Staff Favorites - Alexandre Brisoux

Alexandre Brisoux

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>
2012 Ellero "Pisa Terrace" Pinot Noir Central Otago  
Review Date: 3-31-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Central Otago has, over the last decade, become the hot spot in New Zealand for Pinot Noir, and there are so many super producers and bottlings that it can be impossibly hard to keep up, but luckily we have Ryan Woodhouse, our inspired explorer and savvy spelunker of all things Kiwi-driven. Ok, maybe not spelunker, unless we’re talking wine caves. The Ellero comes from ‘Pisa Terrace’, a precious parcel of organic vines that may or may not grow on a badly tilted hillside …. anyway, this is a serious, well-wrought wine, combining both fine concentration and clarity, with a brilliant array of silky black and red fruits, savory tea spice, structured tannins and earthy, textural notes on the persistent finish. A masterful stroke of winemaking, likely to evolve beautifully for several more years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2013 Domaine de Begrolles Muscadet-Sèvre et Maine sur Lie  
Review Date: 3-31-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Diving into a chilled platter of locally-harvested Hog Island oysters accompanied by a crisp bottle of Domaine de Begrolles white is about as good as it gets— the marriage of mollusk and Muscadet is made in heaven, or as close as one can get while sitting by the bay on a warm summer day. This delightfully dry wine hails from Sevre et Maine not far from where the Loire River empties itself into the Atlantic, imbuing the wine with welcome marine influences— whispered salinity, seashell and iodine notes to complement the white flower, citrus and leesy elements. A great little wine to clean your palate without cleaning out your wallet.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)   | Approved
Review Date: 3-31-2015
This Gruner took me completely by surprise. Not only does it embody all that I love in a Gruner: racy acidity, great lime, grapefruit, green apple aromatics, and fresh, light body, but it is far more complex than I look for in this price range. The Etz brothers have a stunning attention to detail in their wine making, that shows in this incredible bargain Gruner. Truly impressed by this wine!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2014 Domaine Fontsainte "Gris de Gris" Corbières Rosé   | Approved
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Delightful rose at a great price! This wine is light, with bright acidity, great strawberry/cherry and floral aromas, and a delightful hint of minerality. Because of its light body, it drinks more like a white wine, and is perfect for warm weather. I could drink this all day...
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Aromas of lemon and wet sand start this Pinot Bianco off in a precise and steely vein. The first impression is belied, however, by the mid-palate, which does have a little roundness to it, with flavors of tangerine, a hint of just-ripe pineapple, and raw almond, with mineral backing. An excellent choice for a vibrant, refreshing, everyday white wine that’ll blend seamlessly into a wide variety of circumstances.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Gin 750ml   | Approved
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Being a gin lover, I was excited to try this new Batch 2 gin from Sean Venus. Though I'm not a big fan of barrel-aged gins generally, this one changed my perspective. Though it certainly inherits some of the toasty vanilla feel from the barrel, this gin retains all the herbal, aromatic character and brilliance of the Batch 1, but with an added richness from the barrel, and more of a tangy orange character. This would be perfect for a negroni or anything with a sweet vermouth. Love it!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Jake and Scot Bilbro have re-launched their father's historic winery into the future. The Marietta Old Vine Red is still an amazing value and really, really good stuff. I love that they are carrying on the tradition of deliciously drinkable, affordable, well-made juice with this wine. Always a blend of old vine Zinfandel (and a few other reds they won't tell you!). Blackberry, black currant, cassis, and spice with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Throwing a BBQ? Hosting a graduation party? Having a wedding reception? Kicking off the summer with a block party? This is one wine that needs to be on your list!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2014 Patton Valley Willamette Valley Pinot Noir Rosé   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
My friend Derek, the winemaker at Patton Valley, has made us such a fun rose to kick off the rose season! All Pinot Noir, this puppy is brimming with cranberry, red cherry, strawberry and red currant with zesty, fresh acidity. Pull up a chair on a sunny patio, pour a glass of this delightful rose, and let your cares fall away! But you better hurry- I might just buy it all first!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Willowbrook "Altes Vineyard" Sonoma County Syrah  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
We don't receive the Willowbrook wines too often, but when we do they never fail to over-deliver! For $10, you are getting pure, delicious Syrah from a great Sonoma Valley site. Bacon fat, cracked black pepper, and a touch of smoke as soon as the cork is pulled. Pure black fruit, rich but not at all sweet, and savory notes with great balance. Dollar for dollar, this may be the best deal in the store right now!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Akitu "A1" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Black Label)   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
The Akitu 1 Pinot Noir Black Label is a stunning, undeniably elegant wine. With clonal material from DRC in Burgundy, it shows all of the grace and poise of its genetic roots, with the vibrancy and purity of fruit I love about Central Otago Pinot Noir. Black currant, plum, red cherry, sandalwood, spice, red roses, and mineral, with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Described by the winemaker as "The Chanel Suit" of his two Pinots (the Akitu 2 is his flashier "Dolce & Gabbana"), like classic Chanel, this wine is stunning now, and no doubt will continue to age with understated elegance. Buy as much as you can.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Il Valentiano Rosso di Montalcino   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Yay to direct import!! This is yet another great value juicy fun easy drinking Sangiovese hand picked by our Italy wine buyer Greg. Drink up, stock up, this bottle won't last long in our inventory!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena   | Approved
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Having a party? wedding? summer BBQ? This is a great value wine that the staff here has consistently loved. The 2013 vintage is the same great wine with a good balance of bright, full, fruit and solid structure. Sure to please your friends and guests!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Casanova di Neri "Tenuta Nuova" Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
There is something to be said about less thinking, more drinking. Opinions and scores be damned! This my friends, is just a fantastic glass of wine! Aromatics on this wine are stunning. Picking up just a hint of vanilla. Then comes the dark cherry and violets. Luscious fruit, and a rich refined spice pop in your mouth. What a treat to drink. Food or not, this wine does not disappoint. This is one wine that is not easy to share. So choice your friends wisely.

2011 Ornellaia "Le Serre Nuove"  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
This is the second label for Ornellaia. Younger vines go into the wine. Pour it in the glass and you can see you are in for a wonderful experience. Deep, dark ruby red greets the eyes. Burst of berry fruits and crushed floral on the nose. This is a full body wine. Great weight on the mid palate. The tannins and acidity are all there for a seamless finish. Great with grilled meat or a heavier cheese. Elegance and power have never paired so well!

2014 Château les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clémentine" Côtes de Provence Rosé  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
One of my favorite Rosés, year in and year out! When people ask me for Provence Rosé, it does not get much better than this. All organic methods of farming are gathered in this beautiful little part of Cotes de Provence. When people ask for that light salmon color, this wine has that. Delicate, with a fresh acidity for a truly magical experience. Got that too. As we used to say back home, this is a true porch sipper!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>