Staff Favorites - Matthew Callahan

Matthew Callahan

Page:  <<  prev  6 7  8  9  10  next  >>
2012 Urbanite Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 2-20-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
We have had a long and very successful history with Urbanite Cellars. The wines are that great combination of really good quality and excellent value. This lush and easy drinking new release has lovely red fruits, a touch of vanillin oak and spices. Super food friendly and inexpensive enough to use as your everyday go-to wine that is a cut above the others in quality and finesse.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Blason Pinot Grigio Isonzo (1L)   | Approved
Review Date: 2-20-2015
Some of Italy's best white wine is coming from its Northeastern regions like Friuli, including this gem. In a market cluttered with watery Pinot Grigio, the Blason is a breath of fresh air. Red apples, stone fruits, Meyer lemon, and pretty, floral aromatics bring this to a level of quality that dwarfs others (Santa Margherita included). Not to mention it comes in a liter bottle - perfect for parties!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Georg Albrecht Schneider "vom Rotliegenden" Niersteiner Hipping Riesling Spätlese Trocken (dry)  
Review Date: 2-20-2015
For all you people who say Riesling is too sweet! Look no further. This is one of the driest Spätlese I have tasted. This is a ridiculous wine for the price. It opens up in the glass with hints of honey, stone fruit (apricot/peach) and mineral (wet stone). And we haven't even gotten to tasting the wine. Wonderful red apple and spice, guava and honey notes culminate in this amazing citrus finish. That keeps going and going and going!! Asian food stat!

Macallan 21 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 2-20-2015
This bottle delivers! If you are looking for the ultimate in silky, mature, Sherry wood heaven, look no further. While the Mac 21 distillery bottling is often woody and hollow, this Old Particular is sweet and decadent. If you love Macallan and want a real treat, you have found it.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Tobermory 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 2-20-2015
After 20 years in the booze business, our spirits team can still surprise me! This 18 year old Tobermory is unlike any other single malt that I have had. The nose is so expressive and sweet, with exotic Chinese herbs along with classic malty aromas. In the mouth the whisky is round and plump, clearly mature but without obvious wood flavors. The best thing about this Old Particular bottling is the finish- it is a real peacocks tail, it swells up and goes on for as long as you care to pay attention. Top notch!!
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Mortlach 7 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 2-20-2015
This Mortlach is the perfect refreshment for the jaded malt whisky lover. It is elegant, laid back, light bodied and fun to drink. With a few drops of water and a little bit of attention this Hepburn's bottling shows layers of subtle complexity.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Duluc de Branaire-Ducru  
Review Date: 2-20-2015
I have a vague memory of some famous British wine critic opining that the "sole purpose of a second wine is to improve the quality of the Grand Vin; one is never supposed to actually drink it". Fair point, but it would be a shame to miss out on second wines in a vintage like 2009. The quality of the vintage is such that they really shine, offering exceptional value for money. The 2009 Duluc de Branaire Ducru perfectly mirrors the vintage as a whole, offering fresh, ripe fruit, smooth, silky texture, and fine tannins. Branaire Ducru remains one of the great values in St Julien, the second wine even more so.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Miltonduff 19 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 2-20-2015
This is one of the purest, most charming single malt's that I have ever had. If you are looking for something to contrast the big sherry wood and super peaty whisky in your collection, this unique dram will be perfect. The last offering that I tasted that was as effortless as this Miltonduff was the Bruichladdich Bere Barley, but this has more complexity and persistence. A very fine dram indeed!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Arnaud, Bordeaux Supérieur  
Review Date: 2-20-2015
While great vintages like 2010 produce some of the most famously expensive wines in Bordeaux, they also produce a wealth of drinkable, affordable wines of exceptional quality. This inexpensive AOC Bordeaux from Chateau Arnaud is one such. Round and ripe red and black fruits with just a hint of black licorice and a firm finish. You'll enjoy every bottle twice. Once when you drink it, and again when you recall you only paid $10.99 for it.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Gigault "Cuvée 'Viva" Premières Côtes de Blaye  
Review Date: 2-20-2015
One of the great Right Bank values from the Cotes de Blaye. Always a wine to look for. Difficult to follow the outstanding '09 and the unparalleled '10, but the 2011 Gigault Cuvee Viva makes the most of a challenging vintage, offering rich, upfront fruit. Soft, ripe, and juicy, this wine is already drinking well and should continue to do so over the next few years.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

