Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev  4  5 6   next  >>
2013 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/26/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Screaming deal! Rich, medium-full bodied Pinot with great purity of fruit and silky smooth texture. Lots of exotic dark red fruits, toasted spices, suave oak, bramble fruit and cocoa dust. Really packs lot of flavor for such an inexpensive bottle, drinks above it's price point for powerful Pinot. Perfectly ripe and rich but without too much Alc (only 13.5%). Direct from the Importer pricing and big points means this is deal to be snapped up ASAP!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

1989 Lanessan, Haut-Medoc
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/25/2014 | Send Email
  I am glad that I wasn’t given this wine blind, because I would have missed it entirely. It was an impressive dark color and looked quite young in the glass. The bouquet had an amazing aroma of lavender in it, and that combined with a warm earthiness made it a dead ringer for old-fashioned Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Since my experience has taught me that first impression is always the most accurate when tasting blind, I would have blurted out Châteauneuf-du-Pape… And been dead wrong! The seamless, medium-bodied texture of the wine was all claret, and it lead into a mineral strewn, lively, long finish. I have often heard the term “exotic” applied to the very warm and ripe 1989 vintage, and now I know why. This is a truly exotic Bordeaux, but without the excess baggage of alcohol, wood and clumsy thickness that one usually has to endure to get that exoticism. If you have occasion to drink a special bottle of claret, this is a great candidate!
Drink from 2014 to 2029
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/25/2014 | Send Email
  Classic Pinot Noir cherry aromas are followed by delicious, medium-bodied cherry flavors. This wine is tasty alone or with chicken, salmon or vegetarian dishes. A great value for lovers of California Pinot Noirs.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/25/2014 | Send Email
  The best Rosso that I have tasted so far this year. It has the classic cherry aromas and flavors that are balanced and dry. This is a delicious wine and will go great with Italian-inspired foods.

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 8/25/2014 | Send Email
  This is another top flight Pinot from Central Otago, and a new one in our portfolio as well. In fact, I was drinking this wine in downtown Napa five hours before the quake hit. So, it could have been the last wine I was to have drank in my glorious and wine-filled life. And that would have been just fine and without any regrets! The nose shows purity of fruit with dark plum and black cherry abundantly displayed with notes of earth and dried orange peel. On the palate, the wine is juicy, with good drive, structure and fine, supple tannins that lead to a long finish. Truly a lovely bottle of Pinot Noir.

Villa Sandi "Il Fresco" Rosé
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/25/2014 | Send Email
  This light pink bubbly is dry and refreshing. It is full of live and energy and should add sparkle to any occasion. It will go well with light foods or alone.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/23/2014 | Send Email
  This is a big, darker fruited, structured Pinot Noir. While it's certainly densely structured, there are also pretty floral notes, real fruit purity and an expression of place that even in an area as well regarded for PN as Central Otago, is not necessarily a given. Great Pinot Noir for a special occasion or for your cellar!

2013 Muddy Water Sauvignon Blanc Waipara Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/22/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Really pretty special Savvy. So rich and full of flavor and excellent lush texture. Juicy ripe fruit, mandarin, melon and Meyer lemon plus a fascinating lees element from the barrel ferment and maturation. Just a touch of yeasty tones and very subtle suggestion of oak means this is a very complex wine beyond the initial fruit attack. Organically farmed. Wild yeast ferment. Very minimal intervention winemaking. Excellent stuff!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 91

2010 Mount Langi Ghiran "Billi Billi" Shiraz Grampians Victoria
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  A wine of this quality for $10 is a crazy good deal! The Mounth Langi Ghiran Shiraz is brimming with juicy black and blue fruits, chocolate, forrest floor earthy notes, and herbs. The bright acidity juicy tannins make this wine a very delicious and easy drinker. This would be a great choice for a wedding or other party, as well as a weekday sipper!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  This Pinot Noir from Pisa Range is so delicious! This wine is very complex with floral notes such as rose petal and violet, dark cherry and raspberry fruit, baking spices, and minerals. The palate is both elegant with refined tannins, and zesty with medium plus acidity. The tannins are well integrated, which allows for this wine to drink well now, but the lively acidity will help this wine age beautifully.

