Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:   prev  1 2  3   next  >>
2012 André Ostertag "Vignoble d'E" Pinot Noir
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  Again, in my search for better Burgundy I end up looking to Alsace. My money for cool-climate pinot noir goes much further there and the fruit is much more approachable in its youth. The Ostertag has all the acidity and structure you're looking for in a village wine. Dark red fruits, subtle tannins, and a tangy finish. Perfect for whatever you were planning to pair with a bottle of Burgundy.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  All of the Millet Sancerres are fabulous, but the Insolite really tops them all. Its flinty qualities are subtler than the Vieilles Vignes and regular Sancerre, with stony, peach, honey and orange qualities. Rich and long and utterly delicious.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Le Clos du Château L'Oiselinière Muscadet Sèvre et Maine
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  Holy deliciousness! This is like no other Muscadet I've ever had--it has more in common with an aged Savennieres or a delicate Sherry. Notes of bruised apple and melon, with a hearty, nutty character. Savory, rich and incredibly long. My favorite wine of the day.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

2013 Domaine Guindon Muscadet Coteaux de la Loire Sur Lie
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  There is a common misconception about wine geeks that we spend a lot of money on wine. And while we might be willing to pony up more cash for a special bottle, many of us look for everyday drinking wines that over-deliver for the price. This Muscadet sings! Packed with peachy, nectarine fruit, with a musky undercurrent and a mineral/saline finish. More going on than your average crushed oyster shell Muscadet.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  This is not a simple summer rosé--I plan on having a few bottles on my table at Thanksgiving this year. I love its pretty, citrusy, strawberry-inflected nose. Juicy blood orange, wild strawberry and cherry fruit are strung together on the palate with tangy acidity. Delightful.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Franck Millet Sancerre Rouge
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  This is an unbelievably filigreed Pinot Noir. Lacy plum and rose petal aromas. On the palate this is juicy and delicious, the kind of wine I want at the table every night. Stunning.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Pascal Janvier "Cuvée du Rosier" Coteaux du Loir Rouge
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  Janvier is one of my favorite Loire Valley producers--see note on vintages of his Cuvee Silex, usually one of my top wines each year. But I was taken aback by this rouge, made entirely from Pineau d'Aunis. Even paler in color than the Reynouard version I also tried today, it was also even more fragrant. Notes of cola, raspberry, raspberry leaves and cedar carry over to the palate, which is taut and bright, with a firm grip on the finish. A red wine with the acidity of a white. Try it with a bit of a chill on it.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Guillaume Reynouard "K Sa Tête" Pineau d'Aunis
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  I was enchanted by this wine's pretty cranberry/rose petal hue, and once the slight hint of sulfur blew off, equally enchanted with the wine's peppery, red fruited nose. It dances on the palate, with light, tart cherry and cranberry fruit, a squeeze of citrus, and a vein of taut acidity that ties everything together.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Venus Spirits Gin 750ml
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  This one is coming home with me! I love it when a local, small production product delivers not just quality, but also excellent value. The wonderful, creamy texture of this gin is balanced by high toned citrus and grounded by clean juniper. I can't wait to get some fever tree tonic, lime and obnoxiously large ice cubes into this... It will be hard just to have one.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

La Cigarrera Manzanilla Sanlucar de Barrameda (375ml)
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  A true Manzanilla with a bouquet full of oysters, clams and salted toffee. A flavor intense palate of oceanic salt and seaweed, peanut butter, bitter almonds and squash. Impeccable quality, a crazy value. What a steal!!!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

El Maestro Sierra Fino Jerez de la Frontera (375ml)
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  At this stage, this delicate Fino has subtle notes of pecans, fresh apples, pie crust, and toasted pumpkin seeds with a mildly salty palate of butterscotch, almonds and bitter orange peel. Great companion to a tomato, basil salad!

