Staff Favorites - Matthew Callahan

Matthew Callahan

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>
2013 Scarbolo Sauvignon Friuli  
Review Date: 10-13-2014
Friuli is one of the top areas for white wines anywhere. This Sauvignon does not disappoint! Fruit and herbs for days in this wine. Just when you think you are going to get hit with some flabby mouth feel, BAM! Bone-dry acidity. A little more weight to it than your average Sauvignon Blanc. What a wonderfully long lasting finish too!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Tatomer "Sisquoc" Santa Barbara County Riesling   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 10-13-2014
I discovered Tatomer a year or so back at the International Alsace Varietals Festival in Anderson Valley, California, and was impressed with their wines and their focus on Riesling. Although I don't find any "petrol" notes in the 2012 Sisquoc, it's got an intoxicating blend of golden raisin and honey aromas--reminds me of drizzling dark, clover honey in amber rivulets onto a crostini. Even at a higher 14.1% abv, it's got enough acidity to balance whatever residual sugar there may be--the wine finishes dry, with a sensation of sweetness due to the aromatics--anyway, no less dry than most Chardonnays these days! I like this with a cheese plate of goat Gouda and seeded crackers, or creamy spaetzle.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Quinta dos Roques Encruzado Dao   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 10-10-2014
An incredibly interesting and enticing wine made from the Encruzado grape, which is the most highly regarded white variety in Portugal, usually made in a very rich style, with intent for bottle aging. The Quinta dos Roques is no exception. A full, rich-bodied white with notes of almonds and hazelnuts, snap peas, sweet pears, resin and gorgeous floral notes. Its bursting with minerality and stone fruits, while there are some noticeable oak characteristics, they are well integrated. This white is for those Chardonnay drinkers who want an Old World style Chard with the added bonus of decadence and the ability to lay this down for years to come.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 FRAM Pinotage Citrusdal Mountain  
Review Date: 10-10-2014
If you sit on the negative side of the fence when it comes to Pinotage, I believe we have found the one to bring you to the positive side. The Fram does not have the classic rustic Band-Aid qualities that most associate with this grape variety. What it does show is the integrity of the two parent varietals, Pinot Noir and Cinsault. The Pinot comes through with an elegant nose of red fruit and red flowers. The Cinsault shows a deep, concentrated mid-palate fruit and spice. The whole thing is complete on the palate with a sexiness that is pure South Africa. I've always said you need to eat the food of South Africa to understand the wines but the Fram is a wine you can drink and better understand the quality that can come from this exciting region.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Stolzle Universal Tasting Wine Glass  
Review Date: 10-10-2014
Stolze calls this their Universal White Wine glass. But it is much more. With a bowl shaped much like a Riedel Chianti glass, this is an all-around glass. The stem is a bit thicker, so you need not worry about breaking it in the dishwasher, or the hands of an exuberant guest. I am buying this for my household in quantity. At this price I am happy to do so, as I'll have party wine glasses I am happy to use. Don't hesitate, buy a dozen. At these prices (below the importer's cost) they will disappear in a flash. A fair value at $9, a steal at $2.99!
Top Value!
Price: $2.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Stlzle Exquisite Burgundy Glass  
Review Date: 10-10-2014
This is a very good Pinot Noir glass. More graceful in shape than the Spiegelau, with a nice effect for concentrating the nose. It works well on both domestic Pinot Noir and Burgundy, and is most affordable, at these ridiculously low close-out prices.
Top Value!
Price: $3.99 Add To Cart BC 0

La Monacesca "Mirum" MV Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva 20th Anniversary  
Review Date: 10-10-2014
One of my top white wines in the store. This is a treat for any wine drinker. The blend of 85% Verdicchio from the 2008 vintage, with 15% Verdicchio coming from the 2000-2001-2002-2004 vintages. In the hands of Aldo Cifola--and the way he manages wine operation can be seen in every detail. Tropical fruits, honey, ripe citrus and roasted almonds. Finish for days! This is very special wine and at this price it is a steal. With the holidays fast approaching this gift is perfect for any occasion.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Stolzle Universal Bordeaux Glass (ship as 6pk only)  
Review Date: 10-9-2014
This has a shape very similar to that of the Riedel Bordeaux Glass, but with a thicker, more durable stem. If you serve Cabernets or Bordeaux at parties, and want something your guests won't break, but that will show the wine well, here is your answer. At half the original price, this is a compelling value that will survive both the diswasher and exuberant guest, but provide terrific drinking satisfaction. At less than half of the importer's cost, these will not be around for long, so buy now or be sorry later. I already have mine at home.
Top Value!
Price: $3.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Stolzle Universal Tasting Wine Glass  
Review Date: 10-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is perfect for wine tasting and an everyday universal wine glass. We've found this shape to be the ideal shape when you need a glass for multiple types of wine. Even better, it's dishwasher safe and lead free!
Top Value!
Price: $2.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 The Three Foxes Clairette Blanche Coastal Region  
Review Date: 10-8-2014
I'm a sucker for white wines that see skin contact. A whole new range of flavors open up and show a wide range of new complexity. The Three Foxes is one that any drinker can access with its intriguing mouthfeel and flavors of peach and nectarine. There is also some serious minerality with a nose of wet stone and talc. Fascinating stuff and worth spending a long afternoon with.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Kalinda "Clone 828 Reserve" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 10-7-2014
Exotic, spicy and ripe aromas jump from the glass. The mouthfeel is lush, explosive and layered. The finish is spicy, silky and long. This is flat-out delicious Pinot Noir!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive Overaged Peated Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 10-7-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I love it! Super creamy with a mild peat, lovely sherry character and an absolutely wonderful sexy texture on the palate. What an amazingly charming whiskey!
Top Value!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Foxglove Central Coast Chardonnay  
Review Date: 10-6-2014
The Foxglove is simply the best under-$15 California Chardonnay in the store! While rich and full-flavored enough to give fans of the big, buttery style something to hang on to, this wine has the balance for those who are tired of the over-the-top style. Excellent quality wine at a very low price!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Foxglove Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 10-6-2014
One of the top values on our shelves for Cabernet, the Foxglove has easygoing dark fruit, round tannins and plenty of body. This is perfect for folks looking for Cabernet to drink on its own, but that isn't manipulated like most of the others in this price range and style.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ancient Peaks/K&L Wine Merchants Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 10-6-2014
What we agreed upon for the final blend was as follows: 40% Cabernet Sauvignon from Block 15 (the structural and aromatic backbone of the wine), 40% Cabernet Sauvignon from Block 49 A (the mouthfeel of the wine and oak richness), 10% Malbec from Block 45 (added mid-palate weight and density), 8% Merlot from Block 3 (finishing complexity and length) and 2% Cabernet Franc from Block 9 (toasty oak and sweet spices). This blend was easily the best on the table creating a complete and complex wine that we thought showed both the style of Ancient Peaks and the collective palate of K&L. Plum, cassis and a touch of mildly toasty oak came together instantly for a surprisingly integrated and pretty nose. Ripe, with plenty of plush fruit and a medium-full weighted palate the wine showed plenty of blue/red fruit interplay along with tobacco, gravel and pencil lead. The finish is bright and juicy with a lovely layer of oak toast adding a nice confectionery spice to long and energetic finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>