2012 Framingham Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  Thanks to hard work of our buyers, this is another great value Pinot Noir! This concentrated wine offers dark berry fruit, earthy, spice, and a slight smoky note. There were two Framingham wines in our staff tasting the other day and they were both delicious. It’s only a matter of time before this winery takes off!

2009 Kerrigan + Berry Cabernet Sauvignon Western Australia
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  This is one sexy wine! Your experience begins with an amazing nose of bright fruit and floral notes. Black fruit and cranberry, lavender, apricot, spice, mint and a hint of smoke envelope your palate. The silky smooth tannins with a long finish complete this very decadent wine. This wine is so well balanced and elegant, it is one of my favorite Cabernet Sauvignons I have tasted in a long time!

2010 Mount Langi Ghiran "Billi Billi" Shiraz Grampians Victoria
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  This big, rich, bold Shiraz over-delivers on every level! This beauty has wonderful dark fruits, a touch of spice and lively acidity. With such a smooth, satin textured finish, it's going to be easy to drink an entire bottle alone. If you're going to spend less than 15 dollars on a red wine to drink tonight, this should be on your list of contenders!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  I drank this very good Rosso Di Montalcino last night with Cinnamon's divine eggplant Parmesan. This wine is perfect for any dish that calls for something big and Italian, and has plenty of ripe, extroverted Sangiovese cherry fruit. The texture is lush, without going all the way over to the heavy side. The folks at Baricci have delivered again!

2005 York Creek "Estate" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  After the last few years I think just about everyone has heard us pontificating about just how good, and how insanely inexpensive, the York Creek wines are. Luckily for us and our thirsty customers Fritz Maytag kept deep cellars over the years and still has plenty of wine for us to sell. After the rousing success of the 1999 Meritage, which we sold almost 900 cases of, we bring two new wines to you from the fantastic 2005 vintage in Napa Valley. The 2005 Estate Cabernet Sauvignon was possibly my favorite wine in the most recent batch of wines tasted from this winery; I certainly thought it was the most crowd pleasing. With a nose packed full of red fruits, a pleasing minty/mountainous tone and a touch of Amaro-like herbal spice this is one complex and alluring nose. Supple, plush and broad on the palate, this Cab has worn its almost 10 years of age extremely well with little signs of oxidization or drying out in flavor. Perfectly ripe black currant, sweet-tinged pipe tobacco, sous bois and layers of super-fine tannin and a touch of vanilla from the oak are all wonderfully apparent in this long and completely drinkable wine. We don’t have nearly as much of this as we did the 1999 so I’d jump on this quick before it is never heard from again.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 York Creek "Sunny Hill" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  After the last few years I think just about everyone has heard us pontificating about just how good, and how insanely inexpensive, the York Creek wines are. Luckily for us and our thirsty customers, Fritz Maytag kept deep cellars over the years and still has plenty of wine for us to sell. After the rousing success of the 1999 Meritage, which we sold almost 900 cases of, we bring two new wines to you from the fantastic 2005 vintage in Napa Valley. The 2005 “Sunny Hill” bottling is from one of the numerous single block sites on Fritz’s property high above the valley floor in the famed Spring Mountain District. Fritz told me that the reason he started making all the single block wines was that he really wanted to understand the differences of the blocks of the vineyard. From 100% Cabernet Sauvignon, this wine was easily my favorite of all the single block wines Fritz let us taste on this go-around; sadly, we only have about 50 cases of this. The good news is that there plenty of other single blocks as well and all of them are tremendous in their own way. I thought this wine had the most complex and meshed nose of any of the wines we tasted from York Creek, with a lovely, seamless, masculine array of dusty berry fruit, cocoa powder, stone and a touch of olive. Still incredibly youthful and full of vigor, this wine could easily go another 10-15 years, yet is wildly delicious now with its recently maturing black-fruited ripeness, powerful yet ingrained tannin structure and lovely background notes of foresty evergreen and mushroom. This will certainly not last long and once those 50 cases are gone, well, they’ll be gone for good.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  Back in the late winter/early spring of this year I was really trying to identify a Chardonnay producer that we might be able to do a co-branded wine with. In looking at what we had and what was popular with our customers, I thought Talley would be a great fit for the project. We spoke and we both agreed that we really were excited to work with each other on this level. So at the end of June I drove down to Arroyo Grande to blend the wine with winemaker Eric Johnson out of barrel. There were 13 barrels for us to choose from, all of which were from one of Talley’s estate vineyards, Oliver’s Vineyard, and I got to select five of those barrels for this blend. What I found that day is that if I could have taken all 13 barrels, I would have. The quality of all the barrels was just superb and really showed off the vineyard and all of the subtleties that Chardonnay can have, but rarely does, in California. The final blend was actually the first we put together and while we futzed with it a bit, we agreed that this blend was always the best blend of the bunch. The nose showed a really delicate interplay of white floral notes, baked apple, sandy soil and a richer core of peach flesh and a hit of tropical fruits. With good entering cut and resonating energy and intensity throughout, this richly weighted Chardonnay never felt bogged down in anything excessive like oak or manipulated buttery richness. Instead it traded on its richly textured mid-palate and wealth of stone fruit and cleansing earth aspects as well as a lifting citrus oil note. I honestly couldn’t be happier with the way this wine came out. Thanks, Talley, for making us such an awesome wine!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Sherman & Hooker's Shebang! "Cuvee III" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  You may already be familiar with the Shebang red, which has been a big hit for a California red blend. Well, it is time to get acquainted another good bargain bottle from the folks at Bedrock: their third Sauvignon Blanc cuvee. Flavors of tangerine, lemon, and cantaloupe, set against a green shiso note, mark this tasty, tart white. This isn’t grassy, feline, or highly herbaceous, and should be a good all-arounder when a fresh, lighter bodied, inexpensive white is what you want.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  Cristal is really serious Champagne. Yes it is famous, yes it has a lot of hype, but behind all of that, there is some of best Champagne in the bottle you will find anywhere. The 2006 is a beautiful combination of ripe summer fruit that is characteristic of the vintage, and a driving minerality that comes from the chalky soil from estate-grown grapes. I was well impressed with the golden apple and pear notes that were delivered alongside super-fine bubbles and a precise mineral presence. A hint of nutty richness at the back-end of the palate adds just the perfect balance of richness. This is a wine that will develop in the cellar for years to come and will undoubtedly reward your patience.

