Staff Favorites - Bryan Brick

Bryan Brick

Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2 3
2010 Marietta "Angeli Cuvee" Alexander Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 1-15-2014
Marietta has long been on our radar as one of the best producers of a non-vintage field blend for pennies on the dollar. Their “Old Vine Red” has graced our shelves continuously for the past 7-8 years, if not longer, and is always one of the best Domestic values in the store. Sadly however we’ve not found a permanent home for too many of their other wines for reasons that I can not honestly explain. That is until now. Their Angeli Cuvee, which is their top wine, is named after the owners of the ranch that became the current estate that the Bilbro family purchased in 1991. This blend of Zinfandel, Petite Sirah, Carignane and Syrah is a tremendous wine showing the balance and poise that a blend like this rarely has. Maybe that is because of the overall coolness of the 2010 Vintage or maybe it is because it is just put together with a bit more attention and care, bottom line is this is smoking wine. Big and boisterous from the onset this is packed with aromas of black cherry, tar, sweet licorice ropes and cracked peppercorns. Ripe and full on the entry this shows pleasing texture and heft without turning jammy or coating and has plenty of countering spice and brightness of fruit. Flavors of boysenberry, allspice, mocha and unsweetened chocolate bounce around the palate and would work wonderfully with some braised short ribs or hearty meat packed chili.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

2012 Rancho Zabaco "Heritage Vines" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 1-8-2014
We all need a wine for the little times. Things like the month of January, Monday nights, or those friends that pour their wine glasses up to the top. This Rancho Zabaco Zin is one of those kinds of wines: simple, drinkable and kind of unassuming but fully enjoyable. The thing I like most about this wine is that it has become very hard to find a fully dry Zin at this price range and this is dry in spades. It also has much more stuffing than I expected with a nice peppery streak to the dusty blackberry fruit. If you’re looking for an everyday red you certainly could do a ton worse for the value.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-5-2013
Back in February when we approached Bob Lindquist at Qupé about making a wine for us we also spoke to Jim Clendenen of Au Bon Climat, after all they share the same facility on the famed Bien Nacido Vineyard. We thought that there would be few winemakers in the world of Pinot Noir that we’d like to work with more and few that have made as consistently good Pinot as Jim has over the last 30+ years. To our surprise Jim was interested and told us to keep in touch. Come May I was sitting down at a table having lunch with Jim and his General Manager Jim Adelman putting together this fantastic blend. We tasted 14 components that afternoon from both Le Bon Climat and Bien Nacido Vineyards. What we ended up with in our bottling was 100% Bien Nacido Vineyard fruit from 2 blocks: Block 11 and Block 2. More specifically the wine is a blend of 50% Swan Clone from Block 11 planted in 1997, 20% Mount Eden Clone from Block 2 planted in 1996, 20% a mixture of all Clones on Block 11 planted between 1997-1998 and 10% 115 Clone from Block 11 planted in 1998 40% of which was whole cluster fermented. The bright red cherry, cassis, pastille, fresh lavender and subtle mint aromatics came together wonderfully that day with a juicy core of green spiced, blue fruits on the palate from the whole cluster portion of the wine. The earthen spice and black tea notes from the mid palate on were brought by the Mount Eden clone which also added lovely weight and a bit of scope. I think that all three of us left the table that day happy with what we agreed on and now that it is in bottle I couldn’t be more excited about it. Bottled in early August this can use a vigorous decanting until around New Years and after that I believe it will open up and become something that will continue to get better over the next 6-7 years at least. Thanks Jim and Jim for making this dream become a reality.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Matchbook Dunnigan Hills Tempranillo
Review Date: 11-13-2013
Why the heck are we sending you an e-mail on a domestic Tempranillo from vineyards that are close to Highway 5? Because it may just be one of the sneakiest values of the year from California, even Robert Parker says so. A blend of 83% Tempranillo, 10% Tannat and 7% Graciano this is not to be confused with Spanish Rioja or Ribera del Duero (where the Tempranillo cutting for this vineyard came from, coincidentially) but a truly Californian take on what we can do with the noble Tempranillo grape. Aged in oak barrels, not on chips or staves, for 26 months in a mixture of American, French and Hungarian 15% of which was new this wine has a lovely sweet tinged and opulent nose full of friendly pencil lead, dried wild berries, coffee grounds and fresh blackberries. Ripe and lush on the palate with a deep set core of black fruits, sagebrush, cola and bakers cocoa this just wildly over delivers for the paltry $13 price tag. Bright and sassy on the finish much like great Rioja, but totally different, this shocked me with its varietal honesty and superb balance. A must try wine for lovers of the varietal or great bargains.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2010 Qupé "Bien Nacido Reserve-Block Eleven" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-18-2013
It’s kind of funny if you really read the wine critics reviews that are listed here. All say very complementary things about the 2010 Qupe Bien Nacido-Block 11 Chardonnay but all four of the reviews describe the wine somewhat differently. This isn’t wildly odd in this biz, after all wine is certainly “in the eye of the beholder,” but it may be a bit confusing to our customers. I believe that the reason all four of these reviews differ so much, and mine as well, is that this wine is supremely balanced. In fact it is this balance that dominates the wine from nose to finish. Because of this I think you can really focus on what you enjoy in Chardonnay as a whole. If you like them bigger you’ll probably zone in on the brioche, toasted pecan aspects of the nose and the rich weighty texture, slightly tropical fruit and the toasty roasted corn-like new oak component. If you like leaner Chards then you’ll probably focus on its citrusy, honeysuckle aromatics along with the wines unmistakable energy on the palate with lemon curd, apricot, sous bois and a long acid driven finish. Either way there is something that I think every Chardonnay fan is really going to enjoy about this wine.

