Staff Favorites - Susan Thornett

Susan Thornett
I’ve been with K&L since summer 2007, moving to retail from a restaurant background. I love coming up with fun food and wine pairings! I tend to enjoy and review wines that convey something interesting about their region of origin, and I usually prefer subtle, savoury wines. That said, dessert wines are always a particular weakness of mine! Often my reviewed wines- aperitif, main course or pudding- will be from France, Germany, or Austria. You will also see me recommending heaps of beers- so if you always dreamed of having a personal beer sommelier you can sign up for that. My ideal beer is a crispy English session ale but I enjoy exploring many different styles, from Californian double IPAs to sour Belgian Gueuzes. I’m not a beer expert by any means but we have a great selection here at K&L and I’m having a great time working my way through - hope you can join me!

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next  >>
2014 Lake Chalice "The Nest" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand   | Approved
Review Date: 2-1-2015
Kim who? Forget the big names - for classic flavors of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, look no further than this value-priced bottling from Marlborough. It's got everything you're looking for: lime, grapefruit, goosebury, fresh herbs, and juicy, tangy acidity. This is perfect pairing with light, flaky fish or spring vegetables like artichoke. Enjoy!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 2-1-2015
Incredibly lush but framed by intriguing spices, this Napa Cabernet offers intense blueberry, tobacco, cassis, cocoa and that delicious note of vanilla oak. All very well integrated into a nice, balanced and elegant wine.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2010 Soluve Chianti Classico Riserva   | Approved
Review Date: 2-1-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is an incredibly delicious Chianti! It has the richness I look for in reds but with the elegance and texture of fruit I love from that 10% of Merlot that dances well with the Sangiovese. A must have for red wine drinkers. Ready to enjoy now or get an extra one or two to lay down and age-this wine can only get better with age.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

2011 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas   | Approved
Review Date: 2-1-2015
With the major grape used in this gigondas being grenache, this is a perfect french wine to try out if you are all about the Spanish and South American reds. It has a depth to it while being really well rounded. It is loaded with luscious fruit! This is a great choice of wine to entertain with at home for those impromptu dinners with friends and family.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $21.99
RP 91 ST 90 BC 0

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico  
Review Date: 2-1-2015
That wine is a perfect balance between the classic and the more bold style. Dark cherries, blackberry, and very intriguing spices around the fruit, along with a flowery note. It is pretty, but it has power. as I said a perfect balance.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux  
Review Date: 2-1-2015
Most definetely one of the best deals in bubbles outside of Champagne. With an intriguing balance between richness and delicacy, this lemony and honeyed but perfectly Brut. Pair it with any creamy fish dishes, blinis, fondue, banana-based desserts, carrot Cake, or just as an apperitif watching the sun setting over the Pacific!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Les Roches Sauvignon Touraine  
Review Date: 2-1-2015
Nice and zippy, with aromatics that remind me of a softer New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, with lots of elegance. Perfect for appetizers, salads, outdoor events and parties.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough   | Approved
Review Date: 2-1-2015
Having enjoyed multiple bottles of Tongue In Groove's riesling prior to trying the pinot noir, I knew I was in for a delicious, quality wine. This NZ pinot has medium to full body, with delicious dark berries and fruit on the nose. This pinot has smooth tannins that seem to only get smoother with time in the decanter. If you throw this wine in the decanter, you will not regret it! I am sure it can only get better. Don't have a decanter? No problem! Just let some wine sit in your wine glass for a while and it will also take off and take on new profiles and flavors. If you have not ever had a pinot from this part of the world, you should be presently surprised.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2011 Flowers "Perennial" Sonoma Coast Red Blend   | Approved
Review Date: 2-1-2015
If you are looking for a unique wine with a style and character all its own, try this blend from Flowers! Primarily Pinot Noir and Syrah, this wine exhibits an elegant nose of strawberry, clove and a hint of oak, on the palate a symphony of red fruits, and a long spicy finish. This is probably one of the most interesting wines from an incredible producer.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $24.99
BC 0

2009 Cat Amongst the Pigeons "Cat Walk" Cabernet Sauvignon Barossa Valley   | Approved
Review Date: 2-1-2015
Bargain of the century? I think so. Everything an elegant cab should be—cassis and cedar on the nose, hint of black pepper, lively acidity, bold dark fruits, and integrated tannins—yet with the elegance and precision of excellent craft. Easy to drink now, but will hold for a good 5 years minimum. Off to buy more of this for myself…
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart JH 91 BC 0

2013 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay   | Approved
Review Date: 2-1-2015
Beautifully creamy, buttery, chard. Nice balance of oak, fruit, and acidity with a long, gorgeous finish. Exhibiting honeycrisp apples, toasted pecans, and ripe pear notes on the palate. Clean, crisp nose, but creamy and buttery mouthfeel.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja   | Approved
Review Date: 2-1-2015
The 2010 Puelles Crianza is an amazing rioja! With plums & cherries that hit my nose, a rich body, and a really nice and balanced acidity, what's not to love? I have had this producer's reserva and gran reserva but their crianza seems to be the most fruit forward...this might just be my favorite out of the three. If you haven't taken a few home to enjoy-give it a try...it'll be worth it!
Top Value! Drink from 2015 to 2018
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena   | Approved
Review Date: 2-1-2015
The Monseran Garnacha is a delicious value wine with a deep ruby tint, with fresh grapes on the nose. This wine is very easy to enjoy... a great wine to use in sangrias or enjoy with family and friends for a party.
Top Value!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne  
Review Date: 1-31-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Hello, cherry pie! It is amazing how a much a very small amount of pinot noir can change this (mostly) blanc de blanc into rose! Start with the nose, deep, ripe, bing cherries and tart raspberries. In the mouth, the same order...initially, fleshy cherries, cream and a hint of pomegranate. Then, the raspberries and minerality march in and demand your attention. Long, long finish. If you like "bright" Brut Rose and are seeking to expand your horizons, this is the one to buy. This gem, and the wonderful Ariston Aspasie Brut Rose, are my go-to picks for affordable rose sparklers that taste as if they are much more expensive. Olivier Bonville really is a fantastic winemaker!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne  
Review Date: 1-31-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This stunning blanc de blanc has a super, super clean and chalky nose. You can practically smell the fossils in the soil! Meyer lemon notes peek through with just a hint of nectarine and lemon curd.. On the palate, it fleshes out beautifully, with baked apples (initially) that finish with granny smith apples. This champagne is unusual in that it has boot ha tart and full character. It has, of course, Franck Bonville's wonderful quality and balance.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart WS 92 BC 0

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next  >>