Shop By:


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Customer Reviews - Michael Sojka

Michael Sojka
I love wine, food, and coffee.


Reviews

Page: 1  2  next
2006 Achával Ferrer "Quimera" Malbec/Cab/Merlot Mendoza  
Review Date: 2-22-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
i only bought one bottle and held onto it for about 3 years and now wish there was a case sitting around. Dark, inky color. Great fruit on the noise. Very integrated tannins. A New World style with loads of fruit balanced by a good structure. Oak was very minimal. Would love more

2008 III Somms "Atlas" Napa Valley Red Wine  
Review Date: 12-21-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
if scoring using price as a consideration, I would say 5. This is very fruit forward and smooth. There is structure but the tannins have almost disappeared. Enjoy this with any kind of meat and also as a sipper before meals or with a chocolate dessert. It is not complex, but is easy to drink and very enjoyable. Great wine for a big party.
Drink from 2013 to 2014
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2011 Tessellae "Old Vines" Côtes du Roussillon (out of stock)  
Review Date: 8-20-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
letting this one get some air makes a huge difference. Over the course of about 3 hours the tannins softened quite a bit. Nice fruit and structure which means this could evolve in the bottle for a few years. I am getting 6 more bottles at this price and will most likely wish I had bought two cases.
Drink from 2013 to 2018
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List RP 93 BC 0

2012 Mirabeau Côtes de Provence Rosé (out of stock)  
Review Date: 8-18-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
very easy drinking Rose with lots of fruit and medium-dry. paired well with salmon. a wine that drinks well by itself and will pair with chicken, fish, and spicy dishes.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List RP 89 BC 0

2003 Quinta dos Roques Reserva Dao (out of stock)  
Review Date: 1-22-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I waited too long to uncork this wine! Should have done it when there was inventory to buy. Alas, I added it to a waiting list though the chances are slim. I found this to have abundant fruit of the blackberry variety along with focused tannins. I would have bought 6 - 12 bottles at the incredible $12.99 price it was going for when I purchased. Oh my!!!
Drink from 2013 to 2017
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List WE 92 BC 0

2010 Produttori del Barbaresco Nebbiolo delle Langhe (out of stock)  
Review Date: 1-10-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Nice acidity that pairs well with cheese and a meat marinara sauce. The light body is really nice. A nice bottle to serve with Italian food though it is not a huge bargain either.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2010 Karanika Terra Levea Assyrtiko (out of stock)  
Review Date: 1-7-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The flavors of citrus and other complex flavors made this wine wonderful both by itself and with food. This was quite nice with chicken and roasted sweet potatoes. I think this wine might have some aging potential.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

Zafra 21-year-old Master's Reserve Panama Rum 750ml  
Review Date: 1-7-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I compared this with Zaya 12 year old and Appleton Estate 21 year old. The Zafra and Appleton seemed very close in taste and style though the Appleton is about 3x the cost. The Zaya is much sweeter in flavor. While right now my pallet prefers the Zaya because I like the sweeter and more vanilla flavor I can appreciate that a different, dare I say more sophisticated pallet might prefer the Zafra or Appleton.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Züm Pinot Noir Rosé (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-21-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Nice little Rose for the price. Good fruit forward with a nice acidity on the mid-palate and finish. Will hold up to spicy asian foods. Great price point.
Drink from 2012 to 2014
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2010 Clos Chanteduc Côtes du Rhône (out of stock)  
Review Date: 11-17-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This wine needs to be decanted at this time in its' life cycle. When I first tasted it I thought the sour cherry taste was so predominate as to be overwhelming even though with a beef tongue mole it was fine.

The second day brings out a wine that has now fully opened up and is pairing well with, of all things, a brie, arugula, smoked salmon crepe with a bechamel dill sauce. That is very unexpected.

So, if you were put off on the initial taste, give this some time - like a few hours.
Drink from 2012 to 2015
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2005 La Rioja Alta "Viña Alberdi" Reserva Rioja (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-5-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This seems like a big wine to me and something that needs big food. Definitely getting the oak when first opening the bottle. It also has big juice too. A little oaky for my buds though with the steak and charmoula sauce I am getting ready to eat it with, I think everything will be just fine. I would not wait on drinking this one though. It is probably at or near its peak.
Drink from 2012 to 2014

2011 Ameztoi "Rubentis" Rosé Getariako Txakolina (out of stock)  
Review Date: 8-27-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Dry and slightly fizzy Rose that is easy to drink and food friendly. If price is not a consideration then pick up a case for that afternoon party or appetizer/first course beverage. I really like this wine but find the $20 price tag a bit of an impediment to drinking regularly.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2007 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja (out of stock)  
Review Date: 6-3-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I thought this wine stood up to my lamb loin chops with a parsley/mint/cilantro charmoula just fine. Peppery, lots of structure, nice fruit and very smooth after about an hour of air. Great now and should last another 5 years easy.
Drink from 2012 to 2017
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2006 Frédéric Mabileau "Les Rouillères" St.-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil (out of stock)  
Review Date: 3-30-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Loved this wine and the food pairing possibilities. This wine had lots of fruit but acidity to give it structure. Wish I had tried it earlier while there was still stock at K&L. I still have one bottle left that will probably save for the next roast chicken we do. It still tasted young here in March 2012 though I don't believe there will be much evolution in the bottle.
Drink from 2012 to 2014
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List W&S 91 BC 0

2009 Señorío de P.Peciña Joven Rioja (out of stock)  
Review Date: 3-17-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
An easy drinking red that would pair with a wide variety of foods. I can imagine this also going well with hard sharp cheese. My wife and I are going to have it with chile relleno tonight. I love Riojas for their ability to pair with so many foods. I always thought Pinot Noir was the most flexible food wine but am changing my opinion. This wine is really nice due to the emphasis on the fruit as a result of no oak aging. This wine tastes vibrant and young and should hold for another three years easily.
Drink from 2012 to 2015
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

Page: 1  2  next