Staff Favorites - Susan Thornett

Susan Thornett
Iíve been with K&L since summer 2007, moving to retail from a restaurant background. I love coming up with fun food and wine pairings! I tend to enjoy and review wines that convey something interesting about their region of origin, and I usually prefer subtle, savoury wines. That said, dessert wines are always a particular weakness of mine! Often my reviewed wines- aperitif, main course or pudding- will be from France, Germany, or Austria. You will also see me recommending heaps of beers- so if you always dreamed of having a personal beer sommelier you can sign up for that. My ideal beer is a crispy English session ale but I enjoy exploring many different styles, from Californian double IPAs to sour Belgian Gueuzes. Iím not a beer expert by any means but we have a great selection here at K&L and Iím having a great time working my way through - hope you can join me!

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>
2011 Framingham "Classic" Riesling Marlborough  
Review Date: 8-19-2014
Classic is right in the name. This is the complete Riesling! It's got the typical nose that belies its tasty, youthful profile. It has the fruit - but not too much. It has the acidity - but not too much. It has the sweetness - but it's not too much. In a word - balance! I've had the chance to taste some very tasty Rieslings from some of the best growers, and this bottle is making me reconsider how much a delicious Riesling has to cost. I don't expect this to last long!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Framingham Pinot Noir Marlborough  
Review Date: 8-19-2014
Today's staff tasting was full of some of the best values in Pinot Noir I have tasted in a long time. The Framingham was one of the stars of the day. This big, spicy bacon and maple, ripe black fruit Pinot showed that their is more than just subtle style being made in Marlborough. If you like the wines of Santa Lucia, but are open to spending $25 instead of $50, you should check this big, charming Pinot out!
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2013 Springvale Vineyards "Melrose" Pinot Noir Tasmania  
Review Date: 8-19-2014
Most of the time, when Pinot Noir is under $20, we only hope that it is red, wet and tastes OK. This Tasmanian wine from Springvale Vineyards breaks the price barrier with very good quality, generous, beet and cherry aromatics as well as good weight and fruit on the palate. A must try for Pinot Noir lovers looking for everyday wine!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sittella Sauvignon Blanc-Semillon Margaret River Western Australia  
Review Date: 8-19-2014
This clean, refreshing Sauvignon Blanc & Semillon blend from Margaret River in Western Australia offers incredible value. The Sittella is very poised, light bodied exceptionally long finishing. I loved the subtle honeyed notes and poised texture and can't wait to server it with a lobster roll or just by itself!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago  
Review Date: 8-19-2014
This is a seriously good bottle of wine and I would put it up against any $40.00 Pinot Noir we carry. This has earthy aromas of dark fruits and wild berries touched by herb and spice nuances. The complex array of red and black fruit flavors is followed by a schist-like mineral finish showing fine grained tannins and great length. The impressive depth is tempered by balance and proportion.

2013 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia   | Approved
Review Date: 8-19-2014
Who knew sub-$20 Pinot Noir could taste this good? Cherry, vanilla, and just a hint of mint. A surefire crowd-pleaser that's perfect for your next dinner party.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago   | Approved
Review Date: 8-19-2014
From the world's southernmost winegrowing region comes an exceptional effort in Pinot Noir that is not to be missed. Violet, black cherry, plum, a hint of minerality, and an amazing texture. If you can keep your hands off it, this is a wine that will be doubly rewarding after a few years in the cellar. If you can't, give it a splash in a decanter, and then prepare to be impressed.

Casamigos Blanco Tequila 750ml  
Review Date: 8-18-2014
Incredibly smooth, and smells...fresh. And, um, George Clooney and Cindy Crawford? Yes please.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2012 Trefethen Estate Napa Valley Dry Riesling   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 8-18-2014
Is it getting toasty in here, or is it the Trefethen Dry Riesling? This Riesling is just beginning to show its more intriguing side; the 2013 is already coming out, so snap up the 2012 while you can if you want to see what this south Napa Valley Riesling can do with just a little bit of age on it--ideally, you'd want to follow this over a few more years. To read the critics' comments from 2013, above, you'd think this was just another, albeit nicely done, fresh and fruity California Riesling. Well, in a way, but at this point the aromas are of toasty, Meyer lemon marmalade and fresh pear...cast in bronze, with Buddha's Hand citrus infused in honeycomb; off in the distance, the petrol is approaching. Dry-ish but gaining weight. For me, this is respectable Riesling because it's not tutti-fruitti, nor is it an overly restrained, simply crisp and floral/pastry-floury version (although, curiously a second bottle of the 2012 showed less of the marmalade and mineral oil notes and seemed restrained than I note above).
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mount Trio Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Great Southern   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 8-18-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Wow, seriously $13.99! One of the best value Cabs I have tasted from anywhere...ever! From a small family estate in Porongurup (a region that is quickly establishing itself as one of the most exciting cool climate areas in Australia). Dense, concentrated dark fruits, sweet spices, chocolate hints and pipe tobacco. Broad and fleshy on the palate with excellent power and definition. Ripe tannins that are soft and silky, fresh acidity to balance the richness of the fruit. Really exceptional value for big cab drinkers. Would be a great deal at $20 so at this price it's a steal!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Springvale Vineyards "Melrose" Pinot Noir Tasmania   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 8-18-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Super cool Pinot Noir from Tasmania. Very elegant, bright and juicy. Lovely, fine, soft structure. Pure fruit, sweet spice and a sprinkle of dusty earth. A perfect wine for lighter dishes when you still feel like a glass of red. For grilled salmon, chicken etc. Super easy-drinking and the price is spot-on for everyday enjoyment. I will be drinking this wine regularly this summer / fall. An exciting (and excellent value) first direct import from Tasmania!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1988 Domaine de Baraillon 26 Year Old K&L Exclusive Folle Blanche Armagnac 750ml  
Review Date: 8-18-2014
Excellent classic Armagnac that is authentic and special. It has nice fruit flavors with a wonderful rustic earthiness. The finish is long and interesting.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Domaine Renardat-F‚che Cerdon du Bugey Rosť  
Review Date: 8-18-2014
It's Bugey! Off-dry and fun, with grapefruit skin and rose petals on the nose. Great on its own or with a simple dessert like berry sorbet or angel food cake with macerated strawberries.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Varnelli Amaro Dell'Erborista 1L (cannot ship)  
Review Date: 8-18-2014
Calling all spirits nerds! This is one special bottle! Elegant, unique due to the fact that it is cloudy and unfiltered. This will be quite the treat for your dinner guests when you pull this out at the end of their meal. Given as a gift it will be sure to leave an impression of impeccable taste.
Price: $61.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien  
Review Date: 8-18-2014
Still a stunning wine to taste and check in on year after year. Round tannins, but firm, pretty, crunchy fruit. A great candidate for the cellar.

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>