Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev 7  8  9   next  >>
2012 Oakridge Single Vineyard Series "Guerin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/12/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Wow! I can see why a block was chosen from this vineyard to be Oakridge's prestigious 864 Single Block in 2012. A remarkably attractive Pinot with a super-pure, ripe berry fruit nose. Baking spices, dry leaves, subtle oak touches and dusty earth. Such a fragrant wine, a true Pinot bouquet. On the palate the wine matches up: Ripe berries in the dark red fruit spectrum, clove, subtle cinnamon stick, warm earth and new leather. A tight core of minerality adds another dimension on the finish that is fresh with lovely bright acidity. Beautiful, elegant Pinot, designed with food in mind, remarkable restraint and purity.
Top Value!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

2012 Oakridge Single Vineyard Series "Oakridge/Whitsend Vineyard" Shiraz Yarra Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/12/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Such an exciting expression of really cool climate Aussie Shiraz. I think in a blind tasting this would have pretty much everyone thinking: Northern Rhone. Peppercorn-rubbed red meat, violets and clove come forth on the nose. The palate is savory and brooding. Freshly crushed black fruits, some red, almost raspberry nuances sneak in along with more cracked black pepper, garrigue, thyme and warm dark earth. The wine has that lovely meaty / gamey edge that I just can't get enough of in Syrah / Shiraz.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

2012 Veramonte "Ritual" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 8/12/2014 | Send Email
  Bright, juicy red cherry, cassis, strawberry and black currant. Medium-plus acidity and soft tannin. So drinkable! Fabulous with burgers, BBQ ribs, salmon, grilled chicken or even just to start your cocktail hour, this fun little Pinot is a guaranteed hit at your next party!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Kerrigan + Berry Riesling Mt Barker Western Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/12/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Super racy, mineral-infused dry Riesling. Linear, focused and super zesty. Lovely bright acidity, real depth of flavor from the old vines. Amazing wine for shellfish. Will age for a decade plus.

2010 Mount Langi Ghiran "Billi Billi" Shiraz Grampians Victoria
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 8/12/2014 | Send Email
  The Billi Billi is a screaming deal for $10! The bouquet is packed with dark plum, blackberry, blueberry, violets and a hint of chocolate. On the palate, the wine is medium bodied with good balancing acidity keeping it bright, fresh and juicy. The perfect house red to keep on hand. Buy a case!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2013 Shoofly Wines Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 8/12/2014 | Send Email
  In Australia there are just three major regions that are known for producing Pinot Noir: the Mornington Peninsula, Tasmania and Yarra Valley. So, $10 for Yarra Valley Pinot is pretty crazy. The nose is bright and lifted, with raspberry, cherry, earth, dried tangerine peel, spice and a hint of minerals. On the palate, the wine is medium bodied with supple, silky tannins and good length. This is a super value for a daily drinking Pinot Noir. If you're a fan of California's Rickshaw or Angeline, you've got to give this a try.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2009 Kerrigan + Berry Cabernet Sauvignon Western Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/11/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Short and sweet...one of the best bottles of Cabernet I have had in quite sometime. Pure, rich, layered and with precise balance and wonderful length.
Drink from 2014 to 2024

2012 Oakridge Single Vineyard Series "d'Aloisio Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/10/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Classic Oakridge. Focus, drive, precision and ethereal texture. From the d'Aloisio vineyard, this wine shows a little more breath and generosity than some of the other SVS wines. The acid line is touch less firm and the fruit profile riper and slightly rounder. All of this is relative of course as winemaker David Bicknell crafts all of the Oakridge wines with linear persistence and restraint as his guiding mantra. Tastes like great white Burgundy...and will cellar like one too! The low pricing is reflective of our direct import deal cutting out all middle men. This is very serious Chardonnay.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2024

