Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next  >>
2011 Château de la Charrière Savigny-les-Beaune Blanc "Vermots Dessus" Domaine Yves Girardin
Review Date: 1-16-2014
I'm always a big fan of this wine every vintage. It's so light on its feet and fresh on the finish, but without sacrificing flavor or complexity. There's not nearly as much richness or texture as most fuller-bodied Burgundian whites, but there's a fresh fruit and floral note on the finish, possibly added by the small percentage of Pinot Blanc in the mix. Lovely stuff.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Château de la Charrière Bourgogne Chardonnay Domaine Yves Girardin
Review Date: 1-16-2014
There's a lot of wine for your money in this bottle. It's earthier on the entry, but slowly eases into a rich and mineral-laden palate that finishes cleanly and with finesse. It's much more than a simple drinker. It's a hint of what makes white Burgundy what it is.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Lot 40 Rye 2012 Release Canadian Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 1-15-2014
Like other "American" rye whiskies, such as Whistle Pig, Masterson's, and Jefferson's, the Lot 40 showcases more of that great Canadian-distilled rye whiskey backstock. I was blown away by this whisky when I tasted it. Then I read Davin de Kergommeaux's amazing review and learned about the story behind the brand. This has been one of the most talked about whiskies by Canadian and European collectors for years. For the entire back story, check out Davin's post here: http://www.canadianwhisky.org/reviews/lot-no-40-2012-release-43-alcvol.html
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenrothes Select Reserve Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 1-15-2014
With the prices of almost all single malt whisky brands increasing by $2 every few months, it's rare to see a brand actually going down in price. But the new owners of Glenrothes (Berry Bros & Rudd, the K&L of London) want to get competitive with their new label and we've been able to bring the select reserve down to sub-$40. Many of us at K&L cut our teeth on this malt. It's soft and supple due to the sherry aging, and easy to drink. It's a huge step up over Glenlivet 12, but not as expensive as say Macallan 12. For an everyday sipper, it's pleasant and simple, hitting all the right sweet spots. It's Scotch that tastes like Scotch for people who like Scotch and it's a very fair price.
Price: $38.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Fuenteseca Reserva K&L Exclusive Extra Añejo Tequila 750ml
Review Date: 12-4-2013
Never have I received such feedback about a spirit we've offered at K&L like I have about the Fuenteseca. I knew that the tequila was good (because just tasting the various components you knew you were playing with magical stuff), but I never expected people to go so crazy for this stuff. I've received more than 100+ emails from people writing back to talk about how much they enjoyed drinking the Fuenteseca, many of whom said it was by far the best tequila they'd ever tasted -- and maybe the best tequila ever made. I can't go that far in my own praise, but I will say that there is nothing else like this on the tequila market and I don't know that there ever will be. The only producer with 20+ year old tequilas in his arsenal is Enrique Fonseca, and so far he's only releasing them to K&L.
Price: $189.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Glendronach 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single PX Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-26-2013
This is what we call the Macallan 18 killer. It's softer, more supple, more complex, and surprisingly less sweet than what you'd get from the renowned Highland giant. Our barrel is incredibly cakey -- as in full of Christmas spice cake. Lovely stuff that just about any one can enjoy, especially at a lower-than-normal 52% alcohol. This one glides right over the tongue and into the belly -- quickly and easily. A no-brainer.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1973 Berberana Reserva Rioja( top shoulder fill)
Review Date: 11-19-2013
Again, like I mentioned with the other 1973, this is just legendary wine at a price that, while expensive, is still within reach of many K&L employees if we scrimp and save a bit. In this case, the Berberana is worth every penny. Lots of integrated softness from the tannins and fruit melding together. Lots of complex, aromatic stuff going on. Lots of enjoyment coming from my consumption of this bottle.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 10-15-2013
There's a load of rich, round, wonderfully tasting fruit right on the entry of the 2005 special club. The steely minerality balances it all out, however. Lots of biscuity goodness on the back end. I love this.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Michel Arnould Vintage "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2013
Stunning champagne! The aromas are bready, leesy and full of life. There's more of that on the palate with a rich and savory finish that goes on forever. The acidity is piercingly refreshing and the fruit never fades underneath it. Wonderful stuff!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-2-2013
Always the most elegant and refined of our Tuscan Rosso producers, the 2011 vintage from Sesta is no different. Everything is in perfect balance: the fruit, the acidity, the tannic structure, and the earthy notes on the finish. Absolutely wonderful wine, year after year.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ca'Viola "Vilot" Dolcetto D'Alba
Review Date: 10-2-2013
Quintessential dolcetto: juicy, almost grapey dark fruit, brooding and round right on the entry. The fine tannins start gripping on the finish, but they're merely an afterthought. This is dangerously drinkable and stands far and above the $15 dolcetto options in terms of quality. There's a big difference. This one's waaaaay better.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart RP 89 BC 0

2012 Cantina Terlan "Classico" Terlano
Review Date: 10-2-2013
This is an interesting blend of grapes (pinot bianco, chardonnay, sauv blanc) and the combination creates a lovely balance of acidity and fruit. It's round and rich, but with great zippy acid on the finish. A fantastic food wine and a flavor that's familiar, yet new and exciting. Try it out if you like almost any kind of wine
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

Blason Brut B3 Friuli Sparkling
Review Date: 10-2-2013
This might be the best deal on sparkling wine we've ever had, and we've had a lot of great deals (J Laurens, Denois, etc). What gives the edge to the Blason is the clean fruit and the lovely, fresh finish. There is nothing harsh or off-putting about the wine whatsoever. It would be good at $20, but it's $12. That's a hot deal in my book.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Rey Fernando de Castilla Amontillado Jerez
Review Date: 9-19-2013
This is a crazy complex sherry full of candied caramel, nutty almondy flavors, and a rich, deep, long-lasting finish. Super good.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Goyo García Viadero "Viñas de Anguix" (Viñas de Arcilla) Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 9-19-2013
This wine is one of three simply stunning Goyo Garcia wines we carry. The Vinas de Anquix is in between the other two selections. It has more fruit than the Peruco, but it's less rich than the Valdeolmos. Frighteningly good.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next  >>