2008 Camiana "Blue Hall Vineyards" Howell Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 9-18-2013
I can’t say enough about how good this wine is for the price. Mike Jordan, my counterpart in the San Francisco store, worked some serious magic to bring this price to all of you. I loved this wine when I first tasted it but was really worried about its asking price thinking that I wouldn’t be able to get it into peoples’ hands, but at $40 it is a no-brainer if you like mountain fruit Cabernet as much as we do. From a 3-acre parcel planted in 2001 at 1,700 feet elevation on Howell Mountain this wine is packed with aromas of fresh wild mushrooms, ash and deeper set tar and wet asphalt notes perfectly reminiscent of the mountain in which it comes. Soft and fairly open for a Howell Mountain wine this is wonderful now, although I think it will improve a bit over the next 2-5 years, with lovely ripe, yet precise flavors of camphor, black currant, sweet tobacco and a hint of scrub brush. Any fans of the Dunn, Ladera, Mayacamas, Keenan school of Cabernet should really pay attention here.
Price: Hidden Add To Waiting List WE 93 BC 0

2011 Stolpman "Estate" Santa Ynez Valley Syrah
Review Date: 9-3-2013
If you haven’t tried the Stolpman wines in a while it may be time to give them another shot. For years I thought of the wines of Stolpman to be sort of the best of the modern bunch: high extraction, higher in alcohol, bigger oak components and very ripe. However over the last couple of vintages that style has been changing bring the wines back down to a more balanced place. The wines now show off the varietals more and the unwavering quality that their vineyards always have produced rather than the winemakers hand in the cellar. The new 2011 Santa Ynez Valley Syrah unmistakenly shows this new lean with a nose more about new leather, freshly picked wild blackberries and cured beef than high toast oak barrels and prickly alcohol. Bright and sassy for Syrah, this has a wealth of spice components and really shows them off from the minute it enters your mouth. Whole black peppercorns, tar, cassis, mesquite smoke, pork belly and anisette are all apparent here with a pretty fresh green herbaceous note hiding underneath. This is Syrah in its purest form and could easily be mistaken for a young wine from the Northern Rhone from the 80s-90s. For any fan of traditional spice driven Syrah this is a must try.

