Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next
Taittinger "La Française" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 9-19-2013
I was quite taken aback by the quality of wine in this major brand-labeled bottle. The Taittinger "La Francaise" is a wonderful combination of leesy richness with firm acidity, that glides effortlessly over the palate, hitting all the right notes. The finish is full of citrus and rich, bready flavors. It tastes like it should cost twice as much. It tastes way better than 2003 Dom, which does cost twice as much.

2010 NXNW Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 9-19-2013
In the quest to find delicious, top-quality cabernet for $20 or less, our discovery of the new NXNW brings another awesome selection to that category. In the vein as the Rudy Cabernet or Hedge's Three Valley Red, the NXNW has plenty of dark fruit, that little hint of coffee bean, but decidedly more structure. It's a wonderful addition to the genre and something I think will please almost any type of red wine drinker.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Nikka Coffey Still Japanese Grain Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 9-11-2013
I am a BIG fan of grain whisky, but I'm always sure to express to customers that it's not for everyone. Grain whisky is much less supple, much less round and rich, and more spicy and herbaceous. In a Scotch and Soda, it's unbeatable. I absolutely LOVE the new Nikka Coffey Still grain whisky in a cocktail. I killed a third of the bottle the first night I opened it. It goes down way too easily. The vanilla notes are rich on the entry, but the finish is more intense. Give it a whirl and see what you think.
Price: $62.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Oakridge Local Vineyard Series "Barkala Ridge Vineyard" Chardonnay, Yarra Valley
Review Date: 7-24-2013
I dare you. Put this in your next Chablis tasting and make sure it's in a paper bag. This will blow out your premier cru bottles that everyone was dying to taste and should bring home the gold. I couldn't believe it when we first tried this wine at our last Aussie event. Bursting with minerality and that classic oyster shell Chablis note, great acidity, lots of green apple tartness, and a lovely, racy finish. I bought myself a few bottles immediately after. L-O-V-E I-T!

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 5-15-2013
The Launois Quartz is a perennial favorite here at K&L. One of our cleanest and lightest in style, the Chardonnay flavor really comes through on the nose with a tasty finish that's brimming with crisp acidity. A no brainer for the money.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 5-15-2013
Absolutely delicious bubbly! Bright citrus and stonefruit right on the entry with a richness that finishes cleanly, rather than nutty or oaky. The Launois Reserve is right there with the Bonville Blanc de Blanc and Bruno Michel for best $35-ish bottle of Champagne we carry. A big step up from the Quartz, although both are the same price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Absolut Elyx Single Estate Vodka 1L
Review Date: 5-15-2013
I love it when a brand-oriented whisky customer comes into K&L and I get the chance to talk with them about all of the smaller independents. Nothing feels better than turning a new drinker onto the lesser-known spirits of the world. Almost nothing. There's one thing I actually enjoy even more. I really get a kick when a brand known for bulk production and cheesy gimmickry actually delivers a product that tastes good.I love it when Glenlivet makes a good whisky. I love it when Tanqueray releases a good gin. I love it when gigantic brands show that they're still capable of making something inexpensive, but tasty. Taking a page from the craft spirits movement, Absolut has answered the call for locally-sourced, "handcrafted" (whatever that means these days - in this case I think they're referring to the fact it was manually distilled on a copper still) spirits by offering one of their own. The Elix is made from all-estate (apparently Absolut owns a number of fields in Sweden) grown wheat. It's bottled in a nice package and proofed down to 42.3%, which to me means that they actually tinkered with this thing at various levels to find the one that tasted best, rather than just dropping it down to the defacto 40%. One of the best vodkas I've ever tasted - easily.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Hubert Meyer "Winzenberg" Riesling Grand Cru
Review Date: 3-12-2013
This is one of the biggest slam dunk deals I've tasted in our entire wine inventory. Grand Cru riesling that delivers the goods for $25!!! This wine has numerous layers of fruit that morph as it drifts over the palate. The finish is quite grapey with lush texture. I'm in for as many as I can afford!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Hubert Meyer Cremant d' Alsace
Review Date: 3-12-2013
Wonderfully clean, lithe, and elegant bubbly. Hints of stonefruit dance in now and again. This is a perfect Spring time sipper if there ever was such a thing. Really great wine for the price.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-12-2013
This is fabulous bubbly for a great price. The richness and nuttiness of this wine make it easily accessible to the newcomer, but the bready, mineral notes offer the expert some nuance and depth. I'm a big fan - especially for the price!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Capbern Gasqueton, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 10-4-2012
Maybe as good a deal as anyone is likely to find in this vintage. Made by the same team from Calon Segur, this is a $20 wine built for the long haul. I bought half a case without blinking. Delicious black cherry flavors with minerality to balance it out. Fine tannins. Buy fast.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Talisker 18-year-old Isle of Skye Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-23-2011
Diageo owns more than 20 of the best distilleries in Scotland and is famous for their mind-boggling catalog of single malts. In addition to their incredible line up of regularly available malts like Talisker 10, Lagavulin 16, and Oban 14, they hold back a reserve of special edition whiskies that are only available every few years when there is enough supply on hand. One of those malts is the incredible Talisker 18 Year Old. For the money, there may not be a better whisky value in the entire world. No joke. The delicacy of the fruit, the kiss of sweetness from the oak, and the gentle application of peat smoke are all on display and in perfect harmony with one another. Stonefruits, butterscotch, and campfire smoke all in one poetic burst of flavor. To me personally, it is one of the most perfect single malts I've ever had. Unfortunately, it is only available sporadically and I therefore have to carefully ration my one bottle so that I have enough to get me through until the next release. I'm happy to announce that the time for more Talisker 18 is now and we've bought as much as possible so that we have enough for everyone. This is one of the few single malts that I buy repeatedly, over and over again, because it's really that good and, compared to other 18 year olds, it's an absolute steal. - David Driscoll, K&L Spirits Buyer

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne (previously Cuvee Reserve)
Review Date: 11-11-2010
Nutty richness right off the bat and plenty of acidity to balance it out. We've got another fantastic directly imported Champagne on our hands! At this price, I can see myself drinking Loriot into the new year and beyond. Tasty tasty wine that should appeal to those who like it crisp and those who like a bit more body - which is pretty much everyone!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-31-2009
Wow. Wow, wow, wow, wow wow! WOW! My God. WOW.............wow. This is very good Champagne.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel Premier Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-25-2009
This is the bottle that brought me back to Champagne recently. I'm not sure where I had gone, but now I'm back and I'm loving it. This 100% Chardonnay-based wine is rich and shows a bit of barrel aging, while maintaining a crisp and lively palate of bubbles. I could drink it all day long.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next