Staff Favorites - Sarah Covey

Sarah Covey

Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5
Quartz Reef "Methode Traditionelle" Sparkling Wine Brut Central Otago
Review Date: 7-16-2012
I had the pleasure of tasting this elegant sparkling wine with the winemaker from New Zealand, who stopped by our store recently. Having just stepped off the plane not 24 hours prior, he was still enthusiastic about presenting us this wine! Pinot Noir dominates the blend with Chardonnay, with a sweet apple and pear, a lovely leesy toastiness, hints of mineral and zippy acid in the finish. This wine is biodynamic, hand picked, and done in the traditional method- and it is HAND riddled to boot! Not many sparkling wines left in the world today can claim that! The care taken with this wine is clear- and the price makes it a steal!
Top Value!

Cocchi Aperitivo Americano 750ml
Review Date: 7-10-2012
Oooooh if you love Lillet Blanc but want something a little sweeter as an aperitif, try the Cocchi Americano! Mandarin orange, lemon, hints of white flowers with a sweet finish.... delicious on the rocks on a hot afternoon!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Meli Carignane Maule Valley
Review Date: 6-24-2012
This is old vine carginane at its very best. Complex and worthy of study- black pepper, blackberry, black cherry, cassis with medium acid and fine tannins. Well-balanced, seamless- and a total steal at $12.99! Finally, carignane stands up as a single varietal bottling to shine, shine, shine!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Fleury Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 5-28-2012
Not only is the bottle design simply beautiful, this rose is quietly elegant and complex. 100% pinot noir gently pressed for the wine's pale salmon color, with light earth, well-balanced acidity & a backbone of minerality with a soft finish. This champagne is luscious & quite gorgeous. Great for a special celebration or as a very generous gift.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Miguel Merino Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 3-18-2012
When we got this wonderful 40 year old vine Rioja in this fall, I was completely entranced by the Gran Reserva. As it has settled from its journey, it has calmed down and really begun to blossom. Soft plum fruit, continuing with medium weight on the palate, hints of leather, cedar and spice and finishing with just enough acid to convince me that it would be fabulous now with hearty fare (after decanting a bit), or do well in the cellar for another 10 years. Either way, a wine of complexity and strength. Treat yourself. The 2004 Merino Gran Reserva is worth it.

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 12-29-2011
Minerally, cranberry and tart- the perfect pairing with smoked salmon appetizers. The richness of the salmon would be outstanding with the crisp mineral zip of this fantastic rose. Another excellent demonstration of the care and passion that Ariston Aspasie and family put into their champagne. Drink deep- Happy New Year!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2011
A teeny-tiny version of the Aspasie classic Carte Blanche? Get me a picnic basket or a seat by the fire! I'm in! A miniature version of the well-balanced, delicious champagne that we sell by the, well, boatload as it were. Get it now- this is all that is left!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

King's Ginger Liqueur 750ml
Review Date: 11-17-2011
Fans of fresh grated ginger rejoice! This is the stuff for you! No cloying stickiness here, just lots of spice and real ginger heat. Made with 20 year old Glenrothes, and macerated with real fresh ginger root- just add soda!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

St. George Terroir Mt. Tam Gin 750ml
Review Date: 11-15-2011
Having read Melissa and David's reviews of this gin, I was excited but rather dubious in approaching it- how could it be so expressive of the terrior of Northern California? I poured it over ice, added some Fevertree Tonic water and a splash of lime and BAM! Hands down the most incredible experience of drinking in the landscape I love so much! Bay laurel, damp redwood, eucalyptus, wild fennel & dill- this California girl is enraptured!
Price: $30.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-4-2011
WOW. Big wow. This 2002 vintage champagne is earthy, mushroom-y, woodsy and complex. Great acidity: like a mouth-watering tart green apple! Think risotto with mushrooms and asparagus, a hearty chicken pot pie with fat chunks of potato & veggies, or crab stuffed mushrooms as an appetizer- this wine will shine and make you look GOOD as the host! Snap it up for elegant entertaining this winter!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Törley "Fortuna" Doux
Review Date: 10-15-2011
I have always been a fan of Moscato d'Asti, and this Hungarian sparkler is a beautiful choice for something new. As our notes indicate, it is a blend of Muscat Lunel, Muscat Ottonel, and Irsai Olivér. It is floral & pretty, white flowers and apricots in the nose and on the palate. Low in alcohol at 7%, this crisp and fresh sparkler will be a holiday favorite in my house! Cheers to good Fortune!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

San Venanzio Prosecco Brut
Review Date: 9-5-2011
Bright citrus & apple nose, lovely minerality. A clean and refreshing prosecco for your summer entertaining! I'm thinking fresh black figs wrapped in proscuitto, tiny goat cheese & fontina grilled cheese sandwiches, and musk melon cooled in a creek. Delicious!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

La Caudrina "La Selvatica" Asti
Review Date: 7-4-2011
A soft, mildly sweet Moscato d'Asti with light floral aromas. A pleasant choice (best when chilled) to enjoy on its own or for a sunny Sunday brunch on the terrace with friends!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur 750ml
Review Date: 7-4-2011
Drinking St. Germain is like drinking liquid flowers! Subtle, sweet and captivating. Who knew that hand-picked elderflowers from the French Alps could be so lovely? Delicious with Gran Cava champagne with a curly twist of orange, even more amazing with soda on the rocks! I served St. Germain with soda and fresh watermelon juice at a springtime cocktail party, and could hardly keep up with the demand! My absolute favorite spirit for spring and summer!

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5