Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:   prev  1 2  3   next  >>
2013 Domaine du Tariquet "Classic" Cotes de Gascogne Blanc
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 1/28/2015 | Send Email
  Due to this wine's versatility, it has become one of our best sellers. The Tariquet is full of white stone fruit, fresh pear, yellow citrus and is held all together with a bracing acidity. I'd pair this with grilled seafoods & curried chicken. Great for everyday!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 BenMarco Malbec Mendoza
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 1/28/2015 | Send Email
  This is a ridiculous price on this bottling from the team at Dominio del Plata and Susana Balbo. A showcase for some of their best Malbec sites, primarily in the Uco Valley, this red has rounded, mixed berry fruits, with some red cherries and plums as well. Tasty fruit, very smooth tannins, some spicy sweet notes from oak aging all add up to a most drinkable red for under $10.

2012 Colonias de Galeon "Ocnos" Roble VdT Sierra Norte de Sevilla
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 1/28/2015 | Send Email
  This red shows slightly darker fruits that their other, unoaked red, but the flavors still do not lack for energy, purity and freshness. A touch more spice and structure, but with really wonderful cut and persistence. If, like me, you were more than happy to enjoy Sherry but not familiar with the potential for white and red wine in Andalucía, Colonias de Galeon's wines should be a real eye opener.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Colonias de Galeon "Petit Ocnos" Tinto Vino de la Tierra de Sierra Norte de Sevilla
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 1/28/2015 | Send Email
  Beautiful Sevilla was my first exposure to Spain, and this crisp, crunchy, fruit filled Beaujolais look alike was the first Spanish red I have had from Andalucía which combines the fresh fruit, bright acids and light to mid weight structure I so often crave in a red wine. If, like me, you were more than happy to enjoy Sherry but not familiar with the potential for white and red wine in Andalucía, Colonias de Galeon's wines should be a real eye opener!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Poujeaux, Moulis
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 1/27/2015 | Send Email
  Always one of the great Bordeaux values, and along with Chasse Spleen one of the two top properties in Moulis. This 20 year old '95 Poujeaux is a perfectly aged Bordeaux at the peak of its powers. Wonderfully aromatic. Lovely floral notes. An explosion of violets leapt from the bottle as soon as I withdrew the cork. Plenty of ripe black fruits, currant and blackberry. Very fresh and fine. Firm tannins. This is drinking beautifully now and should hold its own for a while yet though likely without improving substantially. Enjoy!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

1995 Calon-Ségur, St Estèphe
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 1/27/2015 | Send Email
  It's hard to believe this vintage is now 20 years old. '95 and '96 were the two top vintages of the decade and as they reach their twentieth birthday no doubt many of the wines will receive renewed scrutiny. 20 to 30 years old is prime maturity for most Bordeaux wines and many will be reaching their peak over the next decade. That being said, the 1995 Calon Segur, St-Estephe still seems very youthful with still firm tannins and just a hint of aged character emerging. The oak is nicely integrated at this point with lovely spice notes. Plenty of sweet, ripe fruit and classic Cabernet character of blackberry and cassis. As my colleague Ralph Sands notes, all the reasons we drink Bordeaux can be found in this bottle. I love this wine.

2004 Meyney, St-Estèphe
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 1/27/2015 | Send Email
  What is it about St-Estephe? There are so many great properties that are able to offer top notch Bordeaux at a reasonable price - Ormes de Pez, Phelan Segur, and of course, Meyney, among others. I have a soft spot for Chateau Meyney because I have enjoyed so many great bottles over the years. My nephew, an '89, loves the wine from his birth year. I added a case of the 2009 to the cellar immediately after tasting it. What a find then this 2004 Chateau Meyney, St-Estephe was. While '04 was not one of the great vintages of that decade it was solidly good, in my opinion, and produced some very good wines. At just over 10 years old, the '04 Meyney is still coming together. The oak will no doubt become better integrated with time and the already very fine tannins will no doubt soften a bit. Still, even now the wine has a remarkable freshness, a positively silky texture, and a ripeness of fruit that tempts one to consume it earlier.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2013 Oustric Picpoul de Pinet
 By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 1/27/2015 | Send Email
  Wow! What an outstanding wine at this price! This wine has crisp, refreshing notes of honeydew, bright acidity, and a hint of lemon zest. One of my favorite bargains!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2000 La Gaffelière, St-Emilion
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 1/27/2015 | Send Email
  I drink a lot of Bordeaux, but, I am ashamed to say, not nearly enough Right Bank wines. So, last Friday for our weekly "steak & claret" night I opted for the 2000 Chateau La Gaffeliere, St-Emilion. I have a few cases of Bordeaux from the 2000 vintage in my cellar, mostly wines from the Medoc that are too young to drink, but this Right Bank beauty was raring to go at 15 years of age. A classic 2000. Rich, ripe, and round with good acidity, admirable weight, and fine tannins framing the finish. The wine was beginning to show some age - the color has shifted towards a lovely garnet and the nose showed hints of truffle emerging - but while it's drinking beautifully now it easily has another decade or more ahead of it. A perfect St-Emilion and a superb value for the money.