2012 Viña Robles "Estate" Paso Robles Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Vina Robles is regularly seen at K&L. A winery with quality wines at fantastic prices. Everything produced by Vina Robles is from their estate vineyards. The Sauvignon Blanc comes from the Jardine Vineyard, which is a 280-acre vineyard planted between 1997-2000. The 2012 Sauvignon Blanc is a clean, crisp white with lovely acidity. Citrus, stone fruit a hint of richness in the mid-palate gives this wine a lovely mouthfeel.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2013 Spring Vale Estate "Melrose Vineyard" Pinot Noir Tasmania
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  What a value!! The nose here has the lovely bright lifted fruit aroma I expect from a youthful new-age Pinot, while on the palate, a delicious crunchy fruit abounds. This wine is as easy sipping as they come. Three cheers for Tasmania!!!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Grey's Peak (Greystone) Pinot Noir Waipara
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Wow! I often tell customers that Pinot Noir is just too difficult to grow, too temperamental to make, and in far too high of demand for there to be great deals in it. The Greystone has proved me wrong. This reminded me of some of the best Pinot of the Russian River with its ripe, wild berry fruit and bacon nose and full body. This impressive, showy, long-finishing wine is a real discovery, and because of our direct relationship with the producer, a fantastic value.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 96 JS 93

2013 Sittella Verdelho Swan Valley Western Australia
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Serious wine lovers should take note of this extraordinary and very serious Swan Valley Verdelho from Sittella. Out of 33 wines from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa in our staff tasting, I thought this was the most compelling. Be prepared--it is a high acid style and the last thing I would recommend for folks who prefer buttery, soft whites. I reminds me very much of the best, old vine Aligotes from Burgundy with its concentration, high-toned fruit and laser-like focus... All it needs is some oysters!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 92 BC 0