2012 Eyrie Vineyards "Estate Grown" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/26/2014 | Send Email
  There is nothing better than tasting a great wine amongst the vines whose fruit produces that same wine. Several of us were fortunate enough to have this experience with the 2012 Eyrie Estate Grown Pinot Noir. But does the wine taste as memorably delicious within the confines of our roomy, comfortable, yet admittedly less romantic tasting bar in Redwood City? On Tuesday July 29th, during a staff tasting billed as a "Dog Day Afternoon," we confirmed that this wine is, not surprisingly, the real deal. This is supple and juicy Pinot Noir, with aromas of cherries, pretty florals and subtle savory tones. On the palate, more cherries, featuring a deeper pitch than the norm at Eyrie (particularly when compared to the light as a feather, red fruited, elegant beyond belief 2011 vintage.) That said, I do love the 2012 vintage of this wine as well. Wonderfully pure fruit, loads of drinkability, and beautiful texture - that illusive quality which certain wineries just tend to nail vintage after vintage. In case you could not tell, we all are big fans of Eyrie here and cannot recommend their wines highly enough!

2010 Mount Langi Ghiran "Billi Billi" Shiraz Grampians Victoria
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/26/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A great deal in Shiraz. From the cooler climate of the Grampians Mountain range in Victoria, this is a balanced style of Shiraz with plenty of fruit and concentration but also great structure and brightness. Mostly red fruited with some meat and black pepper nuances. Good mineral structure from the granitic soils and long, temperate growing season. Mt. Langhi's high end wines have a long held reputation of utmost quality but this entry level bottle shows they can hold their own in the value category as well! Fantastic value at $9.99! Crazy!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2013 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/26/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Screaming deal! Rich, medium-full bodied Pinot with great purity of fruit and silky smooth texture. Lots of exotic dark red fruits, toasted spices, suave oak, bramble fruit and cocoa dust. Really packs lot of flavor for such an inexpensive bottle, drinks above it's price point for powerful Pinot. Perfectly ripe and rich but without too much Alc (only 13.5%). Direct from the Importer pricing and big points means this is deal to be snapped up ASAP!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

1989 Lanessan, Haut-Medoc
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/25/2014 | Send Email
  I am glad that I wasn’t given this wine blind, because I would have missed it entirely. It was an impressive dark color and looked quite young in the glass. The bouquet had an amazing aroma of lavender in it, and that combined with a warm earthiness made it a dead ringer for old-fashioned Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Since my experience has taught me that first impression is always the most accurate when tasting blind, I would have blurted out Châteauneuf-du-Pape… And been dead wrong! The seamless, medium-bodied texture of the wine was all claret, and it lead into a mineral strewn, lively, long finish. I have often heard the term “exotic” applied to the very warm and ripe 1989 vintage, and now I know why. This is a truly exotic Bordeaux, but without the excess baggage of alcohol, wood and clumsy thickness that one usually has to endure to get that exoticism. If you have occasion to drink a special bottle of claret, this is a great candidate!
Drink from 2014 to 2029
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/25/2014 | Send Email
  Classic Pinot Noir cherry aromas are followed by delicious, medium-bodied cherry flavors. This wine is tasty alone or with chicken, salmon or vegetarian dishes. A great value for lovers of California Pinot Noirs.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/25/2014 | Send Email
  The best Rosso that I have tasted so far this year. It has the classic cherry aromas and flavors that are balanced and dry. This is a delicious wine and will go great with Italian-inspired foods.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 8/25/2014 | Send Email
  This is another top flight Pinot from Central Otago, and a new one in our portfolio as well. In fact, I was drinking this wine in downtown Napa five hours before the quake hit. So, it could have been the last wine I was to have drank in my glorious and wine-filled life. And that would have been just fine and without any regrets! The nose shows purity of fruit with dark plum and black cherry abundantly displayed with notes of earth and dried orange peel. On the palate, the wine is juicy, with good drive, structure and fine, supple tannins that lead to a long finish. Truly a lovely bottle of Pinot Noir.

