Staff Favorites - Matthew Callahan

Matthew Callahan

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>
2010 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay  
Review Date: 4-10-2014
The is one of the icons of the New Zealand wine industry...and deserves it! A gorgeous blend of 58% Cabernet Sauvignon, 36% Merlot and 6% Cabeenet Franc, the Coleraine offers notes of cedar, dark plum, black cherry and minerality. There is seamless balance with fine grained tannins and a long persistent finish. Buy it, put it away for a while and reap the rewards. You'll be glad you did.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 96 JS 93

2012 Te Mata "Cape Crest" Sauvignon Blanc Hawkes Bay New Zealand  
Review Date: 4-10-2014
This wine will give many a white Bordeaux a run for it's money! Beautifull integration of oak frames the notes of peach, nectarine, fig and hints of lanolin. There is great zesty acidity, texture and length. Here's the other side of New Zealnd Sauvignon Blanc.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1988 Littlemill 25 Year Old K&L "Exclusive Malts" Single Barrel Cask Strength Lowland Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 4-9-2014
Littlemill is not the shouting type. No one who knows their single malt is going to talk about any huge Sherry sweetness or impressive, antique Oloroso barrel notes. Nor will they mention huge peat smoke. A finish that lasts forever and ever and just won't quit? Nope. This is simply effortless, rock solid, fully mature, perfectly balanced, higher end whiskey for drinking. Old school like an antique fountain pen, as confident as Oscar Peterson's command on a Steinway, as reliable and skillfully crafted as a Pendleton flannel shirt. Hey Dave OG, Driscoll, pass me that Littlemill, would'ya?
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Te Mata "Estate" Cabernets/Merlot Hawkes Bay New Zealand   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-9-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
An exceptional value. This has a ton of real Bordeaux character for a very small price. The wine has soft supple fruit, a real silky texture and some lovely savory, tobacco and wood spice notes that give a lovely complexity and nuance for a wine of this price point. What a great everyday drinker thanks to our direct import pricing advantage!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1988 Littlemill 25 Year Old K&L "Exclusive Malts" Single Barrel Cask Strength Lowland Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 4-9-2014
Anyone who enjoys lighter whiskies like the Midleton Rare Irish or our classic Benriach 19 year cask will really appreciate the inner workings of this 25 year old Littlemill. It's a kiss of sweet barley on the initial sip with a delicate burst of vanilla and oak spice on the finish -- nothing more. But it's so integrated, in a way that young whisky simply cannot be. The full proof doesn't get in the way, either, which was surprising to me. You think 25 years, then cask strength, and single barrel, and already we should be talking about $150 or more. But then you throw in the Littlemill name -- a distillery demolished in the 1990s that will never make whisky again -- and now you're talking collector's item. Yet, we still brought it in for $140. That's also quite surprising. A good surprise, however.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
What a great follow up to the "breakout" 2010. This new incarnation is perhaps more precise and focused with less fleshy mid pallet but plenty of depth and intrigue. Dusty dark red berries, leaf litter, bark and river stone. A pretty Burgundian profile with some tell tale spiced citrus notes that give away it's Marlborough origins. I truly believe this wine still has more to give and think it will flesh out further with a few more months / years in the cellar. Bright, fresh, pure Pinot that is a real crowd pleasing style especially for those looking for a more traditional elegant expression of this fickle grape. Excellent value.
Top Value! Drink from 2013 to 2018
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Bodegas Muriel Reserva Rioja   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-8-2014
This lively, affordable Rioja offers a nose of black cherry and dried florals along with notes of cedar, dill and vanilla from a combination of French and American oak barrel aging. Additionally a lush, medium-bodied palate of high-toned blackberry fruit finishes with bright acidity and tangy berry fruit notes. Enjoy this with roasted or grilled meats and firm cheeses!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart DC 95 BC 0

2008 Bodegas Muriel Reserva Rioja  
Review Date: 4-8-2014
This is a delightfully vibrant and bright Reserva, with high tone raspberry and cherry fruit. The spicebox aromas range from cardamom to cinnamon with the lovely scent of clove added for good measure. There is ample acidity here which makes this an ideal pairing with food. Perfect for paella, roasted fowl and all things pork.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart DC 95 BC 0

