Staff Favorites - Alexandre Brisoux

Alexandre Brisoux

Page:  <<  prev  6  7 8  9  10  next  >>
2012 True Myth Edna Valley Chardonnay  
Review Date: 3-30-2014
The label on this Edna Valley Chardonnay depicts a gossamer-clad maiden with arms that twist into tree limbs, releasing a spectrum of colorful butterflies instead of leaves. OK, I thought, just open the wine and give it a swirl, hoping no bewinged painted ladies, blues or swallowtails fly up from the glass. Instead, the wine delivers a cascade of lilting flowers and citrus aromas, hints of lime, white pear, cut pineapple and a kiss of vanilla on the supple, expansive palate. And to be honest, when I first saw the name "True Myth" on this wine I thought, hm, oxymoron... a myth or a fact, but not both. Now I'm a believer, and for the incredible price of $12.99, you will be too!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 Poet's Leap (Long Shadows Vintners) Columbia Valley Riesling  
Review Date: 3-29-2014
Off-dry, bright, clean, and mouthwatering acidity. Delicious with Thai food.

2012 Erik Banti Morellino di Scansano  
Review Date: 3-29-2014
The ultimate Wednesday night pizza/pasta wine? Perhaps. Affordable? Direct import pricing at $12.99. Check. Food friendly? Bright and lively with a moderate 13% alcohol. Check. Tasty and delicious? This blend of mostly Sangiovese with a little Merlot and a dollop of Ciliegiolo explodes from the glass with ripe, fresh raspberry notes and finishes smoothly with soft tannins. Check and check. Pick up a few bottles to have on hand for those nights when "preparing dinner" means a phone call to your favorite local pizzeria. You can enjoy a glass while you wait.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Truchard Carneros Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 3-29-2014
One of the most successful wines from the difficult 2011 vintage I have yet tasted. Very pretty with bright cranberry and rhubarb notes. Very well done.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Carlos Diaz "Estrela" Ribeira Sacra  
Review Date: 3-29-2014
Kudos to the buyer of our Spanish wines, Joe Manekin, for launching a direct import program. So far his hard work has yielded a great lineup of delicious, affordable wines. The 2012 Carlos Diaz "Estrela" Ribeira Sacra is one of the latest. Mostly Mencia, unoaked, and just amazingly good for under $20. A little earthy, a little floral, a little spicy. Bright and lively with good grip. What a find!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Chardonnay  
Review Date: 3-29-2014
As a fan of Puligny Montrachet, I always look forward to the arrival of the Paul Pernot wines. Made entirely of declassified Puligny fruit, the Bourgogne blanc at $21.99 is consistently one of the best Chardonnay values in the store. This 2012 vintage is similar in style to the 2011 - forward and approachable but with more richness and weight. Classic Puligny with superb minerality and fresh citrus notes. My new house white.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Dragonette Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 3-28-2014
Bright, California style Pinot. On the richer side, but great spice that comes through. A very well made wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Torbreck "Juveniles" Grenache-Shiraz-Mourvedre Barossa Valley South Australia   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-28-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I am normally a fan of this release from Torbreck, In fact I often like it over some of their much more expensive bottlings that can be a bit excessively brawny for my tastes. However this 2011 release is something really special. The vintage was exceptionally cold in Barossa and due to this the wine has a very elegant structure and more restraint than one might expect from these varietals and region. The wine is aromatic with floral spice notes and a touch of cracked peppercorns. On the palate the wine is decidedly medium bodied with incredibly silky soft tannins and supple mouth feel. It is vibrant and soft with balanced, gentle acidity and plenty of length on the palate despite the wines elegant form. A lovely reflection of what can result from a tricky cool vintage.
Top Value!

2005 Poggio il Castellare Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 3-27-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I was really impressed and truthfully surprised at how well this wine has developed. Layers of complex aromas couched in a supple and rich fruit center. Great balance and length and a surprisingly (once again) finish. I really enjoyed this wine and it is drinking now through the next 6-8 years. Try it with your favorite pork roast! Nothing like Sangiovese and Pork…
Drink from 2014 to 2022

2011 Lustig Grüner Veltliner (1L)   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-27-2014
Apple, citrus, pear and zippy acidity make this liter of Gruner a no-brainer for parties! At this price, how could you not buy this by the case?!?
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Malmaison, Moulis-en-Médoc   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-26-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This 24 acres property was one of the oldest winery in Medoc (dated back to the middle age). They were restored by the famous Ch. Lafite Rothschild. They now produces some of the finest value Bordeaux blend, very limited amount is ever imported to the U.S. The 2009 is their best showing by far. Malmaison uses a higher percentage of Merlot in their blend so the wine is much more approachable and be enjoy at a younger age. This is one of the best value for 2009 Bordeaux and we don't have much more in stock. I recommend trying a bottle now!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ancient Peaks Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-26-2014
Ancient Peak is truly an amazing property full of history. Total of 17,000 acres but only 850 planted under vine, there are so many micro-climates, aspect and soil type it will blow you away. their wines comes at great value for the depth and complexity it offer! The 2011 Cabernet is a solid value Cab! Classic green olive tone, red current, spicy nutmeg and cinnamon on the palate with meaty, tobacco flavors. Great value delicious cabernet!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Lustig Grüner Veltliner (1L)  
Review Date: 3-26-2014
Asparagus is in the farmers markets which means it's Gruner season! What could be better than a bottle of this at lunch with a chilled asparagus salad and a bit of fresh cheese?
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Beaulieu Comtes de Tastes, Bordeaux Supérieur  
Review Date: 3-26-2014
Warm, soft sweet fruit, balanced, and drinking very well now. A great wine to have on hand.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $9.99
WS 88-  91 WE 89 BC 0

2010 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan  
Review Date: 3-26-2014
You are tasting promise and potential when you taste this wine now. Still very tight, blackberries, pencil lead, river rocks, bittersweet chocolate truffle, and well integrated acid will be extraordinary in another 10-50 years.

Page:  <<  prev  6  7 8  9  10  next  >>