Villa Sandi "Il Fresco" Rosé
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/25/2014 | Send Email
  This light pink bubbly is dry and refreshing. It is full of live and energy and should add sparkle to any occasion. It will go well with light foods or alone.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/23/2014 | Send Email
  This is a big, darker fruited, structured Pinot Noir. While it's certainly densely structured, there are also pretty floral notes, real fruit purity and an expression of place that even in an area as well regarded for PN as Central Otago, is not necessarily a given. Great Pinot Noir for a special occasion or for your cellar!

2013 Muddy Water Sauvignon Blanc Waipara Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/22/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Really pretty special Savvy. So rich and full of flavor and excellent lush texture. Juicy ripe fruit, mandarin, melon and Meyer lemon plus a fascinating lees element from the barrel ferment and maturation. Just a touch of yeasty tones and very subtle suggestion of oak means this is a very complex wine beyond the initial fruit attack. Organically farmed. Wild yeast ferment. Very minimal intervention winemaking. Excellent stuff!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 91

2012 Mount Trio Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Great Southern
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/22/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Wow, seriously $11.99! One of the best value Cabs I have tasted from anywhere...ever! From a small family estate in Porongurup (a region that is quickly establishing itself as one of the most exciting cool climate areas in Australia). Dense, concentrated dark fruits, sweet spices, chocolate hints and pipe tobacco. Broad and fleshy on the palate with excellent power and definition. Ripe tannins that are soft and silky, fresh acidity to balance the richness of the fruit. Really exceptional value for big cab drinkers. Would be a great deal at $20 so at this price it's a steal!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/22/2014 | Send Email
  I have to say my palate wasn't quite sure where to place this flavor profile Scotch or Bourbon...Bourbon or Scotch...? But the one thing my taste buds certainly weren't confused about was how delicious it is! There is plenty of the detail and delicacy of single malt but everything is lacquered with the exotic wood spice and richness of American oak. The two flavor bases (the malt and the wood) have married together really well making this a fascinating drop that I really think will please both types of whisk(e)y drinkers.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Mount Langi Ghiran "Billi Billi" Shiraz Grampians Victoria
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  A wine of this quality for $10 is a crazy good deal! The Mounth Langi Ghiran Shiraz is brimming with juicy black and blue fruits, chocolate, forrest floor earthy notes, and herbs. The bright acidity juicy tannins make this wine a very delicious and easy drinker. This would be a great choice for a wedding or other party, as well as a weekday sipper!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  This Pinot Noir from Pisa Range is so delicious! This wine is very complex with floral notes such as rose petal and violet, dark cherry and raspberry fruit, baking spices, and minerals. The palate is both elegant with refined tannins, and zesty with medium plus acidity. The tannins are well integrated, which allows for this wine to drink well now, but the lively acidity will help this wine age beautifully.

2012 Framingham Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  Thanks to hard work of our buyers, this is another great value Pinot Noir! This concentrated wine offers dark berry fruit, earthy, spice, and a slight smoky note. There were two Framingham wines in our staff tasting the other day and they were both delicious. It’s only a matter of time before this winery takes off!
Price: Hidden View Price WS 90 BC 0

2009 Kerrigan + Berry Cabernet Sauvignon Western Australia
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  This is one sexy wine! Your experience begins with an amazing nose of bright fruit and floral notes. Black fruit and cranberry, lavender, apricot, spice, mint and a hint of smoke envelope your palate. The silky smooth tannins with a long finish complete this very decadent wine. This wine is so well balanced and elegant, it is one of my favorite Cabernet Sauvignons I have tasted in a long time!

