Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next  >>
1999 Fugue de Nenin, Pomerol
Review Date: 1-22-2014
Mature Pomerol for $35? Thanks Clyde for finding us another great deal in aged Bordeaux! This wine has the plummy fruit and fancy mocha oak nose that seduces so many wine lovers. It is a ripe, full bodied wine that still keeps enough tension and balance to be good claret and not just another "international style" wine and will make a fine partner to an array of meat dishes.
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

2004 Malmaison, Moulis
Review Date: 1-22-2014
My top value steak wine in the store! Bordeaux, often demonized for being to expensive, offers some of the finest deals in the store- just don't go looking for the 20 biggest names! This bottle is really singing at 10 years old and has so much to offer the wine fan that doesn't need a bunch of extra fat and thickness in their Cabernet. This wine has an open, expressive bouquet of currants and some nice ripe fruit in the mouth. I love the focus of this wine and can't wait to have it with a simple steak & frites dinner!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2000 Kalin Cellars Livermore Valley Sémillon
Review Date: 1-16-2014
This Livermore Valley Semillon is a worthy challenger to many of the great white Bordeaux that we have on the shelf at much higher prices. I was stunned by freshness of this wine--it still has a green glint in the gold straw hue of the wine. While this wine is completely dry, the flavors remind me of honey and it has a full-bodied, rich mouthfeel. The finish is long with hints of caramel, but is still refreshing. Wow!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2012 Hanzell "Sebella" Sonoma Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 1-16-2014
The top notch Hanzell Sebella would make a great ringer in a Puligny-Montrachet tasting. I found this medium to light bodied Chardonnay to have fantastic lime like raciness and excellent length. What a good bottle!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

Vino Noceto "Nutz!" Amador County Sangiovese Blend
Review Date: 1-16-2014
I have never had a domestic Sangiovese that I liked well enough to recommend before this, but I can't recommend this one highly enough! This great value bottle from Amador has a lot of extroverted wild raspberry fruit framed with a dollop of American oak, good medium body and a slightly earthy, driven Sangiovese finish. This is a great weeknight red!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Lot 40 Single Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 1-15-2014
Great rye whiskey is not easy to come by at any price and great Canadian rye is even harder to find. This Lot 40 is clearly the best rye in the store and one of the best that I have tasted in a decade. With a wonderful bouquet of Christmas spice and a complex array of flavors, this Canadian will please the pickiest of whiskey fans. The fact that it still comes across as easy going and moreish even with the wild rye flavor and layers of complexity made a big impression on me. I will make room in my cabinet!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Graham's Vintage Port
Review Date: 1-8-2014
What a classic! This great vintage port is a must for anyone who has an anniversary or child born in 2011. It not only has the classic black fruit sweetness of Graham, but layers of Spanish root complexity. I found this 2011 to have both the richness of the vintage and the great vinous character of the very best of wines. This will be a great one for the future, with grip, acidity and length for the ages!
Drink from 2021 to 2061

2011 Jacques Bavard Monthelie Rouge
Review Date: 1-7-2014
The Bavard Monthelie is a favorite of mine, and I was very excited to see that the 2011's had arrived. Cinnamon and I made a special trip up to the Fatted Calf in San Francisco so we could make a great meal to go with our first bottle of this. We chose their stuffed pork rib roast and I prepared pommes de terre dauphinois to go with them. It was a great combo! The Monthelie had more complexity and intrigue than one would expect for under $30. This wine pulled off one of Burgundy's best tricks- it showed refreshing coolness next to the briny salt of the pork, and bright cut next to the richness of the gratin. We will be buying a case of this for sure!
Drink from 2014 to 2021
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart BC 0

