Shop By:


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Customer Reviews - KLF

KLF
12 year customer of K&L, a serious amateur wine drinker. Passionate about finding value wines that trump the bigger brands of their class. Love all things Rhone, Piedmont, Chianti, Spain and the up-and-comers of California.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next
2007 Alpen Cellars Trinity County Pinot Noir (out of stock)  
Review Date: 10-31-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Great quality to price ratio here. Blind tasters who like this style would expect it to be $30+.
Drink from 2009 to 2012
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2006 Storybook Mountain "Eastern Exposures" Napa Valley Zinfandel (out of stock)  
Review Date: 10-30-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I bought this one on the advice of John Majeski at the SF store, and greatful that I did. A library-class zinfandel, and one of the few. The 2006 is clearly an outstanding wine, but barely showing its greatness now. I will open another bottle in about 18 months from now and see where we're at.
Drink from 2011

2008 Olek Bondonio Langhe Rosso "Giulietta" (out of stock)  
Review Date: 10-30-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is certainly a well made, unique wine, but not one for me at this price. I 'get' the elegance of pepper, roses, strawberries, but I just kept wanting more than this wine gives. Instead of Olek Bondonio, I'd rather have a well made Beajoulais or red Burgundy for the same money. Also, be careful who you serve the wine to -- they have to be into faint and elegant flavors or else they will think this a garden variety $10 wine (as two of my guests did).
Drink from 2009
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2005 Vecchie Terre di Montefili Chianti Classico (out of stock)  
Review Date: 10-16-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Would be a 4.5 if not for the bizarre sandalwoody, clovey note in the midpalate that I could not shake. 2 hours of decanting slows it down and makes it right with food. That said, the rest of the wine experience is simply beautiful, especially for the price.
Drink from 2009
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2006 Schinosa Nero di Troia (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-20-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A grape called nero di Troia? Such is Italy. This is a really neat wine that I never would have found on my own. Flavor description: cab franc meets barbera meets nero di avola. I'll echo Greg St. Clair's suggestion NOT to decant it before serving (after first opening). After an hour, the tannins became unbearable. THEN, after leaving half the the bottle overnight (no gas, just cork), it magically softened back to a reasonable state. Hmm.
Drink from 2009
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2007 Stags' Leap Winery Napa Valley Viognier (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-20-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Heads up - this wine needs 30-60 minutes of air and to be warmer than fridge temps to fully show. Otherwise, you will miss half the experience. Also, this wine does not last overnight in the fridge...it fades surprisingly quickly.

At the wine club price of $14, this is a tremendous value, and I'm buying more. Even at the regular $20 price, this is an excellent choice for a French-styled viognier (less 'gush', more balance, acid) that is begging to be paired with food rather than served on its own.

But watch out if you are into the insanely rich, sweeter, more deeply flavored California viogniers...this isn't one of them. Pick Copain Tous Ensemble instead.
Drink from 2009 to 2010
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2007 Miner Family "Garys' Vineyard" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-19-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is certainly a nice wine, but I'm not bowled over when I consider the price -- which is on par with other excellent Santa Lucia wines.

Personally, I would skip this one and save my ducats for one of the ultra premium wines from this region, and offset the higher price by drinking a few more value priced names in the meantime.

Needs at least two years of aging I believe.
Drink from 2011

2007 Miner Family "Simpson Vineyard" Viognier (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-19-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Above average for California viogniers, but for me, it's stuck between the 'poles' that I appreciate more. (And I think this one is getting more ado because it's a Miner family wine.)

If you are considering viogniers of this style and price, I like Stag's Leap. Or value-priced French names.

On the richer side, I like Copain Tous Ensemble, Alban, Condrieu...
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List CG 92 BC 0

2007 Pine Ridge Chenin Blanc-Viognier (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-19-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
(Score based on my assessment of quality for price.)

An outstanding wine for this price. Suggest pairing it with food rather than drinking alone.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List RP 90 BC 0

2007 Miner Family Napa Valley Chardonnay (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-18-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
There are SO many chardonnays of this quality for ten bucks less...where do I even start?

When to buy this wine: when you have someone to impress with a name brand, who wouldn't appreciate your otherwise astute sense of value that would instead bring the Broadside 2008 Wild Yeast Ferment to the table, or something hip and fabulous and $17 like that.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2007 Josef Leitz Rüdesheimer Drachenstein "Dragonstone" Riesling (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-16-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This one is lost on me, although I'll guess that Dragonstone is intended to be Lietz's entry-level wine to get non-riesling lovers hooked on their more interesting ($$) stuff...of which there is plenty that Lietz can offer. :-)
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List RP 90 BC 0

2007 A to Z Oregon Pinot Noir (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-16-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Score based on my opinion of quality to price ratio. You have to like lightweight-styled, cherry-ish Oregon pinots, and if so, you are in luck...this reliable A to Z came down by $2 per bottle for the '07. If you like the richest Russian River names, take a pass on this one.
Drink from 2009 to 2012
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2007 Willowbrook Mendocino County Pinot Noir (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-13-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
(Score based on my assessment of quality for price.)

I wish there were more cool-climate American, sub-$20 pinot noirs on the market that are worth drinking.

But thankfully, there is Willowbrook, which as knocked it out of the park again! Their '06 DuNah is stunning, and this '07 Mendocino will likely get my Value Wine of the Year award (my blog) for pinot noir.

Buy this buy the case and be forwarned: two years from now, this very wine will be in the mid-$30s and you will be looking elsewhere for the next underpriced up-and-comer in the pinot game.

Drink from 2009 to 2012
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2007 Copain "Tous Ensemble" Mendocino County Viognier (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-3-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
My current top pick for best American viognier (100%) under $30.

This wine gives me great hope that one day the US could become known for viognier.

This Copain is comparable to some mid-priced Condrieu names in terms of richness, minerality and overall lusciousness.
Drink from 2009 to 2011
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

2006 Valpane Barbera del Monferrato Rosso Pietro (out of stock)  
Review Date: 9-3-2009
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
WOW. At the 8.99 club price, there cannot be a better barbera on the market right now. Even at 15.99, it's a show stopper. (This wine is exactly why I am a member of Club Italiano.)
Drink from 2009 to 2012
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next