2012 Mount Trio Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Great Southern
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  Attention Cab lovers! This wine is loaded with ripe purple fruit, mint, eucalyptus and spice with well integrated tannins. All this equates to a great value wine! Whether you are looking to keep a delicious everyday drinking wine around the house, or to buy for a party (hello wedding wine!), I highly recommend stocking up on this gem.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Mount Langi Ghiran "Billi Billi" Shiraz Grampians Victoria
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  This big, rich, bold Shiraz over-delivers on every level! This beauty has wonderful dark fruits, a touch of spice and lively acidity. With such a smooth, satin textured finish, it's going to be easy to drink an entire bottle alone. If you're going to spend less than 15 dollars on a red wine to drink tonight, this should be on your list of contenders!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  I drank this very good Rosso Di Montalcino last night with Cinnamon's divine eggplant Parmesan. This wine is perfect for any dish that calls for something big and Italian, and has plenty of ripe, extroverted Sangiovese cherry fruit. The texture is lush, without going all the way over to the heavy side. The folks at Baricci have delivered again!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 York Creek "Estate" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  After the last few years I think just about everyone has heard us pontificating about just how good, and how insanely inexpensive, the York Creek wines are. Luckily for us and our thirsty customers Fritz Maytag kept deep cellars over the years and still has plenty of wine for us to sell. After the rousing success of the 1999 Meritage, which we sold almost 900 cases of, we bring two new wines to you from the fantastic 2005 vintage in Napa Valley. The 2005 Estate Cabernet Sauvignon was possibly my favorite wine in the most recent batch of wines tasted from this winery; I certainly thought it was the most crowd pleasing. With a nose packed full of red fruits, a pleasing minty/mountainous tone and a touch of Amaro-like herbal spice this is one complex and alluring nose. Supple, plush and broad on the palate, this Cab has worn its almost 10 years of age extremely well with little signs of oxidization or drying out in flavor. Perfectly ripe black currant, sweet-tinged pipe tobacco, sous bois and layers of super-fine tannin and a touch of vanilla from the oak are all wonderfully apparent in this long and completely drinkable wine. We don’t have nearly as much of this as we did the 1999 so I’d jump on this quick before it is never heard from again.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 York Creek "Sunny Hill" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  After the last few years I think just about everyone has heard us pontificating about just how good, and how insanely inexpensive, the York Creek wines are. Luckily for us and our thirsty customers, Fritz Maytag kept deep cellars over the years and still has plenty of wine for us to sell. After the rousing success of the 1999 Meritage, which we sold almost 900 cases of, we bring two new wines to you from the fantastic 2005 vintage in Napa Valley. The 2005 “Sunny Hill” bottling is from one of the numerous single block sites on Fritz’s property high above the valley floor in the famed Spring Mountain District. Fritz told me that the reason he started making all the single block wines was that he really wanted to understand the differences of the blocks of the vineyard. From 100% Cabernet Sauvignon, this wine was easily my favorite of all the single block wines Fritz let us taste on this go-around; sadly, we only have about 50 cases of this. The good news is that there plenty of other single blocks as well and all of them are tremendous in their own way. I thought this wine had the most complex and meshed nose of any of the wines we tasted from York Creek, with a lovely, seamless, masculine array of dusty berry fruit, cocoa powder, stone and a touch of olive. Still incredibly youthful and full of vigor, this wine could easily go another 10-15 years, yet is wildly delicious now with its recently maturing black-fruited ripeness, powerful yet ingrained tannin structure and lovely background notes of foresty evergreen and mushroom. This will certainly not last long and once those 50 cases are gone, well, they’ll be gone for good.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  Back in the late winter/early spring of this year I was really trying to identify a Chardonnay producer that we might be able to do a co-branded wine with. In looking at what we had and what was popular with our customers, I thought Talley would be a great fit for the project. We spoke and we both agreed that we really were excited to work with each other on this level. So at the end of June I drove down to Arroyo Grande to blend the wine with winemaker Eric Johnson out of barrel. There were 13 barrels for us to choose from, all of which were from one of Talley’s estate vineyards, Oliver’s Vineyard, and I got to select five of those barrels for this blend. What I found that day is that if I could have taken all 13 barrels, I would have. The quality of all the barrels was just superb and really showed off the vineyard and all of the subtleties that Chardonnay can have, but rarely does, in California. The final blend was actually the first we put together and while we futzed with it a bit, we agreed that this blend was always the best blend of the bunch. The nose showed a really delicate interplay of white floral notes, baked apple, sandy soil and a richer core of peach flesh and a hit of tropical fruits. With good entering cut and resonating energy and intensity throughout, this richly weighted Chardonnay never felt bogged down in anything excessive like oak or manipulated buttery richness. Instead it traded on its richly textured mid-palate and wealth of stone fruit and cleansing earth aspects as well as a lifting citrus oil note. I honestly couldn’t be happier with the way this wine came out. Thanks, Talley, for making us such an awesome wine!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Sherman & Hooker's Shebang! "Cuvee III" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  You may already be familiar with the Shebang red, which has been a big hit for a California red blend. Well, it is time to get acquainted another good bargain bottle from the folks at Bedrock: their third Sauvignon Blanc cuvee. Flavors of tangerine, lemon, and cantaloupe, set against a green shiso note, mark this tasty, tart white. This isn’t grassy, feline, or highly herbaceous, and should be a good all-arounder when a fresh, lighter bodied, inexpensive white is what you want.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  Cristal is really serious Champagne. Yes it is famous, yes it has a lot of hype, but behind all of that, there is some of best Champagne in the bottle you will find anywhere. The 2006 is a beautiful combination of ripe summer fruit that is characteristic of the vintage, and a driving minerality that comes from the chalky soil from estate-grown grapes. I was well impressed with the golden apple and pear notes that were delivered alongside super-fine bubbles and a precise mineral presence. A hint of nutty richness at the back-end of the palate adds just the perfect balance of richness. This is a wine that will develop in the cellar for years to come and will undoubtedly reward your patience.