2013 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini  
Review Date: 2-20-2015
You don’t necessarily need to cleave to cool climate wine regions in order to find a nice core of minerality in your white wine. This Assyrtiko, from the island of Santorini, situated out alone in the bright blue of the Mediterranean about equidistant to Turkey, Crete, and the Greek mainland, handily proves the point. The palate shows richness and breadth, with some ripe, sweet flavors, before tightening up on the finish as the wet stone character re-asserts itself. If you want a slight detour from your usual Muscadet or Chablis, say, this would be well worth exploring in similar contexts food-wise.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

Faultline Blended Scotch Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 2-20-2015
I usually only like blended Scotch that costs more than the single malts I drink, so this was a revelation. I don't know if it is the hint of high quality peat, the extra concentration and kick from the higher proof, or the lovely sweet malty character of this blend that make it so satisfying. My father has often said that he "likes to drink expensive booze like it was cheap"- if you do too, this is a great scotch for you. It is not expensive- it just tastes like it is! For me it is the best value in Scotch in the store.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 2-20-2015
If you're looking for a Rioja with some age, that's ready to drink, look no further. The 06' "vitola" has developed aromas of pine, mushroom and resin, while the palate has notes of chocolate, coffee grounds and roasted tomatoes. Tannins and acid are well integrated at this point and drinking beautifully.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 2-20-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I have been a major supporter of the Napa Valley Cabernets coming from Amici Cellars for well over 15 years. The original primary owner/winemaker, who became one of my partners in my Pinot Noir vineyard project in the Anderson Valley in the early 2000s, and the current winemaker (with the same principle original investors of Amici), have made and continue to produce ‘old style’ Napa Valley Cabernets that show incredible balance and structure, yet with richness and depth of flavor without being an in-your-face, jam-y, high alcohol, low acid Cab that are coming from so many Napa Valley producers the last ten years-plus. This 2010 shows a deep ruby color, with an opulent, yet elegant nose of cassis, currents, and black fruits aromas, rounded by a soft cedary oak note. In the mouth, this broad, viscous, richly flavored Gem is balanced, well-integrated, dusty, and is nicely complex, with layers of flavor and character, and has a finish that is long, warm, pronounced, and lasting for at least five to ten minutes. Rusty has informed me that, although this Cabernet Gem is approachable now, we need to lay a few cases into our already crowded, temperature controlled wine cellar for a few more years. This puppy should easily age another ten to twenty years for those of you who are willing to do so, providing that you are under 60 years of age…………… 14.5% ABV
Drink from 2015 to 2030

2010 Arnaud, Bordeaux Supérieur  
Review Date: 2-19-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is the first time that we have directly imported this production to K&L. In great vintages, such as 2010, Clyde searches the regional gamut of Bordeaux to find such minor producers as Arnaud that are of very high quality at reasonable prices, yet can be drunk in the near-term rather than waiting 10,000 years for it to be ready. This Gem is medium-deep ruby in color, offers up straightforward cassis to currant fruit characteristics in the nose and on its rather soft, silky, broad palate impression. This Gem is well integrated with excellent structure and has a finish that is long, warm, and shows an excellent core of sweet fruit without being over-the-top. Rusty has informed me that we need several cases in our collection to have with the tri-tip roast dinners that we have once in a while..... 13.0% ABV
Drink from 2005 to 2020
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<  prev  6 7  8  9  10  next  >>