1991 Labégorce, Margaux
Review Date: 12-15-2013
If you are looking for an antidote to over-sized Cabernet Sauvignon, look no further. This old school, mature Bordeaux is just the wine for those of us who value maturity, complexity and restraint over youthful fruit, monolithic flavors and power. Cinnamon and I enjoyed this with a rib-eye that I prepared on our little hibachi over mesquite, and it was wonderful. The 1991 vintage is a very rare one to find, as so much of the crop was destroyed by frost. Luckily, Labegorce is near the water, and the harvest was saved. This herbal, light bodied claret will thrill wine lovers who want something that is the opposite of "cult" wine!
Top Value! Drink from 2013 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-6-2013
I can't think of a single bottle of Champagne at K&L that has brought me such consistent pleasure as the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche. The Ariston family has worked very hard to deliver this great bottle to the Champagne lovers of the world. Most producers age their Champagne for less than three years in the bottle before shipping, but the Carte Blanche gets five years. It is entirely estate grown by one of the most careful growers in the business. On top of all that it is made in one of the most modern, temperature controlled wineries of any small producer that I have visited. The result is one of the best aperitif bottles that we sell; toasty and full, yet refreshing and crisp, a perfect balance between aged complexity and youthful vigor. And then there is the price--so fair that Cinnamon and I have had the opportunity to impact the world supply with our consumption! Don't miss it.
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenmorangie 18 year old Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-21-2013
If you are a fan of single malt, this whisky should not be overlooked. We tasted this blind at our staff spirits tasting and it impressed me with its sweet and savory nuttiness, rich oily texture and long, polished finish. This is top notch unpeated whisky that will please the connoisseur without alienating the initiated.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Croix Mouton, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 11-5-2013
The precocious 2011 Croix Mouton has all the virtues of the best Bordeaux Superieur and made me feel like I was in a Paris bistro eating steak frites as soon as I tasted it. This plummy, soft wine is so approachable and fun without being flabby or weak in any way. Bordeaux isn't all expensive, and this bottle is far superior to domestic Merlot blends at this price or even the $20 mark. Yum!

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-5-2013
Nothing works better with the wide range of flavors on the Thanksgiving table than rose Champagne. For me, no rose in our stock is better suited for this holiday than the Aspasie. It has plenty of friendly refreshment for the aperitif, but the depth of Pinot Noir flavor to go with the turkey, stuffing and all the fixings. I can't remember a Thanksgiving that we did not have the Ariston Aspasie Brut Rose at our table, and wouldn't want to imagine one!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Russell's Reserve 10 year old Small Batch Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 10-29-2013
My Bourbon of choice for sipping after dinner, the 10 Year Old Small Batch from Jimmy Russell is one of the great values in our extensive collection. The high toned savory rye flavors balance the sweetness of the corn to make this one of the most grown up, focused Bourbon's that we have at any price. I am never without a bottle in my liquor cabinet!
Top Value!
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel Kentucky Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 10-29-2013
Wow! This cask strength masterpiece has everything I could want in Bourbon. Jimmy Russell has done it again, producing a spirit of balance and complexity without losing the wildness that makes these drinks so exciting. This is packed, concentrated stuff with plenty of sweet corn and savory rye flavors and a finish that goes on forever. What great Bourbon!
Price: $53.99 Add To Waiting List WE 90 BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next  >>

More Favorites

Gary Westby is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Gary Westby, click here to join Gary Westby's Personal Sommelier Service.
2013 Quarter Acre Sauvignon Blanc Hawke's Bay ($16.99)

2011 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas ($24.99)

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne ($39.99)

2013 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre ($19.99)

2008 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne ($39.99)

Amaury Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne ($39.99)

2013 Eric Cottat Sancerre ($18.99)

2012 Ellero "Pisa Terrace" Pinot Noir Central Otago ($29.99)

2012 Elephant Hill Pinot Noir Central Otago ($24.99)

2014 Cognizant Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough ($14.99)

2013 Château Font-Mars Picpoul de Pinet ($11.99)

2012 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône ($11.99)

2013 Château de Montfaucon "Comtesse Madeleine" Côtes du Rhône Blanc ($16.99)

2013 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc ($29.99)

2012 Champy Bourgogne Chardonnay "Signature" ($19.99)

2012 Carpe Diem Anderson Valley Pinot Noir ($29.99)

2013 Cakebread Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc ($25.99)

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva ($19.99)

1999 Bodegas Puelles Gran Reserva Rioja ($19.99)

2013 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja ($9.99)

2012 Bodega Mendel "Estate" Malbec Mendoza ($24.99)

2013 Blason Friulano Isonzo ($9.99)

2012 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir ($22.99)

2012 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Rosso di Montalcino ($14.99)

2009 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino ($29.99)

2001 Arnauld, Haut-Médoc ($18.99)

2013 Ancient Peaks/K&L Wine Merchants Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon ($24.99)

2012 Abtei Muri Sudtirol "Weiss" (Super Bianco) ($29.99)

2013 Abbaye Saint Hilaire Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé ($13.99)