Staff Favorites - Matthew Callahan

Matthew Callahan

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8  9 10  next  >>
Domaine de Baraillon 20 Year Old K&L Exclusive Armagnac 750ml  
Review Date: 9-2-2014
A classic beauty that has both elegance and rustic components. It is round and complex with an interesting earthiness that both intrigues and delights. Old style and honest Armagnac.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 9-2-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Great food friendly Pinot Noir! Beautiful blooming red flowers, bursting ripe summer berries, and sweet spices. Both easy drinking and easy on the wallet. I say enjoy what's left of summer barbecues with this awesome direct import. Cheers to our buyer for scoring this one for us all.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

2010 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva  
Review Date: 9-2-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A minute after I had ordered this wine, I knew I’d screwed up. I should have taken all they had, so I wrote back and ordered the rest. The wine is incredible and so worth the price jump from the 2011.
Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2010 Cantina Terlan "Gries" Lagrein  
Review Date: 9-2-2014
The 2010 Cantina Terlan “Gries” Lagrein is a bold red. Lagrein is the varietal, and to me it most resembles a smoky Syrah, full-bodied with a firmer tannic structure. The 2010 is gorgeous to drink right now. I had this wine with some wild boar ravioli, and the gamey flavors went perfectly with the Lagrein. I’m sure you’ll love it too!
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia  
Review Date: 9-2-2014
The "Dagger" is a good name for this wine as it has good cut and gets to the point! The bouquet is bright and lifted with raspberry, ripe cherry, earth and a white pepper spice note. On the palate there is fine definition and focus with a fleshy mid-palate and juicy acidity that leads to a long persistent finish. This is a delicious Pinot from the Adelaide Hills in South Australia and great value.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

2010 Sittella Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia  
Review Date: 9-2-2014
Margaret River Cabernet for $20? Wow, this wine surely punches above its weight! The nose is expressive with black currant, blueberry, cassis, violets, light sage and a chocolate note. There are just enough supple silky tannins on the palate to give a more serious edge to the wine which is beautifully balanced and delivers a long finish. Bravo!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Mount Trio Sauvignon Blanc Great Southern  
Review Date: 9-2-2014
Usually you expect to find Semillon added to Sauvignon Blanc in Western Australia, but not so here. The nose offers notes of lemon-lime pith, crunchy pear and a hint of tarragon. On the palate there are more tropical accents of melon and mango with a fleshy texture. This is all supported by good acidity leading to a long finish. Drink this wine chilled, but not too cold or you'll lose complexity.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart JH 92 BC 0

2013 Muddy Water Sauvignon Blanc Waipara Valley  
Review Date: 9-2-2014
This is NOT your average Kiwi SB. First, it's not from Marlborough. Second, it's farmed organically and uses native yeast for fermentation. And third, it's 90% barrel fermented with more neutral than new oak. The bouquet opens with a flinty and leesy note along with more stone fruit character of white peach and nectarine. On the palate there is good weight, with a figgy richness and creamy texture. Good acidity keeps it juicy and long on the finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 91

2012 Mount Trio Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Great Southern  
Review Date: 9-2-2014
Flat out...this is killer Cabernet Sauvignon for $12. Yes, it says Cabernet-Merlot, but it's 94% Cabernet and a 100% value. The nose shows cassis, black cherry, dark plum, minerals, a hint of sage cedar, violets and earth. There is a surprising supple fine tannin structure for a wine at this price point that is seamlessly integrated and leads to a long finish.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Domaine de Laidiere Bandol Blanc  
Review Date: 9-2-2014
White Bandols are tricky animals. They are not inexpensive and doesn't usually fit into the crisp and citrusy category of a Sauvignon Blanc or buttery and creamy category of Chardonnay (not that either of those has to specifically be those things). So where does that leave Bandol blanc? Maybe more like a white Rhone? Possibly, but really it is its own thing. These are wines of texture and weight with subtle aromatics. Hints of peach skin, apricot pit but not full-blown fruit flavors. Subtle citrus with a rocky mineral finish. The Laidiere has those things and more. This is a terrific rendition with an almost full body mouthfeel and deft lively brightness on the tongue. It's like a happy medium. Not too heavy, not too light, just right. So where does it fit? I say in my glass.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Gessinger Zeltinger Schlossberg Riesling Kabinet  
Review Date: 9-1-2014
Spicy, and stony, with incipient petrol, the fruit is far more reluctant here than in many Mosel Rieslings. The palate is fairly dry, too, but texturally it is quite rich. Those looking for something other than orchard fruit extravagance have come to the right place!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Fritsch Mordthal Grüner Veltliner  
Review Date: 9-1-2014
This is a hefty Gruner Veltliner with a plush texture. Rich flavors of yellow fruit, with sweet spice, lead to a long, dry finish, with floral notes, lemon curd, and echoing spice. Looking for a white wine that punches in a big Chardonnay weight class, but without all the oak and malolactic foofaraw? You have a good bet here.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2012 Erste e Neue "Gröbnerhof" Santa Magdalener Alto Adige  
Review Date: 8-31-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I love the 2012 Erste e Neue “Gröbnerhof” Santa Magdalener Alto Adige made with the Schiava grape. This light-bodied red is perfect for so much of modern cuisine, which begs for lower alcohol wines that don’t sacrifice flavor. The fresh-ground black pepper and a supple body are outstanding; it sort of looks like a dark rosé. Serve it about 55 degrees.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 8-31-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This was a delicious and incredible representation of this classic 2006 vintage, with definition, balance, length and wonderful palate richness, all at a stunningly good price!
Drink from 2012 to 2021

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 8-31-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This was a wine that has character and an immediate palate presence. There is a certain weight and density that signals “serious” to me, and this wine had it. The 2009 vintage was a four-star year in Montalcino, but the wines have been pooh-poohed by the critics looking for more blockbuster wines that can age for two decades or more. Well, I don’t think all wines need to age that long; I’m more of a realist. Hell, I’d like to drink some before I turn 80! So knowing I was tasting a 2009, I was still impressed by the serious nature of the wine. Its flavors were real, faceted and intense. Unlike a wine that is like a pearl, smooth and lustrous, faceted wines remind me of why I love cut stones—diamonds, emeralds—because to me those wines have so many more expressions to show you. The Brunello had that verve I look for; it also had a classic Sangiovese earth, spice and just a bit of cocoa powder.
Drink from 2012 to 2019

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8  9 10  next  >>