Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:   prev  1 2  3   next  >>
Tintero "Grangia" Bianco
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  Dry, rich, and a touch frizante. Perfect for light and bright dishes, a slice of watermelon topped with crumbled feta and torn mint would be an awesome pairing on a hot day.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine Anne & Arnaud Goisot Bourgogne Côtes d'Auxerre Pinot Noir
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  It's time to stock up on Burgundy! Bright and lively with great balance of ripe fruit and fresh acidity, and incredible nuance for such an affordable wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Il Palagio "When We Dance" Toscana
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  A gorgeous and fun weeknight wine that inspired a K&L blog post with a recipe for zucchini pasta with spicy Italian sausage and Parmesan.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Unmistakably Chardonnay, the wine has aromas of almond and wet gravel and a slight straw color. But Te Whare Ra's Chardonnay is more elegant than the nose would have you believe--a racy and bright wine filled with lemon flavors and a slight hint of oak that is sure to satisfy any fan of cool weather whites.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another triumph from one of our favorite producers in New Zealand. This Blanc is edgy and very sharp, with quintessential New Zealand bright citrus and slight grassy flavors, complemented by fig and lychee aromas. This biodynamic beauty has so much to offer fans of Sauvignon Blanc; one of TWR's best yet, and still at a great price!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a Pinot with structure--a nervy and delicious cool weather red with lean red fruit flavors but plenty of mouth-coating tannins. The fruit notes here are slightly bitter, lean raspberry and plum resting behind cassis and lavender, leaving a wonderfully long impression on the palate. The winemakers at Te Whare Ra took full advantage of the excellent 2013 growing season to craft this mouthwatering Pinot.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2019
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  I am a big fan of the entire TWR portfolio but my favorite is always this vibrant Sauvignon Blanc because of its pure flavors and rich texture. Herb, melon, crushed citrus and just a hint of musk add complexity to this weighty but very refreshing value.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This has lovely, sweet fruit, and is a delicious blend of Cab, Merlot, Montepulciano and Alicante. This is a Super Tuscan to put those over-priced California Cult Cabernets to shame. Simply delightful.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Corte Gardoni Bardolino Rosato Chiaretto
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This delightful rosé has a lovely texture, nice spice and an interesting finish. Never heavy, but never wispy, this Chiaretto (from the Italian "clear") has a delightful transparency. Bravissimo!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This 100% Sangiovese wine is elegant, with a nice focus. Clean, sophisticated and very drinkable. What's not to like?
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This is very, very good. It has lovely fruit, and is just opening and losing its angularity it showed a year ago. This is bottled unfined and unfiltered and is a terrific cellar candidate. Don't overlook the so-called lesser vintages from great wine-growers like this! It has found a place in my cellar.
Top Value!

2010 Seghesio Barolo
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  OK, I thought we were not going to see any more Barolos under $30, with the weakness in the dollar. But Greg St. Clair has pulled another rabbit out of his hat. This is solid, spicy, and very drinkable, with fine-grained tannins for such a young Nebbiolo.
Top Value!
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Our Wine Rkatsiteli Republic of Georgia
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Holy unusual, Batman! Dried orange peel, dried apricot, citrus and a cheesy, leesy toastiness--with a crazy amount of tannin! Medium plus acidity. If you've ever wondered about the wines of Georgia, this friendly wine is a great intro. Serve with a cheese plate or roasted chicken!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart W&S 95 BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  The wines from Te Whare Ra have been turning heads since we've brought them into our New Zealand category, and the 2013s may be the best to date. The Pinot shows lovely dark plum, strawberry, cherry, light toasty oak, earth/clay notes, a hint of rose petal, tea bag and spice. On the palate, the wine has soft supple tannins that are balanced and harmonious with a long, persistent finish.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Te Whare Ra (TWR) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Crisp and bright, thanks to the cool nights in the Awatere Valley. Lot of minerality and focus, and none of that over-the-top gooseberry thing some NZ Sauv Blancs tend towards. Probably because it is organically and biodynamically grown, with controlled yields. Then it sees a slow fermentation with native yeasts. Well done!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart DC 91 BC 0

