Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next
2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This bottling from Amici Cellars was hugely popular with the 2011 vintage. Well, it only gets better with the 2012 vintage! Deep and rich, with dark red fruits, cassis and mocha notes. Lush on the palate, with bright oak and roasted nuts. Another winner from Amici Cellars!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The Ariston family are some of my favorite winemakers who produce some of the best small-estate champagnes that we carry. This blanc de blanc is no exception. It carries their reputation for excellent quality at an affordable price. This is a creamy, rich style of blanc de blanc with a rich mousse and lemon meringue flavors. Fleshy, without being heavy, it has a long, subtle finish of apple and pear fruit. A great way to start a party or meal!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I have long been a fan of this winery and the 2012 is no exception. In fact, it is one of the best releases in recent memory. Mostly sangiovese (90%) with 10% colorino, it is dominated by black cherry fruit, fresh herbs and chewy tannins. This is a wonderful chianti for those of you who prefer the traditional style.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Viña Eguía Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This surprisingly weighty release has gobs of black cherries and red plums with herbs and cedar. It also has nice, spicy undertones of pepper and minerals. Wonderful floral nose of crushed violets. A great value, as well!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2014 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Like the previous vintages of this wine, the 2014 is a fun, affordable and easy drinking wine without the raisins/prune character in similar wines. A little French oak for added flavors and low tannins make this a perfect party wine. Consistently listed as a "Best Buy" by the Wine Enthusiast.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc Vin de Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is an excellent, fun sauvignon blanc that comes in at a very affordable price. It is a crisp, clean style with loads of minerality and fresh lime, grapefruit and meyer lemon fruit. No grassiness, just pure, clean sauvignon blanc that begs for shellfish or crab.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 1-22-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This review is for the latest release, a blend of 20% 1999 vintage, 20% 2000 vintage and 60% 2002 vintage. A blend of 50% chardonnay and 50% pinot noir with a clean nose of green apples, lime and minerals. Lush and full on the palate with toasted hazelnut and almond notes. It has a very nice finish that linger and lingers! The best one that I have tasted since the 1996 blend.

2013 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 1-8-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
We just had the opportunity to taste this latest release of Banshee Pinot Noir today (6 January) and though I liked the 2012 version of this wine, I think that I prefer the 2013. As with the previous vintage, this one has bright red fruits, rhubarb and pine notes, where the 2012 had black fruits; in the mid-palate, the 2013 stays bright and clean with a long finish of generous acidity. Being a fan of Burgundy, this works for me! This is a wonderful, affordable Pinot Noir with excellent quality and character that will pair very well with chicken and fattier fishes such as salmon. A real winner, this.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Joseph Jewell Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 9-22-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Very pretty nose of red cassis, dark cherry, cream and light earth. Unfined and unfiltered, yet, not blocky or chunky. Bright cherries on the palate, with notes of spice and earth. Excellent acidity on the finish that adds grace and balance. A very substantial, and delicious, effort.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart W&S 95 BC 0

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-19-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Ripe nose of fragrant white flowers, stone fruits and almonds. Light and delicate and soft on the palate. Rich and smooth, with a very small bead. Long finish. Quite drinkable now but, should age very well in the cellar. Should be available over the course of a year from now. Like the 2005, this one is rarin' to go right out of the chute.

2004 Michel Loriot "Les Sources du Flagot" Extra Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 8-5-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Like the "Palmyre" the Sources du Flagot is dosaged at 6 grams per liter. The result is a rich nose with hints of butterscotch and baked apples. It is a fairly rich wine despite the dosage, but it has a long, dry finish. If you like Brut Champagne, but are looking to branch out and try lower dosage wines, this is definitely your place to start!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-5-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Another great vintage wine from Paul Vincent Ariston! Wonderfully bright, with stone fruits, lychee and green apple fruit. Lovely, very long and clean finish laden with salinity. A blend of 1/3 each of Pinot Noir, Pinot Meunier and Chardonnay. The best vintage since 1996! Collectors, take note!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $34.99
BC 0

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne mouth blown wine glass
Review Date: 5-27-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I had the chance to try these fantastic, mouth-blown glasses in Reims in April of this year. They are fantastically light and concentrate the nose beautifully! They are also very visually pleasing and elegant. I have a set of, shall we say, much more expensive (over $100 a stem) and well-known glasses that are inferior to these at home. They will remain in their boxes forever more! These GREAT glasses are sommelier certified!
Price: $37.50 Add To Cart BC 0

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (ship as 6pk *in styrofoam only)
Review Date: 5-27-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Earlier this Spring, I was able to visit Lehmann glass in Reims one (fairly early) morning. After the initial eye-googling in their showroom, where the array of glasses and their collection of glass Champagne buckets dazzles, we were able to sit down and look at the Jamesse line. The star of which, for me, is their Champagne series. The "Reference" Grand Champagne glass is the little brother to the "Prestige" glass. He is just as attractive as his big brother but, a little heavier. Not overweight, of course. Just more sturdy. Like his brother, he has a great nose and bubbly personality. He's also less expensive to have around. Seriously, for me, this is THE glass to have at home for your everyday Champagne needs. It is beautiful to look at, Sommelier certified and very, very affordable. So, you won't feel bad if you break one after that mag of Cristal!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Thienot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-20-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Wow! This bottling of Champagne Thienot's "Gamins" has it all. The traditional elements of a superb blanc de blancs and so much more! Both green and golden apples are present (more so for the latter) as well as clay and dough notes on the nose. Lush lemon curd, light honey and nutty flavors on the palate. Wonderfully long finish! This bubbly would be a stellar addition to any cellar and should last another 20 years or so. Extremely impressive and worth every penny. For me, it is right up there with Krug and Salon.
Drink from 2014 to 2034

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next