Staff Favorites - Steve Greer

Steve Greer
Steve Greer  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I think I started down the path into the wine world with my first job, at 16, bussing tables in a Chinese restaurant. Blue Nun Riesling was the big seller (this in 1985, so don't laugh). While the Blue Nun Riesling was not an "epiphany" wine, I drank a lot of it. It was a magnum of Robert Sinskey Claret that I shared with friends while watching the 1994 World Cup that got me started reading about wine (Brazil won). My first "wow" wine was that same year, when a customer gave me a glass of 1982 Haut Brion. It was amazing. Next I found pinot noir, specifically a 1994 Whitcraft Bien Nacido, and I was hooked. I knew I wanted to sell wine so I moved from restaurants to wholesale wine sales, working for Metamora in Ohio and Kentucky. But after continued consolidation of distributors and the realization, that in wholesale you wear blinders, tasting only the wines you sell, I knew I wanted to move to the retail side. I would like to say I moved from Cincinnati just for K&L but I left the "Red" state for Los Angeles (a Cincinnati Reds and Cincinnati Bengals fan in San Francisco just would not do) and I was very lucky to find the K&L store in Hollywood. The rest is history.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  next
Talisker 10 year old Isle of Skye Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 1-24-2014
I am guilty of chasing the golden goose and forgetting about the standards or classics within a certain category be it wine, whiskey, beer etc. I was reminded of this when we went through a line-up of Scotch whiskey and I tried the Talisker 10. This is the balanced side of peated whiskey with pure sea-side air, creosote and just a hint of iodine balanced by the sweet malt. The finish is beautiful with saline and spice and only $50! A standard for everyone's bar.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart WA 90 BC 0

Guillaumette L'Authentique Génépi 375ml
Review Date: 1-23-2014
This is a wonderful addition to any bar and a perfect addition for Manhattans. Rosemary, thyme and jasmine with an oily texture a touch of sweetness and a mint finish.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Cherry Heering Liqueur 48 Proof 750ml
Review Date: 1-23-2014
The bottle itself looks like something that has been sitting on a back bar of a restaurant for 10 years... untouched! But it is easy to fall in love with this drink that has been produced since 1818. Dr. Pepper, ginger, Xmas cake spice and cherry pie! The most well known drink is Singapore Slings.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ferrand Dry Orange Curacao 750ml
Review Date: 1-23-2014
This is a drier version of Grand Mariner. Tastes like orange marmalade and fresh oranges with dry finish. Excellent!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila 750ml
Review Date: 1-23-2014
The Forteleza line-up is fantastic but the Bianco shows the purity of the spirit with tons of depth. Vegetative, roasted herbs, spice, orange peel and coriander shows this is a sipper to be enjoy.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Viejo Tonel Italia Pisco de Peru 750ml
Review Date: 1-23-2014
This is pisco aromatico made from the italia grape and is very aromatic with floral and spice and high-toned tropical fruit. I think it is best on its own maybe before dinner.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 12-12-2013
Mint and cocoa, with cassis and spice on the palate and finish.

2010 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 12-12-2013
Tight and tannic with rich blackberry fruit. Long spice and black fruit on the finish.

2009 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 8-20-2013
This was a late addition to the tasting so we could try the third label of Chateau Latour against the 2010 Les Forts de Latour. The nose showed a slight funk at first sweet tobacco, iron, meat and graphite which gave way to plum and blackberries with a softer rounder mouth feel than its bigger brother. Everything you would expect in the Latour but fleshier and softer and drinking right now.

2009 de Birot, Côtes de Bordeaux
Review Date: 3-5-2013
Without a doubt this was the overall value winner of the tasting. The aromatic nose was full of dark plum with a touch of spice, while the lush palate was filled with more dark, dense plum along with an earthy funk on the finish. For fun I took this home to see how long it would stay alive, and two days later it still drank well. This wine is great for shortto mid-term drinking.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Boulevard Brewing Co. "Long Strange" Triple, Missouri 750ml
Review Date: 1-8-2013
This is a fun beer with its addition of some malted wheat. There is something of a banana (Belgian Wit) note to the aromas, along with maltiness and light caramel flavors. Again, this is very balanced, and I wouldn’t have guessed it was 9.2% ABV.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Tour de By, Médoc
Review Date: 1-8-2013
This wine is somewhat old school, but with a touch more fruit. The nose is a mix of currants, tobacco, a touch of roasted herbs and cedar. The palate shows a bit more ripe fruit—somewhere between bright red berry and plums. There is very nice acidity that gives a touch of tartness on the finish with plenty of tannins to fuel some aging potential.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Le Bonnat, Graves
Review Date: 12-4-2012
The value wines from the 2009 vintage have been going fast but we luckily have plenty of this. The nose is rich and ripe filled with blackberry and plum. The palate is more layered with a background of spices underneath the ripe plum. The finish is grippy and chewy with more spice and a mineral note.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 I Custodi "Aetneus" Etna Rosso
Review Date: 12-4-2012
This is new for K&L from a winery that Chris Miller was told to visit on his trip to Sicily. The vines from the slopes of Etna are up to 250 years old. Dark black fruit fills the nose giving the impression that the wine will be powerful but an elegance comes through on the palate with layers of leather, orange peel, spice and of course the volcanic minerality. This is a very structured wine so it is best with dinner or a bit of cellaring. This is not to be missed.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2009 La Dauphine, Fronsac (1.5L)
Review Date: 11-27-2012
This estate has become a favorite around K&L and the 09 is one of their best yet. Bitter chocolate and ripe blackberry on the nose and palate. There is an almost creamy texture to the wine with a long finish of black fruit. Drink now over the next 5 years.

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  next

More Favorites

Steve Greer is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Steve Greer, click here to join Steve Greer's Personal Sommelier Service.
Jacky Navarre 30 Year Old Tres Vieux Pineau de Charentes 750ml ($69.99)

Suze Gentian Liqueur 1L ($27.99)

Tempus Fugit Kina L'Avion D'Or Aperitif 750ml ($32.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila 750ml ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Anejo Tequila 750ml ($74.99)

Ocho Plata Tequila 750ml ($44.99)

Cana Brava Panama Rum 1L ($24.99)

St. George Terroir Mt. Tam Gin 750ml ($30.99)

Citadelle French Gin 750ml ($19.99)

2010 Hedges "CMS Red" Columbia Valley Red Blend ($12.99)

Averna Amaro Siciliano 750ml ($29.99)

Maurin Quina Aperitif 750ml ($34.99)

El Dorado 15 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml (ships in a 1.5 box) ($39.99)

Russell's Reserve 6 Year Old Small Batch Rye 90 Proof 750ml (3 bottle limit per customer) ($34.99)

Michel Dervin Brut Champagne ($32.99)

Franck Bonville Extra Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($39.99)

Berry Bros & Rudd No. 3 London Dry Gin 750ml ($34.99)

Chokaisan Junmai Daiginjo Sake (720ml) ($49.99)

Seikyo "Omachi" Junmai Ginjo Sake 720ml ($29.99)

2008 Anderson's Conn Valley "Right Bank" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend ($39.99)

2008 Pyramid Valley Vineyards "Calvert" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic) ($39.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)

2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne ($59.99)

2007 DuMol Russian River Valley Chardonnay ($54.99)