Shop By:


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Customer Reviews - Michael Sojka

Michael Sojka
I love wine, food, and coffee.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2
2009 Columbia Crest "Two Vines" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon (out of stock)  
Review Date: 1-24-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
For the price definitely a 5. It is a bit of a fruit bomb. I did not notice any oak or tannic structure, but, it was wonderfully smooth and easy to drink. We had it with steak and charmoula and everyone was very happy.
Drink from 2012 to 2013
Price: Hidden Add To Waiting List W&S 90 BC 0

2001 La Rioja Alta "Viņa Ardanza" Reserva Especial Rioja  
Review Date: 1-7-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Amazing wine. When I pulled the cork and saw the inky dark liquid that made me very hopeful. Then the first taste was fantastic with big fruit enveloped in a tight structure with integrated tannins and glycerin. I cannot remember ever drinking a better wine. Drank it with a paella cooked on an open fire that had chicken, chorizo, spanish sausage, mussels, scallops, and shrimp in a tomato saffron broth and the aborio rice. Superlatives are not enough to describe that meal.

This wine still tastes young and should last another 10 years.
Drink from 2012 to 2012

2003 La Gatte, Bordeaux Rouge (out of stock)  
Review Date: 1-1-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Opened this today on 1/1/2012. This bottle has definitely gone over the edge. The cork looked beautiful and smelled fine. Nice inky cork that usually portends something wonderful. Alas, the wine has a rusty sort of color and tastes rusty too. Not very good. If you have any of these start drinking them before they turn.
Drink from 2011 to 2012
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2008 Chateau Ste. Michelle Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-17-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is an incredible bargain for $9.99. Bing Cherry fruit flavors on a nice structure with low tannins. Very easy to drink yet it has good substance to it.

My wife and I are contemplating a case of this.
Drink from 2011 to 2013
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List W&S 93 BC 0

St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur 750ml  
Review Date: 10-4-2011
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This liqueur has been so much fun the last couple months. Our favorite has been 2 shots white wine, 2 shots club soda, 1 shot St Germaine over ice with a lime wedge. Any kind of white wine seems to work though Lillet Blanc is exceedingly good.

It also makes a wonderful vodka drink with equal parts St Germain, vodka, and limoncello shaken and served in a martini glass. There is a drink served at the Spoonbar in Healdsburg called the Corpse Reviver that uses St Germain. Check that out.

2005 Bodegas Castano "Hecula" Yecla (out of stock)  
Review Date: 6-4-2010
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Sshh, don't tell anyone - just buy a case for yourself first. I was not believing the hype, but, bought a bottle to check it out anyways. When I opened the bottle there was the rich aroma wafting out of the bottle of glycerin. I smelled the cork and thought it was slightly on the "corky" side and was prepared for something not so nice. I smelled the bottle again and it smelled really good. Dark red color in the glass and a nose like a $30+ bottle of wine. A few swishes and taste and I was surprised how smooth this went down. There is some spice, sandalwood, and tannin backbone with cherry and blackberry fruit coming through. Great wine for the price.
Drink from 2010 to 2013

2002 Graham Beck "The Ridge" Syrah Robertson (out of stock)  
Review Date: 12-31-2009
Incredible wine for the price. Inky and dark that coats the cork, glass and your mouth. Has definitely matured and is drinking perfectly right now. I would not age this one more than a year or two. I am buying at least 6 more of these and maybe a case.
Drink from 2010 to 2011
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2007 Simi Sauvignon Blanc Sonoma County (out of stock)  
Review Date: 3-22-2009
Fruity, easy drinking wine that has a very clean finish and enough complexity to be interesting This could be enjoyed with any of the white wine food groups. In addition, I can just imagine sipping a chilled glass on a hot summer day on the back patio with fruit, cheese, or a complementary hordouve. Great value.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2