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 8/7/2014 | Send Email
  The Bruno Michel wines always deliver, but the "Blanche" with 6 years on the lees will surely please. The bouquet shows toasty baked apple with hints of nutmeg spice and ginger. On the palate the wine has a rich and creamy mid-palate with refreshing acidity and a persistent, long finish. Great bubbles, with that kind of lees age, for $35? Yeah, buddy!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 8/7/2014 | Send Email
  The juicy goodness that is Miguel Merino wine just keeps on comin'! Red plum, cassis, and blackberry with notes of meat and game. Elegantly integrated oak and tannin with balanced medium plus acidity. A really lovely wine from Miguel Merino, who continues to demonstrate that his wines can age with the subtle grace of the best of Rioja.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 8/7/2014 | Send Email
  Our friends at Zudugarai Amats bring it again! Zippy freshness with a hint of fizz and low alcohol- delish! Lime zest, mineral, green pear with a lively acidity that makes me reach for the bottle to pour another glass. It's time to kick off your shoes, break out the aged Manchego, olives and Marcona almonds, grab a glass, and hit the patio- it's Txak-O'Clock somewhere!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/7/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I absolutely love this wine's complex and traditional flavors but what really excites me is its supple nature. Still the classic length but wrapped in a richly textured wild fruit compote that balances that structure perfectly. The balance between the spice, leather, earth and that beautiful fruit is simply magnificent and to get it for this price is amazing. Although I think I could drink this wine on its own I'd suggest grilled meats or some aged Manchego.
Drink from 2014 to 2021
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosé Champagne
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  This is not a casual sipping rosé! On various occasions, I have enjoyed this and have it come across as rich and satisfying, or brooding and spicy, on one occasion I think I recall my tasting notes saying "good 1er cru Nuit-St-Georges with bubbles." However you describe it, you cannot argue against this being an intensely flavored, highly original Champagne with real personality.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  Though he is no pilot, I often hear our friend, gifted winery director and noted Rioja Raconteur, Miguel Merino speak of "cruise altitude" in his Riojas. What Miguel means is the moment at which point a wine starts developing real interest and a keen sense of balance between fruit, tannins and complex flavor development. This 2006 Vitola, to throw some Spanglish your way, está en plena "cruise altitude!" Awesome wine; I suggest you try some.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Loriot "Palmyre" Brut Nature Champagne
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Ok, if you are a fan of complex Champagne and on a budget, your ship just came in. This is a Brut Nature, but it avoids that lean and mean character, thanks to the ripe estate fruit selected for this cuvee. It has that rich and slightly gamy character I love in Meunier, coupled with the bright focus of Chardonnay. If you think of Champagne as an aperitif, consider trying this with a roasted whitefish such as halibut, and see why it is the perfect accompaniment to a meal.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  This 50% Chardonnay 50% Pinot Meunier blend, which is aged over four years on the lees, remains one of my all-time favorite Champagnes we stock here at K&L. This dry bubbly is rich and full with wonderful sweetness to the spiced apple fruit. The finish is so long, complex and persistent you will compare it to bottles costing three to four times as much. Super quality and super bang for the buck here.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne (previously Cuvee Reserve)
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  Exceptional quality for the money. Remarkably soft and elegant considering that the wine goes through no malo. Ripe orchard fruit and some softer stone fruit elements. Creamy lees texture and great persistence on the palate. One of our best values in all of Champagne.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2013 Kalinda Napa Valley Chardonnay
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  If you are tired of soft, blowsy California Chardonnay and have almost given up on the category this will surprise and refresh you. This is firm and toasty with stone fruit and lemon oil flavors, a touch of honey and a complex leesy note on the finish. There is wonderful freshness and vibrancy to this rich and beautifully balanced wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Churchill's "Estates" Douro
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  While many of the top, legendary 2011 vintage ports are beginning to disappear, we are continuing to see a deluge of excellent, top quality dry Douro reds. Given the terrific quality of the 2011 Port vintage (literally a once in a generation type of vintage) in this region, there is no reason not to dip your toes into the dry red wines from the same year; you will not be disappointed. Tasting this wine next to the 2010 vintage was very instructive: while the 2010 is a solid wine, 2011 has so much more intensity, volume, and length. It's a textbook Douro red from a great vintage, a wine that is impressive now and should cellar well in the mid term as well. There is no better vintage than 2011 to check out the unique dry red wines from the Douro.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart WS 93 BC 0

2012 Tikal "Jubilo" Mendoza
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  As with all things chez Tikal, this is a bigger, powerful wine. Smoky/savory oak aromas show mocha and some dark caramel, with the fruit lying in the background, but on the palate...different story. Chunky red and dark plum fruits show drier than what the nose suggests. Clearly there is good quality fruit used here, no surprise given that a Catena (Ernesto) is involved! Definitely a solid fuller bodied wine for your next cookout or grilled steak.

