Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next
Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 1-22-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This review is for the latest release, a blend of 20% 1999 vintage, 20% 2000 vintage and 60% 2002 vintage. A blend of 50% chardonnay and 50% pinot noir with a clean nose of green apples, lime and minerals. Lush and full on the palate with toasted hazelnut and almond notes. It has a very nice finish that linger and lingers! The best one that I have tasted since the 1996 blend.

2013 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 1-8-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
We just had the opportunity to taste this latest release of Banshee Pinot Noir today (6 January) and though I liked the 2012 version of this wine, I think that I prefer the 2013. As with the previous vintage, this one has bright red fruits, rhubarb and pine notes, where the 2012 had black fruits; in the mid-palate, the 2013 stays bright and clean with a long finish of generous acidity. Being a fan of Burgundy, this works for me! This is a wonderful, affordable Pinot Noir with excellent quality and character that will pair very well with chicken and fattier fishes such as salmon. A real winner, this.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Joseph Jewell Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 9-22-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Very pretty nose of red cassis, dark cherry, cream and light earth. Unfined and unfiltered, yet, not blocky or chunky. Bright cherries on the palate, with notes of spice and earth. Excellent acidity on the finish that adds grace and balance. A very substantial, and delicious, effort.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart W&S 95 BC 0

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-19-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Ripe nose of fragrant white flowers, stone fruits and almonds. Light and delicate and soft on the palate. Rich and smooth, with a very small bead. Long finish. Quite drinkable now but, should age very well in the cellar. Should be available over the course of a year from now. Like the 2005, this one is rarin' to go right out of the chute.

2004 Michel Loriot "Les Sources du Flagot" Extra Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 8-5-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Like the "Palmyre" the Sources du Flagot is dosaged at 6 grams per liter. The result is a rich nose with hints of butterscotch and baked apples. It is a fairly rich wine despite the dosage, but it has a long, dry finish. If you like Brut Champagne, but are looking to branch out and try lower dosage wines, this is definitely your place to start!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-5-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I just tried this wine (again) today (8/5) at a staff tasting and it is magnificent! We have had releases of this over the past several years and this latest one has an ultra-low dosage of under 4 grams per liter. It is a blend of 70% Chardonnay and 30% Pinot Meunier. The Chardonnay comes from vines that are 45 years old and the Pinot Meunier is from vines that are over 70 years old! Despite the low dosage and amazing acidity, this wine is amazingly rich, balanced and elegant. We likened it here to lemon cheesecake! A wonderful effort from a great winemaker!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-5-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Another great vintage wine from Paul Vincent Ariston! Wonderfully bright, with stone fruits, lychee and green apple fruit. Lovely, very long and clean finish laden with salinity. A blend of 1/3 each of Pinot Noir, Pinot Meunier and Chardonnay. The best vintage since 1996! Collectors, take note!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $34.99
BC 0

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne mouth blown wine glass
Review Date: 5-27-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I had the chance to try these fantastic, mouth-blown glasses in Reims in April of this year. They are fantastically light and concentrate the nose beautifully! They are also very visually pleasing and elegant. I have a set of, shall we say, much more expensive (over $100 a stem) and well-known glasses that are inferior to these at home. They will remain in their boxes forever more! These GREAT glasses are sommelier certified!
Price: $37.50 Add To Cart BC 0

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (ship as 6pk *in styrofoam only)
Review Date: 5-27-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Earlier this Spring, I was able to visit Lehmann glass in Reims one (fairly early) morning. After the initial eye-googling in their showroom, where the array of glasses and their collection of glass Champagne buckets dazzles, we were able to sit down and look at the Jamesse line. The star of which, for me, is their Champagne series. The "Reference" Grand Champagne glass is the little brother to the "Prestige" glass. He is just as attractive as his big brother but, a little heavier. Not overweight, of course. Just more sturdy. Like his brother, he has a great nose and bubbly personality. He's also less expensive to have around. Seriously, for me, this is THE glass to have at home for your everyday Champagne needs. It is beautiful to look at, Sommelier certified and very, very affordable. So, you won't feel bad if you break one after that mag of Cristal!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Henri Giraud "Hommage Francois Hemart" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-25-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Rich in style with loads of cream and baked, golden apples and ripe pears. A lot of structure with a nice, long finish. Seventy percent pinot noir with 30% chardonnay added for acidity. Rich, creamy and balanced. Lovely finish with citrus, nuts and floral notes. Giraud is the ONLY Champagne producer to use wood from the Argonne forest. This wine is back in stock after a considerable absence, so for those of you who are discriminating Champagne buyers, it is time to rejoice. (25 March, 2014)
Drink from 2014 to 2021

2002 Thienot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-20-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Wow! This bottling of Champagne Thienot's "Gamins" has it all. The traditional elements of a superb blanc de blancs and so much more! Both green and golden apples are present (more so for the latter) as well as clay and dough notes on the nose. Lush lemon curd, light honey and nutty flavors on the palate. Wonderfully long finish! This bubbly would be a stellar addition to any cellar and should last another 20 years or so. Extremely impressive and worth every penny. For me, it is right up there with Krug and Salon.
Drink from 2014 to 2034

2006 Thienot "Cuvée Garance" Brut Blanc de Rouges Champagne
Review Date: 11-15-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This 100% Pinot Noir offering from Thienot is just amazing with duck, as I found out at Ame restaurant recently. It has a fascinating nose of pomegranate, apricot and peach. A graceful palate of dark, red fruits, toasted nuts and (yes!) minerality. Initially lush, with a tightly wound finish. Pretty much everything here to satisfy any Champagne lover!

Ragnaud Sabourin K&L Exclusive Fontevieille #35 Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 8-20-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Similiar in style to the No. 20 but, with more vanilla, richness and oak. This cognac also has the stone fruit and nectarine notes with a very, very long finish. Very smooth, and a cognac to linger over an enjoy by itself.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is one of our richer styled Brut Rose champagnes. It has a lush nose of dark cherries, red fruit and rose petals. Full and rich on the palate with dark, red fruits and smokey notes. Rich and spicy, it will please nearly everyone.

Charles Heidsieck "Rosé Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The first thing that is striking about this champagne is the light, almost orange colour that you see in the glass. Very, very attractive! On the nose, gobs of strawberry and blood orange scents. On the palate, strawberry, raspberry and cream. Lingering finish with good acidity.

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next