Staff Favorites - Matthew Callahan

Matthew Callahan

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>
2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 7-16-2014
WOW! This is waaaaay better than I remember it tasting back in the Signatory warehouse. Reducing this cask down to 46% was the right move. With the water added the hypnotic flavors of classic Bowmore come to life - sweet creamy barley, a load of oily fruit, and a heavy dollop of smoke on the finish. It's magical stuff and it's going to be one of the best-received casks we offer this year.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Foucher-Lebrun "Petit le Mont" Sauvignon Blanc   | Approved
Review Date: 7-16-2014
A super delicious combination of lemon zest, green apple, and a hint of minerality make this wine almost too easy to love. Looking for a Sancerre stunt-double? Look no further.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough  
Review Date: 7-16-2014
The TWR savvy is bright with aromas of white grapefruit, passion fruit, gooseberry and a hint of tarragon. On the palate there is good texture and vibrant acidity that lead to a snappy, zesty finish with fine length. As good as it gets in a classic Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Foucher-Lebrun "Petit le Mont" Sauvignon Blanc   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-16-2014
Green granny smith apple, green pears, citrus and zesty mineral with medium plus acidity. A screamin' deal for a proper Loire Sauvignon Blanc!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

1982 Miltonduff 30 Year Old Faultline Single Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-15-2014
There's no accounting for this single malt, according to what I've read about the Miltonduff distillery. Its supposed light and bright notes do carry over in the spicy apple cidery, apple cinnamint notes on the nose, but it's chewy and meaty on the palate; something of dried beef almost! On the whole, compelling, a whisky for serious contemplation and fishing trips.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Balvenie 12 year old Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-15-2014
Lovers of Glenlivet and Glenfiddich who are looking for something a little different and even a little prettier on the palate might look here. The Balvenie 12 single barrel has a light hue, with pretty aromas of wildflower honey, dates and dried figs, with buttery pear, and a really nice, silky finish. I enjoyed this Balvenie.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1996 Bowmore 16 Year Old Faultline Single Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-15-2014
This has a distinct hit of cinnamon spice on the nose, plus wet plaster and deep, golden nutty sherry aromas. The oak shows through richly on the palate, and it's pretty good sipping, I think.
Price: $104.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough  
Review Date: 7-15-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Although New Zealand has been almost exclusively known for wonderful Sauvignon Blancs the past several decades, we have seen in the past several years some nicely produced, but not outstanding, Pinot Noirs coming from many producers there. A few of these productions have impressed me to the point that I have told many customers that New Zealand is on the same quality threshold that the Willamette Valley wineries were thirty-five to forty years ago. And I have told customers that while these productions were promising, like those of the Oregon producers, it would probably be another seven to ten years when we would see some incredible quality Pinots coming from New Zealand that would rival the fabulous Pinots that now are coming from the Willamette Valley, the Russian River Valley, the Anderson Valley, the Sonoma Coast and the Santa Lucia Mountain range. Then Ryan Woodhouse brings in the 2012 Te Whare Ra, and it was thoroughly impressive. And now with the 2013, I have to take several steps back and tell you that I was off by five to ten years, in that it would not take the New Zealand producers so long to create Pinots that would be on an equivalent level as the aforementioned wines. This is an amazing Pinot from a truly great, great vintage. Medium–deep ruby in color, with opulent, distinctive aromas of dried rose petals, strawberry, red fruits and spicy notes underscored by a slate mineral tone and a mild gamey quality. This carries over to a complex, layered, deep set of flavors with excellent balance, broadness and viscosity, and a lush mid-range and finish. Rusty has told me that this Gem is a truly great wine and needs to be in our collection immediately before it vanishes. Good work, Ryan, and thanks for making me eat my words. 19.0 UC Davis points out of 20.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 7-15-2014
If you were to ask me for one Brunello to try in the store right now, I would point you to this. The 2009 vintage for Brunello is very soft and approachable in its youth. This Ferrero follows the trend, and for the price is an absolutely amazing deal. It's big, expressive, and generous with darker fruit. I'm taking this home for myself!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Westland American Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 7-15-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 7-15-2014
Of the three 2009 Brunellos, it was hard to pick a favorite, but this one still stood out. Super elegant, black cherries, dried currants, roasted herbs, this would be an exceptional pairing for a braised dish on an unseasonably cool night. Personal Sommelier subscribers can look forward to this one in July and August.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 7-15-2014
This young wine is already showing enough complexity and elegance to pair with the finest fare. Sweet dusty cherry, soft earth and a touch of spice are present in this surprisingly sophisticated bottling. The finishing tannin is well integrated so decant tonight and enjoy.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 7-15-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
With so many of my colleagues commenting, I hardly need to describe this again, but I wanted to throw my compliments behind this wine too. It's simply fantastic and coming home with me.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 7-15-2014
When we tasted this young wine recently I was surprised at how warm and approachable it was. This is ripe, broad and fleshy with sweet plum and baked earth aromas and flavors and gentle, ripe tannin. Decant this for an hour and enjoy tonight.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 7-15-2014
La Fortuna is a rock solid, consistent producer of Brunello. If you've liked their stuff in the past, there is no reason not to continue to enjoy their output. Their 09 Brunello is still primarily red fruited, high toned, fresh, persistent yet relatively light on its feet for the region, and as always highlighted by an appealing minerality. For anyone looking to drink their Brunello on the younger side, this is definitely one of the ones I would steer you towards. That said...do not be afraid to lay off this wine for a little while; it will definitely improve!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>