Staff Favorites - Ryan Woodhouse

Ryan Woodhouse
Ryan Woodhouse  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next  >>
2012 Oakridge Single Vineyard Series "d'Aloisio Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Review Date: 8-10-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Classic Oakridge. Focus, drive, precision and ethereal texture. From the d'Aloisio vineyard, this wine shows a little more breath and generosity than some of the other SVS wines. The acid line is touch less firm and the fruit profile riper and slightly rounder. All of this is relative of course as winemaker David Bicknell crafts all of the Oakridge wines with linear persistence and restraint as his guiding mantra. Tastes like great white Burgundy...and will cellar like one too! The low pricing is reflective of our direct import deal cutting out all middle men. This is very serious Chardonnay.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2024

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne (previously Cuvee Reserve)
Review Date: 8-6-2014
Exceptional quality for the money. Remarkably soft and elegant considering that the wine goes through no malo. Ripe orchard fruit and some softer stone fruit elements. Creamy lees texture and great persistence on the palate. One of our best values in all of Champagne.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-6-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Stunning wine. Racy, pure, mineral infused Champagne with endless drive and verve. This wine always has such focus and vibrancy. Not a heavy toasty wine, rather one that has elegance, beautiful length and persistence on the palate. A fantastic aperitif wine with mouthwatering acidity and freshness. You need to try this Champagne for your next dinner party, it is very hard to beat at this price.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro Alvarinho Vinho Regional Minho
Review Date: 8-1-2014
As always one of the best value summer whites in the store. Just so fresh, zesty and refreshing. Lime zest, white flower, juicy citrus all enlivened by the little spritz. Very easy to drink with its moderate alcohol. This is a must-have for the summer heat. Exceptional value!

2012 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 7-28-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Power, precision and persistence sum up this wine perfectly. I love how Duval's wines capture the richness that I love in Barossa Shiraz but always remain refined, elegant and fine boned. Exceptional purity of fruit, silky tannin structure and some complex earthy, savory undertones. A subtle kiss of oak frames everything perfectly. Forget about trying to cellar this one...it's way too good right now to leave alone!

2010 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 7-22-2014
Remember your last trip to Tuscany...a great bottle of Chianti, bread, olive oil, cured meats and cheese...then you came home and tried to recreate it but never could get the wine to taste right...It's an experience that many have. Often the ambiance simply isn't right. Other times the wines just aren't available. However as soon as I tasted this Monsanto Riserva I was transported back to that place, sitting in the Boboli Gardens smelling the herbs and warm Tuscan earth. This wine has all that rustic charm that you often find in Chianti but with just a touch more purity and poise than the table wine served by the liter that you fell in love with back in Firenze! Aromatic red fruits, scorched earth, leather and spice. Medium bodied with nice fresh acidity and a good balance of fruit and savory. This might just be the one that you have been looking for!

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 7-14-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Pure, elegant, focused, silky, layered and exotic. The descriptors could go on and on but all you need to do is buy a bottle and see for yourself. Next level quality from TWR; one of the best NZ Pinots I have tasted, period.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
Review Date: 7-14-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
NZ Chard is something that I think people don't understand. With all the hype about Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc, Chard and Riesling from down here don't get the attention of praise they deserve. TWR's 2013 Chard is tightly focused and precise. The wine combines richness and exotic fruit from the 35-year-old vines with flinty mineral tones and firm acidity. Certainly a Burgundy lover's wine rather than a butter bomb, but I think this will put on weight as the months and years go by. I really love Jason and Anna's ambition for their few rows of magic Chardonnay vines.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 7-14-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Benchmark Marlborough Savvy. Sure there are plenty of quirky styles now coming from New Zealand that are equally exciting but this quote from the winemaker Jason Flowerday sums up the wine perfectly: "Hand on heart, I love Sauvignon Blanc, it should be juicy, it should be ripe, it should be able to age, I donít want to make "alternative" Sauvignon, I just want to make it as good as it can be. We want Sauvignon Blanc that makes your mouth water and makes you want another glass"...as this baby sure does that!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "D" Marlborough
Review Date: 7-14-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
From the oldest Riesling vines on the property and some of the oldest in New Zealand. Intense linear drive, persistence and minerality. Crisp, focused acidity but nothing astringent or harsh. Just so refreshing, mouthwatering and food friendly. This is a summer classic.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "M" Marlborough
Review Date: 7-14-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Any fan of Kabinett to Spatlese Riesling will appreciate this bottle. A fascinating combination of juicy exotic richness, racy acidity and wet stoney minerality (everything I want in Riesling!) Tastes drier than the 30g/l RS suggests thanks to the mouthwatering acidity.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 7-12-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Love classic Brunello? Don't have as much patience as you might need!? Grab some of this little baby from one of our top Direct Import Brunello producers Baricci. All the classic flavors of Montalcino but ready to go now and a price tag barely over $20! Baricci is a very classic producer. The wines are about purity, elegance and balance. They are very food friendly and versatile. The 2012 vintage is remarkable supple and forward allowing easy drinking with dry, harsh tannins. This wine is always a huge hit with our staff so you better snag some now before we drink it all!
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 7-12-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Another stellar effort from Baricci (my favorite Direct Import Brunello producer that we work with). This amazing vineyard site on Montosoli produces wines with such elegance, purity and drive. The wines are always precise and balanced and this 2009 is no different. What is really nice about this wine is that it is so accessible now! The flavors are bright and youthful but there is no hard tannin. A very classic flavor profile, beautifully unadorned by oak, dusty red and darker fruit tinges, sweet leather, spice and warm earth. Supple and drinkable now but will surely give lots of pleasure over the next decade (at least).
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2025
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2012 Carlos Diaz "Estrela" Ribeira Sacra
Review Date: 7-8-2014
Amazing value thanks to Joe's direct buy! A fresh wine with lots of floral notes, juicy raspberry fruit, lots of fresh spices, a hint of green tobacco and some darker edges of blackcurrant. There is a a real purity to the wine with some soil nuances coming through to add complexity to the eminently drinkable juicy fruit.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Brangero "Monvigliero" Barolo
Review Date: 7-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
My best descriptor for this wine is "authentic." Unfortunately this does very little to characterize the wine. It does however relate to how the French often compliment wine in a way that doesn't translate very well into English. They often say a wine is "typique" or "typical." While this could be taken as meaning "standard" or even "average" a more suitable translation is that the wine is a true reflection of its place and history. For me this wine from Brangero speaks purely of the soil from which it grew, unadorned by winemaking tricks and manipulation. This "sense of place" is often pretty much impossible to put into words so you are just going to have to buy a bottle and see how it speaks to you personally.
Drink from 2016 to 2036
Price: $66.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next  >>