Staff Favorites - Sarah Covey

Sarah Covey

Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next
2011 Limerick Lane Russian River Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 2-12-2014
Our friends at Limerick Lane have hit it out of the park again with the Russian River Zin! Fabulous balance between pretty Zinfandel fruit and fresh acidity- very skillfully done. Cassis, black currant, Santa Rosa plum, graphite, spice with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. So easy to drink, you will be wondering who emptied the bottle when your back was turned!

2012 Glen Carlou Chardonnay Paarl South Africa
Review Date: 1-29-2014
Crazy value in this South African Chardonnay: rich, Meursault-like quality with butter, apple, vanilla and an interesting nutty note. Well-balanced with medium-plus acidity. Insanely good for $12.99!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Denbies Estate "Cubitt Reserve" Surrey, England
Review Date: 1-29-2014
Looking for a great introduction to the world of English sparkling wine? This is your bottle. Very easy drinking, with slightly higher dosage than our other new English sparklers. Cranberry, red cherry, citrus and mineral, with a juicy, drinkable quality. Made in the traditional method. Adore Champagne? Try this!
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

Lot 40 Single Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 1-15-2014
All the spice and flash of Rye that I love, with a vanilla, caramel, clove and cigarbox undernote with a soft, sweet finish. AWESOME!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Lambuena Roble "4 Meses en Barrica" Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 12-11-2013
Red cherry, plum, chalky mineral, violet, cassis with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. The perfect introduction to the organically farmed wines of Lambuena, this "4 Meses En Barrica", or 4 months in barrel, is wonderfully bright, friendly and drinkable now.. and so affordable! I have been waiting for the Lambuena wines to arrive for what feels like forever! As our first Direct Import from Ribera Del Duero, I couldn't be more proud of how these wines are showing! Salud!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Lambuena Crianza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 12-11-2013
Red cherry, red currant, red plum, cassis, and notes of coconut from the American oak, the Lambuena Crianza has medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Organically farmed grapes. Bright, fresh and very drinkable! I have been waiting for the Lambuena wines to arrive for what feels like forever! As our first Direct Import from Ribera Del Duero, I couldn't be more proud of how these wines are showing! Salud!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Alfaro "A" Estate Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-1-2013
Wow, what an incredible value at $20 this Santa Cruz mountains Pinot is! Bright red cherry, sandalwood, cranberry, spice, and red currant, with medium plus acidity and fine tannin. This is a holiday wine to buy by the case, rest assured. It will please your neophytes but also your wine lovers! YUM!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Domaine Ballorin & F CŰte de Nuits Villages "Le Village"
Review Date: 10-26-2013
Clay and limestone soils here lend classic Pinot Noir character to this lovely, friendly Burgundy. Red roses, red cherry, cassis, strawberry, chalky blueberry with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. A wonderfully approachable example of a 2011 red burg.
Price: $27.95 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosť Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2013
Every time I taste this Champagne, I want to sit and linger with it for the rest of the afternoon. It's a totally nerdy rose, unlike anything else we have. Barrel fermented, all Pinot Meunier and aged in bottle for a year, this particular bottling is all from 2006 fruit. Red cherry, spice, vanilla, leather, funky earth with medium plus acidity and a long finish. What a fabulous, fun rose Champagne!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Crabbies Ginger Beer, England 11.2oz
Review Date: 9-3-2013
My go-to closing beer! When my colleagues are sipping brews from our unique selection, I sip my Crabbie's. This puppy tastes like alcoholic, fresh ginger ale. I love it! Zesty, fresh ginger with hints of citrus, I drink this whenever I can! Y-U-M!
Top Value!
Price: $2.49 Add To Cart BC 0

Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosť
Review Date: 9-3-2013
Man, I love this wine. I had this again the other evening with pank-crusted salmon and a spinach salad, and it was light, pretty and delicious. Soft raspberry, strawberry and citrus with the tiniest hint of sweetness. The acidity really worked with my salmon's fattiness. Of course, the wine's pink sparkly glimmer on the dinner table in my wine glasses added to the ambiance. Stock up for birthday celebrations, brunch, baby showers, or just because it's a Tuesday night!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 9-1-2013
Love bright, fresh, affordable Vinho Verde? This is simply delish! Super low alcohol at 9%, this vinho verde is slightly fizzy, with notes of apple, pear and lime zest with fresh minerality and lots of zip. Stock up- this one has been flying out of the store in the hands of every staff member! (Including me!)
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1999 Bodegas Puelles Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 7-15-2013
Oh Gran Reserva, how I love thee...This gorgeous 1999 from Puelles is in the absolutely perfect spot for drinking! Stewed red cherry, red currant, leather, earth, spice, licorice, and mineral with silky, elegant tannin & medium plus acid. An excellent example of Gran Reserva for $20? Are you nuts!? Stock up now!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

2012 Raventos i Blanc "La Rosa" Penedes
Review Date: 7-15-2013
Move over, French rose! There are some new kids in town! 100% pinot noir. Strawberry, raspberry, jasmine, watermelon, cranberry. Medium-plus acidity, easy and juicy-drinkable. Try this new wine from our friends at Raventos! You will love it!
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne (previously Cuvee Reserve)
Review Date: 7-8-2013
Apple, pie crust toastiness, chalky minerality with a beautiful, persistent bead and balanced acidity. This is the real deal, folks. I love this 100% Meunier, insanely affordable Champagne! Thank you, Gary Westby!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next