Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4
2009 La Lagune, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 3-6-2012
Deeply colored, aromatic, floral and spicy. Loads of dark, sweet fruit. Unbelievably bright and fresh. A superb effort.

1989 Meyney, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 2-29-2012
From a warm vintage with wonderfully ripe fruit. Classic black currant and cassis. Notes of black licorice and coffee. Beautifully made. Richly textured. Nicely mature but with many years ahead of it. Great value from one of the best vintages of the '80s if you are looking for something to drink tonight, or to set aside for the next time you feel the need to grill up a nice,dry-aged ribeye.

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 12-9-2011
I am embarrassed to admit that before I met Gary Westby, our Champagne buyer, I was not a drinker of Champagne. I probably had had one or two bottles of mediocre, bulk-produced sparkling wine (not Champagne) and dismissed all sparkling wines on that basis. Then Gary introduced me to grower-producer Champagnes like the Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne. The quality--the authenticity--of the wines was a revelation. And the great prices made possible through our direct import program made it impossible not to try as many as I could. If you want to learn about the Côte des Blancs--the home of the finest Chardonnay in Champagne--about Grand Cru sites like Mesnil and Oger, then this is a tutorial in a glass. Fine bead. Clean. Crisp. Wonderfully mineral in its expression, while still rich in texture. Try it on its own as an aperitif or, better yet, with our local Dungeness crab.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
Review Date: 9-23-2011
The Limoux area of the Languedoc in southern France is the oldest sparkling wine producing region in the world, predating even Champagne. Blanquette is made mostly from the local variety Mauzac, which adds a delightfully crisp, fresh apple quality. The remainder is Chenin Blanc and Chardonnay. Antech's Brut Nature is produced with no added dosage, creating a wine that is super dry, crisp and clean, and bracingly refreshing. Delicious, and a terrific value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 7-7-2011
For lovers of Bordeaux looking for a guilt free, everyday claret. Drinking beautifully at 10 years of age. Value priced at under $20. Lovely ripe red fruits - tart currant and sweet cherry. Wonderfully savory. Enticingly spicy. Good concentration, persistence and length. Spot on.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Rosenblum "Richard Sauret" Paso Robles Zinfandel
Review Date: 2-28-2011
After the Rockpile Road, my favorite of Rosenblum's single vineyard Zinfandels. Classic Paso Robles style. Rich and round. Ripe raspberry and black pepper notes. A superb value at under $20 and ready to drink tonight.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart CG 90 BC 0

1988 Chasse-Spleen, Moulis
Review Date: 1-31-2011
One of the top wines from Moulis, which lies between Margaux and St. Julien. Fully mature, it offers aromatic cedar notes on the nose. On the palate dried currant and truffle notes. Savory, with lively acidity this is a classic claret at the peak of maturity. Enjoy with your favorite cut of lamb or beef. If there is a drop or two left in the decanter you can enjoy it with the cheese course. A Bordeaux lovers wine at a great price.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Collard-Picard "Cuvée Selection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 1-31-2011
This champagne is a real family enterprise, with the Picard family contributing Grand Cru Chardonnay to the blend and the Collard family its famous Pinot Meunier. With 80% of the latter, its the Meunier that really defines the wine. Lightly toasted brioche and cinnamon spice combine with crisp red apple notes. A very dry style but with extraordinary richness.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-31-2010
Gorgeous salmon color! Fresh, ripe strawberry nose. Crisp, dry style. Superb Pinot Noir character. Imported directly from the producer in Alsace, this is one of our best values in sparkling wine under $20.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart WE 89 BC 0

1999 Lagrange, St-Julien
Review Date: 5-27-2010
Nose of black currant leaf, tobacco, and smoke. On the palate, bright, tangy fruit of black currant and plum. Still youthful but perfectly ready to drink. I enjoyed this at dinner with grilled dry-aged ribeye steak and fresh local asparagus. Beef and Bordeaux is one of life's great pleasures, and this nicely aged St. Julien is an admirable complement to your favorite cut.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 2-9-2010
This may be the best deal in Champagne that K&L offers. 100% Chardonnay. 100% Grand Cru fruit from some of the best vineyards in the Côte des Blancs. Don't write this wine off because you didn't pay more for it! This is an outstanding Champagne at an unbelievable price. It will delight you with its rich, creamy texture. Ripe pear and chalky mineral notes give way to toasty, fresh baked apple tart on the mid palate. The wine finishes with a crisp, zingy citrus note of Meyer lemon. Enjoy this wine alone, as a refreshing aperitif or together with chilled, cracked Dungeness crab.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Arnould "Grand Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2009
Lovely toast on the nose. Classic pain grille, bright cherry, and hazelnut in the mouth. The ripeness of the fruit is offset by bracing acidity and an intense mineral character. A big, bold wine, this champagne will be the center of attention at any party.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2000 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 6-18-2008
A dense, brooding, broad-shouldered wine packed with blackberry and cassis and a hint of licorice on the finish. Astonishing character at this price and a joy to drink.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1999 Labégorce, Margaux
Review Date: 6-18-2008
1999 has always been the “middle child” of Bordeaux vintages—friendly, likeable, never making a fuss, but frequently overlooked. Château Labegorce’s vineyards lie just to the north of Château Lascombes and Château Margaux. An old property of excellent reputation, it was nevertheless left out of the 1855 classification, meaning its wines carry a much lower price tag today. The 1999 is forward, aromatic, charming and approachable. Classic Bordeaux at a great price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4