Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next
2008 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 4-16-2014
This wine seems to get better each new vintage we get. The red fruited character of the Crianza shines in the 2008 vintage, but it isn't as big or as obvious as a Rhone wine or as over the top as something California. It's a perfect hint of berry balanced by acidity and minerality. It's the red table wine of the summer, for sure, and it's my new go-to bottle for customer recommendations. You get it all for less than $20.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1999 Bodegas Puelles Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 4-16-2014
While we carried the 1999 Reserva in the past, this most recent batch tastes more evolved and the flavors more integrated. The fruit is still there, although it takes a back seat to the soft tannins and the hints of earth that have appeared during maturation. The Puelles wines have always offered supreme value for the money and this wine is no different. Put the 1999 up against a great Bordeaux at your next steak dinner and see which wine wins out.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

2013 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 4-16-2014
The best white wine deal in the store -- period. Hands down. End of story (drops microphone and walks off stage). The refreshingly citric acidity is zippy and lively on the palate, but there's plenty of stonefruit and mineral goodness on the finish. For $9.99 you're getting a whole lot of wine for your money. Case up. 12 bottles still won't be enough.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1988 Littlemill 25 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Exclusive Malts" Single Barrel Cask Strength Lowland Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 4-9-2014
Anyone who enjoys lighter whiskies like the Midleton Rare Irish or our classic Benriach 19 year cask will really appreciate the inner workings of this 25 year old Littlemill. It's a kiss of sweet barley on the initial sip with a delicate burst of vanilla and oak spice on the finish -- nothing more. But it's so integrated, in a way that young whisky simply cannot be. The full proof doesn't get in the way, either, which was surprising to me. You think 25 years, then cask strength, and single barrel, and already we should be talking about $150 or more. But then you throw in the Littlemill name -- a distillery demolished in the 1990s that will never make whisky again -- and now you're talking collector's item. Yet, we still brought it in for $140. That's also quite surprising. A good surprise, however.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Bladnoch "Young" K&L Exclusive Heavily Peated Single Barrel #57 Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 2-27-2014
Three year old whisky? Really? I know that's what you're thinking, but believe me: we wouldn't have bought an entire cask of three year old whisky if it wasn't worth taking! Big smoke, spice, cloves, cinnamon, and fruit. If this is what's laying down at Bladnoch right now I can't wait to see what happens down the line! A preview of fun things to come, but delicious right now.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Glen Carlou Chardonnay Paarl South Africa
Review Date: 1-30-2014
This is just a no-brainer Chardonnay--no matter what kind of Chardonnay you like. It's a richer, Burgundian style, so if you want the oak, it's there, but if you value acidity and crispness, it's got plenty of that, too. For the price, it's crazy.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mt. Beautiful Pinot Noir Cheviot Hills
Review Date: 1-30-2014
This is a showstopper Pinot Noir for $20. It's like a vibrant red Burgundy with cleaner fruit and less earth. Tart cranberry, light in body, and with a foresty note that brings to mind Chorey les Beaune. What a deal.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Te Mata "Elston" Chardonnay Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 1-30-2014
Real deal, Burgundian-style Chardonnay. I've been giving all of my Burgundy customers Southern Hemisphere wine lately because that's where the value is. This is leesy, mineral-driven, snappy Chardonnay with weight and richness. It has depth, complexity, and stunningly clean flavors that pop on the palate. Drink it up, while it lasts.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Château de la Charrière Savigny-les-Beaune Blanc "Vermots Dessus" Domaine Yves Girardin
Review Date: 1-16-2014
I'm always a big fan of this wine every vintage. It's so light on its feet and fresh on the finish, but without sacrificing flavor or complexity. There's not nearly as much richness or texture as most fuller-bodied Burgundian whites, but there's a fresh fruit and floral note on the finish, possibly added by the small percentage of Pinot Blanc in the mix. Lovely stuff.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Lot 40 Rye 2012 Release Canadian Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 1-15-2014
Like other "American" rye whiskies, such as Whistle Pig, Masterson's, and Jefferson's, the Lot 40 showcases more of that great Canadian-distilled rye whiskey backstock. I was blown away by this whisky when I tasted it. Then I read Davin de Kergommeaux's amazing review and learned about the story behind the brand. This has been one of the most talked about whiskies by Canadian and European collectors for years. For the entire back story, check out Davin's post here: http://www.canadianwhisky.org/reviews/lot-no-40-2012-release-43-alcvol.html
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenrothes Select Reserve Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 1-15-2014
With the prices of almost all single malt whisky brands increasing by $2 every few months, it's rare to see a brand actually going down in price. But the new owners of Glenrothes (Berry Bros & Rudd, the K&L of London) want to get competitive with their new label and we've been able to bring the select reserve down to sub-$40. Many of us at K&L cut our teeth on this malt. It's soft and supple due to the sherry aging, and easy to drink. It's a huge step up over Glenlivet 12, but not as expensive as say Macallan 12. For an everyday sipper, it's pleasant and simple, hitting all the right sweet spots. It's Scotch that tastes like Scotch for people who like Scotch and it's a very fair price.
Price: $38.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Fuenteseca Reserva K&L Exclusive Extra Añejo Tequila 750ml
Review Date: 12-4-2013
Never have I received such feedback about a spirit we've offered at K&L like I have about the Fuenteseca. I knew that the tequila was good (because just tasting the various components you knew you were playing with magical stuff), but I never expected people to go so crazy for this stuff. I've received more than 100+ emails from people writing back to talk about how much they enjoyed drinking the Fuenteseca, many of whom said it was by far the best tequila they'd ever tasted -- and maybe the best tequila ever made. I can't go that far in my own praise, but I will say that there is nothing else like this on the tequila market and I don't know that there ever will be. The only producer with 20+ year old tequilas in his arsenal is Enrique Fonseca, and so far he's only releasing them to K&L.
Price: $189.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Glendronach 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single PX Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-26-2013
This is what we call the Macallan 18 killer. It's softer, more supple, more complex, and surprisingly less sweet than what you'd get from the renowned Highland giant. Our barrel is incredibly cakey -- as in full of Christmas spice cake. Lovely stuff that just about any one can enjoy, especially at a lower-than-normal 52% alcohol. This one glides right over the tongue and into the belly -- quickly and easily. A no-brainer.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1973 Berberana Reserva Rioja( top shoulder fill)
Review Date: 11-19-2013
Again, like I mentioned with the other 1973, this is just legendary wine at a price that, while expensive, is still within reach of many K&L employees if we scrimp and save a bit. In this case, the Berberana is worth every penny. Lots of integrated softness from the tannins and fruit melding together. Lots of complex, aromatic stuff going on. Lots of enjoyment coming from my consumption of this bottle.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1991 Cambus 21 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-4-2013
We've managed to build a steady following for single GRAIN whisky here at K&L, along with our MALT program. Grain whisky, much like Merlot after Sideways, has always had a negative reputation because it was considered the cheap slop used to cut single malt into blended whisky. Because it's made from unmalted corn, wheat, and barley and distilled on a column still, rather than a pot still, it's much cheaper to make. That doesn't mean it isn't delicious or of high quality, however. This Cambus is so soft and smooth you'll think you're drinking Johnnie Blue. And, in essence, you are. Cambus was the original grain whisky used for the Walker expressions before the distillery was closed in 1993. Caramel, soft toffee, and a supple mouthfeel carry on to the finish. You'll see exactly why we're converting people over to grain whisky with this selection.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next