2012 Viña Robles "Estate" Paso Robles Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Vina Robles is regularly seen at K&L. A winery with quality wines at fantastic prices. Everything produced by Vina Robles is from their estate vineyards. The Sauvignon Blanc comes from the Jardine Vineyard, which is a 280-acre vineyard planted between 1997-2000. The 2012 Sauvignon Blanc is a clean, crisp white with lovely acidity. Citrus, stone fruit a hint of richness in the mid-palate gives this wine a lovely mouthfeel.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2012 Mount Trio Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Great Southern
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  All the typical delicious fruit you'd expect from a great Cab blend, and a dash of mint. The fruit lingers on to the finish and ends with lively spice. A ridiculous value.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Springvale Vineyards "Melrose" Pinot Noir Tasmania
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  What a value!! The nose here has the lovely bright lifted fruit aroma I expect from a youthful new-age Pinot, while on the palate, a delicious crunchy fruit abounds. This wine is as easy sipping as they come. Three cheers for Tasmania!!!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Grey's Peak (Greystone) Pinot Noir Waipara
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Wow! I often tell customers that Pinot Noir is just too difficult to grow, too temperamental to make, and in far too high of demand for there to be great deals in it. The Greystone has proved me wrong. This reminded me of some of the best Pinot of the Russian River with its ripe, wild berry fruit and bacon nose and full body. This impressive, showy, long-finishing wine is a real discovery, and because of our direct relationship with the producer, a fantastic value.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2012 Mount Trio Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Great Southern
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Please ignore the word "Merlot" on the label--this is 94% Cab and tastes like it! This Great Southern Cabernet Sauvignon from Mount Trio is the best deal in ripe, curranty wine in the store, and folks looking for a good value in this variety should by a case right away! While it has plenty of ripe fruit, it isn't jammy or overwrought... It will have you coming back for more.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sittella Verdelho Swan Valley Western Australia
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Serious wine lovers should take note of this extraordinary and very serious Swan Valley Verdelho from Sittella. Out of 33 wines from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa in our staff tasting, I thought this was the most compelling. Be prepared--it is a high acid style and the last thing I would recommend for folks who prefer buttery, soft whites. I reminds me very much of the best, old vine Aligotes from Burgundy with its concentration, high-toned fruit and laser-like focus... All it needs is some oysters!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 92 BC 0

