Staff Favorites - Ryan Woodhouse

Ryan Woodhouse
Ryan Woodhouse  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>
2012 Oldenburg Vineyards Chardonnay Stellenbosch
Review Date: 6-2-2014
A powerful, rich, full bodied Chardonnay from Oldenburg, an exciting new producer that we have just started working with direct. I love that this wine has the creamy texture and plenty toasty oak that people love in some of California's greatest Chardonnays. However it also has lovely acidity, purity and drive on the palate that balances all the up-front richness. This wine will make a lot of people happy and the price is an absolute steal thanks to our direct import.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price RP 92 BC 0

2012 Alfaro "A" Estate Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 5-29-2014
I have long been a fan of Alfaro since living in Santa Cruz for my first few years in CA. They have a great vineyard in the Corralitos Hills, an area that produces very distinctive, elegant Pinot Noirs. There is often a softness and plush texture to the wines of this region even when they are not big or over-ripe. It is the combination of both restraint and softness that I love about this wine. It is elegant and yet the fruit is not crunchy or lean. It has a remarkable concentration and richness but remains almost ethereal on the palate. Superb Pinot that is true to its origin and delivers a huge amount of pleasure for a very modest price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Proprietŗ Sperino "Uvaggio" Costa della Sesia
Review Date: 5-5-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Just an enchanting wine. Fresh, bright floral aromatics with plenty of crushed dark fruits, ground spice and Agar wood. The wine has power, tension, focus and poise. There is a wonderful interplay of dark and light; deep rich fruit and earth contrasted by floral aspects and high toned perfume. There is plenty of structure here but the tannins are fine and not austere in anyway. This can be enjoyed now with some decanting or put away for a decade. Really special wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2025
Price: $27.95 Add To Cart AG 94 BC 0

2012 Grey's Peak (Greystone) Pinot Noir Waipara
Review Date: 5-5-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A dramatic nose of concentrated black cherry, dark rose petals, crushed red currants and curry leaf. The palate is dynamic, with juicy dark red berries, dusty spices, damp loamy, earthy notes and lovely, subtle hints of charred wood. The limestone-rich soil of these fantastic vineyards is notable in the wine's fresh and vibrant acidity putting the exotic nose and exuberant palate in perfect balance with a drawn-out, mouthwatering finish. The wine is layered and complex, as every sip reveals a different characteristic, the sign of truly great Pinot Noir! I can absolutely see how this wine has achieved such great acclaim from the judges at the Air New Zealand Wine Awards! I am delighted that we can offer it to our customers on a K&L exclusive Direct Import basis!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 96 JS 93

2012 Back Nine Cellars Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 4-25-2014
Dark fruit, blackcurrant, cassis and touch of mocha and spice with just enough "Rutherford Dust" and grip to keep it from showing overly ripe. There is a freshness to this wine that I like, it has more drive than some Napa Valley floor wines I have encountered. At this price it's a pretty serious value considering its origin and the reputation of the property that produced it. This delivers a lot of authentic Rutherford flavors at a pretty modest price point.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $23.99
BC 0

2012 Back Nine Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 4-25-2014
Simply put, you could pay a lot more to get a wine of this quality and style! Definitely one for the lovers of bigger, richer more barrel influenced Chardonnay but for what is eschews in subtlety it more than makes up for with lashings of ripe fruit, toasty oak and a round creamy texture. A powerful wine that is certain to keep a lot of people happy without costing a fortune like some of its brand name kin.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $14.99
BC 0

2012 Penfolds "Bin 138" Old Vine Grenache-Shiraz-Mataro Barossa Valley
Review Date: 4-21-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This wine is just brimming full of briary bramble fruit, exotic spices, some meaty gamey notes and a sweet, supple, juicy element that is hard to capture in words. The wine has a fine balance of purity and density, the extract is perfect giving ample body and richness but never feeling heavy or losing freshness and drive. Bin 138 really shows why this blend has endured across the ages as it pulls elements from each of its individual components. Grenache provides the bright spicy fruit, Shiraz a darker edge, structure and meaty element the Mataro (Mourvedre) adding its unmistakable earthy undertones and savory dimension. A really great wine equally enjoyable for lovers of Aussie GSMs and Châteauneuf-du-Papes alike!
Drink from 2014 to 2024