2010 Scali "Kalkis Vineyard" Pinotage Paarl
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  This is hands-down the finest expression of this varietal I have ever tasted. This smells like a clean, classy N. Rhone Syrah with its sweet, dark raspberry fruit, spice and iron minerality on the finish. This is sophisticated, perfectly proportioned and delicious. If you hate Pinotage or love Pinotage or have never tasted Pinotage, do yourself a favor and try this tonight.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Mount Langi Ghiran "Billi Billi" Shiraz Grampians Victoria
 By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another great deal, perfect for summertime grilling & parties. Beautiful berried Syrah, fresh and juicy with surprising structure for a wine at this price. A bit of spice and mouthwatering acidity round it out for a great overall package.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Ripe nose of fragrant white flowers, stone fruits and almonds. Light and delicate and soft on the palate. Rich and smooth, with a very small bead. Long finish. Quite drinkable now but, should age very well in the cellar. Should be available over the course of a year from now. Like the 2005, this one is rarin' to go right out of the chute.

2012 Grey's Peak (Greystone) Pinot Noir Waipara
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I just tasted this today (8/19) with Ryan Woodhouse, our Australia, New Zealand and South Africa buyer. It is quite stunning and is a step away from the usual style of NZ Pinot Noir. This is a riper effort with full, fairly lush red fruits and an amazing finish. Dark cherry fruit with balancing acidity makes this Pinot more substantial than many from the area. It is NOT, however, over-extracted or sweet. It IS a very drinkable, mouthfilling wine that will be just fine by itself or with a nice roasted chicken. Don't miss out on this one, as production is fairly small.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 96 JS 93

2011 Framingham "Classic" Riesling Marlborough
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Classic is right in the name. This is the complete Riesling! It's got the typical nose that belies its tasty, youthful profile. It has the fruit - but not too much. It has the acidity - but not too much. It has the sweetness - but it's not too much. In a word - balance! I've had the chance to taste some very tasty Rieslings from some of the best growers, and this bottle is making me reconsider how much a delicious Riesling has to cost. I don't expect this to last long!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Framingham Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Today's staff tasting was full of some of the best values in Pinot Noir I have tasted in a long time. The Framingham was one of the stars of the day. This big, spicy bacon and maple, ripe black fruit Pinot showed that their is more than just subtle style being made in Marlborough. If you like the wines of Santa Lucia, but are open to spending $25 instead of $50, you should check this big, charming Pinot out!
Top Value!

2013 Spring Vale Estate "Melrose Vineyard" Pinot Noir Tasmania
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Most of the time, when Pinot Noir is under $20, we only hope that it is red, wet and tastes OK. This Tasmanian wine from Springvale Vineyards breaks the price barrier with very good quality, generous, beet and cherry aromatics as well as good weight and fruit on the palate. A must try for Pinot Noir lovers looking for everyday wine!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sittella Sauvignon Blanc-Semillon Margaret River Western Australia
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  This clean, refreshing Sauvignon Blanc & Semillon blend from Margaret River in Western Australia offers incredible value. The Sittella is very poised, light bodied exceptionally long finishing. I loved the subtle honeyed notes and poised texture and can't wait to server it with a lobster roll or just by itself!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia
 By: Amy Monroe | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Who knew sub-$20 Pinot Noir could taste this good? Cherry, vanilla, and just a hint of mint. A surefire crowd-pleaser that's perfect for your next dinner party.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Amy Monroe | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  From the world's southernmost winegrowing region comes an exceptional effort in Pinot Noir that is not to be missed. Violet, black cherry, plum, a hint of minerality, and an amazing texture. If you can keep your hands off it, this is a wine that will be doubly rewarding after a few years in the cellar. If you can't, give it a splash in a decanter, and then prepare to be impressed.