2010 Scali "Kalkis Vineyard" Pinotage Paarl
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  This is hands-down the finest expression of this varietal I have ever tasted. This smells like a clean, classy N. Rhone Syrah with its sweet, dark raspberry fruit, spice and iron minerality on the finish. This is sophisticated, perfectly proportioned and delicious. If you hate Pinotage or love Pinotage or have never tasted Pinotage, do yourself a favor and try this tonight.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Mount Langi Ghiran "Billi Billi" Shiraz Grampians Victoria
 By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another great deal, perfect for summertime grilling & parties. Beautiful berried Syrah, fresh and juicy with surprising structure for a wine at this price. A bit of spice and mouthwatering acidity round it out for a great overall package.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Ripe nose of fragrant white flowers, stone fruits and almonds. Light and delicate and soft on the palate. Rich and smooth, with a very small bead. Long finish. Quite drinkable now but, should age very well in the cellar. Should be available over the course of a year from now. Like the 2005, this one is rarin' to go right out of the chute.

2012 Grey's Peak (Greystone) Pinot Noir Waipara
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I just tasted this today (8/19) with Ryan Woodhouse, our Australia, New Zealand and South Africa buyer. It is quite stunning and is a step away from the usual style of NZ Pinot Noir. This is a riper effort with full, fairly lush red fruits and an amazing finish. Dark cherry fruit with balancing acidity makes this Pinot more substantial than many from the area. It is NOT, however, over-extracted or sweet. It IS a very drinkable, mouthfilling wine that will be just fine by itself or with a nice roasted chicken. Don't miss out on this one, as production is fairly small.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2011 Framingham "Classic" Riesling Marlborough
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Classic is right in the name. This is the complete Riesling! It's got the typical nose that belies its tasty, youthful profile. It has the fruit - but not too much. It has the acidity - but not too much. It has the sweetness - but it's not too much. In a word - balance! I've had the chance to taste some very tasty Rieslings from some of the best growers, and this bottle is making me reconsider how much a delicious Riesling has to cost. I don't expect this to last long!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Framingham Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Today's staff tasting was full of some of the best values in Pinot Noir I have tasted in a long time. The Framingham was one of the stars of the day. This big, spicy bacon and maple, ripe black fruit Pinot showed that their is more than just subtle style being made in Marlborough. If you like the wines of Santa Lucia, but are open to spending $25 instead of $50, you should check this big, charming Pinot out!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price WS 90 BC 0

2013 Springvale Vineyards "Melrose" Pinot Noir Tasmania
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Most of the time, when Pinot Noir is under $20, we only hope that it is red, wet and tastes OK. This Tasmanian wine from Springvale Vineyards breaks the price barrier with very good quality, generous, beet and cherry aromatics as well as good weight and fruit on the palate. A must try for Pinot Noir lovers looking for everyday wine!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sittella Sauvignon Blanc-Semillon Margaret River Western Australia
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  This clean, refreshing Sauvignon Blanc & Semillon blend from Margaret River in Western Australia offers incredible value. The Sittella is very poised, light bodied exceptionally long finishing. I loved the subtle honeyed notes and poised texture and can't wait to server it with a lobster roll or just by itself!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  This is a seriously good bottle of wine and I would put it up against any $40.00 Pinot Noir we carry. This has earthy aromas of dark fruits and wild berries touched by herb and spice nuances. The complex array of red and black fruit flavors is followed by a schist-like mineral finish showing fine grained tannins and great length. The impressive depth is tempered by balance and proportion.

Page:   prev  1 2  3   next  >>