2011 Te Mata "Estate" Cabernets/Merlot Hawkes Bay New Zealand
Review Date: 4-9-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
An exceptional value. This has a ton of real Bordeaux character for a very small price. The wine has soft supple fruit, a real silky texture and some lovely savory, tobacco and wood spice notes that give a lovely complexity and nuance for a wine of this price point. What a great everyday drinker thanks to our direct import pricing advantage!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Penfolds "Bin 8" Cabernet Sauvignon-Shiraz South Australia
Review Date: 4-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Wow! What a value from Penfolds. This has a lot of the character and concentration of the much more expensive Bins at a small percentage of the price! Juicy, saturated dark fruit, plum, dark berries and bramble fruit with just a touch of Cabernet's classic tobacco leaf and cedar wood. This wine is wonderfully rich and expressive even now with fine, ripe tannins and nice dense, fleshy dark fruit. The wine is matured in top quality oak that was previously used for some of Penfold's most expensive releases and this wine shows lovely pedigree and polish from its time in barrel. I can hardly believe that this quality is available from Penfolds in the sub $20 price point.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020

2012 Penfolds "Bin 128" Shiraz Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 4-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A beautifully perfumed Shiraz with classic aromatics of spicy plush red fruits, some Cassis, sweet plums, crushed mint and sandalwood. On the palate the wine is perfectly polished and pure with fine elegant tannins, bright but juicy berry fruits and some subtle fresh picked herb characters. The fruit profile perfectly plays the edge of rich soft red fruit with some darker, riper fruit edges complimented by that fresh crushed herb / garrigue fragrance. Pretty serious Shiraz in a very sleek attractive style.
Drink from 2013 to 2023
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 4-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
What a great follow up to the "breakout" 2010. This new incarnation is perhaps more precise and focused with less fleshy mid pallet but plenty of depth and intrigue. Dusty dark red berries, leaf litter, bark and river stone. A pretty Burgundian profile with some tell tale spiced citrus notes that give away it's Marlborough origins. I truly believe this wine still has more to give and think it will flesh out further with a few more months / years in the cellar. Bright, fresh, pure Pinot that is a real crowd pleasing style especially for those looking for a more traditional elegant expression of this fickle grape. Excellent value.
Top Value! Drink from 2013 to 2018
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Giuliano "Terre di Chieti" Pecorino
Review Date: 4-8-2014
Quite a ripe nose of tropical fruits, Mango and Lilikoi with a fresh floral note. The palate is soft and broad with nice concentration and texture. The wine has a stoney, even slight chalky mineral character towards the finish that helps give a little more length and balance to some of the exuberance of the fleshy fruit on the mid palate. Good value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2010 Sons Of Eden "Romulus" Barossa Valley Shiraz
Review Date: 4-7-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Not sure how to really explain this wine's quality...perhaps I should just start off by saying that for me these two bottlings (Romulus and Remus) are two of the greatest young bottles I have tasted in many years. They are quintessential Barossa wines combining power, purity, balance and authenticity. The concept of doing these two bottlings shows exactly how well The Sons of Eden understand their craft, respect their history and are pushing on with pride into a new era of compelling Australian wines. The Romulus is a big concentrated wine brimming with ripe, dark red fruits, terrarossa warm earth, sweet spice, mocha and toasty oak. The wines breadth and power is kept in balance by a surprising brightness and acidity given the wines ripeness and concentration. It wears its oak very well and will certainly continue to integrate this even further as it reaches adolescence. This wine is so rich and decadent now it is hard to imagine restraining ones self from drinking it, yet I believe keeping this a few years, maybe even 10, will only reward the strong willed. Seriously impressive wine that I would pit against any other Shiraz at any other price point, this is the real deal.
Drink from 2014 to 2022

2010 Sons Of Eden "Remus" Eden Valley Shiraz
Review Date: 4-7-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Not sure how to really explain this wine's quality...perhaps I should just start off by saying that, for me, these two bottlings (Romulus and Remus) are two of the greatest young bottles I have tasted in many years. They are quintessential Barossa wines combining power, purity, balance and authenticity. The concept of doing these two bottlings shows exactly how well The Sons of Eden understand their craft, respect their history and are pushing on with pride into a new era of compelling Australian wines. The Remus is more high-toned than the Romulus on the blue and black fruit spectrum. Think Blackcurrant and cassis, add crushed mint, purple flowers and a lovely pencil shaving and cedar note from the French oak and you have a really lovely wine. The perfect contrast in expression to its more muscular, but equally impressive brother. There is no lack of concentration here, all the intensity is just more linear and focused. A really lovely wine that shows the special qualities of Eden Valley. I suspect this wine will outlive the Romulus and might well see its 20th birthday still in fine form.
Drink from 2014 to 2030

2012 Cypress Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 4-6-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Ummmm such a great rendition of really juicy, spicy gravelly Hawke's Bay Syrah. For me this is one of the most distinctive varietal / region flavor profiles in the world. This wine has all that regional character and then some. The nose suggests cracked black pepper and spicy red berries. On the palate the flavors readily agree with a nice juicy mid-palate and mouthwatering acidity. There is a lovely gamey, pepper crusted steak quality here that complements the ripe berry fruits. Reminds me of the magic combination of Venison and Huckleberry sauce. What a steal for a wine of this quality. A must try for all lovers of Syrah.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>