Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  next
1999 Thiénot "Cuvée Alain Thiénot" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
An absolutely stunning effort composed of 60% chardonnay and 40% pinot noir. It has a wonderful nose of red fruits and freshly baked bread. Lush and mouthfilling with a fine bead, dark red fruits and a light savory note. Simply delicious. The Thienot champagnes were amongst the most interesting I tasted during our "Champagne Summit" on August 13th with about 75 other selecctions.
Price: $99.00 Add To Cart WS 93 BC 0

Thienot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This uber-small producer has managed to produce a fine little Brut at a very affordable price. It is composed of 45% chardonnay, 35% pinot noir and 20% pinot meunier with up to 40 reserve wines used in the blend. It has a bright cherry nose with nice citrus notes. On the palate, rich and round and fairly dense with weighty red fruits. Nicely balanced with good acidity.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Piper-Heidsieck Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is a great little champagne at a very affordable price! It has pear and ripe flavors on the nose with some cream, as well. On the palate, juicy and rich but, there are also ample mineral notes on the finish. Very, very nice at a really great price!
Top Value!

Billecart-Salmon Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Lime and green apple notes on the nose. Excellent acidity and cleanliness. Citrus flavors on the palate with lemon/lime, necatarine and some saline notes. A great wine to have with shellfish, whitefish and crab.

Krug Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Even though I am a bit of a Krug fiend, actually I'm very much a Krug fiend, I just love this Brut Rose! It has an elegant nose of rose petals, tart strawberries and white pepper. A bright forefront with raspberry fruit merges into a tart strawberry and spicebox flavors at the back of the palate. Absolutely lovely! Will make a great cellar addition for the next 4-5 years.

2004 Moet & Chandon "Dom Pérignon" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This newest release harkens back to the quality of the 1996 and 2000 vintage DP. A beautiful nose of white flowers, toasted almonds and cocoa. Much cleaner than the 2003 vintage, with clean citrus notes to balance the yellow apple and stone fruit palate. A very nice effort!

Barnaut "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This beautiful Rose is 85-90% pinot noir and 10-15% chardonnay. It has baking spices, deep red fruits and anise on the nose. Dark red plum, cherry and very ripe strawberry on the palate. A rich and full Brut Rose that is great with food. Even steak!

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This latest release from Laurent Perrier is a blend of the 1999, 2000 and 2003 vintages. It is rich with pear and stone fruits on the nose. Oon the palate, there is power and delicacy with more pear fruit, subtle peachy notes and citrus on the long finish. One of the bext examples of Grand Siecle that I have seen!

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 8-2-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Loire buyer Eric Story has been doing his best to provide us with relatively inexpensive bubblies and in this case, he has come through. This little winner has bright red fruits, zippy acidity and a touch of minerality. Bright and refreshing. An added bonus is the tiny, tiny bubbles. Tiny bubbles, in the wine, make me happy, make me feel fine. Thank you, Don Ho!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Geyser Peak Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 5-13-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is a great little buy for domestic Sauvignon Blanc or for any affordable white wine, in fact. It has a very pleasant floral nose with hints of nectarine and herbs. Simple, clean and fresh on the palate with generous acidity, lemon-lime notes and just a hint of melon.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne
Review Date: 11-1-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is one of my favorite Grand Marque houses and this particular champagne has great quality and is also a really good value. Toasty nose, with rich fruit. On the palate, golden apples and cream with a finish of bright, yet subtle, acidity. A really lovely champagne that works well on its own or with a meal.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $34.99
WE 92 ST 91 WS 91

2005 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-1-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Is there any better way to start a morning than tasting the wines of Roederer? I tasted the latest Cristal in mid-August at 10:15 a.m. in the morning with a very fresh, coffee-free palate. While the last release of this bubbly, the 2004, needs a few more years to unwind, the 2005 is up and raring to go. Toast and citrus dominate the nose while the palate is more open, with white stone fruits and cream. More opulent than previous releases with more appeal for current drinking. It does, however, have that expected high quality that we have become spoiled by!

Breaking & Entering Bourbon from St. George 750ml
Review Date: 6-19-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Hooch! That says it all. This is real fine hooch. This is also coming from someone who, um, doesn't really appreciate good hooch. However, I DO appreciate this one! Not too sweet, not too hot and not too oaky. This bourbon has it all! Medium-bodied, with stone fruits, cinnamon and really, really balanced oak. Perfect for Goldilocks. This one is juuuuuust right!
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Fleury "Cuveé Robert Fleury" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-17-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I just tried this one after work tonight (3/17) and it is a definate winner. Wonderful green apple fruit, Asian spices and a very long, very clean finish with bracing acidity and chalkiness. Where the vintage features yellow apples and a bit of caramel, this new arrival ops for restraint and cleanliness. Simply lovely!
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 2-21-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The perfect bottle for a picnic! This lightly yeasty bubbly has fresh apple fruit, toast and a lingering finish with good acidity. This wine is just fine by itself or great with everything from sandwiches to roast chicken.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  next