Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:   prev  1 2  3   next  >>
Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  Crunchy cranberry and juicy strawberry make this lovely sparkling wine an easy choice for elegant and fun holiday entertaining! Spice things up with this top value rose!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart WE 89 BC 0

Charles Baur "Emotion" Cremant d'Alsace Brut
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  Bright, fresh and elegant, the Chardonnay in this sparkling wine really shines with citrus, pear, apple and mineral. Looking for an affordable, classy wine for your holiday parties? Look no further!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Muirkirk Vineyard" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  The "Muirkirk Vineyard" is a bit more muscular and shows its Bannockburn spine derived from the schist and dense clay soils there. Wild thyme and spice permeate the black raspberry and dark cherry in the nose with earth and some meaty accents. On the palate the wine already shows a layered complexity that is concentrated and yet poised with superb balance, structure and length.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Morrison Vineyard" Pinot Noir Lowburn Central Otago
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  The "Morrison Vineyard" brings the brighter side to the single vineyard Pinots with a lifted floral, rose petal bouquet along with plum and red fruit that dominate along with some spice notes. While elegant, there is good mid-palate weight that remains ethereal with signature purity, balance and expressive length.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica (1.5L)
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The 2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica* is harvested the first 10 days of October, fermented and aged in stainless and released after a year. The wine is so powerful and intense that bottle aging, or decanting, is needed to get to this powerful wine’s mineral core. The nose is full pear-like fruit spiced with anise, citrus and a bit of brioche-like toastiness, although the wine sees no wood.
Drink from 2014 to 2022
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

1990 Glenfarclas K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  The 1990 vintage is a soft and supple whisky bottled at 100 proof that really captures the rich, cakey, textural elements of Oloroso sherry. A special marriage of sherry butts all chosen from one particularly good year at Glenfarclas, it's a straightforward, easy-to-like, and deliciously round whisky that offers easy accessibility, but also depth. When you're thinking about 24 year old, sherry-aged single malt it's exactly what you hope it will be. Not big, not powerful, not overly-sweet, not sulphured or bitter from too much time in wood, and not all that spicy. Just flat-out awesome in the most basic of ways. This is our replacement to the 18 year old Glendronach casks we used to do annually. We just added an extra 6 years of maturity. Hot deal.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
 By: Eric Story | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  How can you go wrong with a rosé sparkler — especially under $20? Made from 100% Pinot Noir, this is jam-packed with crunchy red fruits and spicy strawberry sweetness. Delightful on its own, as an aperitif, with a first course salad, or with a plate of cheese and a hearty loaf of fresh-baked bread. The label should say "A Happy Rosé"
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart WE 89 BC 0

2010 Inglenook "Cask" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 12/3/2014 | Send Email
  A great package and superb wine, the 2010 Cask Cab shows classic cedar, leather and spice flavors, mixed in with concentrated black cherry and red currant fruit. It is a full-bodied wine that is firm on the finish but still balanced and very approachable right now.
Price: Hidden View Price AG 91 BC 0