Fleury "Carte Rouge" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  Very rich, very concentrated in style. Lovely champagne from a biodynamic grower. Just flat-out excellent and an amazing value.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel Premier Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  From a single vineyard, with old selectoin massale vines (not commercial clones), planted a half-century ago. 1/2 has been through ML, half has not. It comes from a vineyard high on the hill, almost on the border with Epernay, so it is a cooler, more mineral rich enviforment. The vineayrd is a 1er Cru one, called Les Brousses. This has a modest 8g/liter of dosage, but such great drive and minerality it shows as a most amazing champagne. This is a Don't Miss! for me.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel Premier Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  This Champagne is from a site that is so cold, it typically has searingly high acidity (always in balance with the fruit in my opinion) which makes it one I love but that I recommend judiciously, only to those who love acidity as much as I do. I say "typically," though, because our most recent bottling is based on a warmer vintage, and combined with the colder vineyard site, this becomes a richer, yet still bright and vibrant Blanc de Blancs to recommend to many more people. This is always one of my favorite expressions of Chardonnay on our shelves.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  UPDATE... This recent batch, based on the 2006 vintage, with an incredible 6 years of time on the lees (good luck finding another Champagne for this price with as much lees ageing and overall balance), is damn good. As always the nose is bright, pure and friendly, inviting. On the palate there fruit is bigger and spicier than I recall, but still balanced by fresh acidity due to Bruno Michel's cooler vineyard sites. I have a review from a previous disgorgement below for some context: This is arguably, pound for pound, dollar for dollar, the most versatile and satisfying Champagne in the store. So bright tasting, with good minerality and delicious, juicy fruit. A colleague put it well when she called this champagne "friendly." I completely agree. It is indeed friendly, without sacrificing originality or wine geek appeal. One to always have on hand around the house (especially if you're inviting me over!)
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  This might be the best red under $20 in the store. If you have not tried any of the wines from super producer Miguel Merino, now is the time. This wine has such an open-knit, generous personality, some of the highest quality Tempranillo fruit I have ever tasted, and also texture, maturity and poise. It has it all... Just add lamb blocks!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I really like this wine, the nose is bursting with spiced apple brioche that just explodes out of your glass (use a BIG glass like we do, no flutes!)and continues on across the palate. The Blanche has such a unique expression of high acid and richness coupled with lots of age you can please edgy purists and those looking for more richness. Excellent finish, supple mousse, such a deal for the price!
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Stunning wine. Racy, pure, mineral infused Champagne with endless drive and verve. This wine always has such focus and vibrancy. Not a heavy toasty wine, rather one that has elegance, beautiful length and persistence on the palate. A fantastic aperitif wine with mouthwatering acidity and freshness. You need to try this Champagne for your next dinner party, it is very hard to beat at this price.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino is 100% Sangiovese and is full of complex, wild cherry fruit, with notes of tobacco leaf and has layers of what the Italians call sotto bosco (the flavor of the forest floor). On the palate the aromas are interwoven and backed up with a core of mineral, stone, earth and truffle flowing into ripe tannins where the acidity lifts and lengthens the finish. This is not a simple wine, rather one that is simply perfect with rustic Italian fare! Try it with roasted rabbit or rosemary-infused pork loin or Montalcino’s favorite pinci (thick, hand rolled noodles) pasta. Drinkable now over the next 3-5 years.
Drink from 2014 to 2019
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Loriot "Palmyre" Brut Nature Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This lovely Extra Brut is not your typical animal. It is dosaged at the highest point to be labeled Extra Brut, 6 grams per liter. So, this is a richer style of Extra Brut with bright pear and lemon flavors and a very clean, moderately acidic vintage. This is a great bridge between Brut and those teeth-chattering, no-dosage Brut Nature Champagnes.
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

2010 Oddero Barolo
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
  From the great 2010 vintage this wine brings aromas of dried cherry and roses, and on the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle, and a little Langhe dust, with a good tannin structure.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I just tried this wine (again) today (8/5) at a staff tasting and it is magnificent! We have had releases of this over the past several years and this latest one has an ultra-low dosage of under 4 grams per liter. It is a blend of 70% Chardonnay and 30% Pinot Meunier. The Chardonnay comes from vines that are 45 years old and the Pinot Meunier is from vines that are over 70 years old! Despite the low dosage and amazing acidity, this wine is amazingly rich, balanced and elegant. We likened it here to lemon cheesecake! A wonderful effort from a great winemaker!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another great vintage wine from Paul Vincent Ariston! Wonderfully bright, with stone fruits, lychee and green apple fruit. Lovely, very long and clean finish laden with salinity. A blend of 1/3 each of Pinot Noir, Pinot Meunier and Chardonnay. The best vintage since 1996! Collectors, take note!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $34.99
BC 0