2010 Pyramid Valley Vineyards "Cowley" Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 1/27/2015 | Send Email
  At $30 one of the best overall values in Pinot Noir in the store, bar none. This vineyard shows a side of Pinot Noir I simply love - bright red fruits like cranberry and sour cherry, rhubarb and pomegranate with plenty of spice and a hint of something a bit more exotically floral. I fell in love with the 2009 vintage due to its exceptional ripeness. I am working my way through the last few bottles of my third case of that wine. I was eager to try the 2010 version, from a vintage I knew to be more typically cooler. Less overt ripeness here but a lot more concentration and complexity. A more serious wine in every way. Approachable now with some time in the decanter but will doubtless reward a few years in the cellar. An extraordinary wine at this price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

1975 Moulin Touchais Coteaux du Layon
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/27/2015 | Send Email
  What an incredible treat this beautiful wine was. Deep golden colored. Pungent nose of celery salt, sweet dried quince, persimmons, and honey. Vibrant and clean on the palate with a laser beam of acid to cut through the sweetness. Cannot believe this wine is 40 years old. Feels like it might last another 40 ; ) if you can keep your hands off it.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Charles & Charles Washington State Chardonnay
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 1/27/2015 | Send Email
  A screaming deal from the 2014 Wine Enthusiast “Winemaker of the Year” Charles Smith and Charles Bieler of Three Thieves wine company! This little gem of a Chardonnay shows flavors of fresh green apples, pear and wet stone. There is plenty of richness in the mouth with hints of melon and lime, which linger on through to the finish. This cool climate Chardonnay sees about 22% barrel fermentation and aging to help round out its bright and fresh acidity. Great buy +!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2013 Oustric Picpoul de Pinet
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/27/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This bright little "lip stinger" wine is much more than just clean citrus fruit, saline and minerals. It also has a touch of white stone fruits and white flowers in the nose. Refreshing, clean and yet delicate and, well, pretty. For those of you who like your Gruner Veltliner and Albarino, you should consider this little bargain!
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Rickshaw Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 1/27/2015 | Send Email
  This is a terrific everyday table California Cabernet that is more fruit-driven, almost like a Malbec or a jammy Pinot. Its softer tannins and young age make it easy to enjoy with many different flavors and foods. This is a great wine and an even better bargain!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 1/27/2015 | Send Email
  The Baricci Brunello, as evidenced by the numerous comments below, is a wine the staff always stocks up on! Every vintage Baricci makes consistently fantastic wine. The 2009, with a quick decant, is surprisingly approachable in its youth. Dusty earth, dark red fruits, and silky tannins make for an incredible wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2011 Zind Humbrecht Pinot Blanc
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 1/27/2015 | Send Email
  This is a wonderful wine that if it had to be described in one word, I would use "balanced." There is a nice balance between the soft and inviting aromatics, the texture and fruit flavors in the mouth, and the lively, crisp finish. The Zind Humbrecht Pinot Blanc is a dry wine that will go well alone or with food.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart WE 89 BC 0

