Staff Favorites - Alexandre Brisoux

Alexandre Brisoux

Page:  <<  prev  6 7  8  9  10  next  >>
Big Peat Islay Holiday Edition Blended Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 11-11-2014
The Big Peat Xmas Edition won best blended single malt from the Whisky Advocate in 2013, and the new edition, in my opinion, is better than last year's. Imagine the lithe, briny character of Ardbeg Uigeadail with the baking spices and cinnamon peat of Laphroaig and Caol Ila on the finish. At cask strength, it really comes on strong at the back, letting you know this isn't some watered-down well drink. The flavors are potent and balanced from front to back. Of course, there's a bit of Port Ellen mixed in as well, just for the fun of it. Those who take the plunge on this bottle will be well-rewarded. It's another solid attempt from the Big Peat team.
Price: $66.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Imperial 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 11-11-2014
This is just an updated version of a cask we bought a few years back. This one is both older and better. It's just everything you want: oily, resinous, fat-fruited, waxy, chewy, viscous, but never sweet. There's a bit of a tropical element on the finish, but it turns into something almost phenolic instead. Layers, upon layers, upon layers. 52.7% is perfect, so you don't need water. Imperial is no longer in operation, so there's a bit of a collectability factor here as well. One hot price. This is like cask strength Glenmorangie 18 (but for less!).
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1998 Mortlach 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Finish Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 11-11-2014
So this guy started as a couple of hogsheads and was then finished in a sherry butt. You can tell because there's a lot of oak action on the nose, almost Bourbon-like with pencil lead, but then morphing into stonefruit. The sherry turns on however in the mid-palate, but as we saw with the Bruichladdich it only highlights the fruit. Holy cow, this is tasty. Lots of sweet apricot and pear notes, but like they were dipped in a bit of cocoa. I'm going back in again and there's another wave of sweet baking spices that washes over the finish. Wow, this is good.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Glen Ord 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 11-11-2014
We wanted this as comparison to the other 1997 barrels we bought so folks could do a horizontal. Glen Ord is a distillery that we don't see much of and we usually like it (partially because of the exotic nature of drinking Glen Ord). This is more subtle and less-pronounced than the other casks on this list. There's a lot of straight-forward sweetness and soft fruit, but it will take a discerning drinker to appreciate the nuance. But I know there are easily 272 guys who will really enjoy this bottle. 58.3% makes this a great rocks whisky.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1990 Bruichladdich 23 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 11-11-2014
23 years and 10 months old. Not quite 24, but close. Rather than fresh sherry, we have a refill which is really what Bruichladdich needs: just a bit of sweetness to help accent the salty goodness. In this case, it works like utter magic. There's a kiss of rich caramel on the initial sip, but the back end goes more towards the fruit and sea salt. It's absolutely charming and, if I were to do a blind tasting of all these new Signatory whiskies, I think I would have chosen this first. There's something just perfect about the flavor profile. It's everything I want from single malt. This is right there with the Blair Athol.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Bowmore 12 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 11-11-2014
This one we did at full proof rather than 46% like the last barrel. The 59.1% is key to bringing out the best in this Bowmore. It's so powerful that the peat almost turns into that medicinal note, which is surprising given the level of richness from the refill sherry. It's nothing at all like the other Bowmore we brought in a few months back though. That was all campfire smoke and lazy vanilla, perfect for sipping on a cold winter evening. This is all high-tone phenolic notes with just a bit of sweet sherry that quickly explodes into something beyond all of those elements. It finishes entirely differently from where it begins. Bowmore collectors will be stoked.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1988 Blair Athol 25 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 11-11-2014
This delicious whisky was distilled in October, but bottled in September. So 25 years and 11 months, but not quite 26 years old. It's a first fill sherry butt, not a refill. It's big and dark and intense sherry. At 61.2%, this is a beast of a sherry butt, in the vein of Glendronach and Glenfarclas. It has that subtle mix of earth and cake on the nose with a bit of burnt sugar underneath. The palate is more of the same, and the finish is just big, fat sherry all night long. It's spicy sherry, though, not sweet sherry. The proof just kills any chance of sweetness. Water helps to release oils, creamy elements, and cuts out some of that heat so you can get into the malty center. Top notch whisky for slam dunk price. Can you imagine what 25 year old Macallan or Glendronach would cost at full proof? This is the star of the lineup. You buy this one first, and everything else second.
Price: $154.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Valandraud, St-Emilion  
Review Date: 11-11-2014
One of our suppliers was kind enough to hold this wine for several years before we purchased it for a ridiculous price (that is one way to look at it). A few extra years in the bottle has really rounded out and opened up the wine. It is just starting to hit its stride now as there is still plenty of tannin and structure underneath the enormous amount of fruit and toasty oak. Still, with a little air this wine is delicious right now!

1988 Blair Athol 25 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 11-10-2014
The Blair Athol 25 has an inviting, mouthwatering dark brown color. There are pretty aromas of malt and sherry, but they don't tell the whole story. In the mouth, while full-bodied and rich, the Blair Athol 25 is not overly sweet and is balanced and well rounded.
Price: $154.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro Alvarinho Vinho Regional Minho  
Review Date: 11-10-2014
Always a favorite easy-to-drink white wine. It is clean and crisp with enough bright fruit to make it too easy to drink. On the dry side with a touch of fizz, it will go well alone or with calamari, shell fish and chicken.

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 11-10-2014
I think that everything that I have tasted from Baricci has been well crafted and tasty. This wonderful Brunello is no exception. It has bright fruit mixed with the dusty flavors producing a complex and very good Brunello. While on the young side, it can be enjoyed now with some decanting.Drink with hearty foods.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2013 Château Font-Mars Picpoul de Pinet   | Approved
Review Date: 11-10-2014
This was the first wine I tried at my first-ever official K&L tasting, which was appropriate because I am always looking for bargain bubbles! Crisp and refreshing with mineral notes and a slight saline quality that makes me think oysters. At this price point, though, you can afford to experiment with pairing. How about just sipping a glass as you make dinner?
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Erik Banti Morellino di Scansano  
Review Date: 11-10-2014
A fantastic bright and expressive wine for a bargain price. It is medium bodied with nice red fruit flavors that is soft enough to drink now. It will go well with pasta, pizza or most sandwiches.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Textbook Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 11-9-2014
Mention the word "textbook" and aside from the "textbook" definition, I flashback a decade or so to my poor niece Emily having to lug the equivalent of twenty pounds of school books in her beast of a backpack during the seventh grade. Fortunately times have changed, and today, with handheld tablets no one needs to be a human pack mule to get a decent education. Of course the best education for a student of wine is an uncorked bottle and a sparkling glass, allowing the winemaking talents of folks like Jonathan and Susan Pey to shine forth. With extensive experience in Bordeaux, Burgundy and the restaurant culture, they bring true sense and sensibility to their passion for wine, and their "newly published" Textbook Cabernet Sauvignon is defined by lovely aromas of ripe, juicy plums, succulent blackberries, licorice and camphor framed by subtly spicy oak, elegant tannins and scrumptious, mouthwatering acidity. An incredible Cabernet value, serve this throughout the holidays and into 2015. No homework required!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Blason Friulano Isonzo  
Review Date: 11-9-2014
As most of you know these wines from past vintages, let me just put it plain and simple: 2012 ROCKS in Friuli! The “Friulano” is medium to full-bodied, with ripe pear and red apple on the palate. On the finish I find a hint of almond balanced with crisp acidity. This will work well with ham or hearty soup.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<  prev  6 7  8  9  10  next  >>