Staff Favorites - Matthew Callahan

Matthew Callahan

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>
2013 Bethel Heights/K&L Wine Merchants Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 12-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A little more reserved and should age well in the cellar. If drinking now decant one hour and serve with lamb shanks or cassoulet.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay  
Review Date: 12-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Solid and well-balanced--a bit of toasty vanilla oak aromas that follow to palate. Quite good Edna Valley Chardóhas more acidity than the usual overdone Edna Valley plonk. This is a crowd pleaser.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Taken Napa Valley Red Blend  
Review Date: 12-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
When I first read the label "Taken" on this rather substantial bottle of wine I swallowed air, hesitated and looked around to see if Liam Neeson was watching from the shadows, waiting to gauge my reaction before throttling me. Fortunately no lurking Liam, but the uncorked wine was quite capable of seizing and transporting me anywhere it desired with its dazzling aromatics of fresh-picked blueberries, blackberry compote, dense mineral earth and rich Belgian chocolate. And to say my palate was held hostage for more than a few tense, spellbinding moments is an understatement, as this bold and beautifully supple Cab/Merlot blend continued to interrogate me with theatrical outbursts of expressive black fruits, lovely vanilla, wreathed tannins and savory espresso.... do yourself a huge favor and procure a case or more of this seductive wine for the holidays and beyond, I promise you will be quite captured, I mean, captivated by it....Happiest of Holidays!
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

1990 Glenfarclas K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml   | Approved
Review Date: 12-8-2014
I am usually all about the bourbons...but this Scotch might be the one that converts me! Amazing color, structure and flavor. I will be getting a bottle to add to my spirits collection for sure. I am so glad our buyer got this in for all of us to enjoy! Get a bottle while you can--if you love Highland whisky, you won't regret it at all.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1990 Glenfarclas K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 12-8-2014
Glenfarclas is such a quality producer of single malts that it is always a joy to taste one. The 1990 Glenfarclas is wonderful and luscious, with inviting aromas and big, expressive flavors. Balanced and not too sweet, is is easy to drink yet is complex enough to give one something to think about.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenfarclas "The Faultline Casks" K&L Exclusive First Fill Oloroso Sherry Casks Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 12-8-2014
Joyful deliciousness in a glass. There is a beautiful deep brown color with sweet, inviting aromas. It is fantastic and round but not too sweet. There is enough complexity to make this single malt very interesting.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva  
Review Date: 12-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I absolutely love this wineís aromatics, so intriguing, full of Middle Eastern spice, elegant plum, bramble, dried-cherry fruit and nuances of fresh Provencal herbs. On the palate the wine is supple, medium bodied while still being so full flavored, easy to drink, only 13.0% alcohol yet this multifaceted red always beckons you for another sip and then another it is just so tasty. Made from 100% Negroamaro fermented in stainless steel and aged in 1-2 year old barrique for 6 months. This complex yet elegant wine comes from Puglia, the heel of the Italian Peninsula and is the perfect accompaniment to your favorite tomato based pasta dish.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2010 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva  
Review Date: 12-8-2014
This is one of those wines, (under ten dollars), that once people try it, it will be flying off the shelves! It is so easy to drink with a wonderful fruit and spicy taste. It has a cool mineral note with great acidity, and a good lift on the back end. All of this for $9.99.This is perfect for those big cheeses or a beef stew on a cold winter night. Stock up for the holidays! It is a perfect party wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2012 Taken Napa Valley Red Blend   | Approved
Review Date: 12-8-2014
Holy blueberries and blackberries, here's a lush and juicy red blend from Napa's new school. Blended at 60% Cab and 40% Merlot this fragrant wine exhibits mild tannins with a cedar, vanilla twist which makes this super fun to drink.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2010 Inglenook "Cask" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon   | Approved
Review Date: 12-6-2014
A full bodied, moderately extracted bottling from the famed Rutherford area producer, this wine has something for everyone. Dark, dried fruit, prevalent tannins, and just enough hints of tobacco, spice box, and a long earthy finish. Drinking it one major thought came to my mind-- "Steak anyone?"
Price: Hidden View Price AG 91 BC 0

2012 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Rosso di Montalcino  
Review Date: 12-6-2014
It's back--but for how long?. When K&L introduced this producer to you last year, everyone who bought a bottle came back for quantities and it sold out quickly. This 2012 will be no exception. This wine is full of ripe Sangiovese fruit, plum, spicy blackberry, and cassis with cocoa powder, coating the palate with a little Tuscan dust on the finish of this full-bodied wine that is showing great acidity and very well-balanced tannins.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Iron Horse "Ocean Reserve" Green Valley Blanc de Blancs   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 12-5-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I had the 2009 at the Wine & Spirits Top 100 Wineries tasting in San Francisco this fall, where owner Joy Sterling was pouring her sparkling wine next to a Bay Area restaurant's table full of oysters. What a match! Is it the power of suggestion or does this wine, in each vintage, have something of the sea to it? Fresh, salty, and possessing of a steady power, the Ocean Reserve is not just a "charity" wine with the Iron Horse label, it's one of their top wines, in my opinion. It's also fairly dry and zippy.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart WE 94 BC 0

Ardbeg Corryvreckan Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 12-5-2014
For sure, the next time I have enough spare change to be able to decide between purchasing a Talisker 18 or the Corry, I am likely to experience some cognitive dissonance--and I mean before I have had any whisky! UPDATE: After first sampling the Corryvreckan, I was able to purchase a bottle and am very happy with it. This whisky presents luxe aromas of vanilla, caramel, and a hint of chocolate liqueur, haunted by a roasted seaweed, smoked fish and bacon sort of peatiness. If you've tried the Ardbeg 10 but felt it was just somewhat too aggressively peaty for you, at least for now, check out this one. It's got all the soft, lovely smoky beauty of a Talisker Distiller's, say, but with a spicier, cinnamon mint finish--like a younger Islay, like our Kilchoman single barrels, for instance. If you don't mind a hot finish, and love a single malt that tantalizes your nose with seductive, smoky and sweet aromas, this is it.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart WA 96 BC 0

2010 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 12-5-2014
Bright, tangy cherry and pomegranate with lovely, dusty, mocha tannins on the finish.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2010 Inglenook "Cask" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 12-5-2014
Deep purple and ruby color in the glass with high-toned and beautifully perfumed bouquet of crushed red fruit and holiday spice box. Very supple and elegant palate with powdered raspberries, currant, boysenberry and cassis flavors on the palate with gravely minerality and strong yet integrated tannins. New World in fruit and Old World in style, this baby will age beautifully or can be enjoyed now with a quick decant.
Price: Hidden View Price AG 91 BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>