2011 La Tour de By, Médoc
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
  Very dark garnet color. Nose of cassis, plum, vanilla, light coffee and chocolate. On the palate all come together framed by medium+ tannins and medium+ acidity, and a delicious savory note. It is easy drinking with a charming rusticity that I found very attractive and extremely food-friendly. 16 months oak aging, 30% new. They also have been prioritizing eco-friendly methods since the late 80s. How can one go wrong?

2009 Villegeorge, Haut-Médoc
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  Château Villegeorge, as La Tour Bessan in Margaux, and Duplessis in Moulis-en-Médoc, is owned and run by Marie-Laure Lurton (of the Lurton family) since 1992. Certified since 2003 by "Terra Vitis" as eco-friendly, practicing sustainable viticulture. This solid wine has a garnet color, and aromatics of cassis, blackberry, tobacco, delicate bell pepper that evolves to crushed stones after a while in the glass. Coffee, toasty vanilla oak, dark chocolate on the palate, with the coffee notes getting more apparent as it opens up. Medium-plus tannins and medium acidity. Although it is fleshy and definitely approachable, it has a firm grip. I enjoyed it immensely. The assemblage is 58% Cabernet Sauvignon with 42% Merlot. They are also a member of the Alliance des Cru Bourgeois du Médoc.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $21.99
BC 0

2010 Larrivaux, Haut-Medoc
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  This property is situated to the west of Saint-Joseph, and contrary to the common assumption, instead of Cabernet Sauvignon, is the Merlot that dominates the blend. Garnet/Ruby color. Cassis, plum, a touch of cedar, along with wet rocks and an intriguing meatiness greets you on the nose. On the palate: Coffee, cassis again, and a delicious note of oak toast. Medium tannins and medium+ acidity, makes it a very supple wine, that is a pleasure to drink now or to be put away for a little while. The assemblage according to their website is: 60% Merlot, 26% Cabernet Sauvignon, 8% Cabernet Franc and 6% Petit Verdot. Great value.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1994 Gruaud-Larose, St-Julien
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  Cinnamon and I enjoyed this claret last night with a ribeye steak and potatoes. Cinnamon decided to be avant-garde on this occasion, and instead of peas or green beans served pan seared padron peppers. We put a touch of truffle salt on the steaks after cooking them, and the meal turned out very nicely. How did the Gruaud work? It was predictably great with the food. This 1994 has the poise and power of a great vintage at 20 years old, and seems to just be hitting its stride. It has a huge amount of pure, dark cassis fruit, integrated but very present tannins, and lots of electricity on the long, mineral laden finish. It took discipline for me not to hog the bottle, but it was too good not to share fairly with Cinnamon!
Drink from 2014 to 2034
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Calon Ségur, St-Estèphe Pre-Arrival
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  One of my perennial favorite producers. The 2013 vintage has a distinctive Calon Segur-esque feel. The personality of Calon Segur can get obscured in some vintages, but in a challenging vintage like 2013 it really shines through. Berry fruit and notes of intense boysenberry lead, with hints of menthol and spice.

2013 Calon Ségur, St-Estèphe Pre-Arrival
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  A blend of 75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 17% Cabernet Franc, 6% Merlot and 2% Petit Verdot, the 2013 Calon Segur shows aromas and flavors of coffee, black tea, red cherries and dried tobacco leaf. This is a rustic style wine in every vintage, but I do find the 2013 to have plenty of fruit to carry through to the finish. Tannins are firm and sturdy. 89-91 points.

2013 Calon Ségur, St-Estèphe (1.5L) Pre-Arrival
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  A blend of 75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 17% Cabernet Franc, 6% Merlot and 2% Petit Verdot, the 2013 Calon Segur shows aromas and flavors of coffee, black tea, red cherries and dried tobacco leaf. This is a rustic style wine in every vintage, but I do find the 2013 to have plenty of fruit to carry through to the finish. Tannins are firm and sturdy. 89-91 points.

