Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next  >>
2005 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Côtes du Rhône  
Review Date: 7-23-2014
I love it when a producer does the aging for me! This 2005 Baron Louis from Chateau De Montfaucon has a lovely, developed bouquet of cool black fruit and seamless texture that only comes with the passage of time. The wine still has plenty of size and life, and would be great with your next tri-tip grill up!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2012 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Tradition" Côtes de Provence Rosé  
Review Date: 7-23-2014
If you are ready to try something different in rose, the Clos Cibonne Tibouren Tradition is a great bottle to check out. The aging under flor brings complexity and texture to this very balanced intriguing pink wine. I can't wait to try it with Gratin de Pommes de Terre Provencal- I think it will be perfect with the salty anchovies and zingy tomatoes in this classic recipe. Try it out!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Caves Jean Bourdy Côtes du Jura Rouge  
Review Date: 7-23-2014
Oh my God! I love this! A marriage of Trousseau, Poulsard, and Pinot Noir that reminds me of ready-to-drink Premier Cru Burgundy, yet only costs me $25? Sign me up for a case. The subtle, light-bodied fruit is haunting and mysterious, coaxing out all the elements that get me excited about red wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Domaine de la Bastide Blanche Bandol  
Review Date: 7-23-2014
Why drink high-end Rhone wine when you can get this awesome Mourvèdre-based selection from Bandol. Instead of over-extracted fruit, you get dark berries, a concentrated core of ripe plum, and lovely accents of black pepper and savory spices. It's a wine that's expressive and easy to like, yet true to its roots.

2012 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Tradition" Côtes de Provence Rosé  
Review Date: 7-23-2014
An ever-so-slight oxidative note permeates the soft, clean fruit of this lovely little rosé from Provence. Vinified under a layer of flor, this is almost like rosé sherry! Super cool wine.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Hubert Clavelin "Brut-Comté" Cremant du Jura  
Review Date: 7-23-2014
For those in search of bargain "Champagne" this is as close as I've found outside of the actual realm. This 100% Chardonnay wine has all the minerality, yeasty, and bready aromas of true Champagne, yet the price tag of a higher-end French regional selection. The Jura is a fine source of sparklers, but this one outdoes the competition.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Louis Magnin Gamay Vin de Savoie  
Review Date: 7-23-2014
Yes, it's $37 Gamay. But MAAAAAAN is it good. A perfect acidity to fruit ratio, lots of crunchy cranberries and black pepper notes, and just an awesome, awe-inspiring finish. This is better than any Cru Beaujolais we have in stock and many of our top Burgundy selections. One of the best red wines I've had all year -- period.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Pas de l'Escalette "Les Petits Pas" Languedoc  
Review Date: 7-22-2014
It seems like forever since the last time I tasted a southern French red like this! The Pas De L'Escalette Les Petits Pas has the funky, old school, spicy, earthy fruit that I remember in Chateuneuf of days gone by. Usually I expect heat and jam from Languedoc wines, but this dry table wine is free from those distractions. It will make a great partner for a leg of lamb!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Domaine de Montbourgeau l'Etoile  
Review Date: 7-22-2014
AWESOME wine -- if you like fino sherry, that is. I love the oxidized, salty, briney flavors of fino sherry, hence I went crazy for this Jura substitute. Have it with olives, nutty cheeses, and anything else that pairs well with salt!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Ducluzeau, Listrac  
Review Date: 7-22-2014
Dark garnet with hints of purple. Ducluzeau is definitely a gentle style of Listrac, and that's what they aim for. It is a proud 98% Merlot without any hint of flabbiness at all. Dark berries and a pretty note of vanilla on the nose. Followed by enticing sweet fruit on the palate, such as juicy plum, and cassis, along with coffee notes. Medium tannins and a medium to high acidity, gives it a nice frame of structure to its softness and elegance. All of that makes the 2009 Ducluzeau a quite appealing wine, that shows off the perfect ripeness of the vintage.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-22-2014
Remember your last trip to Tuscany...a great bottle of Chianti, bread, olive oil, cured meats and cheese...then you came home and tried to recreate it but never could get the wine to taste right...It's an experience that many have. Often the ambiance simply isn't right. Other times the wines just aren't available. However as soon as I tasted this Monsanto Riserva I was transported back to that place, sitting in the Boboli Gardens smelling the herbs and warm Tuscan earth. This wine has all that rustic charm that you often find in Chianti but with just a touch more purity and poise than the table wine served by the liter that you fell in love with back in Firenze! Aromatic red fruits, scorched earth, leather and spice. Medium bodied with nice fresh acidity and a good balance of fruit and savory. This might just be the one that you have been looking for!

1992 Bruichladdich 21 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 7-21-2014
This single malt tastes like it comes from a specific location. It has complex aromas that hint of the sea and of being on an island. The island experience continues with saline and enticing musty flavors. This is one of the most interesting and pleasing single malts that I have tasted recently.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Benrinnes 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 7-21-2014
This single malt is an absolute joy to drink. It has pretty, sweet and expressive aromas. In the mouth there are fresh, round pure flavors to please. The Benrinnes 17 is all about enjoyment and is for those who are looking for no smoke in their single malt.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Penfolds "Bin 8" Cabernet Sauvignon-Shiraz South Australia   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-21-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A classic Australian blend with an explosion of rich dark fruit. Aged in the same barrels as Bin 389, 128, and 28, this wine carries its oak nicely both on the nose and palate. Smooth tannins and a long finish allow for lovely drinking now but you can also lay it down for years to come. At this price why not do both.
Drink from 2014 to 2020

2011 Mauvesin-Barton, Moulis  
Review Date: 7-21-2014
Medium Garnet color. Nice soft entry. Juicy plum and roasted coffee, cocoa and a touch of cassis. Soft medium tannins at first but quite sneaky on the finish. The cépage is 46% Merlot, 36% Cabernet Sauvignon, 16% Cabernet Franc and 2% Petit Verdot. The soil of this beautiful property owned by the Barton family is mostly clay and limestone, which explain the higher amount of Merlot in the blend. Very well done wine and extremely drinkable right now.

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next  >>