Staff Favorites - Joe Manekin

Joe Manekin
Joe Manekin  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Joe arrived at our doors in February 2007 from far away, Washington, DC to be exact. Just so no one gets the wrong idea, though, he was merely earning a living in DC; Joe’s cultural identity, as well as his professional sports allegiances and, when he has a few drinks in him, his accent, are all Baltimore through and through. After working on the wholesale side of the business for nearly 4 years, Joe decided that he wanted to work wine retail with the best, so he emailed Cindy Westby at K&L and the rest is history. While Joe is well versed in a number of wine regions, he most enjoys the wines of Europe, though he is growing increasingly interested in the great wines of the Santa Cruz mountains. When he is not at K&L, Joe enjoys cooking, traveling, catching up on The Wire, doing occasional PR, booking and recording work for reggae band JohnStone (www.johnstonemusic.com), and writing for his wine, food and music blog, Old world Old School (www.oldworldoldschool.blogspot.com)


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next
2011 Millton "Te Arai" Chenin Blanc Gisborne
Review Date: 1-29-2014
This kiwi Chenin is lip-smacking, thirst-quenching and very well balanced. Classic Chenin stone fruit--think peaches, apricots and pears rather than any tropical varieties--is refreshing and beautifully balanced. I am not ashamed to say that I drank the 3-4 ounces remaining after our recent tasting, straight out of the bottle (not on the clock, of course).
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Lothian Vineyards Chardonnay Elgin
Review Date: 1-29-2014
Serious Chardonnay! This is creamy and rich, yet balanced and mineral as well. While so many Chardonnays are either overripe and aggressively oaked, or minimally oaked but one-dimensional and over-sulphured, it is refreshing to taste one that just shows great and drinks wonderfully right now! For those who value Chardonnay with bottle age, a hint of fat but tempered by mineral and elegant flavor development, this is as good a Chard as any in our current inventory.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Rippon Riesling Lake Wanaka Central Otago New Zealand (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 1-29-2014
Rippon, the iconic Central Otago estate best known for Pinot Noir, also happens to skillfully produce a range of whites. Their Riesling is just one of them, and to give you an idea how these age, how about giving this '08 a try? Candied citrus on the nose leads to a slightly creamy, exotically fruited palate that shows good development and a style more reminiscent of Alsace or even the Alto Adige than either Germany or Austria. Not surprisingly, this is a very balanced and elegant wine from the pros over at Rippon.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart RP 89 BC 0

2011 Jacques Bavard Monthelie Blanc
Review Date: 1-29-2014
While I have huge respect for the many talented, multi-generational domaines working in historic terroirs, producing excellent wine year after year, it is interesting to me how an outsider, or at least one not long involved on the production side of the business, can make excellent wines due to their palate preferences, context for wine tasting, work ethic, and savoir faire. Bavard is a perfect example. The Monthelie borders Meursault, which, given the savory, nutty yellow fruited profile, comes as no surprise. As per usual with Bavard, this shows wonderfully balance and texture.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Jacques Bavard Chassagne-Montrachet 1er Cru "Les Embrazées"
Review Date: 1-29-2014
While I have huge respect for the many talented, multi-generational domaines working in historic terroirs, producing excellent wine year after year, it is interesting to me how an outsider, or at least one not long involved on the production side of the business, can make excellent wines due to their palate preferences, context for wine tasting, work ethic, and savoir faire. Bavard is a perfect example. The Chassagne Embrazees (part of Chassagne Morgeot) shows lovely white flower inner mouth aromas, as well as an intensity and purity one would expect at this level. Given the vintage it's drinking great now, but will certainly repay short to mid-term cellaring.
Price: $62.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Jacques Bavard Saint-Romain Blanc "Sous le Château"
Review Date: 1-29-2014
While I have huge respect for the many talented, multi-generational domaines working in historic terroirs, producing excellent wine year after year, it is interesting to me how an outsider, or at least one not long involved on the production side of the business, can make excellent wines due to their palate preferences, context for wine tasting, work ethic, and savoir faire. Bavard is a perfect example. The Saint Romain Sous Le Chateau is so bright, with so much drive, that if you're like me and love such whites you may almost forget its capacity to put on weight and intensity with a few years of bottle age. So, enjoy now but don't forget to stash a few away for later!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 1-29-2014
Always one of my favorite under $13 whites in the store. As usual, it's mineral, crisp, persistent, and an excellent representation of Chard from the Maconnais. Almost too serious for the price (but don't let that discourage you from having fun with this wine!)
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Peñalolen Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
Review Date: 1-28-2014
This is a big, brawny and richer style of Cabernet, but one that also shows solid tannin structure and balance for its heft. Aromas of dark and red fruits also show a hint of eucalyptus. On the palate, this Cab has intensity and rich fruit to spare, coupled with a savory, meaty quality. This would certainly work nicely with your favorite cut of steak. Bone in ribeye would work, though I'd personally go for a New York!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

