Staff Favorites - Shaun Green

Shaun Green

Reviews

Page: 1  2  next
2012 Ad Lib (Larry Cherubino) "Avant Gardening" Malbec / Cabernet Western Australia
Review Date: 10-25-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Another great find from Ad Lib, the Malbec is a lovely juicy Malbec with a medium body and broad appeal. Great dark fruits with a touch of rose petal and spice makes this one a perfect accompaniment with our upcoming holiday dinners.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

2012 Ad Lib (Larry Cherubino) "Hen & Chicken" Chardonnay Western Australia
Review Date: 10-25-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
What a price! This will be making a lot of party guests happy this year. Great medium intensity and concentration with nicely balanced acidity. The wood is there for texture only, not a big oaky component and the entirety comes off as a much more expensive wine. My go-to holiday white!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

Russell's Reserve K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #17 Kentucky Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 10-22-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Fantastic, simply fantastic. Sometimes that's all that you need to say. With great Bourbon getting so hard to find I'm sure this will be gone soon, too, so grab some while you can.
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 FRAM Pinotage Citrusdal Mountain
Review Date: 10-22-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Wow! Here's a Pinotage that will win over even those who have been avoiding the varietal for years. Beautifully pure and missing the distinctive tarry herbal notes that keep many from enjoying Pinotage. There are a few great Pinotage that I've tasted over the years, and this certainly adds to that list.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Stolzle Universal Tasting Wine Glass
Review Date: 10-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is perfect for wine tasting and an everyday universal wine glass. We've found this shape to be the ideal shape when you need a glass for multiple types of wine. Even better, it's dishwasher safe and lead free!
Top Value!
Price: $2.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive Overaged Peated Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 10-7-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I love it! Super creamy with a mild peat, lovely sherry character and an absolutely wonderful sexy texture on the palate. What an amazingly charming whiskey!
Top Value!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-2-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Here again Tuscany shows us they can still produce truly fantastic wines at great values. Here's a beautiful and elegantly composed Brunello with lovely red fruits, silky rose petals, interwoven minerals and fine spices with an absolutely lovely texture hung on fine polished tannins, all in perfect harmony. Greg's imagery of a gemstone is perfect and polished rubies is one of the first images I had upon trying this wine too.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020

2010 Mount Langi Ghiran "Billi Billi" Shiraz Grampians Victoria
Review Date: 8-19-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Another great deal, perfect for summertime grilling & parties. Beautiful berried Syrah, fresh and juicy with surprising structure for a wine at this price. A bit of spice and mouthwatering acidity round it out for a great overall package.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

Stolzle Universal Bordeaux Glass (ship as 6pk only)
Review Date: 7-31-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Here's a fantastic value solution to your wine glass needs. It's a great Cabernet/Merlot shape and we got a fantastic closeout price.
Top Value!
Price: $3.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Westland American Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 7-15-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 7-15-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
With so many of my colleagues commenting, I hardly need to describe this again, but I wanted to throw my compliments behind this wine too. It's simply fantastic and coming home with me.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2009 Kingston Family Vineyards "Alazan" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 6-9-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Absolutely delicious Pinot Noir - one of the best Pinot offerings from Chile - fantastic red fruits and exotic spices mingling with a distinctive smoky note are extremely enticing and this wine pairs very well with many foods. Kingston's vineyards are in the Casablanca Valley, and with its cool maritime influence it's no wonder such high quality Pinot comes from their spectacular property. It's a great contender for the cellar too, but hard to resist so hide some from yourself if you want to age it!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020

2012 Kingston "Cariblanco" Sauvignon Blanc Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 6-9-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is an absolutely fantastic Sauvignon Blanc - one of my favorites, especially at this price. It is wonderfully complex and has a very impressive texture and weight. Rich tropical and citrus fruits with a slight touch of savory - it is spectacular as a summer dinner wine.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2011 Maison Ambroise Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 5-22-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Now this is a great deal! Ambroise is from NSG, and you can really tell in the glass - this on it's own makes the price unbelievable. The wine has great fruit in a fairly deep slightly modern sense, and yet shows a lovely sense of place as distinctly Burgundian. A round and rich texture and earthy notes with a bit of rose petal at the end, this is drinking great now, and pairs great with summertime fare so don't wait! Get yours before they're gone!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (ship as 6pk *in styrofoam only)
Review Date: 5-20-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page: 1  2  next