Staff Favorites - Steve Greer

Steve Greer
Steve Greer  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I think I started down the path into the wine world with my first job, at 16, bussing tables in a Chinese restaurant. Blue Nun Riesling was the big seller (this in 1985, so don't laugh). While the Blue Nun Riesling was not an "epiphany" wine, I drank a lot of it. It was a magnum of Robert Sinskey Claret that I shared with friends while watching the 1994 World Cup that got me started reading about wine (Brazil won). My first "wow" wine was that same year, when a customer gave me a glass of 1982 Haut Brion. It was amazing. Next I found pinot noir, specifically a 1994 Whitcraft Bien Nacido, and I was hooked. I knew I wanted to sell wine so I moved from restaurants to wholesale wine sales, working for Metamora in Ohio and Kentucky. But after continued consolidation of distributors and the realization, that in wholesale you wear blinders, tasting only the wines you sell, I knew I wanted to move to the retail side. I would like to say I moved from Cincinnati just for K&L but I left the "Red" state for Los Angeles (a Cincinnati Reds and Cincinnati Bengals fan in San Francisco just would not do) and I was very lucky to find the K&L store in Hollywood. The rest is history.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2 3
2010 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 7-5-2011
Fantastic. This vintage is the first year they are certified biodynamic. They also are using a horse to farm about 60 acres, and Alfred Tesseron wants to add one horse a year. This attention to detail in the vineyard is paying off in the finished wine. Very expressive on the nose, it has lovely floral qualities, blackberry and spice. There’s pure black fruit on the palate finishing with some astringency, but the fresh fruit balances the tannins. Buy this as soon as you can!

2008 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 7-5-2011
"Wow" and "Huge" are the two words I wrote for this wine. This was a really beautiful wine with rich dark cassis, black fruit, spice and graphite aromas and flavors. The rich fruit provides a great balance to the grippy tannins. Very nice wine and in comparision to 2009 and 2010 pricing you could almost buy 2.

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 6-7-2011
This is our best value Champagne in the store. Comprised of all three grapes this Champagne shows you can have both good value and great taste. Nutty, brioche and apple fill the nose and palate with a mouth filling mousse. Only $24.99 and I promise everyone you poured this for would enjoy it.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Henri Giraud "Hommage Francois Hemart" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 6-7-2011
This was a surprise hit for all the staff at the lastest Champagne tasting. This showed off layers of citrus, nuts, orange peel, cherry and an almost herbal finish. Very nice!

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 6-7-2011
Every year this is one of my favorite Champagnes. Green apple and mineral on the nose and palate and the 3 years on the lees provides a fantastic mouth feel with plenty of acidity keeping it very crisp and clean. 100% Grand Cru fruit for only $34.99. Crazy.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1996 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 5-4-2011
This was one of the hits of the tasting. Expressive now, this showed dried cranberry, cassis and plum. The beautiful palate displayed dried red fruit, a background of cassis, earth, spice and graphite. The tannins are mostly resolved, with some coming through on the long finish of spice and dried fruit.

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-28-2010
This is a perfect New Year's Eve Rose. On the nose bright cherry and strawberry aromas that carry through on the palate. The bright fresh red fruit flavors are surrounded by a more refined mouth feel. The price makes it affordable for a party.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-27-2010
This could be one of the best deals in our Champagne section. If you like Billecart then you will like this as a alternative in price. Nice strawberry and cherry flavors and aromas with a nice rich texture and a long finish of strawberry. Great value and a great Champagne.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 9-7-2010
Bright raspberry and a touch herbal on the nose. The ’07 Langoa’s palate is polished with spice, herb, raspberry and cassis flavors. The wine has a soft polished finish with lots of raspberry aromas. This is a solid wine!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 7-13-2009
What a beautiful Champagne. The elegant texture with great depth of flavor is what stood out for me. Loads of nuts and fruits (apricots) all wrapped by a great mouthfeel and a toasty finish. This has become my favorite under $30 Champagne.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1999 Labégorce, Margaux
Review Date: 5-20-2008
You have probably never heard of this chateau, but the estate's wines date back to 1868 and there are records of the land belonging to the family (La Begorce) dating back to 1332. The estate was split up after the French Revolution and then reunited by Hebert Perrodo. Apparently his dream was to purchase all three parcels, but he was tragically killed in a skiing accident in 2006. His family has continued the project and the wines themselves seem steeped in this long history. They're “old school” in style and show their best when consumed with a meal. The 1999 displayed aromas of sweet black fruit, which also comes through on the palate filling it with an almost liqueur-like sweetness with a background of spice and lots and lots of acidity.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2 3

More Favorites

Steve Greer is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Steve Greer, click here to join Steve Greer's Personal Sommelier Service.
Jacky Navarre 30 Year Old Tres Vieux Pineau de Charentes 750ml ($69.99)

Suze Gentian Liqueur 1L ($27.99)

Tempus Fugit Kina L'Avion D'Or Aperitif 750ml ($32.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila 750ml ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Anejo Tequila 750ml ($74.99)

Ocho Plata Tequila 750ml ($44.99)

Cana Brava Panama Rum 1L ($24.99)

St. George Terroir Mt. Tam Gin 750ml ($30.99)

Citadelle French Gin 750ml ($19.99)

Camut Aperitif Normand Pommeau 750ml ($39.99)

Domaine du Manoir de Montreuil Calvados Pay d'Auge 750ml ($42.99)

Maurin Quina Aperitif 750ml ($34.99)

El Dorado 15 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml (ships in a 1.5 box) ($39.99)

Russell's Reserve 6 Year Old Small Batch Rye 90 Proof 750ml (3 bottle limit per customer) ($34.99)

Rock Hill Farms Kentucky Straight Bourbon 750ml (ships as 3L) ($44.99)

Michel Dervin Brut Champagne ($32.99)

Fleury "Cuveé Robert Fleury" Brut Champagne ($44.99)

Franck Bonville Extra Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($39.99)

Berry Bros & Rudd No. 3 London Dry Gin 750ml ($34.99)

Chokaisan Junmai Daiginjo Sake (720ml) ($49.99)

Seikyo "Omachi" Junmai Ginjo Sake 720ml ($29.99)

2008 Pyramid Valley Vineyards "Angel Flower" Pinot Noir North Canterbury New Zealand ($39.99)

2008 Pyramid Valley Vineyards "Calvert" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic) ($39.99)

2007 Pyramid Valley Vineyards "Eaton" Pinot Noir Marlborough (Biodynamic) ($39.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)

2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne ($59.99)