2011 di Majo Norante "Ramitello" Biferno Rosso
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I was really stunned by the richness, complexity and depth of flavors in this wine…and then I saw the price! The nose is full of bold, dark fruit aromatics that flow languidly from the glass. This is a blend of 80% Montepulciano and 20% Aglianico that offers such bang for your buck you are not going to believe it. Layers of spicy Montepulciano fruit, supple textures wrap themselves around a solid core of structure, balanced, bold and a real mouthful of wine, and such a deal!
Drink from 2015 to 2018
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2010 Lambuena Crianza Ribera del Duero
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
  The Lambuena wines have been here for almost a year now, but I just took a bottle home to refresh the memory. Wow, this 2010 Crianza is stunning! Juicy black cherry, blackberry and casis fruit, with nice acidity and tanin to round out this beautifully balanced wine. All for $20! Pair with braised meats and bbq!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This bottling from Amici Cellars was hugely popular with the 2011 vintage. Well, it only gets better with the 2012 vintage! Deep and rich, with dark red fruits, cassis and mocha notes. Lush on the palate, with bright oak and roasted nuts. Another winner from Amici Cellars!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
  Another delicious 2012 Rosso, the Ferrero is ready to drink now with a little decant or will lay down for a couple years. Great black cherry and strawberry fruit with classic Montalcino earthiness.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The Ariston family are some of my favorite winemakers who produce some of the best small-estate champagnes that we carry. This blanc de blanc is no exception. It carries their reputation for excellent quality at an affordable price. This is a creamy, rich style of blanc de blanc with a rich mousse and lemon meringue flavors. Fleshy, without being heavy, it has a long, subtle finish of apple and pear fruit. A great way to start a party or meal!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I have long been a fan of this winery and the 2012 is no exception. In fact, it is one of the best releases in recent memory. Mostly sangiovese (90%) with 10% colorino, it is dominated by black cherry fruit, fresh herbs and chewy tannins. This is a wonderful chianti for those of you who prefer the traditional style.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
  Grab this wine while it lasts!!! This 2010 Bordeaux benefits greatly from the magnificent 2010 vintage. Pure red fruit, mineral driven mid palate with medium tanin give this wine fantastic structure. Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tenuta di Sesta Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
  These 2012 Rosso's are drinking incredibly well right now and the Tenuta Di Sesta is no exception! Fresh cherry/strawberry fruit, a bit of spice, and mellow, coating tanins round out this great wine. Pair with your favorite braised meats!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2009 Viña Eguía Reserva Rioja
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This surprisingly weighty release has gobs of black cherries and red plums with herbs and cedar. It also has nice, spicy undertones of pepper and minerals. Wonderful floral nose of crushed violets. A great value, as well!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2014 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Like the previous vintages of this wine, the 2014 is a fun, affordable and easy drinking wine without the raisins/prune character in similar wines. A little French oak for added flavors and low tannins make this a perfect party wine. Consistently listed as a "Best Buy" by the Wine Enthusiast.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc Vin de Pays d'Oc
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is an excellent, fun sauvignon blanc that comes in at a very affordable price. It is a crisp, clean style with loads of minerality and fresh lime, grapefruit and meyer lemon fruit. No grassiness, just pure, clean sauvignon blanc that begs for shellfish or crab.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Moulin Haut Laroque, Fronsac
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
  Owned by the same family for over two centuries, and now in the hands of Jean-Noël Hervé, this property has always been producing a high quality wine. Possessing higher than usual amount of Cabernet Franc in its vineyards (some of which are 70 years-old), certainly gives their wines a lot of structure when young, but when matured it holds the softness of the Merlot in check and imparts delicious spice notes. That’s the case with this 2001. Black currants, tobacco, classic forest floor, and absolutely ready to drink right now. I did not decant it before serving it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Raymond-Lafon, Sauternes
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 1/26/2015 | Send Email
  This property has a very interesting history, for starters it is not classified, because it was created "only" in 1850, however it has always been very well regarded and was included in an "unofficial" classification in 1867. The owner, Pierre Meslier, worked as a General Manager at d'Yquem, before dedicating all his efforts and applying the same rigorous techniques as d'Yquem's to his own chateau, which some of the vineyards touch d'Yquem's. The grapes are picked one-by-one in successive tries - between 3 to 10! The wine is aged for 3 years in 100% new barriques. As for tasting notes, it is full of honeyed nuances, with coconut, apricots and a deeper quince marmalade note. Possessing a perfect balance between the lushness of the Botrytised grapes and the high acidity. Marvelous wine!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

Bushmills 21 Year Irish Whiskey 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 1/25/2015 | Send Email
  Elegant, soft and too easy to drink. The Bushmills 21 has layers of flavors with a hint of dried fruits. A long finish completes the flavor probile.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

