Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  next
Piper-Heidsieck Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is a great little champagne at a very affordable price! It has pear and ripe flavors on the nose with some cream, as well. On the palate, juicy and rich but, there are also ample mineral notes on the finish. Very, very nice at a really great price!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

Billecart-Salmon Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Lime and green apple notes on the nose. Excellent acidity and cleanliness. Citrus flavors on the palate with lemon/lime, necatarine and some saline notes. A great wine to have with shellfish, whitefish and crab.

2004 Dom Pérignon Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This newest release harkens back to the quality of the 1996 and 2000 vintage DP. A beautiful nose of white flowers, toasted almonds and cocoa. Much cleaner than the 2003 vintage, with clean citrus notes to balance the yellow apple and stone fruit palate. A very nice effort!

Barnaut "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This beautiful Rose is 85-90% pinot noir and 10-15% chardonnay. It has baking spices, deep red fruits and anise on the nose. Dark red plum, cherry and very ripe strawberry on the palate. A rich and full Brut Rose that is great with food. Even steak!

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This latest release from Laurent Perrier is a blend of the 1999, 2000 and 2003 vintages. It is rich with pear and stone fruits on the nose. Oon the palate, there is power and delicacy with more pear fruit, subtle peachy notes and citrus on the long finish. One of the bext examples of Grand Siecle that I have seen!

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 8-2-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Loire buyer Eric Story has been doing his best to provide us with relatively inexpensive bubblies and in this case, he has come through. This little winner has bright red fruits, zippy acidity and a touch of minerality. Bright and refreshing. An added bonus is the tiny, tiny bubbles. Tiny bubbles, in the wine, make me happy, make me feel fine. Thank you, Don Ho!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne
Review Date: 11-1-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is one of my favorite Grand Marque houses and this particular champagne has great quality and is also a really good value. Toasty nose, with rich fruit. On the palate, golden apples and cream with a finish of bright, yet subtle, acidity. A really lovely champagne that works well on its own or with a meal.
Top Value!

Fleury "Cuveé Robert Fleury" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-17-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I just tried this one after work tonight (3/17) and it is a definate winner. Wonderful green apple fruit, Asian spices and a very long, very clean finish with bracing acidity and chalkiness. Where the vintage features yellow apples and a bit of caramel, this new arrival ops for restraint and cleanliness. Simply lovely!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Marguet Pere et Fils Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 2-27-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Benoit Marguet has produced another gorgeous Brut Rose at a very affordable price. This current effort has a lovely, floral nose that is full of rose petal and strawberry scents. On the palate, lush raspberry and strawberry fruit with a lingering finish of crisp acidity and minerals. Simply yummy!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 2-21-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The perfect bottle for a picnic! This lightly yeasty bubbly has fresh apple fruit, toast and a lingering finish with good acidity. This wine is just fine by itself or great with everything from sandwiches to roast chicken.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruichladdich Botanist Gin 750ml
Review Date: 2-17-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is going to be a very strange review, so bear with me. Normally, I am NOT a gin fan. I usually don't even like the smell of it. However, this Botanist gin smells, well, like flowers. It has juniper on the nose, but it is very elegant and muted. There are a lot of white flower notes and some rose scents (for me anyway...be patient, I've never described a gin before!). On the palate, it is soft and smooth, with good body that is not too heavy or oily. Here again, the juniper is subtle and almost slighty sweet. This is not gin-and-tonic gin. Don't ruin it by mixing! Serve it neat or maybe with one small ice cube. Better yet, just keep it in the fridge. If a wuss like me can handle it neat, you can too! You won't be disappointed!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Elisabeth Goutorbe Brut Champagne
Review Date: 2-17-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Ms. Elisabeth Goutorbe has come through, again! This great 2005 vintage Brut is a worthy successor to her wonderful 2003 vintage. A lovely blend of bing cherry fruit, hazelnuts and minerality. The finish seems to go on forever and ever. A great wine by itself or with a meal of fatty fish, lean pork or chicken. As an added bonus, it should age very well in the cellar for five plus years.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Gosset "Excellence" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 1-20-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This lovely bubbly is excellent and is also a great value! Initially, it is rich with baked bread scents, vanilla and luscious yellow fruits. On the palate, it starts off rich and heady with rich mid-palate of Bartlett pears and fresh cream. The finish is a nice surprise, with bright acidity and just a hint of minerality. One of my favorite memories of this wine was having it with Caprese fare on a lovely warm night in Epernay. It was the perfect apertif!
Top Value!

Caveau du Mont July Bugey Cerdon Rosé
Review Date: 9-22-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Fun in a bottle! Bright and lively raspberry and strawberry fruit. Young, fresh and semi-dry, this is the perfect choice for spicy Asian foods or to simply enjoy by itself. A customer favorite at our "International Sparkling Wine" tasting in August of this year.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 9-2-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Excellent bubbles at an excellent price! For those of you who like Veuve Clicquot, this effort from Ariston has ample yeast and toast but, not too much. Golden apple fruit and hints of caramel and vanilla. Great by itself or with chicken, salmon or pork.
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  next