Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next  >>
1998 Tamdhu 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
In my tasting notes for the Tamdhu 16 I wrote: very good, refreshing with round malt flavors.Pretty. Easy to drink and enjoy. Nice long finsh. The Tamdhu has all of these qualities and should please most single malt drinkers.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2014 Domaine Fontsainte "Gris de Gris" CorbiŤres Rosť   | Approved
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Delightful rose at a great price! This wine is light, with bright acidity, great strawberry/cherry and floral aromas, and a delightful hint of minerality. Because of its light body, it drinks more like a white wine, and is perfect for warm weather. I could drink this all day...
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Aromas of lemon and wet sand start this Pinot Bianco off in a precise and steely vein. The first impression is belied, however, by the mid-palate, which does have a little roundness to it, with flavors of tangerine, a hint of just-ripe pineapple, and raw almond, with mineral backing. An excellent choice for a vibrant, refreshing, everyday white wine thatíll blend seamlessly into a wide variety of circumstances.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Gin 750ml   | Approved
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Being a gin lover, I was excited to try this new Batch 2 gin from Sean Venus. Though I'm not a big fan of barrel-aged gins generally, this one changed my perspective. Though it certainly inherits some of the toasty vanilla feel from the barrel, this gin retains all the herbal, aromatic character and brilliance of the Batch 1, but with an added richness from the barrel, and more of a tangy orange character. This would be perfect for a negroni or anything with a sweet vermouth. Love it!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Jake and Scot Bilbro have re-launched their father's historic winery into the future. The Marietta Old Vine Red is still an amazing value and really, really good stuff. I love that they are carrying on the tradition of deliciously drinkable, affordable, well-made juice with this wine. Always a blend of old vine Zinfandel (and a few other reds they won't tell you!). Blackberry, black currant, cassis, and spice with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Throwing a BBQ? Hosting a graduation party? Having a wedding reception? Kicking off the summer with a block party? This is one wine that needs to be on your list!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2014 Patton Valley Willamette Valley Pinot Noir Rosť   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
My friend Derek, the winemaker at Patton Valley, has made us such a fun rose to kick off the rose season! All Pinot Noir, this puppy is brimming with cranberry, red cherry, strawberry and red currant with zesty, fresh acidity. Pull up a chair on a sunny patio, pour a glass of this delightful rose, and let your cares fall away! But you better hurry- I might just buy it all first!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Anchor Old Tom Gin 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
This year is the first year that I have played around with the Old Tom sweeter style of Gin, and the Anchor Old Tom now has a permanent position on my home bar shelf. Slightly sweet, with notes of lemon and orange zest, and spicy juniper, this Gin is absolutely fabulous mixed with blood orange juice and a bit of soda water! Or, try it with grapefruit juice! Such a fun and festive gin for springtime!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Willowbrook "Altes Vineyard" Sonoma County Syrah  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
We don't receive the Willowbrook wines too often, but when we do they never fail to over-deliver! For $10, you are getting pure, delicious Syrah from a great Sonoma Valley site. Bacon fat, cracked black pepper, and a touch of smoke as soon as the cork is pulled. Pure black fruit, rich but not at all sweet, and savory notes with great balance. Dollar for dollar, this may be the best deal in the store right now!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Gin 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
I've got a new favorite barrel aged Gin, and its name is Venus Batch 2! Sean Venus hits it out of the park with each bottling of his carefully crafted, local Santa Cruz spirits. Not just another bottling of the same darn gin just thrown into a barrel, Venus actually created this spirit independent of his Batch 1 gin. Batch 2 winks at you from the shelf with a bright amber sparkle, with dried orange peel, nutmeg, star anise and gingerbread teasing you to make yourself a Negroni, for goodness sake! This puppy will be a mainstay on my bar from today forward!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Akitu "A1" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Black Label)   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
The Akitu 1 Pinot Noir Black Label is a stunning, undeniably elegant wine. With clonal material from DRC in Burgundy, it shows all of the grace and poise of its genetic roots, with the vibrancy and purity of fruit I love about Central Otago Pinot Noir. Black currant, plum, red cherry, sandalwood, spice, red roses, and mineral, with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Described by the winemaker as "The Chanel Suit" of his two Pinots (the Akitu 2 is his flashier "Dolce & Gabbana"), like classic Chanel, this wine is stunning now, and no doubt will continue to age with understated elegance. Buy as much as you can.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Il Valentiano Rosso di Montalcino   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Yay to direct import!! This is yet another great value juicy fun easy drinking Sangiovese hand picked by our Italy wine buyer Greg. Drink up, stock up, this bottle won't last long in our inventory!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sharp Zombie Rioja   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
This is your no guilt, easy drinking middle of the week wine. Best paired with pizza, burger while watching a zombie movie and relaxing. It's 100% Tempranillo done in a juicy lively style. It doesn't take a sharp zombie to realize its awesome value! (pun totally intended)
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha CariŮena   | Approved
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Having a party? wedding? summer BBQ? This is a great value wine that the staff here has consistently loved. The 2013 vintage is the same great wine with a good balance of bright, full, fruit and solid structure. Sure to please your friends and guests!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica (1.5L)  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
This is one of my favorite wines in the store. Wonderful power, structure and delicacy. No oak aging in this wine. This just show's what happens when a grape and place are such a perfect marriage. Fruit and floral through out the wine. With a great mineral backbone. Lovely texture with a surprising weight in the mid-palate. It is one complex glass of wine. Don't forget the magnum is perfect for any kind of party.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2013 Chehalem "INOX" Willamette Valley Chardonnay   | Approved
Review Date: 3-30-2015
This old world inspired , unoaked Chardonnay has crisp green apples and pears on the nose, with a great vibrant tang from the acidity. This wine showcases the delicate flavors and characteristics that Chardonnay has to offer without any oak influence. A great Oregonian wine!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next  >>