Staff Favorites - Mike Parres

Mike Parres

Reviews

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next
2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Lagrein
Review Date: 3-25-2015
Fairly dark red-purple in color with aromas and flavors of blackberries, black plums and tea leaf. It is medium-weight and savory on the palate. I drink this wine with grilled meats, stews, sausages....very versatile. Great value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Cantina Valle Isarco Pinot Nero/Blauburgunder
Review Date: 3-25-2015
Südtiroler Blauburgunder or Alto Adige Pinot Nero, the wine is fantastic. Like a cool mountain lake, with fine acidity and focus and layers of cool red fruits. Chill it slightly and serve with wild mushroom pasta dishes or trout.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Tassi "Franci" Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-13-2015
The Brunelli’s from Fabio Tassi always remind me of Montalcino. They have the classic Tuscan dust and a little cedar, tobacco as well as fruit. The “Franci” is no exception, this is a bottle that when you remove the cork, I am almost transported back to this little hill town of Montalcino. This is a wine that is Old World in style with enough fruit and balance to keep everyone at the table happy. I will try to keep my hands off for quite a few years, the longer the time, the more I will be rewarded.

2010 Tassi Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-13-2015
This 2010 Brunello di Montalcino fleshes out beautifully on the palate with layers of super-expressive red fruits, coffee, some plum and spices with just hint of dust and well balanced tannins. The supple, forward personality is best suited for drinking over the three to five years.

2010 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-13-2015
Wow! Is what I first wrote down as this exploded on my palate, this has a lot more Montalcino in the glass than past years. Dark fruit, leather, terroir and good tannin structure, balanced with acidity, this is Brunello at its best!!! It reminds me of the 2007, that’s still in my cellar. A wine to buy for long term, will age over the next ten to fifteen years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

2010 La Lecciaia Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-13-2015
Plum, cedar and leather aromas follow through to a full-bodied palate, with a lovely density of ripe fruit and a soft, velvety textured, a little Tuscan dust and soft tannins on the finish. Ripe and beautiful, an opulent wine that opens with sometime in the glass.

2010 Fattoria dei Barbi Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-13-2015
Classic Barbi, black cherry & ripe strawberry, very well balanced. This is full-bodied and powerful, soft tannins long finish, slightly rustic, but impressive for its concentration.

2010 Franco Pacenti Canalicchio Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-12-2015
This user friendly 2010 Brunelli has big and bright fruit that hit you first, black cherries cassis and ripe strawberries and then the terroir, Tuscan dust and lots of acidity makes the rest of this wine, giving it a long finish that lingers long on the palate. Drinks very well young and will over the next ten years.

2010 Castiglion del Bosco Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-12-2015
Very user friendly Brunelli, Beautiful blackberry, cherry and lightly toasted oak on the nose. Full and silky, with berry and cherry flavors and soft tannins. This is the 2010 you can drink sooner then later. Stock up on the Bosco, so it will keep you hands off the long-term 2010 Brunellis.

2010 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-12-2015
The wines of Baccinetti are rich, ripe, dense and full, but retain their balance and elegance. The 2010 Brunello is a stellar example of the vintage, and an exceptional bargain at this price. The palate has pretty cherry fruit with a nice earthy, spicy quality, great structure and good balance of acidity and tannins.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 97 BC 0

2010 Silvio Nardi Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-12-2015
Love this wine, classic Old World Brunello, earthy, wet leather aromas blow off to ripe and decadent fruit. Full-bodied, with soft and silky tannins and a long, luscious aftertaste of ripe fruit and tobacco. (in my top ten of 2010)
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

2010 Solaria Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-12-2015
Patrizia Cencioni’s Solaria is really a one-woman operation (she does hire help for harvest), and her philosophy is that great wines start in the vineyard and not in the lab. Patrizia really doesn’t put a thumbprint on her wines, she lets the hills of Montalcino and the Sangiovese speak for themselves. I have known and sold this producer’s wines for many years and am excited to do so again. Classic dark and ripe fruit, full-bodied with lots of structure, I would give this a couple hours of decanting.

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-12-2015
This 2010 Brunello is beautifully layered, expressive wine bursting with sweet ripe strawberries, black cherries intermingled with subtle earth and toasted oak notes, minerals and a hint of bitter chocolate on the on the finish, round and ripe tannins and a long aftertaste. This is a must for the cellar, if you can try to give it some age (next 5 years), if not give about 2 to three hours of decanting.

2010 Collemattoni Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-12-2015
Collemattoni delivers a mix of black cherry, ripe raspberry and cocoa aromas and flavors, picking up spice and tobacco elements on the Very LONG finish. This is a to drink now and over the next few years, stock up with this Brunelli while you can…
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2010 Val di Suga Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 3-12-2015
A spice-driven wine with notes of leather, cherry cola, cedar, tobacco, and baked fruit, and some wood of the finish. There’s an earthy, dusty quality to the mouth that amplifies the wine’s smoothness.

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next