1998 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 1-24-2014
I was blown away by how beautifully this was showing when we tasted it a few days ago. Showing red berry fruits, lots of brightness and refreshing acidity, this is showing all the merits of the '98 vintage in Graves.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Larrivet Haut-Brion, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 1-24-2014
Tasted recently, this showed very meaty, with intense dark fruit and loads of structure. The wine seems to have put on weight since the last time I tasted it. If this is an indication of where 2004 vintage Pessac wines, it makes me wish that I had bought a lot more. Lots of BDX, and lots of value, for the money!

2012 Carlos Diaz "Estrela" Ribeira Sacra
Review Date: 1-15-2014
Our first Galician DI is this delicious Ribeira Sacra. What I love about the better red wines from this region (and I would certainly place the Estrela amongst them!) is their freshness, their minerality, medium body and overall balance. While the treacherously steeply sited vineyards, the poor slate soil and the dramatic scenery is eye catching,the most important thing here is the quality of the wines, which is terrific and improving with every vintage.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Bodegas Bilbainas "Viña Zaco" Rioja
Review Date: 1-14-2014
This is a quintessential weeknight red--bright with red cherry fruits, lighter tannins and enough sense of place and interest to hold your attention, though not to the point of distraction while you prep dinner or settle into your pos-work routine. For under $10, this wine'll work!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2011 Tikal "Patriota" Mendoza
Review Date: 1-8-2014
Tikal's Patriota has always been a favorite of many of our customers. Stylistically, I find this wine somewhere between Sean Thackrey's Pleiades and The Prisoner, in that it's got loads of blue and mixed berry fruit, well framed by oak, but with enough freshness and lift from acidity to keep it from going too much to the heavy side. We usually sell this for several dollars more, so for under $17 it's a solid deal to boot.

2011 Domaine Gerard Tremblay Chablis "Vieilles Vignes"
Review Date: 11-19-2013
I love young Chablis, and as much as I intended to stash away bottles from the recent great vintages of 2008 and 2010, invariably I am trigger happy and do not cellar nearly as much as I should. In the case of this delicious 2011, I'd be happy to open and drink many bottles without any guilt. While it surely will improve for several years, the price and approachable, friendly nature of the vintage both make this a drinker. Crab - check. Oysters - check. Tremblay Chablis VV - check! Your holiday party is now ready to go.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart ST 89 BC 0

1973 Berberana Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-19-2013
How do I build upon the flowery prose I already entered on this one? Berberana was known back in the day for the quality of their wines - we're talking pre 1970's vineyard expansion and grubbing of older vines for more productive clones. This wine is a testament to that reputation. Of all the older wines we recently opened, several of us agreed that this might have been most complete and elegant, with such terrific poise, balance and persistence. Simply amazing mature Rioja - one could not hope for much better in 40 year old wine!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next