Rose of Cabernet Franc! As soon as we tasted it, Cinnamon and I bought a case... Last night I drank a bottle out of that case with some fried rice that I made with leftover rib-eye and a selection of hot and savory peppers from our local farmers market. This easy to drink wine has a lot more depth and power than your average rose, and my dad, who I was enjoying it with said that it had a pronounced rhubarb flavor. I think that is a dead on description! This is vinous stuff, and reminded me of old fashioned, light Cote du Rhone. I am glad we have 11 more!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 ZŁm Mosel Riesling  
Review Date: 9-12-2014
The Zum qba has flavors of lemon, and lime, mineral, and sweet golden apple. Sweet-tart, this has a round mid-palate followed by bracing acidity. All in all, this is a tasty, low-alcohol, balanced bottle of Riesling; and at a price where you can twist the cap off with abandon.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart WE 89 BC 0

2010 La Prevostura "Muntacc" Coste della Sesia Rosso  
Review Date: 9-11-2014
There is plenty of fruit, good acidity, soft tannin structure, some minerality and white pepper with a lengthy finish. The combination of blue/dark fruit and the black cherry comes from the Nebbiolo. I also find some tar and roses on the lengthy finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 La Prevostura Lessona  
Review Date: 9-11-2014
The wineís perfume is pure Nebbiolo: raspberry fruit and dried rose petals with a touch of tobacco and lots of cedar, bursting with sweet fruit, tar, minerals, displaying outstanding depth and fine overall balance. This wine will drink well now and over the next few years, best with the heartiest meats or stews. Better yet, serve after dinner with some great aged cheeses (Pecorino Romano, Parmigiano-Reggiano or Asiago) and an olive tapenade.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Joseph Jewell Russian River Valley Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 9-11-2014
Rich with integrated tannins and flavors of powdered cocoa, ripe dark cherry and pomegranate, this Pinot Noir is a classic example of Pinot Noir grown in the Russian River Valley.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart W&S 95 BC 0

2008 Caraccioli Cellars Santa Lucia Highlands Brut   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 9-11-2014
The 2008 Brut had a nice richness to it, with brioche, nectarine, peach and ripe stone fruit notes. It was a little more yeasty than the older bottlings, and a little drier than the 2007.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<  prev  6  7 8  9  10  next  >>