2013 Blason Pinot Grigio Isonzo (1L)
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 1/25/2015 | Send Email
  This is a clean and refreshing Pinot Grigio that goes well alone or with lighter foods. It is dry, with nice fruit and a wonderful crisp finish. Don't let the price fool you, this is a delicious and enjoyable wine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Dreissigacker Riesling Trocken
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  Having cut his chops working under the famous Peter Keller -one of the Rheinhessen's most celebrated dry wine producers- you'd figure Jochen Dreissigacker had picked up a few tricks. Should we call it a Keller Killer? I might not going that far, but this is my new favorite Trocken riesling under $20 (at least until we get the new Weingut Keller stuff back). Everything is perfectly in place. Very pale yellow color. Absolutely stunning minerality. A magnicifent value by any measure.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Dr. Wehrheim Muschelkalk Weisser Burgunder (Pinot Blanc)
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  I absolutely love a white wine with tons a floral qualitities without seeming perfumed. Few wines achieve this without going over the edge to artificial or overly pungent extracted floral elements. This wine is like taking a wish a of the most freshly picked white wild flowers, honeysuckles, and blooming chaparral (NO GARDINIAS!). As with all Pinot Blanc we worry about acidity, but this one has all it needs and more. Great little bottle that should continue to develope nicely over the next few years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ökonomierat Rebholz Pinot Blanc
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  Not surprised that I loved Rebholz' new Pinot Blanc. They're one of the most exciting producers of dry white wine in Germany. Nearly crystal clear in color. Incredible purity and fabulous structure. Clean Pinot Blanc with great acidity, incredible intensity and a fabulous price point. You gotta get into it. Serve it with some rilette or grilled fish.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Skouras "Salto" Moscofilero Péloponnèse
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  This wine totally surprised me! Straw colored. The nose is ALL green veggies (not bell pepper, more like fresh artichoke). Massively complex, yet not austere. Could this be the perfect pair for asparagus? Loving that wild greek yeast!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sadie Family Old Vine Series "Soldaat" Grenache Noir Piekenierskloof
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  Well when people say this is the DRC of such and such I usually glaze over, but when I heard what these guys were doing down in Swartland, they got my attention. This is one of the most impressive offerings in out store today. Every single wine from Sadie Family makes me shiver. Their is so much depth, yet so much hidden still. Buy this. Hold it. Drink it to remind you why you fell in love with wine. Weep silent happy tears to yourself.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Orgo Rkatsiteli Republic of Georgia
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  Medium Gold Color. You can see the weight and power in the glass. Incredible nose of confit citrus, funky dried fruit, and almond butter. Massively tannic (for a white), pithy and focused. Needs something greasy and grilled, but one of the best I've had in this traditional Georgian style.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Château Musar Blanc Bekaa Valley
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  FREAKING LOVE THIS STUFF. Who can argue with native Lebanese varietals? Besides of course stodgy wine critics! Ok I'll admit this isn't for everyone, but if it doesn't fit your palate you might want to consider changing your tastes ; ) Clearly I'm smitten and you will be too if you like any of the Lopez de Heredia white. A triumph in my opinion!
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Musar "Jeune" White Bekaa Valley
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  Very balanced wine. Light straw colored. Showing only a hint of the viognier aromatics on the nose, but with the mineral and fruit taking front seat. On the palate, more viognier flowers and stone fruit, but with great acidity to keep it lively. The cleanest white I've had yet from the magnicifent property in the Bekaa Valley, Lebanon.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Château Musar "Hochar Père et Fils" Red Bekaa Valley
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  I've always been a fan of the controversial wines from this historic producer and we've just opened the new releases in honor of the untimely passing of the family patriache, Serge Hochar. This, his namesake wine, is designed to be slightly more drinkable in it's youth than it's older more expensive siblings, but it nonetheless delivers all the wonderful estoteric qualities that we love (some hate) about Musar. This 2009 is developing perfectly and could last for years in the cellar, but is definitely delicious today. Tannins have softened and the acidity is in balance. No trace of VA and only a slightly bretty under note. SPLENDID stuff for geeks, but not so challenging that you'll lose friends over it.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart W&S 92 BC 0

2011 Musar "Jeune" Rouge Bekaa Valley
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  This is by far the cleanest most open "Jeune" we've tasted. Fun but familiar, it still has some nice gravelly earth underlying the tart red fruit and wonderful acidity. Not altogether what you'd expect from this fabulous estate, but still with tons of character.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Musar "Jeune" White Bekaa Valley
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 1/22/2015 | Send Email
  Such an incredible blend from an incredible producer. Aromatics that continually open up with yellow flowers, yellow apples, and nectar. The palate is complex, with notes of pineapple, peach, bitter almonds, nectarines and a pithy, tannic finish that is fantastic.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Westerly Santa Ynez Valley Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 1/22/2015 | Send Email
  Sometimes in the profession of Wine Buying you really have to work hard, whether it is tasting and assessing a hundred plus wines in a day, dealing with testy winemakers/winery owners, long boring conversations with marketing people about pricing or a whole myriad of other things, you can really get beat up. Then there are times when everything is simple and just kind of clicks into place. The latter is what happened with this Westerly Sauvignon Blanc. It really just sort of fell into my lap, or my e-mail box, specifically. The winery reached out to see if we were interested in the wine and being that we were they sent us bottles to check out. We tasted the wine and immediately took the rest that they had. This Sauvignon Blanc impressed us with its fresh, persistent orange flesh-like acidity and pretty notes of alfalfa, tangerine and lemon curd on the palate. When we figured out we could sell it to you for a paltry $7.99 we jumped at the opportunity. What we have in stock currently is all we can get; I don’t expect this to be around for more that 24-48 hours. Act fast.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2012 Seven Hills Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 1/22/2015 | Send Email
  I don’t know how they do it, I really don’t. Somehow Seven Hills puts out a $20 dollar Cabernet every year that just crushes the competition. Deep and inky, this wine has plenty of complexity to offer on the packed nose. Aromas of pencil lead, sweet licorice, pipe tobacco and black olive swirl freely in the glass. Ripe but structured, this is perfectly positioned to be an everyday drinker for fans of big Cabernet. It has enough fruit to please, but enough structure to be friendly at the table. Black tea, currant, ink, wet stone, subtle olive and dried sage flavors combine here for one shockingly complex wine, especially considering the price tag. Be it the super high quality fruit, the fantastic 2012 vintage in Washington or the open, friendly style of the winery but this wine maybe one of the best Columbia Valley bottling I’ve seen from them in the last 4-5 vintages. It’s surely not a wine to be missed.

