Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3  4  next
Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne mouth blown wine glass
Review Date: 5-27-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I had the chance to try these fantastic, mouth-blown glasses in Reims in April of this year. They are fantastically light and concentrate the nose beautifully! They are also very visually pleasing and elegant. I have a set of, shall we say, much more expensive (over $100 a stem) and well-known glasses that are inferior to these at home. They will remain in their boxes forever more! These GREAT glasses are sommelier certified!
Price: $37.50 Add To Cart BC 0

Lehmann 'Jamesse Reference' Grand Champagne glass
Review Date: 5-27-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Earlier this Spring, I was able to visit Lehmann glass in Reims one (fairly early) morning. After the initial eye-googling in their showroom, where the array of glasses and their collection of glass Champagne buckets dazzles, we were able to sit down and look at the Jamesse line. The star of which, for me, is their Champagne series. The "Reference" Grand Champagne glass is the little brother to the "Prestige" glass. He is just as attractive as his big brother but, a little heavier. Not overweight, of course. Just more sturdy. Like his brother, he has a great nose and bubbly personality. He's also less expensive to have around. Seriously, for me, this is THE glass to have at home for your everyday Champagne needs. It is beautiful to look at, Sommelier certified and very, very affordable. So, you won't feel bad if you break one after that mag of Cristal!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Henri Giraud Fût de Chêne Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-25-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Henri Giraud is the only producer in Champagne to use the oak of the Argonne forest for fermenting and aging his wines. This is evident in this gorgeous release of the Fut de Chene, which offers richness, nuttiness, and extreme complexity. The Argonne oak adds to this complexity and it never overwhelms. It is a component that adds depth and richness. Initially full on the forefront and the mid-palate, the almond, apple, brioche and apricot flavors finish with surprising acidity, minerality, salinity and notes of honey. This champagne is perfectly suited to main courses of white and (light) red meats or game bird. Those of you who are Champagne collectors (and lovers) should really consider this beautiful bubbly and step outside of the box! This producer has a very small production of 25,000 bottles, for ALL of their selections, so this bottling is sure to sell quickly. Don't wait!
Drink from 2014 to 2029

Henri Giraud "Hommage Francois Hemart" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-25-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Rich in style with loads of cream and baked, golden apples and ripe pears. A lot of structure with a nice, long finish. Seventy percent pinot noir with 30% chardonnay added for acidity. Rich, creamy and balanced. Lovely finish with citrus, nuts and floral notes. Giraud is the ONLY Champagne producer to use wood from the Argonne forest. This wine is back in stock after a considerable absence, so for those of you who are discriminating Champagne buyers, it is time to rejoice. (25 March, 2014)
Drink from 2014 to 2021

Pierre Paillard Grand Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-21-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This lower dosage, clean and linear Brut is one of the best that we carry, in my opinion. Green apple, bright cherry and lemon meringue notes on the nose. Bright apples, zippy lemon/lime and candied ginger flavors on the palate. It has a finish laden with chalk and minerals. When we have them, do NOT miss the magnums! They priced extremely reasonably and will age for another 10 years. As it is, this little beauty in the 750 ml bottle will age well for 6-7 more years. Do NOT wait to buy any of our Pierre Paillard selections! We receive them in limited quantities and they sell out quickly!
Top Value! Drink from 2013 to 2023
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WS 92 BC 0

2002 Thienot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-20-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Wow! This bottling of Champagne Thienot's "Gamins" has it all. The traditional elements of a superb blanc de blancs and so much more! Both green and golden apples are present (more so for the latter) as well as clay and dough notes on the nose. Lush lemon curd, light honey and nutty flavors on the palate. Wonderfully long finish! This bubbly would be a stellar addition to any cellar and should last another 20 years or so. Extremely impressive and worth every penny. For me, it is right up there with Krug and Salon.
Drink from 2014 to 2034

2005 Thienot "Cuvée Stanislas" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-15-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Our cup runneth over! Here is another outstanding Blanc de Blanc from Champagne Thienot! This particular version is quite rich, with baked apple fruit, a large smattering of cream, and lemon meringue. Honey and peaches round out the mid-palate with a finish of smoke and minerals. Another interesting entry from this uber-boutique producer.

2006 Thienot "Cuvée Garance" Brut Blanc de Rouges Champagne
Review Date: 11-15-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This 100% Pinot Noir offering from Thienot is just amazing with duck, as I found out at Ame restaurant recently. It has a fascinating nose of pomegranate, apricot and peach. A graceful palate of dark, red fruits, toasted nuts and (yes!) minerality. Initially lush, with a tightly wound finish. Pretty much everything here to satisfy any Champagne lover!

2011 Stolpman "Estate" Santa Ynez Valley Syrah
Review Date: 9-2-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Very pretty nose of crushed violets, dark cherries and anise. Delicious on the palate with silky tannins and dark red fruits, light herbs and a hint of cocoa. This is an excellent, medium-bodied Syrah that is somewhat restrained compared to most other domestic Syrah. This is a very appealing and versatile effort from Stolpman.

Ragnaud Sabourin K&L Exclusive Fontevieille #35 Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 8-20-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Similiar in style to the No. 20 but, with more vanilla, richness and oak. This cognac also has the stone fruit and nectarine notes with a very, very long finish. Very smooth, and a cognac to linger over an enjoy by itself.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ragnaud Sabourin K&L Exclusive Reserve Speciale #20 Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 8-20-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I just tried this fantastic cognac this morning. Better than cornflakes! It has a lovely, delicate nose of cinnamon, orange peel and apricot. Vanilla, caramel and stone fruit on the palate. Very feminine and a great contrast to the much more common heavy, sweet caramel cognac styles. Sip it, sip it, sip it. Great stuff!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is one of our richer styled Brut Rose champagnes. It has a lush nose of dark cherries, red fruit and rose petals. Full and rich on the palate with dark, red fruits and smokey notes. Rich and spicy, it will please nearly everyone.

Charles Heidsieck "Rosé Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The first thing that is striking about this champagne is the light, almost orange colour that you see in the glass. Very, very attractive! On the nose, gobs of strawberry and blood orange scents. On the palate, strawberry, raspberry and cream. Lingering finish with good acidity.

2004 Perrier Jouët "Belle Epoque" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Remember those old "don't hate me because I am beautiful" commericals? Well, the Belle Epoque bottlings are kind of like that. Iconic in packaging and yes, beautiful. So beautiful that the contents inside the bottle often get overlooked. In the case of this 2004 release, we have a "beautiful" nose that is delicate with cream, white flowers and stone fruits. In the mouth, peach, green apple, ginger and lemon flavors. Very clean with ample minerality. Sometimes, the prom queen is beautiful inside and out.

2007 Aubry "Le Nombre d'Or Sable" Brut
Review Date: 8-17-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Most of you are familiar with our other former "Sable", now "Quartz" from Champagne Launois. This gorgeous effort from Aubry has four fathoms of pressure as opposed to the "normal" six. The result is a delicacy not often found in many champagnes. Well, it abounds here! This wine has a clean, clear nose that is very prefumed with floral notes and creamy scents. On the palate, this bubbly is clean with delicate citrus and mandarin orange flavors. Dry and delicate. This particular release is s blend of 30% Chardonnay, 20% Pinot Blanc, 20% Pinot Gris and 30% Petit Neslier and Arbanne. All stainless steel fermentation. Disgorged June, 2012. Terry Theise brings us some of our most exciting champagnes and at our "Champagne Summit" on August 13th, this one was amongst one of the most exciting ones presented to us by Hiram Simon.

Page: 1  2  3  4  next