2013 Spring Vale Estate "Melrose Vineyard" Pinot Noir Tasmania
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Super cool Pinot Noir from Tasmania. Very elegant, bright and juicy. Lovely, fine, soft structure. Pure fruit, sweet spice and a sprinkle of dusty earth. A perfect wine for lighter dishes when you still feel like a glass of red. For grilled salmon, chicken etc. Super easy-drinking and the price is spot-on for everyday enjoyment. I will be drinking this wine regularly this summer / fall. An exciting (and excellent value) first direct import from Tasmania!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1988 Domaine de Baraillon 26 Year Old K&L Exclusive Folle Blanche Armagnac 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
  Excellent classic Armagnac that is authentic and special. It has nice fruit flavors with a wonderful rustic earthiness. The finish is long and interesting.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/17/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Profound Pinot. Very deep and layered. Starts out with its quite beautiful bright purple / red color and vivid hues. The nose is haunting with spiced violets, thyme, black cherry compote and crushed slate. On the palate the wine is rich and energetic. Layers of dark berries, black cherry, damson plum, and toasted spices. Under all of these flavors is a fascinating vein of raw minerality and slightly wild bramble character. Plenty metamorphic soil qualities showing here in flavor and texture. Despite being quite concentrated and powerful there is nothing heavy or highly extracted about the wines, it is not viscous on the palate but rather lithe and dynamic. This wine again shows the incredible quality to be found in the 2012 Central Otago Pinots. Many believe it is the best vintage ever for the region and after glass of wine like this I can see why!
Drink from 2014 to 2024

2012 Mount Trio Estate Riesling Porongurup Western Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Limey, juicy, floral and fresh. Lovely pure, dry Riesling. Tons of citrus flavors, preserved lemon, marmalade laced with stoney minerals and white blossom. Real drive and presence on the palate with med+ acidity and a mouthwatering finish. Exceptional value in Riesling. This wine just makes me wonder more than ever why Riesling isn't very popular...I could drink this every night! It also shows how this region is producing some of Australia's most exciting aromatic whites.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

2011 Mount Trio Estate Shiraz Porongurup Western Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Rich, ripe, juicy Shiraz with wonderfully bright aromatics and tons of soft fleshy mid palate weight. Quite a fruit driven style but with lovely savory / earthy nuances to keep it varietally correct and not moving into "fruit bomb" territory. Big, bold flavors but with ample balance and freshness. Asian spices show on the finish that is long and silky. This is sure to be a hit and won't last long.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

2013 Mount Trio Sauvignon Blanc Great Southern
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/16/2014 | Send Email
  Fresh, juicy, crisp Sauvignon Blanc at a stunning price. Citrus, white florals, lemon grass and fresh crushed herbs. Super refreshing, crisp and dry. A great everyday white that is perfect with seafood, spicy cuisine or just by itself! Exceptional value.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart JH 92 BC 0

2012 Lambuena Roble "4 Meses en Barrica" Ribera del Duero
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 8/15/2014 | Send Email
  I've been saying it for the past seven years: red wine value is centered in Spain. Obviously, there is more to wine than just the flavor. There's intrigue, history, legendary vineyard sites, etc. But there's something to be said for just a great wine at a great price, and with the Lambuena, you're not sacrificing any of the above mentioned characteristics. Lambuena's fruit is grown in one of the best terroir locations in the Ribera del Duero, they add a touch of Merlot, a al Vega Sicilia, and the fruit is bio-dynamically grown. And, again, it's juicy, delicious, deep, and engrossing, and it's $12.99.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/14/2014 | Send Email
  The Louis Roederer Cristal is a famous Champagne, and deserves to be an even more famous wine. This all estate grown Champagne comes from fifty hectares of the chalkiest, oldest vine sites on Roederer's 240 hectare estate. They farm these vineyards especially for Cristal, restricting the yields, and for many of the plots farming organically. This 2006 reminds me very much of the 2002 when it was this age; creamy and very mineral at once. It manages to have a full body and retain an extraordinary chalky freshness--I think this will be one of the greats.
Drink from 2014 to 2056