2013 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/3/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Nice strawberry and brambly aromas--quite forward and plenty of ripe berry fruit on the palate. Round tannins--ready now and should last several years in a cellar. Smooth and seamless. Excellent balance. Try with a veal roast. Value.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Cave de Rasteau "Dame Victoria" Rasteau
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
  Do you love Cote Du Rhone? Would you like to start exploring the neighboring appellations of the southern Rhone Valley? Then here you go... Having become its own classified appellation in 2009, Rasteau shows its stuff with the Dame Victoria, an excellent entry point into the lesser-known villages of the area. This Grenache-based wine opens with bright fruit, both red and dark, and continues with an array of pepper, spice, velvety smooth tannins. Perfect with pizza!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Villegeorge, Haut-Médoc
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
  In my own version of the French language, the word "Bordeaux" simply means "delicious," and this wine is a perfect example of that translation. From the incredible 2009 vintage, this Haut-Medoc bottling has everything one could want: An ample amount of dark fruit perfectly balanced with tobacco, spice box, toasty vanilla, and dark chocolate. Medium-plus acidity and well-balanced tannins throughout the palate lead to a lingering finish sure to warm you up. Simply put, a lovely selection that is showing wonderfully now and will continue to improve with age.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $21.99
BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Morrison Vineyard" Pinot Noir Lowburn Central Otago
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A tiny production of just 260cs. This wine is hand-chosen from the very best blocks and single barrels from Mount Edward's stunning "Morrison" estate vineyard in the Lowburn sub-region of Central Otago. The vineyard is composed from layers of glacial deposit - schist and quartz gravels. To one side of the vineyard towers the snow-capped Pisa Range Mountains; to the other side, the majestic Lake Dunstan. This really is a magical site for growing grapes! The wine has stunning length and structure. The fruit flavors of ripe forest berries, clove, nutmeg, Porcini mushroom and subtle oak spices are so pure and expressive. The tannins while evident are very refined and polished. Fresh acidity from Central Otago's cool nighttime temps are evident here giving the whole wine lift and vibrancy. This is top quality Pinot really showing winemaker Duncan Forsyth's pedigree. Some of the best Pinot New Zealand produces.
Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2010 Langmeil "Blacksmith" Cabernet Sauvignon Barossa Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
  Great deal in Cabernet. Rich black fruit, touches of cedar, tobacco, dark earth and graphite. Med-full bodied with nice acidity to balance the dark fruit. This will keep a lot of people happy. This is not a simple fruit-driven wine by any means--there are some good tobacco notes and herbal edge complexity here. Great pricing on this bottle from a top-quality vintage.
Top Value!

