Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  next
Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne
Review Date: 11-1-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is one of my favorite Grand Marque houses and this particular champagne has great quality and is also a really good value. Toasty nose, with rich fruit. On the palate, golden apples and cream with a finish of bright, yet subtle, acidity. A really lovely champagne that works well on its own or with a meal.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $34.99
WE 92 ST 91 WS 91

Marguet Pere et Fils Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 2-27-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Benoit Marguet has produced another gorgeous Brut Rose at a very affordable price. This current effort has a lovely, floral nose that is full of rose petal and strawberry scents. On the palate, lush raspberry and strawberry fruit with a lingering finish of crisp acidity and minerals. Simply yummy!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 2-21-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The perfect bottle for a picnic! This lightly yeasty bubbly has fresh apple fruit, toast and a lingering finish with good acidity. This wine is just fine by itself or great with everything from sandwiches to roast chicken.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruichladdich Botanist Gin 750ml
Review Date: 2-17-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is going to be a very strange review, so bear with me. Normally, I am NOT a gin fan. I usually don't even like the smell of it. However, this Botanist gin smells, well, like flowers. It has juniper on the nose, but it is very elegant and muted. There are a lot of white flower notes and some rose scents (for me anyway...be patient, I've never described a gin before!). On the palate, it is soft and smooth, with good body that is not too heavy or oily. Here again, the juniper is subtle and almost slighty sweet. This is not gin-and-tonic gin. Don't ruin it by mixing! Serve it neat or maybe with one small ice cube. Better yet, just keep it in the fridge. If a wuss like me can handle it neat, you can too! You won't be disappointed!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Elisabeth Goutorbe Brut Champagne
Review Date: 2-17-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Ms. Elisabeth Goutorbe has come through, again! This great 2005 vintage Brut is a worthy successor to her wonderful 2003 vintage. A lovely blend of bing cherry fruit, hazelnuts and minerality. The finish seems to go on forever and ever. A great wine by itself or with a meal of fatty fish, lean pork or chicken. As an added bonus, it should age very well in the cellar for five plus years.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Gosset "Excellence" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 1-20-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This lovely bubbly is excellent and is also a great value! Initially, it is rich with baked bread scents, vanilla and luscious yellow fruits. On the palate, it starts off rich and heady with rich mid-palate of Bartlett pears and fresh cream. The finish is a nice surprise, with bright acidity and just a hint of minerality. One of my favorite memories of this wine was having it with Caprese fare on a lovely warm night in Epernay. It was the perfect apertif!
Top Value!

Caveau du Mont July Bugey Cerdon
Review Date: 9-22-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Fun in a bottle! Bright and lively raspberry and strawberry fruit. Young, fresh and semi-dry, this is the perfect choice for spicy Asian foods or to simply enjoy by itself. A customer favorite at our "International Sparkling Wine" tasting in August of this year.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 9-2-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Excellent bubbles at an excellent price! For those of you who like Veuve Clicquot, this effort from Ariston has ample yeast and toast but, not too much. Golden apple fruit and hints of caramel and vanilla. Great by itself or with chicken, salmon or pork.
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne
Review Date: 4-12-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
It's baaaack! While this wonderful Brut often gets overshadowed by the Brut Rose, it is one that should not be missed! Rich, yet focused, with peach and pear fruit. Ginger spice on the palate, with bracing minerality and firm structure. If you're looking to find almost everything in one Champagne, this is it!

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 4-12-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
All Grand Cru fruit in this delicious blanc de blanc. An excellent combination of yeastiness,stone fruits and citrus fruits. Classic finish laden with crisp minerality. Dosage of 8g. This is a slightly bigger style of blanc de blanc for those of you who don't like "Brut Nature" styles of blanc de blanc.

Rare Wine Company Historic Series New York Malmsey Madeira
Review Date: 3-7-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I had this Madeira at the same tasting that I had the Savannah from the same series and though different from the Savannah, it is just as intriguing. Where the Savannah tends towards the dry side, the New york tends towards the sweet. Where the Savannah is not bone dry, the New York is not super sweeet. It has a nose of candied oranges, coffee and candied bacon. Medium to full bodied. On the palate, toffee, date and hazelnuts. Like the Savannah, it is worth every cent!

Rare Wine Company Historic Series Savannah Verdelho Madeira
Review Date: 3-7-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
We recently had a staff tasting of the wines of Spain and Portugal and had the opportunity to taste this excellent Madeira. I absolutely loved it. A nose orange peel and roasted nuts. This one is quite dry,though not bone dry, with flavors of almonds, nectarines and citrus. Worth every penny.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart ST 93 BC 0

J Vineyards "Cuvée 20" Sonoma County Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 2-7-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of my favorite domestic bubblies. A very pretty nose of white flowers and minerals. On the palate, green apples and grapefruit with a samll bubble and a creamy pear finish. All this at a very affordable price.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

Gruet New Mexico Brut Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 1-6-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This wonderful bubbly from New Mexico is made by an established producer in Champagne, who fell in love with this region of the USA. Crisp, yet full-bodied, with a nose of green apples and citrus fruits. On the palate, green apples and cream with a toasty finish. A wonderful buy for the money!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Gruet Rosé New Mexico Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 1-6-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Sparkling wine from New Mexico, you say? Yep, and it's really good, too! The Gruet family makes champagne in France and fell in love with New Mexico when they were visiting. The result of this love is a classically styled Brut Rose with bright strawberry fruit and toasted bread on the nose. Clean, raspberry fruit on the palate with a dry, crisp finish. Only 5000 cases produced. A wonderful bargain!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  next