2012 Orgo Rkatsiteli Republic of Georgia
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 1/22/2015 | Send Email
  The nose on this this is gorgeous!!! Full of apricot, marmalade, nectar, orange blossom, nuts and apple cider, so intriguing. The palate follows through with apple skins, chestnuts, crushed wet stones, apricot and plenty, plenty more. I love the orange wines coming out of Georgia, and this one is one of my favorites. Such a small producers, doing things of course, the old fashioned way fermenting the wine in qvevris and bottling the wine without filtration. Drink more Georgian wine!!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Château Musar Blanc Bekaa Valley
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 1/22/2015 | Send Email
  Drinking this wine over the course of a day would be ideal so you can experience the constant change that occurs with air. Although a 2006, the wine is still quite young and could sit happily in a loving cellar for years to come. Certainly one of the most interesting wines I’ve ever had, in true Musar fashion. Hints of beeswax, lanolin, and fresh mussels on the nose while the palate includes apple skins, salinity, oysters, almonds and white flowers. Plus, the grapes used in this wine come from a vineyard that was never hit with phylloxera, thus have their original rootstocks, such a rarity.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/22/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This review is for the latest release, a blend of 20% 1999 vintage, 20% 2000 vintage and 60% 2002 vintage. A blend of 50% chardonnay and 50% pinot noir with a clean nose of green apples, lime and minerals. Lush and full on the palate with toasted hazelnut and almond notes. It has a very nice finish that linger and lingers! The best one that I have tasted since the 1996 blend.

Knob Creek 9 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Barrel 120 Proof Bourbon 750ml (due to bottle size shipping cost is higher)
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  An absolutely delicious bourbon, at 120 proof, for cocktail mixing. If you like round, sweet, easy-drinkin' whiskey this is NOT the one. If you like your bourbon drier and more sophisticated, with a bit of a woody note, this one will knock your socks off. And I cannot imagine how you could make a smoother spirit at this proof level! Another home-run for David, our spirits buyer.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  As one felled by images, I’ve often mused about the strange creature on this wine’s label. It is actually a cockatrice, that eerie hybrid bit of mischief, a demonic cross between a serpent and a rooster, armed with a "death-darting eye that could slay men with the poison of their sight." And a Banshee being the spirit of a wailing woman said to lie outside the walls of peasants’ houses, waiting for mortal men to die…..ahem. Well, on to the magical stuff in the bottle! Yet another lovely incarnation, this cool-climate beauty captured all the purity and essence of Sonoma coastal vineyards, with a core of enticing red fruit enlivened by tea, plum and boysenberry notes, all ballasted by clean acidity and gentle tannins. Enough supernatural fruit in here to silence a Banshee and keep her pet cockatrice at bay…..enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  When I first smelled this wine I couldn’t believe it, it was like someone had taken out the spice drawer, turned it on its end and poured everything into my glass of wine. It was so aromatic it was hard to concentrate. Incredible layers of wild cherry, marzipan, dried flowers, a kitchen sink of Middle Eastern spice, star jasmine…it’s like the whole alphabet was there. Once on the palate, the wine flows luxuriously across it, displaying layers of wild cherry with hints of leather that gradually focus the wine as it stretches out into a long finish. Fine tannins gradually build showing the power and structure that lie just under the surface of this delectable wine. Capable of aging 15-20 years but delicious now.
Drink from 2017 to 2030
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 97 BC 0

Page:   prev  1 2  3   next  >>