Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next  >>
1995 Poujeaux, Moulis  
Review Date: 1-27-2015
Always one of the great Bordeaux values, and along with Chasse Spleen one of the two top properties in Moulis. This 20 year old '95 Poujeaux is a perfectly aged Bordeaux at the peak of its powers. Wonderfully aromatic. Lovely floral notes. An explosion of violets leapt from the bottle as soon as I withdrew the cork. Plenty of ripe black fruits, currant and blackberry. Very fresh and fine. Firm tannins. This is drinking beautifully now and should hold its own for a while yet though likely without improving substantially. Enjoy!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

1995 Calon-Ségur, St Estèphe  
Review Date: 1-27-2015
It's hard to believe this vintage is now 20 years old. '95 and '96 were the two top vintages of the decade and as they reach their twentieth birthday no doubt many of the wines will receive renewed scrutiny. 20 to 30 years old is prime maturity for most Bordeaux wines and many will be reaching their peak over the next decade. That being said, the 1995 Calon Segur, St-Estephe still seems very youthful with still firm tannins and just a hint of aged character emerging. The oak is nicely integrated at this point with lovely spice notes. Plenty of sweet, ripe fruit and classic Cabernet character of blackberry and cassis. As my colleague Ralph Sands notes, all the reasons we drink Bordeaux can be found in this bottle. I love this wine.

2004 Meyney, St-Estèphe  
Review Date: 1-27-2015
What is it about St-Estephe? There are so many great properties that are able to offer top notch Bordeaux at a reasonable price - Ormes de Pez, Phelan Segur, and of course, Meyney, among others. I have a soft spot for Chateau Meyney because I have enjoyed so many great bottles over the years. My nephew, an '89, loves the wine from his birth year. I added a case of the 2009 to the cellar immediately after tasting it. What a find then this 2004 Chateau Meyney, St-Estephe was. While '04 was not one of the great vintages of that decade it was solidly good, in my opinion, and produced some very good wines. At just over 10 years old, the '04 Meyney is still coming together. The oak will no doubt become better integrated with time and the already very fine tannins will no doubt soften a bit. Still, even now the wine has a remarkable freshness, a positively silky texture, and a ripeness of fruit that tempts one to consume it earlier.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2013 Oustric Picpoul de Pinet   | Approved
Review Date: 1-27-2015
Wow! What an outstanding wine at this price! This wine has crisp, refreshing notes of honeydew, bright acidity, and a hint of lemon zest. One of my favorite bargains!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2000 La Gaffelière, St-Emilion  
Review Date: 1-27-2015
I drink a lot of Bordeaux, but, I am ashamed to say, not nearly enough Right Bank wines. So, last Friday for our weekly "steak & claret" night I opted for the 2000 Chateau La Gaffeliere, St-Emilion. I have a few cases of Bordeaux from the 2000 vintage in my cellar, mostly wines from the Medoc that are too young to drink, but this Right Bank beauty was raring to go at 15 years of age. A classic 2000. Rich, ripe, and round with good acidity, admirable weight, and fine tannins framing the finish. The wine was beginning to show some age - the color has shifted towards a lovely garnet and the nose showed hints of truffle emerging - but while it's drinking beautifully now it easily has another decade or more ahead of it. A perfect St-Emilion and a superb value for the money.

2010 Pyramid Valley Vineyards "Cowley" Pinot Noir Marlborough  
Review Date: 1-27-2015
At $30 one of the best overall values in Pinot Noir in the store, bar none. This vineyard shows a side of Pinot Noir I simply love - bright red fruits like cranberry and sour cherry, rhubarb and pomegranate with plenty of spice and a hint of something a bit more exotically floral. I fell in love with the 2009 vintage due to its exceptional ripeness. I am working my way through the last few bottles of my third case of that wine. I was eager to try the 2010 version, from a vintage I knew to be more typically cooler. Less overt ripeness here but a lot more concentration and complexity. A more serious wine in every way. Approachable now with some time in the decanter but will doubtless reward a few years in the cellar. An extraordinary wine at this price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

1975 Moulin Touchais Coteaux du Layon  
Review Date: 1-27-2015
What an incredible treat this beautiful wine was. Deep golden colored. Pungent nose of celery salt, sweet dried quince, persimmons, and honey. Vibrant and clean on the palate with a laser beam of acid to cut through the sweetness. Cannot believe this wine is 40 years old. Feels like it might last another 40 ; ) if you can keep your hands off it.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Oustric Picpoul de Pinet  
Review Date: 1-27-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This bright little "lip stinger" wine is much more than just clean citrus fruit, saline and minerals. It also has a touch of white stone fruits and white flowers in the nose. Refreshing, clean and yet delicate and, well, pretty. For those of you who like your Gruner Veltliner and Albarino, you should consider this little bargain!
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Rickshaw Cabernet Sauvignon   | Approved
Review Date: 1-27-2015
This is a terrific everyday table California Cabernet that is more fruit-driven, almost like a Malbec or a jammy Pinot. Its softer tannins and young age make it easy to enjoy with many different flavors and foods. This is a great wine and an even better bargain!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 1-27-2015
The Baricci Brunello, as evidenced by the numerous comments below, is a wine the staff always stocks up on! Every vintage Baricci makes consistently fantastic wine. The 2009, with a quick decant, is surprisingly approachable in its youth. Dusty earth, dark red fruits, and silky tannins make for an incredible wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2011 Zind Humbrecht Pinot Blanc  
Review Date: 1-27-2015
This is a wonderful wine that if it had to be described in one word, I would use "balanced." There is a nice balance between the soft and inviting aromatics, the texture and fruit flavors in the mouth, and the lively, crisp finish. The Zind Humbrecht Pinot Blanc is a dry wine that will go well alone or with food.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart WE 89 BC 0

2011 di Majo Norante "Ramitello" Biferno Rosso  
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I was really stunned by the richness, complexity and depth of flavors in this wine…and then I saw the price! The nose is full of bold, dark fruit aromatics that flow languidly from the glass. This is a blend of 80% Montepulciano and 20% Aglianico that offers such bang for your buck you are not going to believe it. Layers of spicy Montepulciano fruit, supple textures wrap themselves around a solid core of structure, balanced, bold and a real mouthful of wine, and such a deal!
Drink from 2015 to 2018
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2010 Lambuena Crianza Ribera del Duero  
Review Date: 1-26-2015
The Lambuena wines have been here for almost a year now, but I just took a bottle home to refresh the memory. Wow, this 2010 Crianza is stunning! Juicy black cherry, blackberry and casis fruit, with nice acidity and tanin to round out this beautifully balanced wine. All for $20! Pair with braised meats and bbq!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This bottling from Amici Cellars was hugely popular with the 2011 vintage. Well, it only gets better with the 2012 vintage! Deep and rich, with dark red fruits, cassis and mocha notes. Lush on the palate, with bright oak and roasted nuts. Another winner from Amici Cellars!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino  
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Another delicious 2012 Rosso, the Ferrero is ready to drink now with a little decant or will lay down for a couple years. Great black cherry and strawberry fruit with classic Montalcino earthiness.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next  >>