Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3  4  next
2012 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 8-30-2014
I am a big fan of the Talley Vineyard's wines. We have been stocking their second label Bishop's Peak wines for several years now, and the 2012 Bishop's Peak Pinot Noir may be the best vintage yet. It is frankly tough to find great California Pinot Noir for less than $20, and the Bishop's Peak 2012 bottling really over-delivers. Plenty of ripe red and black fruits and intriguing spice notes. Rich and round in the mouth with lovely weight. Complex and multidimensional. Great Pinot Noir character at a terrific price.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-30-2014
I think the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche Brut was one of the first grower producer Champagnes I ever purchased from K&L. It remains to this day our best value in Champagne, and a superb introduction to the grower producer (RM) Champagnes. If your usual Champagne experience is Veuve Clicquot or Moet & Chandon, you owe it to yourself to try the Carte Blanche from Paul-Vincent Ariston. With roughly equal parts of the three classic Champagne grapes, and a retail price comfortably south of $30, this is a no-brainer. Open a bottle for no reason in the middle of the week. You'll feel like royalty.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 8-30-2014
Year after year, vintage after vintage, the wines of Nello Baricci remain my favorite among the Brunellos and Rossos K&L imports directly from Montalcino. These wines are one of the finest expressions of the Sangiovese grape it has ever been my privilege to taste. While the Brunellos usually require some patience and time in the cellar to be at their best, the Rossos can generally be enjoyed immediately upon release. The 2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino is no exception. The wine is showing beautifully right now with aromas of earth and spice and ripe morello cherry notes on the palate. Medium to full-bodied with lovely weight in the mouth. Richly textured with admirable length and fine tannins. Our direct import pricing keeps this wine at a very affordable $21.99, making it one of the best red wine values in the shop!
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Relyea-Wood Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 7-29-2014
Santa Cruz Mountains Cab for only $15?! With only five barrels made of this 2011 Cabernet Sauvignon from R&W Vineyards on Montebello Ridge, it is the very definition of a boutique wine, but one without the extravagant price tag of many Napa bottlings. The cooler summer in 2011 meant harvest was delayed until early November. For all that, the wine is surprisingly full-bodied with plenty of ripe fruit. Bright, sweet red fruits – sour cherry and plum and fresh-picked raspberry. Notes of tobacco and blackcurrant leaf. A balanced, well-built wine with nicely integrated oak and a very reasonable 13.2% alcohol. A terrific value.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
Review Date: 7-29-2014
A perfect marriage of fruit and oak, this beautifully balanced Tuscan red is big, rich, and intense with tons of ripe, dark fruit and fine, silky tannins. Lots to admire here, and at a very attractive price. Drinkable now, and should continue to develop for several years yet.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 7-16-2014
You stumble at the foot of the stairs, eyes struggling to adjust in the dim interior of the nightclub. Somewhere a piano plays an old jazz standard. You are certain you have heard it before but you can’t recall where or when. Soft voices murmur in the darkness, the words themselves indistinct. Suddenly a cigarette flares nearby, illuminating a face of porcelain etched in shadow. Smoke winds upward, disappearing into the gloom. Silk whispers against soft flesh as she raises a hand, gesturing to the chair opposite. You move to sit. The night is full of mystery and possibility. Who knows what might happen? Each year as I taste through the latest single malt offerings from Scotland painstakingly selected by our K&L Spirits team, one bottle in particular will inevitably speak to me. I never really know which one it will be. This year I was shocked to discover it was the 2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky. Although I enjoy peated whiskies, I am usually more of a Speyside fan. Yet this Bowmore had that extra something – something indefinable, ineffable – something that makes you take a step back, set down your notebook, and just – stop – for a moment. Incredibly soft and silky with a weight you want to savor forever on the tongue. And smoke. Not the raw choking smoke of mistakenly sitting downwind of the campfire. Something deliciously subtle. A memory of old peat fires, permeating the roof beams of a favorite pub. A stolen kiss, the flavor of tobacco on soft lips. A suggestion, a hint, a grace note. Remarkable. Transcendent.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Happy Canyon Vineyards "K&L Cuvee" Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 6-30-2014
You tend to see two main styles of Sauvignon Blanc in California. They are either lighter in style, very dry and crisp with tart citrus notes, or fuller-bodied, with more texture and weight (often due to barrel aging), showing more tropical fruit. The 2013 Margerum "K&L Cuvee" Happy Canyon Sauvignon Blanc somehow seems to combine the best of both. There is real richness here with exotic melon and mango notes. At the same the wine has a taut, linear style with a marked acidity and an admirable tension unusual in a California Sauvignon Blanc. Really superb, and the perfect wine for those who like having their cake and eating it too.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Clendenen Santa Maria Valley Mondeuse Rosé
Review Date: 6-30-2014
Each year here at K&L the advent of warmer weather yields a brand new crop of rosé wines from all over the world. Rosés are the perfect summer wine – dry (for the most part), lighter in body, yet robust in character and flavor. I try to taste as broadly as possible in the early days yet, inevitably, one or two become my favorites and we end up drinking our way through a case or two over the summer. The early favorite this year was, rather unexpectedly, the 2013 Clendenen Santa Maria Valley Mondeuse Rosé. A bit obscure, Mondeuse is found primarily in the Savoy region of France. Jim Clendenden, of Au Bon Climat, maintains a few rows of the grape in the Bien Nacido vineyard. In some years, he adds a small amount to Pinot Noir for his Santa Barbara County bottling. The same grape makes for a bright, tangy rosé, very dry and crisp in style, with tart red fruits and a refreshing minerality. Delicious.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Thierry & Pascale Matrot Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 6-18-2014
An unbeatable bargain in a white Burgundy. Richly textured. Lightly nutty. Very satisfying. Eminently drinkable. One of the best values in the store and a "must try" for Chardonnay fans.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

