Staff Favorites - Ryan Woodhouse

Ryan Woodhouse
Ryan Woodhouse  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>
2012 Cypress Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 4-6-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Ummmm such a great rendition of really juicy, spicy gravelly Hawke's Bay Syrah. For me this is one of the most distinctive varietal / region flavor profiles in the world. This wine has all that regional character and then some. The nose suggests cracked black pepper and spicy red berries. On the palate the flavors readily agree with a nice juicy mid-palate and mouthwatering acidity. There is a lovely gamey, pepper crusted steak quality here that complements the ripe berry fruits. Reminds me of the magic combination of Venison and Huckleberry sauce. What a steal for a wine of this quality. A must try for all lovers of Syrah.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Sons of Eden "Kennedy" Grenache/Shiraz/Mourvedre Barossa Valley
Review Date: 4-6-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The answer to many critics and even some winemakers who have written off the 2011 vintage in South Australia. The vintage was one of the coldest and wettest on record with weather more like Seattle than Adelaide! However Simon and Corey have crafted a wine that is a shinning representation their grape growing / wine making skills and the ability of Barossa to produce incredibly delicious wines that are fresh, vibrant and a million miles away stylistically from the jammy, sweet fruit bombs that people often associate with the region. Never ones to make over-the-top wines anyway, the cards that mother nature dealt Simon and Cory in 2011 made them focus on purity and balance over bulk and brawn. This wine has fantastic purity of fruit and lovely ripe berry flavors, bramble fruit, loganberry. It also has sweet spice, black pepper and hint of charred steak. The wine is so supple and silky on the palate with super fine tannins and bright but soft acidity. The old vine (50+ yrs) origins of this wine show up on the finish with a lovely rocky, soil driven complexity adding yet another element to this complex wine. This has all the purity of fruit I want from Barossa with the layers and complexity I seek in Châteauneuf-du-Pape. A really great bottle I implore you to try.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $25.99
JH 93 WS 91 BC 0

2010 Urlar Pinot Noir Wairarapa New Zealand (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 4-6-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A new property that we are excited to be working with. These guys have a beautiful estate in Wairarapa on NZ's North Island. The vines are farmed organically and with some biodynamic principles also applied. The wines are precise and vibrant. The Pinot shows a nice dark edge to the fruit from the excellent and concentrated 2010 vintage. Black cherry, plum and even some cocoa powder nuances. There are some savory things here too, pine bark and lichen...? A nice framing from the oak of toasted spices completes the wine. Medium bodied in extraction with good ripeness and balanced acidity. This is a steal in the sub-$20 Pinot category.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

2012 Urlar Estate Sauvignon Blanc, Gladstone New Zealand (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 4-6-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A new property that we are excited to be working with. These guys have a beautiful estate in Wairarapa on NZ's North Island. The vines are farmed organically and with some biodynamic principles also applied. The wines are precise and vibrant. The Savy has a lovely snap-pea and lime zest nose with some lees character underneath. The palate is fresh and zippy with lots of drive and freshness. Quite exuberant for the region which can sometimes be more restrained, but the hallmark mineral, crushed rock tinge is also present in the finish. Great value for the $15 price point.
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

2011 Framingham "Classic" Riesling Marlborough
Review Date: 4-5-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Ummmmm I am a sucker for this style of off-dry, juicy, concentrated, pure Riesling. Preserved lemon, fresh peeled tangerine, a drop of lime juice. It's a play on sweetness and acidity all underpinned by Framingham's characteristic racy acidity that lends freshness and drive to the wine. Many believe these guys to be at the top of New Zealand's Riesling pecking order. They certainly know what they're doing and are making some stellar wines. In my top five for sure!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Burn Cottage Pinot Noir Central Otago New Zealand
Review Date: 4-5-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
To add to my notes and descriptors above...if you are seeking out the great Pinot Noirs of the world...you need to try this wine.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart JS 94 BC 0

