Shop By:


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Customer Reviews - KLF

KLF
12 year customer of K&L, a serious amateur wine drinker. Passionate about finding value wines that trump the bigger brands of their class. Love all things Rhone, Piedmont, Chianti, Spain and the up-and-comers of California.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5
2007 Bridlewood Central Coast Reserve Viognier (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-3-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The nose is ideal, which unfortunately sets my expectations for greatness that creates a crash-and-burn situation at the midpalate that has me asking: what is this varietal again???

I wish I had the eneological background to tell you what this is, but instead, I'll say this: The Copain 2007 viognier is my current value-wine standard for American-made viognier if you are looking for flavor sets that flirt with Condrieu. If you are looking for a more mellow, higher-acid-and-mineral European value, try the Guigal Cotes du Rhone blanc. It has 50% vioginer this time around (which is a strange blend for CdR) but it works really well...especially at 11.99.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2008 Domaine de Guillemarine Picpoul de Pinet (out of stock)  
Review Date: 8-31-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Score is based on quality for price.

Why you should buy this wine: because you are hunting for a value priced wine that is food friendly wine, yet quaffable by itself.

This is the ideal sub-$10 white choice for pairing hot summer summer dishes including cold shellfish, salads, Provencal faire.

This is one of the hundreds of wines that has me scratching my head and askingwhy it's so rare that the U.S. can't deliver a comparable wine on our home soil...and then I am all the more thankful that Coteux du Languedoc can!
Drink from 2009 to 2010
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2007 Undone Pinot Noir (out of stock)  
Review Date: 5-18-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Not a fan of this at any price. Just not the flavor set I am looking for (I love Oregon, Sta Lucia, Santa Ynez, Mendocino).

That said, this is the pefect "mystery wine" to take to a brown bag tasting, because many will be dumbfounded by the flavor set...and perhaps miss that it's a pinot alltogether.
Price: $4.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2007 Poppy Monterey Pinot Noir (out of stock)  
Review Date: 5-18-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Pros: this is the best $11 pinot noir on the market. Buy this by the case for your next event with mixed-palate company. Cons: I need more in a pinot than what Poppy gives...If I must, I'll pair some meals during the week with beer just so I can justify case-purchases of $15-20 Oregon and cool-climate names from California.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2006 Fort Ross "Sea Slopes" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir (out of stock)  
Review Date: 5-18-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
An excellent cool climate name for those who have disdain for pinots that could possibly be mistaken for another varietal (read hot-climate, over-oaked, high-production Napa wines). Try this one along with the Willowbrook 2006 and see which one will become your go-to $20-ish pinot. Comparatively, the Fort Ross is a more structured wine with deeper and more mushroom flavors. I paired it with an Alaskan black cod dish featuring mushrooms and a pinot sauce. Wow.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé  
Review Date: 5-18-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
We served this sparkler along with Jean Louis Denois Brut NV to for a wedding cocktail party of 50. The guests were uniformly raving about these wines saying they don't usually receive this kind of wine quality at a large party...one guest asked me if I was able to keep my bottle price under $45! These are exactly the kinds of compliments I hope to hear...and why I shop often at K&L.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Jean-Louis Denois Brut "Tradition"  
Review Date: 5-18-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
We served this sparkler along with the Boillot Cremant Rose to for a wedding cocktail party of 50. The guests were uniformly raving about these wines saying they don't usually receive this kind of wine quality at a large party...one guest asked me if I was able to keep my bottle price under $45! These are exactly the kinds of compliment I hope to hear...and why I shop often at K&L.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2005 Domaine Carneros Brut (out of stock)  
Review Date: 5-18-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Not in love with this one -- I'm guessing it's targeted at the Napa Valley Tourist. Bubbles are rough and excessive out of the gate, and I think the WS 92 score is 5 points high. For $23, K&L has many other names (such as Jean Lois Denois, $15) that you should definitely try first.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List WS 92 BC 0

2005 Domaine Durand "Empreintes" Cornas (out of stock)  
Review Date: 5-18-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
At 24.99, I wonder if there is a better '05 Cornas for the money out there at the moment. I paired this one with short ribs and served to a party of 20. It rocked the house. My only suggestions: decant an hour before drinking now. I've got 4 bottles left and I'm going to TRY (!) to let them age another 3 years...which is when I think the leathery and peppery notes will shine brighter...just a guess...

1995 Fleury Brut Champagne (out of stock)  
Review Date: 5-18-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Whoa Nelly. This was a walk on the wild side for a guy who usually drinks the nutty, toasty names like Heidsick. Fleury shoots out of the gate with tart cherry, lemony acid that stays on the tounge through its long finish. And magically, a little sweet butterscotch comes from out of nowhere at the midpalate. Certainly, this is a unique flavor set for highly targeted dish...miyagi oysters on the half shell with a flake of salt (no acids, cocktail sauce) is my best guess at this point. This would be a great wine for a small group of friends who appreciate boutique champagnes and a cook who is up for a pairing challenge.
Drink from 2011
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2007 Domaine Rouge Bleu "Le Mistral" Côtes du Rhône (out of stock)  
Review Date: 5-18-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This dense, super rich wine is one of the best 07s from K&L (quality for the dollar) I have purchased thus far. A cross between new and old worlds. I agree that this one needs time for the tanins to soften and the grenache to become a bit more gamey...this will happen, right Mulan?
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List WS 91 BC 0

2006 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino (out of stock)  
Review Date: 4-19-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is superb wine, likely worth double the price or more. But I have to differ with Y'all on decanting --I suggest 30 mins then serve. Wine was too oxidized at the two hour mark. I am also thinking that the tannins will soften in 3+ years.
Drink from 2009 to 2014
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2006 Copain "L'Hiver" Mendocino County Syrah (out of stock)  
Review Date: 3-20-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Score is based on my assessment of quality for price. I have yet to find a better California syrah in the low teens...truly amazing. L'hiver drinks like a new world style Crozes-Hermitage at half the cost.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2006 Bodegas El Nido "Clio" Jumilla (out of stock)  
Review Date: 3-17-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
K&L team - I feel a little duped by your writeup. I bought a couple bottles on your 'get this wine before the reviews come out', but then saw the vintage reviews for 2006. Not the barn burners of 04 and 05. Not likely gonna be a mid 90pt wine.

2007 Delas "St-Esprit" Côtes du Rhône (out of stock)  
Review Date: 3-4-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is a fruit bomb made from an awesome vintage, but is not my style. I prefer more earthy tones and restraint. Luckily, there are 30+ killer values from 2007 Rhones that I have to choose from at K&L! (See my other reviews.)
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List RP 90 BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5