Daniel Ginsburg "Grande Reserve Sous Bois" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 6-2-2014
In any given week here at K&L, we taste dozens, sometimes hundreds of wines, and we try to do so in a comprehensive, consistent, and competent manner. However, just like our customers we are wine consumers as well, and sometimes, in the privacy and comfort of our own homes, professional detachment goes out the window. I was fortunate to enjoy the other night a bottle of the Daniel Ginsburg "Grande Reserve Sous Bois" Brut Champagne. My immediate reaction upon tasting it was “Wow! That is a manly goddamn Champagne!” I don’t know whether it is the high proportion of Pinot Noir, the partial barrel aging, the extended time on the lees, or some combination of all three, but this is a bruiser of a wine -– dense, powerful, broad shouldered –- and yet it manages to combine incredible richness with remarkable focus and clarity. Absolutely delicious, and a terrific value.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Lambuena Crianza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 5-30-2014
The extension of our Direct Import program to Spain is one of the most exciting things to happen to our Spanish wine selection in years. For the first time we are able to offer small production wines of extraordinary quality at unbelievable prices. Some of the first wines to arrive from the Ribera del Duero region come from Bodegas Lambuena. The best of these in my opinion is the 2010 Lambuena Crianza, a supremely balanced wine that combines a bright, lively character with ample ripeness of fruit. It is a rich, dark, oak-inflected wine that is sure to please a wide range of palates. The 2010 vintage is of such quality that while the wine can be enjoyed now, it will more than reward another 3 to 5 years in the cellar. Currently one of the best $20 reds we have to offer, irrespective of varietal or region of origin.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Abbaye Saint Hilaire Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 5-29-2014
Every spring, the return of clear, blue skies and long, sunny afternoons heralds the start of rosé season. Rosé is the perfect wine to enjoy with a summer meal when you want something more substantial than a white and it’s just too hot for red. One of the world’s classic rosé wines comes from Provence in southern France. There are a number of different appellations but all produce blends made from Cinsault, Mourvedre, Grenache, and Syrah, among other varietals. One of my favorites is the 2013 Abbaye Saint Hilaire Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé. This is a prestige cuvee made exclusively from their oldest vines, none younger than 25 years old. It is a blend of Cinsault, Grenache, and Syrah, and has that particular combination of ripeness and freshness that I associate with the best of the Provençal rosés. Tons of red fruits here – fresh-picked wild raspberry and strawberry notes. Delightfully refreshing and the perfect companion for a lazy summer afternoon.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Quinta de Arcoso "Padrao dos Povos" Tras-os-Montes
Review Date: 5-1-2014
We field more and more inquiries every day about the availability of red wines from Portugal. These can be tough to find. If you do find one, it is more likely to be international in style and with no true distinctiveness. From the rugged, isolated hill country in the extreme northeast of Portugal, the 2010 Quinta de Arcoso "Padrao dos Povos" is the real deal. Foot-trodden and tank-aged using traditional methods, this blend of Tinta Roriz, Tinta Amarela and Touriga Franca is medium bodied with bright red fruits and a lively minerality that reflects the largely granitic character of the region's (admittedly poor) soils. Superb regional character and typicity for a mere $15.99.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Hanzell "Sebella" Sonoma Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 5-1-2014
One of the most impressive California Chardonnays I have enjoyed in a very long time. The perfect wine for those seeking an alternative to the popular "oaky/buttery" style which characterizes so much domestic Chardonnay. Aging in neutral oak adds texture but not flavor, perfectly complementing the citrus and mineral-driven character of the fruit. What a joy to drink!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

1986 Haut-Bailly, Graves
Review Date: 4-30-2014
The wines of the '86 vintage were forbiddingly tannic in their youth and very slow to evolve. Closing in on 30 years past the vintage they are really coming into their own. The 1986 Haut Bailly, Pessac-Leognan is certainly a strong candidate for one of the most charming wines of the vintage. The wine has all the hallmarks of a nicely aged claret - fully garnet color, bottle notes of cedar and saddle leather, and a fine coating of tannins on the finish that is the legacy of this long-lived vintage. In addition, however, it also offers a remarkable sweetness of fruit - red currant and cherry. The wine is possessed of a lovely ripeness and a suppleness of texture that became even more evident with additional aeration.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

Page: 1  2  3  4  next