2012 Framingham Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 4-5-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A graceful style Pinot but with plenty of mid-palate concentration. Expressive nose of wild berries and forest floor, maybe even suggestion of smoke. The structure is supple with acidity playing the major role in elongating the wine on the palate. Quite moreish and easy to drink, showing purity and a nice level of restraint along side easy juicy red fruits and some leaf-litter savory components. Certainly more for the Burgundy lover than the big blockbuster Pinot folks. Pretty cool wine especially for this price point.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2011 Torbreck "Juveniles" Grenache-Shiraz-Mourvedre Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 3-28-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I am normally a fan of this release from Torbreck, In fact I often like it over some of their much more expensive bottlings that can be a bit excessively brawny for my tastes. However this 2011 release is something really special. The vintage was exceptionally cold in Barossa and due to this the wine has a very elegant structure and more restraint than one might expect from these varietals and region. The wine is aromatic with floral spice notes and a touch of cracked peppercorns. On the palate the wine is decidedly medium bodied with incredibly silky soft tannins and supple mouth feel. It is vibrant and soft with balanced, gentle acidity and plenty of length on the palate despite the wines elegant form. A lovely reflection of what can result from a tricky cool vintage.
Top Value!

2010 Giusti e Zanza "Perbruno" Syrah Toscana
Review Date: 3-12-2014
Treading a fine line between ripe, rich and extracted Syrah and a more savory, balanced incarnations. Big, dark, rich fruit, with roasted earth, smoked meat and dark spices. A full-bodied wine with just enough acidity to keep it in line. Already showing well now but might soften with a few more years in bottle.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart WE 95 BC 0

2009 Bladnoch "Young" K&L Exclusive Heavily Peated Single Barrel #57 Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-4-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Super unique stuff! I looked at David after tasting this and said "is it weird that this almost shows Agricole Rum or even Gin like botanical notes!?" This has a fresh cut grass quality, even a slight herbal component. Really interesting and unique. I can see why the Davids are so excited about some of these young malts, they are something that everyone should check out!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Te Mata "Elston" Chardonnay Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 3-3-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
An excellent Chard that walks the perfect line between richness and decadence with very fine acidity and lovely mineral aspects. It shows crunchy orchard fruits, pie crust, spicy oak tones and toasted brioche. After spreading out broad and rich on the palate the wine folds back in and drives into a long and more linear finish with the fresh acidity of a cooler vintage shinning through. More Chassagne than Puligny but to be honest the fruit has a slightly more exotic character that is all Hawke's Bay and I love it for that!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 3-3-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
An exceptional value for a serious and structured wine of really high quality. The second wine to the legendary Coleraine the Awatea is a classic Bordeaux blend that is made in a slightly more soft and generous style. Lovely rich dark red fruits, plum, currant, bitter-sweet chocolate, subtle barrel spice an a hint of cigar box. A very good partner for red meat. I think this wine really appeals to people that like a more classic style of old school Napa Cab.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 3-3-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of the most impressive Bordeaux style reds from anywhere in the world, at any price. This is very serious wine with tons of concentration, power, focus and layers and persistent flavor and texture. Made from the estates top parcels of fruit and raised in the very best cooperage. This wine shows crushed blackcurrant, cassis, mint and sweet tobacco. The subtle oak frames the fruit perfectly with some nice gravelly tones showing through on back. The tannins are fine, silky long-chain tannins but give this wine plenty of structure to age for a decade plus. Any lover of Pauillac or St. Julien should try this wine, it truly deserves a place in the cellar along side those famous Bordeaux bottles.
Drink from 2014 to 2030
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 96 JS 93

2012 Oakridge Local Vineyard Series "Guerin Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Review Date: 2-2-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Beautifully focused Chardonnay with minerality in spades. Winemaker David Bicknell has a very distinctive style of crisp, linear Burgundian type Chardonnay. This wine is all about tension and focus with citrus notes, spices, hints of buttered toast and flint. The wine is a must try for fans of Chablis and less obviously oaky, buttery chardonnay. One of the brightest most zippy Chards we have.

2010 Crystallum "Paradisum" Rhone Blend Paardeberg
Review Date: 2-2-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Forget Châteauneuf-du-Pape this wine is the most exciting Rhone blend I have had in a while and its from South Africa! Sourced from old dry famred bushvines the wine has a wonderfully exuberant nose of violets, spice, leather and ripe blackberry. On the palate the wine is super fine and silky. Ripe tannins and vibrant acidity keep it lively on the palate. Med-full bodied, not heavy, but concentrated and rich. I loved this with Duck Confit the other night but I think it would go with most roasted meats or casserole dishes.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>