Shop By:


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Customer Reviews - AndyG

AndyG


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>
2009 The Ministry of the Vinterior Russian River Valley Chardonnay (out of stock)  
Review Date: 12-22-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I'm not a huge fan of California chardonnay, but the 2009 Ministry of the Vinterior is an exception, more in the style of a crisp white Burgundy than a typical over-oaked California chard. There's tart acidity and a hint of mineral to balance the tangy fruit. At this price it's a solid value.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2009 Creta Roble Ribera del Duero (out of stock)  
Review Date: 12-21-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The 2009 Creta Roble has berry-like fruit that brought to mind a garnacha. After two days in the refrigerator, the opened and resealed bottle had lost it's fruit and tasted flat.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List RP 90 BC 0

2009 Weingut Allram Heiligenstein Riesling Kamptal Reserve (out of stock)  
Review Date: 12-15-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This has a heavy fruit that reminds me of Muscadet or Viognier -- in a blind tasting I might not have identified it as Riesling at all. For me the delicate Mosel wines have more appeal.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2006 Clos Marsalette, Pessac-Léognan (out of stock)  
Review Date: 12-7-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The 2006 Clos Marsalette is a pleasant Bordeaux with predominant root-like or herbal flavors and hints of tobacco (perhaps this is what the critics were referring to as rocks or stones?) but not much fruit. It did open up a bit after an hour to breathe.
Drink from 2011 to 2012
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List RP 90 BC 0

2006 Cascabel Shiraz Fleurieu Peninsula South Australia (out of stock)  
Review Date: 12-4-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The 2006 Cascabel Fleurieu tastes primarily of sweet vanilla with a touch of blueberry pancake syrup. It is fairly typical for Australian shiraz in this price range.

2006 Jacob's Creek Steingarten Riesling Barossa Valley (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-26-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A good value, but starting to taste a bit off.
Drink from 2009 to 2011

2007 Viña Von Siebenthal Parcela #7 (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-26-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Loads of sweet fruit, redolent of cassis. A terrific value.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2007 Alex Gambal Bourgogne Chardonnay "Cuvee Prestige" (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-26-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Maybe the fruit is starting to fade, as I taste mostly wood.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2007 Henry of Pelham Riesling Reserve (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-23-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This has a skunky aroma on the nose and none of the delicate floral qualities I associate with fine Riesling. There is a note of apple cider but otherwise not much fruit. While I prefer Riesling on the drier side, this one would be better if it had even a trace of sweetness.
Drink from 2008 to 2009
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2008 Cambria "Julia's Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-16-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The 2008 Cambria Julia's Vineyard was quite a good pinot at less than $20; it's a terrific value for under $15. It has very nice fruit and good balance. The low price made me wonder if the wine was still good, so I tried one bottle and I'm going back for more.
Drink to 2012
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2008 Trust Cellars Columbia Valley Riesling (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-9-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Predominant notes of cotton candy and bubblegum. Little in the way of minerals, acidity, or fruit.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2008 Domaine Ramonet Bourgogne Rouge (out of stock)  
Review Date: 10-23-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I like pinot from California and Oregon, so I recently decided to try the real thing from Burgundy. Maybe I should stick closer to home, as the Domaine Ramonet is on the tart and thin side despite some spicy notes.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2009 Josef Rosch Leiwener Klostergarten Riesling Kabinett (out of stock)  
Review Date: 10-18-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
My favorite Rieslings are the Mosel Rieslings rated with "Pradikat"-- those made from grapes designated Kabinett, Spatlese, Auslese, etc. The 2009 Josef Rosch Leiwener Klostergarten Riesling Kabinett was a good value at $15; at $10.99 I'm buying this by the case.
Drink from 2011 to 2019
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2008 Cooper Mountain Reserve Willamette Valley Pinot Noir (out of stock)  
Review Date: 10-10-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A solid pinot from a superior vintage, with a nice balance of dark fruit, rose petals, and forest floor. I would recommend it except that I bought the last bottle.
Drink from 2011 to 2012
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List RP 90 BC 0

2008 Au Grand Paris, Bordeaux (out of stock)  
Review Date: 10-7-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Bland and inoffensive but lacks freshness or fruit. I hope this is not representative of the 2008 Bordeaux vintage.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>