2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Since Mr. Garneaus' review cannot be topped, I will go ahead and agree with everything he said. I tasted through David's selections, all stellar, and promptly bought the Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky. Truly amazing stuff.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "D" Marlborough
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This is always one of the prettiest wines we receive in each year. The juxtaposition of lime pith and cocktail fruit balances the fruit-forward nature of the wine. There's no sweetness whatsoever, yet the wine is zesty and fun in a way that sweet Rieslings can usually be. Again, as is the case with all the TWR wines, the price is quite generous.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Cava Brut Rosé Penedes
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This is our go to household pink bubbly. It is unapologetically dry, yet so flavorful, explosive and authoritative on the palate, that it is hard to believe we are dealing with under $15 bubbles here. Tangy red fruits, perhaps a suggestion of hibiscus, combine with a nice bead and pleasing texture to make this such a great sparkling wine for the money. As this is a DI, I have been to the property, seen the care with which these vines are grown and the wine is made, and can only say that all of the Loxarel wines, including this one, have my highest recommendation.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart W&S 91 BC 0

2011 Fillaboa "Finca Monte Alto" Albariño Rias Baixas
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Albariño has transformed itself into Spain's most popular, serious white wine export because of wines like this. This single vineyard bottling from Fillaboa has delicious fruit, marked minerality, and more than a nod to the saltwater inlets (or "Rias") that shape coastal Galicia. Drink this wine with clams steamed in wine and garlic, whole grilled fish, or any fresh seafood you can get your hands on. I can assure you that it will be a food and wine pairing you'll come back to time and time again.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart W&S 94 BC 0

1997 Glenlivet 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Sherry Butt Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This is the type of whisky you buy two or three of because you're going to finish the bottle faster than you expect and the K&L supply will be gone when you come back for more. Sherry-aged whisky of this provenance and quality is becoming incredibly difficult to find, which is why we took as much of it as we could. The round, rich, raisined mouthfeel is what a majority of whisky drinkers are craving right now and none of the regular Glenlivet releases have this much weight. This is more like dessert Macallan. It's going to FLY outta here, so load up.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  The TWR Chardonnay is basically white Burgundy for a fair price. Rather than overpay for Meursault or Chassagne that won't drink well for another decade, why not indulge yourself now with the Te Whare Ra? The richness from oak aging is apparent, but it's not the focus of the palate. The piercing mineral notes are at the forefront and the fruit offers a counterbalance to the refreshing acidity. Great stuff.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Once again, the TWR Sauvignon Blanc becomes the best Sauvignon Blanc we carry for the money with its return to inventory. You think you don't like NZ SB because it's too grapefruity or herbaceous? Let the TWR blow your mind and change it simultaneously. There's citrus, of course, but it's subtle and nuanced, balanced completely by a stony minerality and vivacious bouquet of fruit. The price for a wine this good is also ridiculous.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  You stumble at the foot of the stairs, eyes struggling to adjust in the dim interior of the nightclub. Somewhere a piano plays an old jazz standard. You are certain you have heard it before but you can’t recall where or when. Soft voices murmur in the darkness, the words themselves indistinct. Suddenly a cigarette flares nearby, illuminating a face of porcelain etched in shadow. Smoke winds upward, disappearing into the gloom. Silk whispers against soft flesh as she raises a hand, gesturing to the chair opposite. You move to sit. The night is full of mystery and possibility. Who knows what might happen? Each year as I taste through the latest single malt offerings from Scotland painstakingly selected by our K&L Spirits team, one bottle in particular will inevitably speak to me. I never really know which one it will be. This year I was shocked to discover it was the 2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky. Although I enjoy peated whiskies, I am usually more of a Speyside fan. Yet this Bowmore had that extra something – something indefinable, ineffable – something that makes you take a step back, set down your notebook, and just – stop – for a moment. Incredibly soft and silky with a weight you want to savor forever on the tongue. And smoke. Not the raw choking smoke of mistakenly sitting downwind of the campfire. Something deliciously subtle. A memory of old peat fires, permeating the roof beams of a favorite pub. A stolen kiss, the flavor of tobacco on soft lips. A suggestion, a hint, a grace note. Remarkable. Transcendent.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  WOW! This is waaaaay better than I remember it tasting back in the Signatory warehouse. Reducing this cask down to 46% was the right move. With the water added the hypnotic flavors of classic Bowmore come to life - sweet creamy barley, a load of oily fruit, and a heavy dollop of smoke on the finish. It's magical stuff and it's going to be one of the best-received casks we offer this year.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Foucher-Lebrun "Petit le Mont" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Amy Monroe | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  A super delicious combination of lemon zest, green apple, and a hint of minerality make this wine almost too easy to love. Looking for a Sancerre stunt-double? Look no further.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  The TWR savvy is bright with aromas of white grapefruit, passion fruit, gooseberry and a hint of tarragon. On the palate there is good texture and vibrant acidity that lead to a snappy, zesty finish with fine length. As good as it gets in a classic Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Foucher-Lebrun "Petit le Mont" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Green granny smith apple, green pears, citrus and zesty mineral with medium plus acidity. A screamin' deal for a proper Loire Sauvignon Blanc!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

