Staff Favorites - Matthew Callahan

Matthew Callahan

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8  9 10  next  >>
2012 Remo Farina Valpolicella Ripasso  
Review Date: 7-31-2014
Valpolicella has undergone an amazing transformation from the 60s Bolla version with a red-checked tablecloth to the suave and ultra-hip wine region. This ripasso is a midway point between simple and fresh and the power and size of the Amarone taking the best from both. A wine to drink straight from the bottle, with a straw or with roasted rabbit, or complex pasta dishes. Rockin' Ripasso!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza  
Review Date: 7-31-2014
For under $10 this is a solid everyday red that is perfect with just about everything. It's got a purple hue, and supple, blueberry and violet undertones that give lift to its inky, soft texture. Polished and clean with a velvety soft finish, this is a wine that can be drunk whatever the season. If its hot out, put a slight chill on it; pair it with everything from salmon to roast chicken or Argentine steak!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Spellbound California Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 7-31-2014
I'm obsessed with Robert Mondavi Jr.'s latest addition to the Spellbound family! If you love California Cab, but don't want to spend Napa Valley prices, you've met your match! This fruit is sourced from some of the best vineyards in California but because of the family reputation, this Cab doesn't cost an arm and leg for high-quality juice. Great everyday red full of richness and depth, and still soft enough on the palate to drink on its own or with food. Supple tannins and acid make it a super juicy, food-friendly crowd pleaser! BBQ anyone?
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc Vin de Pays d'Oc  
Review Date: 7-31-2014
Sancerre at half the price!!! Soft, subtle mineral notes are wrapped up in aromatics of melon and citrus. Clean, bright and refreshing, this is a perfect little Sauvignon Blanc. Tropical fruit, citrus and spice aromas and flavors, with vibrant acidity and minerality. Perfect for goat milk cheeses or seafood. This is the white wine that I always keep stocked in my fridge. Bright, fresh citrus peels (grapefruit & lime) lead into a bracing minerality that ends with a wonderfully dry, crushed wet rock finish. I love this wine (and it's an absolute steal).
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland  
Review Date: 7-31-2014
I do love Chenin Blanc. They are so food-friendly and generally affordable that it ends up being my go-to for several food and wine pairings. This is no exception. Bright acidity with just a hint of residual sugar that comes and goes way before the acid gives up. For summer this would be great with any dishes that incorporate grilled stone fruit, or perhaps a cantaloupe gazpacho!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Shoofly Wines Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria  
Review Date: 7-31-2014
What a steal! Tasting this wine blind I assumed it was in the $20 range, so I was floored when I saw it was only $10! Crushed Rainier cherries with cranberries, orange zest, and a bit of pepper. A great wine to have on hand.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2011 Castelfeder "Glener" Pinot Nero Trentino-Alto Adige  
Review Date: 7-31-2014
Blauburgunder (Pinot Noir) is a lovely wine. Sweet perfumed cherries, flowers and spices all come together in this harmonious wine. Castelfeder’s Blauburgunder captures an attractive middle ground between the lighter and richer styles of Pinot being made in Alto Adige. If you enjoy European-influenced Pinot with acidity, vibrancy and balance, this will blow you away! Melt some strong cheese, dip some bread and veggies in there, and enjoy with a glass (or a bottle) of Tyrolean red!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Viña Robles "Estate" Paso Robles Sauvignon Blanc  
Review Date: 7-31-2014
Clean, modern in style and focused like a laser beam. For this price, this is close to a no-brainer as I have seen in a while.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2013 Cantina Terlan Pinot Bianco  
Review Date: 7-31-2014
This is from a hillside in the town of Terlano in the Alto-Adige, where the soil is sandy, gravely and calcareous. A great place to plant grapes? This is what makes the wines of this region so unique. This Pinot Bianco is full-bodied, delicately fragrant and mildly floral, with ripe honeydew melon and Bartlett pear and lots of minerality, balanced by acidity. This can keep very easily over the next five years, but you will want to drink lots of it these last days of summer.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

2013 Cantina Terlan Lagrein Rosé Alto Adige  
Review Date: 7-31-2014
Spicy and bursting with bright fruit and even a touch of mineral, this is not your everyday pink wine. Hearty enough for food, even red meat, this Lagrein rosé is made by one of the Alto Adige's finest wine producers. It will elicit oohs and ahhs from all of your summertime guests.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Cantina Terlan "Gries" Lagrein  
Review Date: 7-31-2014
This Lagrein is made in the Alto Adige. This wine has an elegant perfume, subtle even, with fruit, vanilla and violet notes. On the palate it is a touch austere and quite full bodied, just the thing to match the rustic, rich foods of the mountainous region like lamb with rosemary and hard cheeses.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 7-30-2014
In the barrage of barrel samples that we tasted over the trip, 50-plus on the day we found this little gem alone, I had somehow forgotten how much I liked this. After tasting it in a lineup of far more heralded and expensive single malts, this reminded me why I love Bowmore so much. The perfect balance of richness and complexity, not too much sherry as to cover up the sweet grain and spice notes, but enough nutty richness to lend a seductive and soft mouth feel. The smoke is dark and brooding like Bowmore should be, perfectly integrated and stunning.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Melville "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 7-30-2014
Melville was established by Ron Melville and his two sons in 1996, developing 82 acres just outside of Lompoc, California. Planted to mostly Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, this vineyard has become a prized grower/producer in the Santa Rita Hills appellation. With winemaker Greg Brewer at the helm, the wines have become some of the most sought after in the region. The 2012 Estate Pinot Noir is an explosion of bright red fruit, Asian spice and cinnamon. Touches of cedar, mint and orange peel add to this silky, opulent Pinot Noir.

2012 Melville "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir   | Approved
Review Date: 7-30-2014
Winemaker Greg Brewer consistently coaxes lovely aromatics from his wines; it's one of the reasons I like them so much. Right out of the gate scents of rose petals, lavender, and sweet earth beckon. On the palate this wine is beautifully plush with notes of black cherry, cinnamon, and just a touch of smoke. If you've never tried Melville Pinot Noir, you should. If you're already a fan, don't miss this one!

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.3 Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof  
Review Date: 7-29-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
If you can pronounced the name of this wonderful SB, we might sell you a bottle or two or twelve. Unlike those coming from New Zealand with gobs of grapefruit and lemon tones, this South African Gem offers a lovely melon-like to clove-like presentation in the nose and on its dry, clean, crisp, well-structured, yet mouthwatering presentation and finish. The Bean has told me that we need cases of this Gem and that if you bypass this beauty, you might as well stop drinking wine. A non-linear, completely satisfying SB that will rival many of the wonderful SB wines coming from Sancerre and Graves, and at a super low price. 13.5% abv.
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<  prev  6  7  8  9 10  next  >>