Shop By:


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Customer Reviews - Chris Bottarini

Chris Bottarini
A novice wine afficionado from Northern California traveling the world one glass at a time ...


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>
2011 Michel Gassier "Nostre Pais Blanc" Costières de Nîmes Blanc  
Review Date: 3-9-2013
Pale straw color in the glass. Honeysuckle & crushed flowers on the nose. A full bodied white with bright floral tones complemented by a spice note on the finish. Tons of bracing acidity. My only complaint is that it's only 55 degrees not 90 outside. This would pair perfectly with a warm summer day!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List RP 93 BC 0

2007 I Custodi "Aetneus" Etna Rosso  
Review Date: 2-17-2013
A nice saturated, ruby in the glass. Tar, cherry, leather & earth in the glass. Loads so spice, stewed cherries & prunes fill this juicy, fruity & acidic wine. The tannins are still quite evident which should make this an ideal pairing for weeds & sausage. You can taste the intensity from the volcanic, mountain grown fruit. Highly recommended!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2004 Larrivet Haut-Brion, Pessac-Léognan  
Review Date: 2-16-2013
Inky-purple in the glass. Just bursting with vanilla, roasted espresso beans, toasted oak & spice. A gorgeous, full bodied PL that is both rich & structured with drying tannins. We did a 3 way pairing tonight with this against a 98 Gran Reserva Rioja & a 98 Haut Medoc & this one was the winner by a landslide. If I could drink Bordeaux like this all the time I would never complain!

1998 Grandis, Haut-Médoc  
Review Date: 2-16-2013
Still a highly youthful color in the glass. I pick up tar, leather, minerals & oak on the nose. This is definitely a structured wine. The tannins are still quite evident despite almost 13 years in the bottle. This is pretty old school & austere. Nothing too flashy but a sold beverage.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

1998 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja  
Review Date: 2-16-2013
A very nice ruby-crimson in the glass. Plenty of tart cherry, leather & earthy notes show on the nose. This is such an easy drinker! Loads of juicy red fruits are framed by light tannins & acid. The frame on this one is solid (although nothing heavy) & easily has a few years of life. With that being said it's ready to go tonight!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Lestruelle, Médoc (out of stock)  
Review Date: 2-9-2013
A solid ruby red in the glass. Interestingly when I first opened this the bright red fruit & striking acidity was so akin to a Grenache based Rhone I had to do a double take. Now that the wine has had air & food - triscuits topped with mild cheddar & Gouda stuffed chicken sausage - things are back to what I'd expect from a young Bordeaux. Loads of currant, blackberry & toasty oak waft from the nose. There is a streak of vanilla but the bright acid still comes through. Nicely juicy on the attack with loads of fruit. Definitely drinkable now with food to tame the acid. Although I enjoy this I would have to say I'm spoiled knowing that for $5 more I can pick up roughly a dozen '00-'03 that are perfectly aged right now! This would be one to follow after a few years slumber in a well kept cellar.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List WS 90 BC 0

2004 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc (out of stock)  
Review Date: 1-26-2013
A nice saturated ruby in the glass. From the nose I pick up cranberry followed by earthy scents of leather, herbs & minerals. A smooth, albeit austere wine that glides down the palate with firm, yet gentle tannin, pleasing acidity & a dry finish that lingers. I have been looking at both the 04 & the 03 ... It's ridiculous to think about how much this bottle delivers for under $15! I can't wait to try the 03! Great value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

Fleury "Carte Rouge" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne (375ml)  
Review Date: 1-26-2013
Lovely nose of cherries & toasty, yeast filled lees. A rich & round Champagne in the mouth that almost goes down too easily! This really shows like a Pinot Noir with bubbles. The finish is rich & toasty & leaves me wanting for more.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $14.99
BH 90 BC 0

1999 Bodegas Puelles Gran Reserva Rioja  
Review Date: 1-19-2013
Ruby-purple in the glass. Earthy raspberry & blackberry tones waft from the nose followed by scents of grilled meats. Lots of chunky raspberry fruits & bright acidity on the attack that remind me of a Cotes du Rhone. What separates this is the roundness in the mouth, the almost lack of tannin & the smooth, easy-going finish that allows this to be just as easily paired with food as it as a stand alone beverage. Very cool to find such value in a wine that's over 13 years old!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

2001 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc  
Review Date: 1-5-2013
Saturated ruby-purple in the glass. A super inviting nose of cedar, currants, oak, spice & minerals. I have to say that I'm a huge fan on this wine. Lots of woodsy & herb flavor bolster the currant, herbs & minerals on the attack. There is plenty of acids with slightly astringent, yet delicious, tannin. Totally old school - this is my kind of Bordeaux!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Fugue de Nenin, Pomerol  
Review Date: 12-25-2012
Saturated ruby with only a slight fade to brick red at the edge. Smokey, earthy-leather notes with red currants & oak spice permeate the nose. A medium bodied wine showing chunky, earthy red fruits with dry, light tannins. It will be interesting to see how the 99 compares to this.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Decoy Sonoma Sauvignon Blanc  
Review Date: 12-25-2012
Very pale straw in the glass ... Almost clear. Strong gooseberry notes. Typical of how I would expect a Napa Valley SB to taste. Bone dry, loads of acidity & a finish redolent of fresh cut grass.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Côtes du Rhône (1.5L) (out of stock)  
Review Date: 12-24-2012
Saturated ruby-purple in the glass. The nose is so very similar to a fruit-forward Chateauneuf du Pape it's uncanny! Loads of garrigue, pepper & raspberry fruits on the nose. The attack is more blackberry & cherry with light tannin & a food friendly acidity. This delivers well above its humble AOC!
Price: Hidden Add To Waiting List RP 90 BC 0

2007 Craggy Range "Zebra Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago Bendigo (out of stock)  
Review Date: 12-8-2012
A gorgeous saturated-ruby in the glass. Loads of red fruits, clay soil, clove spice & tar. The fruit is chunky & red on the attack with a juicy, acidic finish. Definitely a well balanced, cool-climate Pinot Noir. The fruit profile has changed since dinner ... The red fruits have turned more blackberry & plums with a deeper spice. Still a solid Kiwi PN.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List RP 91 BC 0

2006 d'Arenberg "Galvo Garage" Bordeaux Blend McLaren Vale (out of stock)  
Review Date: 12-1-2012
Ruby-red in the glass. Lots of earthy, leather & dark plum / cherry notes on the nose. Smells similar to an aging Bordeaux or a Brunello. Where this differentiates itself is on the attack. Lots of chunky red fruit & drying tannins persist. This is where you are reminded that this is indeed New World. The finish lasts for about 15 seconds & is quite dry & acidic which should pair well with NY Steak tonight!

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>