2010 Qupé "Sawyer Lindquist Vineyard - K&L Selection" Edna Valley Syrah
Review Date: 7-23-2013
A blend of 91% Syrah and 9% Grenache this is a lovely wine already with alluring aromatics of cocoa powder, dried fennel, camphor and subtle notes of bacon smoke covering warm blueberry muffins. Soft and inviting this is wonderful right now with supple, caressing texture and fleshy black fruits all pinned down by velvety tannins and some pleasing black pepper spice. Long and juicy on this finish this keeps echoing flavors found on the palate along with notes of fried sage and sweet licorice. I couldn’t be happier with the wine and think it is going to be just as well received as a cocktail wine as it will on the dinner table. Think cassoulet, short ribs and pork loin as willing and justified partners.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Brewer-Clifton Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 5-23-2013
The wines of Brewer-Clifton have long been some of the K&L staff’s favorite Pinot Noirs and Chardonnays made in California. Maybe it was because of their unflinching stylistic choices to make energetic, sunny, fresh wines. Maybe it was due to fact that they offered some of the best values in their respective price points. But mostly I think that it was just because they made wines that just about anyone could enjoy. The wines from B-C straddle a perfect line between the modern, richly flavored, bold wines that I like to call “new-school” and the subtle, thoughtful, precisely balanced wines of the old world. This Santa Rita Hills Chardonnay, pulled from some of the most famed vineyards of the region,Mount Carmel, 3-D, Gnesa, Sea Smoke, and Zotovich , to be exact is just a silly value for $24.99. Full of vibrant aromas like cantaloupe, kiwi, clover honey and apricot one would think that this would be one of those monster chardonnays but it is far from it. Sure it has a wonderful, round, filling texture on the mouth but it is far from heavy. Richly flavored, check, but this is no hammer with lifting tones of Kaffir lime, peach skin and orange flesh and a long nervy finish that speaks of the cool climate of the region. If you never had a wine from B-C this is a perfect place to begin and if you already have you know what a tremendous value this really is.

2011 Talley Estate Arroyo Grande Pinot Noir
Review Date: 5-23-2013
This delicious Pinot is a combination of 85% Rincon and 15% Rosemary’s vineyards, Talley two famous estate blocks. Pretty and full of spice cake/ginger bread aromatics and bold, expanse flavors of cassis, fennel and tar this is very complete for such a young wine. I love the way this wine unravels and rolls over the palate giving you everything it’s got. Talley nailed this one.

2009 Saarloos & Sons "His" Santa Ynez Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 4-3-2013
Sometimes you just know. You just sort of have a feeling that everything is going to work out just fine. Some call it ESP, some say it is their gut feeling and some are just so braggadocios that they will tell you they knew all along. Well, whatever you want to call it I think all of us that visited Saarloos and Sons on our recent trip to the Central Coast back in late February knew pretty quickly that we were going to do some really cool stuff together. I originally heard a hot tip about this winery from Bob Lindquist at Qupé a while back and if Bob says someone is doing a good job than that is good enough for me. What I didn’t know was just how much this family is committed to making great wines, being true stewards to their vineyards all the while having ridiculous amounts fun and trying to pass their wines onto people in a truly different way. I mean cupcakes with wine pairings at the tasting bar??? Seriously rad. Gift Certificates made out of barrel staves. Totally bitchin’ right? Letting their 6 year old daughter decide when to begin harvest on their Sauvignon Blanc? Genius! Writing a sustainable 250 year business plan? That is just plain cray-cray. But even without all the coolness surrounding this family project I would have loved these wines every bit as much. The reason: purity. These wines are the essence of well farmed fruit made gently into even better wines. Sometimes when you taste wines with the people behind them it gives you a better context in which to understand the wines. Here we instantly saw the personality of the people in the wine: honest, dedicated, farmers, looking to do something classic but always with a modern spin. Basically what I’m trying to say is these awesome guys and gals make wines that perfectly personify that awesomness.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Jolly Pumpkin Artisan Ales "Bam Biere" Farmhouse Ale, Michigan 750ml
Review Date: 5-25-2010
The Jolly Pumpkin Artisan Ales "Bam Biere" is one of the best work horse beers out there. Made in the style of a Saison this is one of the best interpretations coming out of the US right now. With its yeasty, fruity nose of peach, apricot, fresh bread dough, tangerine and a pinch of clove this is about as traditional as Saison gets. Lightweight on the palate but full of flavor the beer displays flavors of brewer’s yeast, fried plantains, wet earth, savory grassy tones and a bit of drying hoppiness in the finish. The sweet/bitter interplay here is perfect, keeping the beer from ever getting out of balance or cloying white the understated fruitiness builds complexity as it goes. Big time Boosh!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2 3