Glenfarclas "The Faultline Casks" K&L Exclusive First Fill Oloroso Sherry Casks Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
  The Faultline Casks expression is deceptive in that the 57% alcohol overpowers the sherry at first, to the point that you get mostly malt and grain. With water, the magical flavors are immediately unlocked and all the Christmas cake and fudge begin oozing out of their hiding place. Super fun stuff and very holiday-oriented. What I love most about this, and our other Glenfarclas expression, is that there aren't many whiskies on the market that taste like this. It's a big, explosive flavor that isn't just dark sherry sweetness and oversaturation. It's still a very balanced whisky.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
  Last year’s Co-Branded Pinot Noir from Au Bon Climat was such a hit we couldn’t help but to make it again! Once again we think Jim Clendenen and his wildly talented crew at Au Bon Climat has out done themselves with the quality of the components that they allowed us to make this wine from. Just like last year this wine is 100% fruit from the famed Bien Nacido Vineyard, with both components coming from Block 2, which was planted in 1994. Made from 50% Clone 113 and 50% Clone 115, of which 50% was whole-cluster fermented, this was actually the first blend we put together once we ran through all of the components we had available to us. That’s right; we nailed this blend on the first go around! We certainly tried to improve it but it always lingered on our palates as the best of the bunch. Instantly drinkable this is packed with boisterous red fruits on the nose of Bing cherry and muddled raspberry with a hint of sassafras, tarragon and finely ground white pepper. Mouthfilling and with no roughness, which is impressive in its youth, this is one easily gulpable wine but it’s so much more serious than what you’d first expect. With velvety fine tannins and a persistent mouthwatering acidity this wine has plenty of structure to get better over the next 4-8 years. However if you drink it now you’ll be able to experience plenty of delicious flavors like red plum, dragonfruit, cola, violets and Rainier cherries. Long and lasting on the palate with a likeable plush texture we think this Pinot has a little something to please everyone. Go ahead prove us wrong.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Muirkirk Vineyard" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another majestic bottling from winemaker Duncan Forsyth at Mount Edward. This tiny vineyard sits in potentially the most highly regarded micro-region of Central Otago - Bannockburn. Here the combination of schist and heavy clay soils with the hillsides mostly northerly aspect produces wines of richness and intensity. This wine has a more opulent expression than the finer more elegant Morrison Vineyard release. The Muirkirk bottle has a mouth filling texture, riper red fruits, wild thyme, a "gamey" or "sauvage" character that so often signifies Bannockburn as the place of origin. The wine still has lovely balance and acidity but just seems more forward to me than the other single vineyard bottling. I have no favorite either way, but I love the exquisite sub-regional delineation captured by Duncan's gentle winemaking. Really special wines.
Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A beautiful bottling from Mount Edward. This is a combination of select barrels and parcels from each of their estate vineyards and the Pisa Terrace Vineyard, in different sub-regions of Central Otago. All of the vineyards are certified BioGro Organic. The blend skilfully combines the structure and length of Morrison Vineyard, the delicacy and detail and Pisa Terrace vineyard (both in Lowburn) with the broader riper flavors from the slightly warmer subregion of Bannockburn where the Muirkirk Vineyard is situated. The wine is very aromatic with ripe red fruits, sweet baking spices, clove and rose petal. The palate is juicy and medium bodied with soft expressive red fruit flavors and some darker edges. The purity of fruit is nicely punctuated with wild Thyme, warm earth and sandalwood notes. The tanins are super fine and silky soft. This is so drinkable and delicious!
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Tongue in Groove is an amazing new project from some of the savviest folks in the NZ wine biz. Ex-Pegasus Bay winemaker Lynnette Hudson leads the team creating these spectacular wines from some of the best vineyards in the country. Her many years of experience and expertise crafting Pinot Noir and Riesling (Tongue in Groove’s obvious focus) show in these stunning wines with silky textures, purity and depth. The “Vine Tender” is Nick Gill, is one of the most talented viticulturalists in NZ. As we know, one of the most important elements of any wine is what goes on in the vineyard! Managing Director is Angela Clifford, she is the one who pulls together Tongue in Groove’s wacky personality and hones it into one pretty slick package! The distinctive labels each represent a different character from the group of friends behind TIG and the designs illustrate their individual personality traits; just like the character of the wondrous, diverse, expressive wines inside the bottles!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Tongue in Groove is an amazing new project from some of the savviest folks in the NZ wine biz. Ex-Pegasus Bay winemaker Lynnette Hudson leads the team creating these spectacular wines from some of the best vineyards in the country. Her many years of experience and expertise crafting Pinot Noir and Riesling (Tongue in Groove’s obvious focus) show in these stunning wines with silky textures, purity and depth. The “Vine Tender” is Nick Gill, is one of the most talented viticulturalists in NZ. As we know, one of the most important elements of any wine is what goes on in the vineyard! Managing Director is Angela Clifford, she is the one who pulls together Tongue in Groove’s wacky personality and hones it into one pretty slick package! The distinctive labels each represent a different character from the group of friends behind TIG and the designs illustrate their individual personality traits; just like the character of the wondrous, diverse, expressive wines inside the bottles!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2012 Tongue In Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Tongue in Groove is an amazing new project from some of the savviest folks in the NZ wine biz. Ex-Pegasus Bay winemaker Lynnette Hudson leads the team creating these spectacular wines from some of the best vineyards in the country. Her many years of experience and expertise crafting Pinot Noir and Riesling (Tongue in Groove’s obvious focus) show in these stunning wines with silky textures, purity and depth. The “Vine Tender” is Nick Gill, is one of the most talented viticulturalists in NZ. As we know, one of the most important elements of any wine is what goes on in the vineyard! Managing Director is Angela Clifford, she is the one who pulls together Tongue in Groove’s wacky personality and hones it into one pretty slick package! The distinctive labels each represent a different character from the group of friends behind TIG and the designs illustrate their individual personality traits; just like the character of the wondrous, diverse, expressive wines inside the bottles!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 95 JS 95

