Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2 3
Michel Loriot "Marie-Leopold" Sec Champagne
Review Date: 6-1-2011
Oh so lovely! I know that the description says "Sec" and that entitles it to be sweeter than you everyday "Brut". But trust me, this is far, far from being sweet! The sweetness comes across more on the mouthfeel than on the palate. Very soft, almost velvety. Incredibly complex. It can be served with a platter of cheese for an elegant end of a candlelight dinner, or as pairing to a spicy Thai soiree. Endless possibilities...
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur 750ml
Review Date: 5-4-2011
I love it to bits! A little drop of its magic will transform a simple bubbly into the most amazing Champagne cocktail. Thumbs up!

Urbanite Cellars "Redart" Red Blend
Review Date: 2-5-2011
I tend to shy away from those over-the-top, high alcohol, heavily oaked domestic wines, regardless of how many points they are awarded. And that's why I enjoyed this blend. A little lighter and fruitier than their straight Cab, but DELICIOUS nonetheless! It drinks very well with food or simply by itself upon arriving home from work.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Clos des Papes Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 10-11-2010
I know it is pretty easy to recommend a wine with a 99+ rating... Isn't it almost perfection? But I did not only try this amazing wine but poured it for some lucky customers that came to our Big Rhone Tasting a couple of weeks ago! From my point of view, this was probably the very best Chateauneuf I tasted from this vintage. I'm not going to bother you with descriptions, but I will tell you, this wine will be part of the history of the Chateauneuf appellation!

2007 Domaine Senechaux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 10-11-2010
Stunning Châteauneuf! Rich, deep color, and a very perfumed nose of fresh herbs, lavender and dried figs. On the palate, all of that come together with an explosion of flavors that include dark berries and cherries, licorice, currants and figs, but with a definite savory note to it. Incredibly long finish. This is, in my opinion, the very best Châteauneuf we have at this moment in this price range. Picture perfect Provençal wine!

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 8-9-2010
Profound and fun at the same time. Deliciously rich but still delicate, with an explosion of berry fruit. My first choice for a Lobster Bisque, hors d'oeuvre, sushi or to accompany a romantic sunset...
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ledaig 10 year old Isle of Mull Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 12-27-2009
I was a Scotch drinker in my 20s, but for some reason that I can't remember, I stopped drinking them. After being around David Girard for awhile, he became sort of a "mentor" to me, and I am having a lot of fun being reintroduced to the world of Scotch. The Ledaig has been, so far, one my my favorites, with a very balanced amount of peat (which I love), and a quite intriguing whiff of white flowers, leather and lots of spices. I will keep you posted about this exciting journey with other reviews.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-20-2009
If there is such a thing as a Champagne for everyday use, well this has to be it. Not because of the price, but for its quality and poise. Very crispy, citrousy end elegant. Perfect for hors d'oeuvres, seafood, egg dishes, guacamole, goat cheeses, and "fantastic" with caviar!

2007 Domaine de Fondrèche "Persia" Côtes du Ventoux
Review Date: 10-12-2009
I poured this wine at our last Rhone tasting and it was stunning. Quite surprising for the customers that have heard of Ventoux but not of this producer. It is basically an elegant Syrah, more reminiscente of the northern Rhone than Ventoux. The 10% Mourvedre lends a great touch of spiciness, and all that with a nice frame of fruit and coffee beans. Very elegant indeed.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2 3

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne ($27.99)

Chartreuse Green 750ml ($49.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($69.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L) ($139)

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($44.99)

2005 Guiraud, Sauternes ($49.99)

Lillet Blanc 750ml ($15.99)

Lustau Almacenista "José Luis Gonzalez Obregon 1/143" Fino del Puerto ($17.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($24.99)

Lustau East India Solera ($23.99)

Lustau "Penisula Solera Reserva" Palo Cortado Jerez ($21.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur 750ml ($28.99)

Nocino della Cristina Napa Valley Walnut Liqueur (375ml) ($29.99)

Pommery "Brut Royal" Champagne ($29.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($13.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($64.99)

Warre's "Otima" 10-year-old Tawny Port (500ml) ($22.99)

Warre's "Otima" 20-year-old Tawny Port (500ml) ($34.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)

Domaine de Canton Ginger & Cognac Liqueur 750ml ($29.99)

Metaxa Ouzo 750ml ($15.99)