2013 Calon Ségur, St-Estèphe (1.5L) Pre-Arrival
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  One of my perennial favorite producers. The 2013 vintage has a distinctive Calon Segur-esque feel. The personality of Calon Segur can get obscured in some vintages, but in a challenging vintage like 2013 it really shines through. Berry fruit and notes of intense boysenberry lead, with hints of menthol and spice.

2013 Les Roches Sauvignon Touraine
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 8/1/2014 | Send Email
  We have carried this wine for a couple years now and I have always enjoyed it. The 2013 just came in last week and...wow! The BEST yet! Three stars from Guido. Lots of limestone and flint on the palate, has wonderful length and is food friendly. This would be a great luncheon wine -- maybe baked goat cheese with fines herbs and baguette?
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro Alvarinho Vinho Regional Minho
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/1/2014 | Send Email
  As always one of the best value summer whites in the store. Just so fresh, zesty and refreshing. Lime zest, white flower, juicy citrus all enlivened by the little spritz. Very easy to drink with its moderate alcohol. This is a must-have for the summer heat. Exceptional value!

Willett Distillery 2 Year Old Kentucky Rye Whiskey 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 8/1/2014 | Send Email
  This is the most exciting young rye I've tasted in years, mainly because it's the first new KENTUCKY rye that actually tastes like rye bread, with that sweet hint of corn. I've given out samples of this to friends from St. George distillery, and other folks that I know who make whiskey for a living; they all have nothing but praise for the Kulsveen's latest project. You have to understand: most of the rye on the market is all from MGP distillery in Indiana, even if it says Bulleit, Dickel, Templeton, or Redemption. It's been purchased in bulk and simply relabeled. The Willett is actual home-made Kentucky rye, a la Rittenhouse and Sazerac, that tastes like real rye whiskey should. Add in the cask strength proof and the fiery spices and you've got one helluva product. I CANNOT WAIT for this to turn four or five years old! Bravo!
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Stolzle Universal Bordeaux Glass (ship as 6pk only)
 By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Here's a fantastic value solution to your wine glass needs. It's a great Cabernet/Merlot shape and we got a fantastic closeout price.
Top Value!
Price: $3.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Tamarack Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  This may be the least expensive Cab in our stock that will age beautifully for a decade or more, It's solid, well-made, masculine and has a nice acidity to keep it fresh on the palate. Decant and drink now or age for 5-15 years. Just do not miss it entirely and regret it later.
Top Value!

2012 Mount Eden Santa Cruz Mountains Rosé of Cabernet Franc
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  The winery made a tiny quantity of this wine (2 barrels), But we loved it so much we talked them out of 20% of the production for us to sell. Grab yours now, or the staff will buy all that is available of this amazingly fresh and bright rose.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Lagier Meredith Mount Veeder Syrah
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Fantastic New World Syrah, with a delicious entry, big fruit, but enough acid and structure to make the package balance beautifully. This is not only delicious, it is also approachable now, which is a bonus.

2013 Cantina Terlan "Terlaner Classico" Terlano
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  This blend of three different grape varieties, grown in the classic district of Terlano (South-Tyrol), is as versatile a wine as you'll find from anywhere, and a seriously good value besides. A blend used quite successfully for over 100 years, this cuvee of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc, fermented at controlled temperature in stainless steel vats offers fruity aromatics with light yeasty notes and a taste that is always harmonious though quite strong on the palate and very persistent.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Remo Farina Valpolicella Ripasso
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Valpolicella has undergone an amazing transformation from the 60s Bolla version with a red-checked tablecloth to the suave and ultra-hip wine region. This ripasso is a midway point between simple and fresh and the power and size of the Amarone taking the best from both. A wine to drink straight from the bottle, with a straw or with roasted rabbit, or complex pasta dishes. Rockin' Ripasso!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  For under $10 this is a solid everyday red that is perfect with just about everything. It's got a purple hue, and supple, blueberry and violet undertones that give lift to its inky, soft texture. Polished and clean with a velvety soft finish, this is a wine that can be drunk whatever the season. If its hot out, put a slight chill on it; pair it with everything from salmon to roast chicken or Argentine steak!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<   prev 7  8  9   next  >>