2013 Brewer-Clifton/K&L Wine Merchants "B-C. Kessler-Haak Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  A man walks into a bar and says, "Give me the best Pinot Noir you have". The bartender quickly retorts, "Why, that's the 2013 Brewer Clifton, straight from the Kessler Haak vineyard in St. Rita Hills." Not a very good joke, but a truly PHENOMENAL wine. Medium-bodied and chock-full of alluring red fruit, vanilla, cola and perfectly balanced spice, this is a Pinot for those craving something a bit MORE. Simply delicious!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  Rioja that's ready to drink now, drinkable on its lonesome, perfectly food-friendly, and costs -$$? What? This is an amazing value for the holidays, or any time of year, for that matter. Super-classic aromas of dusty red fruit and old man cigars, lightly savory and earthy with a touch of chocolate. This is delicious!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  Wow, what a rich, decadent wine. The nose provides some herbaceous, mineral-driven notes with plenty of black cherry, blackberry and violet to balance. The body is plush and juicy with fine, well-integrated tannins and notes of chocolate, fresh ground coffee, cherry, blueberry and cassis. A glass, maybe a bottle, of this as dessert sounds about right.

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  What a wonderful find in some of the best vineyard sites of the Chianti Classico region (Conca D’Oro). On the hillsides of the town of Panzano this IGT first pops with vibrant color in the glass and lovely shades of violet and plum. On the nose it burst with floral, spice and seamlessly layered oak! Deep, rich and alluring mouthfeel. It keeps you reaching for the glass. Espresso roast, cassis, blueberries, blackberries and a hint of smoky tar rounds out the finish. This is one full-bodied wine! But, with that great Italian acidity. A fantastic gift for the holidays or any day for that matter! Enjoy--I know I am.

2012 Frog's Leap Napa Valley Zinfandel
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  I love Frog's Leap wines for many reasons. The most important thing they do is make food-friendly wines that are balanced, sophisticated, restrained, friendly, and age-worthy. I'm super impressed by their Napa Zinfandel in particular because it is the way Zinfandel used to be made years ago, before all the "Prisoners and Opolos" of the world came to take over! The 2012 Frog's Leap Zin is super classic in style and varietally correct. Bright and focused fruit with wonderful acid and not over-oaked and alcoholic like so many of its counterparts. This is a Zin that will never go out of style. Blackberry, currant, cassis, with slight hints of tobacco leaf and cocoa nibs on the finish. Juicy without over-extraction, and wonderful integration of oak tannins.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart W&S 91 BC 0

2013 Spellbound California Chardonnay
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  Robert Mondavi Jr. hits it out of the ballpark again with the 2013 vintage of Spellbound Chardonnay. I have to say, this is the richest, creamiest, toastiest vintage of this wine I've tasted! You really can not beat the value here. Lots of buttered popcorn, creme brulee, caramel-dipped apple, and freshly buttered toast. This is A LOT of wine for the price! If you're a Cali-Chard fan, this is one not to miss!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Baccinetti is a tiny producer on Montlacino’s south face, their winery located kitty corner between Sesta di Sopra and Tenuta di Sesta. Giovanni and Mieke's wines come from their vineyard a mile or so west adjacent to Lisini. Their wines are pure, unadulterated and natural, the initial textural smoothness belies its complexity, the nose is racy, deep red fruit, gamey, filled with sauvage overtones full of rich strawberry fruit with layers of spice. Earth and leathery components back up the fruit and spice elements and finish the richly textured body with a subtle grip. It will benefit from some age, but is very drinkable now.
Drink from 2014 to 2019

2012 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  This wine has been a top value for quite some time now and the 2012 vintage does not disappoint! Rich fruit with a little spice that goes down smooth! Stock up!
Top Value!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese Toscana
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  Once again, incredible wine from one of our favorite Italian Direct Import producers. The combination of pure cherry fruit with great earth easily lives up to the Rosso/ Brunello di Montalcino standards without the price tag!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Malmaison, Moulis-en-Médoc
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  An amazing vintage from vineyards managed by the Rothschild family helps make the 2009 Malmaison Moulis a top Bordeaux deal! Pure, rich fruit, great spice, and a long finish. Beautiful wine that should not be missed!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Jean-Louis Denois Pinot Noir Brut Rosé
 By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  Stunning at this price! Thanks once again to our direct import, this little brut rose is a steal. Crisp, bright cherry, strawberry, and well balanced acidity. Perfect party pick!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Chartreuse "V.E.P." Green 1L
 By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  The most extraordinary digestif ever made. The most extraordinary anything ever made. My desert island one-and-only.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart WE 96-  100 BC 0

