Staff Favorites - Shaun Green

Shaun Green

Reviews

Page: 1  2  next
2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 3-3-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This bright and compelling Pinot from NZ is pretty hard to beat. Truly fantastic Pinots are nearly impossible to find under $20, but this one delivers. It's not a New World "thick" Pinot, rather it shows its varietal characteristics confidently and soundly while offering complex notes of spices, florals and earthy notes floating over a lovely array of red and blue fruits, and with fine tannins and a great acid balance. Bravo!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Woodstock Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 3-3-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Another Aussie wine pulls the strings of my wine loving heart! This wonderfully rich and powerful Shiraz from winemaker Ben Glaetzer (yep, think Amon Ra!)shows all the great deep notes of mocha, black licorice root and spicy blackberries, but not ever overwhelming or hot. It's amazing how this wine balances density and richness with complex aromatics, structure and bright highlights - all coming together with remarkable style and beauty. Maybe the best deal in Syrah in the store.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 2-18-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Here's your chance to get a lovely classic ready to drink Bordeaux at a great price. Wonderfully rich and smooth texture with a medium weight yet complex qualities of tobacco leaf, roasted nuts under lovely berry fruit. Don't miss this one!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2013 McManis California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 2-4-2015
McManis has been a great source of inexpensive and crowd friendly California Cabs for a while and the 2013 does not disappoint. Juicy and plump with a nice little dose of oak - if you like a modern California Cab, but need something a bit more economical you'll love this one. Very tasty!
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2012 Ad Lib (Larry Cherubino) "Avant Gardening" Malbec / Cabernet Western Australia
Review Date: 10-25-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Another great find from Ad Lib, the Malbec is a lovely juicy Malbec with a medium body and broad appeal. Great dark fruits with a touch of rose petal and spice makes this one a perfect accompaniment with our upcoming holiday dinners.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

2012 Ad Lib (Larry Cherubino) "Hen & Chicken" Chardonnay Western Australia
Review Date: 10-25-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
What a price! This will be making a lot of party guests happy this year. Great medium intensity and concentration with nicely balanced acidity. The wood is there for texture only, not a big oaky component and the entirety comes off as a much more expensive wine. My go-to holiday white!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive Overaged Peated Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 10-7-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I love it! Super creamy with a mild peat, lovely sherry character and an absolutely wonderful sexy texture on the palate. What an amazingly charming whiskey!
Top Value!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-2-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Here again Tuscany shows us they can still produce truly fantastic wines at great values. Here's a beautiful and elegantly composed Brunello with lovely red fruits, silky rose petals, interwoven minerals and fine spices with an absolutely lovely texture hung on fine polished tannins, all in perfect harmony. Greg's imagery of a gemstone is perfect and polished rubies is one of the first images I had upon trying this wine too.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $26.99
WE 91 JS 90 BC 0

Westland American Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 7-15-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 7-15-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
With so many of my colleagues commenting, I hardly need to describe this again, but I wanted to throw my compliments behind this wine too. It's simply fantastic and coming home with me.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2009 Kingston Family Vineyards "Alazan" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 6-9-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Absolutely delicious Pinot Noir - one of the best Pinot offerings from Chile - fantastic red fruits and exotic spices mingling with a distinctive smoky note are extremely enticing and this wine pairs very well with many foods. Kingston's vineyards are in the Casablanca Valley, and with its cool maritime influence it's no wonder such high quality Pinot comes from their spectacular property. It's a great contender for the cellar too, but hard to resist so hide some from yourself if you want to age it!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020

2012 Kingston "Cariblanco" Sauvignon Blanc Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 6-9-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is an absolutely fantastic Sauvignon Blanc - one of my favorites, especially at this price. It is wonderfully complex and has a very impressive texture and weight. Rich tropical and citrus fruits with a slight touch of savory - it is spectacular as a summer dinner wine.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 Celler de Capçanes "Mas Donis Barrica--Old Vines" Montsant
Review Date: 5-21-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Wow, is this the best Mas Donis we've seen yet? I think so. It still shows its hallmark big, deep blackberry fruit, but really brings in another quality with the up-front spiciness and rose petal notes. The wonderful dark berry fruit and spice comes through all the way to the palate and long into the finish. Great job!
Top Value!

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (ship as 6pk *in styrofoam only)
Review Date: 5-20-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne mouth blown wine glass
Review Date: 5-20-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $37.50 Add To Cart BC 0

Page: 1  2  next