2012 Palazzone Terre Vinate Orvieto   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Interesting wine. Soft ripe stone fruits and fresh Hazelnuts on the nose with a toasted grain or even warm bread character that I often get from good Chenin Blanc. The wine has a lovely savory lees character that also gives great texture persistence on the palate. There is a nice balance of richness and tension which is something pretty remarkable for a bottle in this price point.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Giuliano Pecorino Terre di Chieti   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-8-2014
Quite a ripe nose of tropical fruits, Mango and Lilikoi with a fresh floral note. The palate is soft and broad with nice concentration and texture. The wine has a stoney, even slight chalky mineral character towards the finish that helps give a little more length and balance to some of the exuberance of the fleshy fruit on the mid palate. Good value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2010 Sons Of Eden "Romulus" Barossa Valley Shiraz   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-7-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Not sure how to really explain this wine's quality...perhaps I should just start off by saying that for me these two bottlings (Romulus and Remus) are two of the greatest young bottles I have tasted in many years. They are quintessential Barossa wines combining power, purity, balance and authenticity. The concept of doing these two bottlings shows exactly how well The Sons of Eden understand their craft, respect their history and are pushing on with pride into a new era of compelling Australian wines. The Romulus is a big concentrated wine brimming with ripe, dark red fruits, terrarossa warm earth, sweet spice, mocha and toasty oak. The wines breadth and power is kept in balance by a surprising brightness and acidity given the wines ripeness and concentration. It wears its oak very well and will certainly continue to integrate this even further as it reaches adolescence. This wine is so rich and decadent now it is hard to imagine restraining ones self from drinking it, yet I believe keeping this a few years, maybe even 10, will only reward the strong willed. Seriously impressive wine that I would pit against any other Shiraz at any other price point, this is the real deal.
Drink from 2014 to 2022

2010 Sons Of Eden "Remus" Eden Valley Shiraz   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-7-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Not sure how to really explain this wine's quality...perhaps I should just start off by saying that, for me, these two bottlings (Romulus and Remus) are two of the greatest young bottles I have tasted in many years. They are quintessential Barossa wines combining power, purity, balance and authenticity. The concept of doing these two bottlings shows exactly how well The Sons of Eden understand their craft, respect their history and are pushing on with pride into a new era of compelling Australian wines. The Remus is more high-toned than the Romulus on the blue and black fruit spectrum. Think Blackcurrant and cassis, add crushed mint, purple flowers and a lovely pencil shaving and cedar note from the French oak and you have a really lovely wine. The perfect contrast in expression to its more muscular, but equally impressive brother. There is no lack of concentration here, all the intensity is just more linear and focused. A really lovely wine that shows the special qualities of Eden Valley. I suspect this wine will outlive the Romulus and might well see its 20th birthday still in fine form.
Drink from 2014 to 2030

2012 Giuliano Pecorino Terre di Chieti  
Review Date: 4-7-2014
Oh Pecorino! It's a wonder I haven't tasted this varietal (knowingly) until this year. This wine has an explosive aroma. This wine smells like the trays of cut samples of peaches and nectarines, and at the farmer's market at the beginning of Summer, sprinkled with orange blossoms! This is one of those wines that you will want to nose over and over because it is pure bliss. On the palate it is richer and rounder than I would expect it to be. Greg hits the nail on the head in his description and comparing it to a French Viognier (which I also can't get my nose out of). I would serve this with something as simple and enjoyable as a squash blossom flatbread with fresh local ricotta, and a drizzle of walnut oil.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Blason Malvasia Friuli-Venezia-Giulia  
Review Date: 4-7-2014
This has a really intriguing nose, and is just as dynamic on the palate. Layers of river rock, white flowers, peach, and almost the suggestion of nuttiness.I would pair this with a caramelized spring onion and Parmesan quiche with a delicate side salad containing castelvetrano olives and avocados for richness. But don't over think the wine, just enjoy it.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Palazzone Terre Vinate Orvieto  
Review Date: 4-7-2014
a lovely straw yellow, this blend of hand picked field blend is the perfect refreshing accompaniment to a Spring salad with grilled prawns and a citrus vinaigrette. Packed up in a picnic, or served on the deck to friends, this is a great wine to have on hand as the temperatures rise. (no corkscrew needed)
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>