Staff Favorites - Matthew Callahan

Matthew Callahan

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>
2012 Il Valentiano Rosso di Montalcino   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Yay to direct import!! This is yet another great value juicy fun easy drinking Sangiovese hand picked by our Italy wine buyer Greg. Drink up, stock up, this bottle won't last long in our inventory!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sharp Zombie Rioja   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-30-2015
This is your no guilt, easy drinking middle of the week wine. Best paired with pizza, burger while watching a zombie movie and relaxing. It's 100% Tempranillo done in a juicy lively style. It doesn't take a sharp zombie to realize its awesome value! (pun totally intended)
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena   | Approved
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Having a party? wedding? summer BBQ? This is a great value wine that the staff here has consistently loved. The 2013 vintage is the same great wine with a good balance of bright, full, fruit and solid structure. Sure to please your friends and guests!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica (1.5L)  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
This is one of my favorite wines in the store. Wonderful power, structure and delicacy. No oak aging in this wine. This just show's what happens when a grape and place are such a perfect marriage. Fruit and floral through out the wine. With a great mineral backbone. Lovely texture with a surprising weight in the mid-palate. It is one complex glass of wine. Don't forget the magnum is perfect for any kind of party.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2013 Chehalem "INOX" Willamette Valley Chardonnay   | Approved
Review Date: 3-30-2015
This old world inspired , unoaked Chardonnay has crisp green apples and pears on the nose, with a great vibrant tang from the acidity. This wine showcases the delicate flavors and characteristics that Chardonnay has to offer without any oak influence. A great Oregonian wine!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Storybook Mountain "Mayacamas Range" Napa Valley Zinfandel   | Approved
Review Date: 3-30-2015
This awesome Zinfandel is rich, ripe and structured. It has the length and grip on the finish that I look for in reds. I would drink this bottle any day of the week, and that says something because zinfandel is not normally my go-to varietal. All around a greatly executed wine through and through.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2014 Elk Cove Willamette Valley Rosé   | Approved
Review Date: 3-30-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Generous fruit, berry jams, great acidity and finish. Not to mention this rose of pinot noir is simply perfect for all of this beautiful hot weather. Try this with some Atlantic salmon and vegetables...Bam!
Drink from 2015 to 2017
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Casanova di Neri "Tenuta Nuova" Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
There is something to be said about less thinking, more drinking. Opinions and scores be damned! This my friends, is just a fantastic glass of wine! Aromatics on this wine are stunning. Picking up just a hint of vanilla. Then comes the dark cherry and violets. Luscious fruit, and a rich refined spice pop in your mouth. What a treat to drink. Food or not, this wine does not disappoint. This is one wine that is not easy to share. So choice your friends wisely.

2011 Ornellaia "Le Serre Nuove"  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
This is the second label for Ornellaia. Younger vines go into the wine. Pour it in the glass and you can see you are in for a wonderful experience. Deep, dark ruby red greets the eyes. Burst of berry fruits and crushed floral on the nose. This is a full body wine. Great weight on the mid palate. The tannins and acidity are all there for a seamless finish. Great with grilled meat or a heavier cheese. Elegance and power have never paired so well!

2014 Château les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clémentine" Côtes de Provence Rosé  
Review Date: 3-30-2015
One of my favorite Rosés, year in and year out! When people ask me for Provence Rosé, it does not get much better than this. All organic methods of farming are gathered in this beautiful little part of Cotes de Provence. When people ask for that light salmon color, this wine has that. Delicate, with a fresh acidity for a truly magical experience. Got that too. As we used to say back home, this is a true porch sipper!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne   | Approved
Review Date: 3-29-2015
Decadence on a budget! Here's a delightfully rich Champagne with an aroma of a freshly baked baguette, lemons and herbs. It's taste is plush and broad at one end and then fresh and lemony, grapefruity at the other leaving a well balanced round finish. This would be a top pick for an indulgent Champagne breakfast or a simple brunch time toast! Santé
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $34.99
BC 0

2013 Boekenhoutskloof "The Wolftrap" Red Western Cape   | Approved
Review Date: 3-29-2015
Great spice, a soft richness, and generous fruit makes this Mataro blend an easy to enjoy blend. Perfect for entertaining and everyday wine.
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Krutz Family Cellars "Magnolia Series" Napa Valley Zinfandel  
Review Date: 3-29-2015
Oh my Heart of Darkness, Mister Krutz! If you can read Conrad or enjoy a Coppola bad puns, you'll get it. This brazen beauty is one of the most arrestingly delicious, emblematic Zinfandels I've tasted recently, bursting with a veritable cornucopia of perfectly-picked, brambly black fruit....dark cherries, plums, and blackberries that project their rich aromatic personalities on the palate with both balance, generosity and power, all fitfully framed by finely-polished tannins and finishing smooth and dry and pure. Serve this Zinfandel with nicely grilled sausages or a spicy Moroccan tagine for a memorable meal.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2013 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Pinot Noir Marlborough New Zealand   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 3-28-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I'll keep this very simple. This is one of the (if not THE) best value Pinot in the store. Pinot Noir is notoriously hard to grow and make, thus many inexpensive / mass produced versions are very lacking in depth, complexity and balance. This wine is not. It smells and tastes like classic Pinot of a much higher price point. It's grown on a small, organic, family owned estate. Hand-crafted in small open fermenters and matured in quality French oak. In addition, 2013 was an exceptional vintage in New Zealand elevating the quality even further than in previous renditions. If you are a Pinot fanatic searching for a great everyday bottle that delivers without breaking the bank you can't miss this!
Top Value! Drink from 2015 to 2018
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2012 Bench Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 3-28-2015
This has been a SF favorite for years, and this is the best vintage we have tried yet. Full of dark fruits with oak spice and chocolate tones. It rich and polished with enough tannin to give it heft but no so big that you cannot serve as a cocktail.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>