2013 Philippe Tessier "Le Point du Jour" Cheverny Rouge
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 11/30/2014 | Send Email
  Rose petals for miles flanked by briar, bramble and wild spice. I long for this wine.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Joël Taluau "Vieilles Vignes" St-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 11/30/2014 | Send Email
  This wine is big and structured and very good. It needs about one hour of decanting, and then opens up, providing soft big round flavors that will go well with hearty foods. I had it with chicken and it also went well with that.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 11/30/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is not your standard declassified Brunello (Rosso di Montalcino) from an exceptional Brunello producer, but a very special Montalcino bottling of Cabernet Sauvignon (33%), Merlot (33%), Montepulciano (17%), Alicante (17%), which I think Greg St.Clair had a hand in convincing the Ferreros to do. It is a wonderful wine with incredible richness, complexity, depth of character, and structure. Deep ruby in color, the high profiled nose offers up white pepper to anise characteristics with a blackberry to current fruit quality. Rich, broad, and viscous on the palate, this perfectly balanced and well-structured Tuscan Gem is nicely focused and long on the finish. This Gem has become one of our house reds for the month and more, according to Rusty......... 14.0% ABV
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 11/30/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is one of my favorite Pinots in the store, and not just because of the price, although that is a factor. It is from a great vintage and a second label from one of best Pinot producers in the state, Talley Vineyards, and it is a wonderful glass of wine to drink. Medium to medium deep ruby in color, the nose is bright and highly perfumed showing rose petals, red cherries to raspberry fruit aromas, with undertones of mild meaty to filings to slate-like notes. This Gem is well-integrated and structured, with the aforementioned components carrying over to a full, lush, viscous mouthfeel and an excellent mid-palate, good complexity, and a long, warm finish. Rusty has informed me that we need cases of this Gem in our collection, immediately… and so do you. It drinks great right now, but will improve and get better with a few more years in the cellar. I’m doing both! .......... 14.0% ABV
Drink from 2014 to 2019
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2010 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  Kudos to Joe Manekin, our Spanish buyer, for the work he has done to develop our Spanish direct import program. It has yielded astonishing results in just a few short years with some truly amazing wines available to our customers at incredible prices. Case in point? The 2010 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja at a mere $12.99. 100% Tempranillo lightly accented with oak. (Bodegas Puelles neatly bridges the traditional vs modern divide in Rioja and uses a 50/50 mix of American and French oak.) This 2010 vintage is by far the best we have offered, and really over delivers at this price point. A great introduction to the wines of Spain or to the Rioja region, and a superb value.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  Good California Pinot Noir under $20 is increasingly rare. Finding good California Pinot Noir for under $15 is like winning the lottery. And this 2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir is just the ticket. Ripe, sweet, almost candied red fruits – bright cherry and raspberry with just a hint of spice. Unbeatable quality at this price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  I will always have a soft spot for Sancerre. It was the first Loire Valley wine I discovered, leading me to eventually explore the entire region in all its vinous diversity. Unfortunately over the years prices on Sancerre have continued to rise. $20 to $30 per bottle is now typical. In order to keep prices low, we now have three different Sancerres that we import directly from France. The least expensive of these and the best value in my opinion is the 2013 Domaine Cherrier Père et Fils Sancerre at $16.99. This is classic Sancerre with ripe, tangy gooseberry and tart, fresh grapefruit notes. It is lively and fresh, and intensely mineral in expression with hints of fresh herbs like tarragon and savory. Try it with your favorite local goat cheese and a fresh sourdough baguette.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne (previously Cuvee Reserve)
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  "You had me at Meunier..." So rare to have a chance to enjoy Champagne that is 100% Pinot Meunier. As if that weren't enough, this is one of the few non-vintage cuvees we sell that is more than 50% reserve wine. Oh, and at less than $30 one of the best deals among our directly imported grower producer Champagnes. Still not sold on this one? Each bottle is sealed with genuine 16k gold foil. OK. That's not actually true. But everything else, you bet. What are you waiting for?
