Shop By:


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Customer Reviews - AndyG

AndyG


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>
2005 Kurtz Family "Boundary Row" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-16-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
An unusually intense and oaky shiraz that I would have easily mistaken for Cabernet.

2008 Fonty's Pool "Single Vineyard" Pinot Noir Pemberton (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-16-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
What a disappointment after so much hype. I can taste the cherries, and maybe a bit of earth, but the dominant note is rotting compost. It's not truly terrible so much as mildly unpleasant -- kind of like going through the security line at the airport.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2008 Schloss Lieser Estate Riesling (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-12-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
It's usually a bad sign when the K&L blurb has a long paragraph about the history of the winery and the philosophy of the winemaker, and just a sentence or two about the wine itself. The first whiff of this wine was an unpleasant surprise: the dominant note was sulfur. The more typical floral and fruity elements of German Riesling are also evident, but there are better offerings available at this price point.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List WS 90 BC 0

2009 Tilia Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-8-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is not a 91 point wine by any stretch of the imagination. It is perfectly drinkable, and at $7.99 would make a decent everyday red to wash down a double whopper with cheese.
Price: $5.99 Add To Waiting List W&S 91 BC 0

2005 Fattoria il Gambero Tinterosse Pinot Nero (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-5-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I'm a fan of pinot noir, and a fan of Italian wine, but the 2005 Fattoria il Gambero Tinterosse Pinot Nero is past its prime, if it had one. It's an aroma-free, brownish wine that tastes pruney with a root-like or medicinal note, as if one added a little root beer to a glass of diet Dr. Pepper and then waited for it go flat.
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2008 D'Alessandro Cortona Syrah (out of stock)  
Review Date: 10-26-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A nice, well-rounded syrah that stands a cut above most offerings in this price range. It starts with subtle notes of leather and licorice and finishes with delicate fruit and flowery notes that I struggle to define -- perhaps violets and incense.
Drink from 2010 to 2012

2008 Clos Chanteduc Côtes du Rhône (out of stock)  
Review Date: 10-24-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The 2008 Clos Chanteduc Cotes du Rhone is 65% grenache and 35% syrah, so the Robert Parker review quoted by K&L may have been written about a different vintage. Regardless, this is a very nice Cotes du Rhone with more body and balance than the typical offering in this price range. The grenache provides bright berry notes, while the finish has characteristic licorice and white pepper notes from the syrah.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List RP 90 BC 0

2009 Camino de Navaherreros Garnacha Vinos de Madrid (out of stock)  
Review Date: 10-14-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I was taken in by the lovely ruby color and the aromatics, which have the citrus and spice of a mulled wine. But the 15% alcohol level has an effect not unlike sterno. In this case more is less.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2008 Llai Llai Pinot Noir Bio Bio Valley (out of stock)  
Review Date: 10-9-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
An astringent wine with some funky barnyard notes that reminded me of pinotage more than pinot noir. It was much improved two days after being opened and stored in the fridge, so this may benefit from decanting.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2008 Bodegas Volver Tempranillo La Mancha (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-14-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I agree with the "raw intensity" and "assertive" comments from Wine Spectator. I disagree with the 90 points from Wine Advocate. To my palate, this wine is tannic, raw, and alcoholic. It's not bad, but it's not especially good.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List RP 90 BC 0

2008 McKinlay Willamette Valley Pinot Noir (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-8-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A dry, pleasant, and well-balanced pinot, a bit on the light side, with notes of cherry and tomato leaf. I've tried several Oregon pinot noir in the $15-$25 price range, and they always seem weak compared to offerings from Sonoma, Monterey County, or the Santa Maria Valley in California. The 2008 Mckinlay Willamette Valley Pinot fits that pattern, but it's a pretty good wine at this price.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2008 Perrin & Fils "Reserve" Côtes du Rhône Blanc (out of stock)  
Review Date: 8-18-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Simple, clean, fresh, restrained, and yummy. I found the flavors hard to pin down -- I didn't notice the peach, but there are minerals and certainly some fruit, maybe more like tart apple. Maybe that's why I like it so much: there's a balance and subtlety that make it superior in my mind to any other white in the under $12 price range.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2006 Lugagnac, Bordeaux Supérieur (some stained labels) (out of stock)  
Review Date: 8-17-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The 2006 Lugagnac is inoffensive but so thin and watery that it almost makes one wonder whether actual grapes went into it. It's a boring, inferior Bordeaux Superior.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2006 Viña Falernia Syrah Reserva Elqui Valley (out of stock)  
Review Date: 8-17-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
An intriguing offering and a good value, but not a wine that one would want to drink every week. This is a brute with intense flavors of tar, leather, and licorice. It made me sit up and take notice, but it's a bit overwhelming.
Drink from 2010 to 2011
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List RP 90 BC 0

2007 Excelsior Cabernet Sauvignon Robertson (out of stock)  
Review Date: 8-17-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Upon opening the bottle, the dominant flavors were shoe leather and tar, not at all what I expected from a Cabernet. It was difficult to believe that it's just 8% syrah -- I would have guessed 80%. By the next day the unpleasant tarry notes had dissipated and the black currant fruit was dominant. This is a wine that cries out to be decanted or allowed to breathe for several hours.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>