2008 Louis Roederer Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/14/2014 | Send Email
  This entirely estate grown Champagne comes from Avize, Mesnil and Cramant and is harvested riper than most. It sees about 25% wood fermentation, and is made at a lower pressure, about 4 atmospheres, than most Champagne. This is the smallest production wine from Champagne Louis Roederer, and the 2008 is very special, with extraordinary, voluminous white flower and baguette aromas. The wine has a perfect texture and bead, and the finish that one would expect from one of the best and highest acid vintages in a generation. It is long, serious stuff!
Drink from 2014 to 2048
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Veuve Clicquot "La Grande Dame-Silhouette Box" Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/14/2014 | Send Email
  This is exceptional stuff, made entirely from Grand Cru vineyards, and from a vintage that we have not seen the likes of since 1988, or after 2004. It is composed of 61% Pinot Noir from Ay, Verzenay, Verzy, Ambonnay and Bouzy and 39% Chardonnay from Avize, Oger and Mesnil. It has a lovely hazelnut nose, with high quality croissant toast, and a clean, long, crisp impression on the palate. This will be great for a special occasion tonight, or for many, many years to come.
Drink from 2014 to 2029

2013 Shoofly Wines Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/13/2014 | Send Email
  Remarkable value Pinot! It's very hard to find solid Pinot Noir in the sub-$20 zone, let alone the sub-$10! Easy juicy fruit, lots of fruit, spice, subtle smoky, earthy characters that make this undeniably Pinot Noir (something that can't be said for all wines in this price point)! It also shows its Yarra Valley heritage with elegant structure and cool profile fruit. I have no idea how these guys make such solid wines from premium growing areas like Yarra and get them on the shelf for $9.99. This is a total no-brainer.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2013 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/13/2014 | Send Email
  Serious props are in order to Mikel and his crew at Zudugarai, for organically producing a delicious, thirst quenching, picture perfect Txakoli in a very challenging 2013 vintage. With production down significantly, and demand every bit as strong locally, Zudugarai still maintained their pricing, which means that we can do the same and once again offer to you one of the tastiest, most gulpable dry whites around for a price that is much lower than most other Txakoli. Buy it by the case, which now that I think of it is only 6 bottles so better make it two!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 8/13/2014 | Send Email
  This beauty is young, but it's already enticing and well-knit. Sanguine, plummy, with black cherry fruit on the nose. This is ripe, but not overripe, with lovely lift and tension. One of my favorite 2010s.

2010 des Annereaux, Lalande-de-Pomerol
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 8/13/2014 | Send Email
  Fresh, affordable Bordeaux that's made from organically grown grapes to boot? Sign me up! We tasted some pretty high-class wine today, but this $20 gem was one of my favorites. Its Cabernet Franc component shines through on the nose, which also displays incredibly pretty strawberry and raspberry fruit, chocolate and tobacco notes, which carry over to the palate and grow darker. Good acidity, well-integrated tannins. Really delightful.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.3 Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/12/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The best value for money white wine in the store! Fantastic Savvy with perfect balance and multiple layers of complexity. Fresh, juicy, bright, brimming with fruit and minerality. Easy to drink party wine but with tons of depth and persistence if you want something a bit more engaging. Winemaker Bartho Eksteen is truly a master of this varietal and our direct import means the price is ridiculously low. Please don't be put off by how inexpensive this wine is--it's the real deal. From steep mountainside vineyards and blended with a touch of Sémillon to give texture and power. I don't know another bottle of wine that gives so much interest for such little cash.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.7" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/12/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another awesome expression of Sauvignon Blanc from Mr. Eksteen. The Nr.7 is his more herbaceous, mineral driven style...made in a very Sancerre-esque way. Tons of stoney minerality, crushed herbs, tomato leaf and citrus peel. Excellent wine for shellfish. Lovely, precise acidity and drive on the palate. A beautiful, more focused and restrained expression of the varietal.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/12/2014 | Send Email
  Dark crimson with hints of violet color. Wow... Tobacco, mushroom, cocoa, along with dark cherries and berries and sure enough...earth! On the palate, all of that, with black olives and cocoa more pronounced. The tannins and acidity are very much present without any sign of harshness. On the contrary, this wine is refined and elegant, surely showing the pedigree of a very classy 2nd wine from a classified cru.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

Page:  <<   prev  4  5 6   next  >>