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  Always my favorite rosé champagne here at K&L. Drank it with Thanksgiving dinner this year. Quite dry with a pronounced red fruit character - crisp red apple and tart cherry. For die hard Pinot fans - 50/50 Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Kalinda "Cuvée Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  The quality of the vintage really shines through on this 2012 Kalinda Cuvee Reserve Willamette Valley Pinot Noir, a stunning collaboration between our domestic wine buying staff and the very talented folks at Trisaetum Winery in Oregon. Intriguingly floral on the nose with hints of earth and spice. Tons of ripe red and black fruits. Impressive weight and a rich, silky texture that you want to linger over. A superb effort and a terrific value at private label pricing.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Filippi "Castelcerino" Soave Colli Scaligeri
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/26/2014 | Send Email
  What a tremendously interesting white! Citrus, tart green apple, leesy richness, and a saline character that is a result of the volcanic soils in which the grapes are grown. Medium-plus quite zesty acidity. The length of this wine is significant--about 10 minutes after tasting, it was still lingering on my palate. A fabulous value--I am excited to give this a go with a cheese platter, roasted chicken or scallops!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Guy Saget "Marie de Beauregard" Vouvray
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 11/26/2014 | Send Email
  This is a really lovely off-dry Vouvray that has a bouquet of dried apricot, lemon blossom, honey and wet stone. On the palate, the wine is rich with mouth-watering acidity and a fine persistent finish. One sip just brings you back for another, and for this price a whole lot of wine.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2012 Mossio Dolcetto d'Alba "Piano Delli Perdoni"
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/26/2014 | Send Email
  Wow!!! This definitely gets THREE Stars from me, what a mouthful of wine. The elegant perfumes will entice you to want to jump into the glass; medium to full-bodied and very supple with overripe cherries, blackberries, bitter-sweet chocolate and lots on minerals with soft tannins. This wine has such great structure it will stand the test of time; the big problem will be keeping enough around to age it. Thinking risotto dishes or a grilled Portobello mushroom, but honestly I am actually drinking this one with some dried cheese & salami.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Savage "White" Western Cape
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  As I said in the Savage Red review, Duncan Savage is making stunning Sauvignon Blanc at Cape Point Vineyards and this wine is singing! Made from a barrel fermented blend of 60% Sauvignon Blanc and 40% Semillon, the bouquet offers notes of lanolin, honeysuckle, kumquat, a hint of tangerine peel and a light nutty character. On the palate, the wine is rich yet with a fine citric acid line and mineral accents that lead to a long finish. Gorgeous stuff...Bravo!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2011 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  This has to be one of the most intriguing whites I've tasted all year. Very complex on aromas--jasmine, yellow peach and bright citrus fruits up front; very elegant on the palate with a silky texture. Solid acidity to finish off and well balanced--makes me want to go back for more!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  Toasty warm aromas, full of vanilla, sweet tobacco and hints of dark chocolate. Definitely not shy, this bottle is full-bodied, with a strong tannin backbone, could age for a few more years and will pair amazingly with a grilled tomahawk chop!

2013 Guy Saget "Marie de Beauregard" Vouvray
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  Whoa! Simply gorgeous Vouvray! Honey, apricot, pear, citrus, mineral and zesty, fresh acid. A hint of sweetness with perfectly balanced acidity means this is a fabulous wine to pair with food. Bring on the winter sauces and game--we've got a white contender! If you loved last year's vintage of this wine, trust me, you're going to go nuts for this one!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2012 Filippi "Castelcerino" Soave Colli Scaligeri
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is an incredible wine, grown in volcanic soil and partially macerated on the skins. That skin contact adds a tremendous flavor boost, like Granny Smith apple skins on steroids, yet balance with superb acidity and minerality. The wine has weight, complexity, intense flavors and a sensational finish. Long, powerful and something you won't soon forget. Have it with grilled sea bass or lobster, it's an experience.
Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:   prev  1 2  3   next  >>