1982 Miltonduff 30 Year Old Faultline Single Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  There's no accounting for this single malt, according to what I've read about the Miltonduff distillery. Its supposed light and bright notes do carry over in the spicy apple cidery, apple cinnamint notes on the nose, but it's chewy and meaty on the palate; something of dried beef almost! On the whole, compelling, a whisky for serious contemplation and fishing trips.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Balvenie 12 year old Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  Lovers of Glenlivet and Glenfiddich who are looking for something a little different and even a little prettier on the palate might look here. The Balvenie 12 single barrel has a light hue, with pretty aromas of wildflower honey, dates and dried figs, with buttery pear, and a really nice, silky finish. I enjoyed this Balvenie.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1996 Bowmore 16 Year Old Faultline Single Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  This has a distinct hit of cinnamon spice on the nose, plus wet plaster and deep, golden nutty sherry aromas. The oak shows through richly on the palate, and it's pretty good sipping, I think.
Price: $104.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Although New Zealand has been almost exclusively known for wonderful Sauvignon Blancs the past several decades, we have seen in the past several years some nicely produced, but not outstanding, Pinot Noirs coming from many producers there. A few of these productions have impressed me to the point that I have told many customers that New Zealand is on the same quality threshold that the Willamette Valley wineries were thirty-five to forty years ago. And I have told customers that while these productions were promising, like those of the Oregon producers, it would probably be another seven to ten years when we would see some incredible quality Pinots coming from New Zealand that would rival the fabulous Pinots that now are coming from the Willamette Valley, the Russian River Valley, the Anderson Valley, the Sonoma Coast and the Santa Lucia Mountain range. Then Ryan Woodhouse brings in the 2012 Te Whare Ra, and it was thoroughly impressive. And now with the 2013, I have to take several steps back and tell you that I was off by five to ten years, in that it would not take the New Zealand producers so long to create Pinots that would be on an equivalent level as the aforementioned wines. This is an amazing Pinot from a truly great, great vintage. Medium–deep ruby in color, with opulent, distinctive aromas of dried rose petals, strawberry, red fruits and spicy notes underscored by a slate mineral tone and a mild gamey quality. This carries over to a complex, layered, deep set of flavors with excellent balance, broadness and viscosity, and a lush mid-range and finish. Rusty has told me that this Gem is a truly great wine and needs to be in our collection immediately before it vanishes. Good work, Ryan, and thanks for making me eat my words. 19.0 UC Davis points out of 20.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Patrick Cu | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  If you were to ask me for one Brunello to try in the store right now, I would point you to this. The 2009 vintage for Brunello is very soft and approachable in its youth. This Ferrero follows the trend, and for the price is an absolutely amazing deal. It's big, expressive, and generous with darker fruit. I'm taking this home for myself!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Westland American Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  Of the three 2009 Brunellos, it was hard to pick a favorite, but this one still stood out. Super elegant, black cherries, dried currants, roasted herbs, this would be an exceptional pairing for a braised dish on an unseasonably cool night. Personal Sommelier subscribers can look forward to this one in July and August.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  This young wine is already showing enough complexity and elegance to pair with the finest fare. Sweet dusty cherry, soft earth and a touch of spice are present in this surprisingly sophisticated bottling. The finishing tannin is well integrated so decant tonight and enjoy.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  With so many of my colleagues commenting, I hardly need to describe this again, but I wanted to throw my compliments behind this wine too. It's simply fantastic and coming home with me.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  When we tasted this young wine recently I was surprised at how warm and approachable it was. This is ripe, broad and fleshy with sweet plum and baked earth aromas and flavors and gentle, ripe tannin. Decant this for an hour and enjoy tonight.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  La Fortuna is a rock solid, consistent producer of Brunello. If you've liked their stuff in the past, there is no reason not to continue to enjoy their output. Their 09 Brunello is still primarily red fruited, high toned, fresh, persistent yet relatively light on its feet for the region, and as always highlighted by an appealing minerality. For anyone looking to drink their Brunello on the younger side, this is definitely one of the ones I would steer you towards. That said...do not be afraid to lay off this wine for a little while; it will definitely improve!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  For me, the wine of the tasting in our recent Italian line-up. Very nicely perfumed, with macerated dark cherries dominating and multiple layers of fragrance and balanced flavors on the palate. As 2008 is not a press love fest of a vintage, nor is Baricci a household name for Brunello, this beauty can be had for under $30, which undoubtedly makes it one of the best red wine deals in the store right now.

2013 Corte Gardoni Bardolino Rosato Chiaretto
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  Light, juicy, playful rosato, this is definitely one to gulp down this summer while working the grill, snacking on cheese, pruning your tomatoes, etc. A thirst quenching rosé that is priced for regular enjoyment.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Tintero "Grangia" Bianco
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  Sort of a Vinho Verde by way of Italia, this is delicious, dry, citric, lightly fizzy white. Fresh and party ready....
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  Year in, year out, Baricci is a staff favorite and go to recommendation for most of us. In a vintage like 2009, where the wines are relatively forward and supple, Baricci manages to thread the needle between immediate deliciousness and classic structure for mid-term cellaring. Given this wine's wonderful aromatics, with beautiful dark cherries and scruffy herbs, as well as its effortless balance, I think the 09 Baricci will drink well near term and perhaps surprise those who strictly adhere to vintage charts with its ability to improve in bottle.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2012 Lange Willamette Valley Pinot Gris
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  Tropical fruit, Bartlett pear, citrus, mineral with notes of white flowers and lively acidity. Juicy and ridiculously drinkable! A spectacular example of real Oregon Pinot Gris. Love those Langes!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1999 Canon-La Gaffelière, St-Emilion
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  If you're looking for a bottle of Bordeaux to drink right now, this delivers with some decanting. Notes of fresh-roasted coffee, orange zest, spice and mesquite complement a palate packed with gamey black fruit, espresso and tobacco notes on the finish.

2010 de Chantegrive Rouge, Graves
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  I'm really enamored with the 2010 Bordeaux. They're big, but there's so much acidity, and the values we've brought in are so integrated, even now, that they're a joy to drink. The Chantegrive is a case in point. It's full of sweeter fruit, with herbs and spice, and is richer than its 2009 counterpart, but it's also far more complex, in my opinion, with the quintessential Graves graphite/minerality, with a long, coating finish.

2001 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  An incredible value! This is inky and opaque with just a touch of bretty funk that adds earthiness without being overwhelming. On the palate there's bay laurel to balance the tart cranberry fruit, nice lift and just a scoche of tannin.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Nairac, Sauternes
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This sensational wine combines aromas and flavors of clover honey, saffron, pineapple, orange spice tea and sweet scented wildflowers. Full-bodied without being unctuous, an oily sleekness holds the mid-palate and a mineral/acid tension glides along the long finish. This really over-delivers for the price.

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.7" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  I adore this winery, they farm biodynamic, ensuring their estate is lined with indigenous flowers, plants and animals adding to their unique terroir. With high elevation for a cooler climate and a unique topsoil called "fynbos," which gives their wines a distinct vegetal, black olive quality, this Sauv Blanc is killer. It’s more reminiscent of cool weather Sauv Blanc, with crisp acidity, zesty citrus fruits like orange and lime but with a unique green nose with hints of jalapeno, black olive and lemon rind. An excellent, well-done wine, a must-have for 2013.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  I am already a fan of the TWR wines, but this 2013 Pinot Noir elevated their quality to another level with the same great price! The 2013 was an amazing vintage for New Zealand, but I think what really made a difference this year is the addition of a second vineyard in this wine. The new addition is a vineyard from a steep, north facing slope (which is the sunny side in the Southern Hemisphere) with clay soils. The clay soil brings a silky mouth feel that I love! This wine has a great balance of red and dark currant, with a lot of spice, flint and earth. The complexity far exceeds the price. Enjoy!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Pinot Gris (375ml can)
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  OK people, have a little faith in us, here--this wine is incredibly quaffable and delicious! Perfect for a summer picnic in the park, in the ice bucket poolside, on a hike up to a beautiful sunset or even backpacking in the woods, this little half bottle in a can delivers all of the freshness you would hope for. Melon, citrus, peach and medium acidity! I'm in! Just be careful--it's two glasses in one can!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:   prev  1 2  3   next  >>