Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev  4  5 6   next  >>
2013 Scarbolo Sauvignon Friuli
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 10/13/2014 | Send Email
  Friuli is one of the top areas for white wines anywhere. This Sauvignon does not disappoint! Fruit and herbs for days in this wine. Just when you think you are going to get hit with some flabby mouth feel, BAM! Bone-dry acidity. A little more weight to it than your average Sauvignon Blanc. What a wonderfully long lasting finish too!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Tatomer "Sisquoc" Santa Barbara County Riesling
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 10/13/2014 | Send Email
  I discovered Tatomer a year or so back at the International Alsace Varietals Festival in Anderson Valley, California, and was impressed with their wines and their focus on Riesling. Although I don't find any "petrol" notes in the 2012 Sisquoc, it's got an intoxicating blend of golden raisin and honey aromas--reminds me of drizzling dark, clover honey in amber rivulets onto a crostini. Even at a higher 14.1% abv, it's got enough acidity to balance whatever residual sugar there may be--the wine finishes dry, with a sensation of sweetness due to the aromatics--anyway, no less dry than most Chardonnays these days! I like this with a cheese plate of goat Gouda and seeded crackers, or creamy spaetzle.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Quinta dos Roques Encruzado Dao
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 10/10/2014 | Send Email
  An incredibly interesting and enticing wine made from the Encruzado grape, which is the most highly regarded white variety in Portugal, usually made in a very rich style, with intent for bottle aging. The Quinta dos Roques is no exception. A full, rich-bodied white with notes of almonds and hazelnuts, snap peas, sweet pears, resin and gorgeous floral notes. It’s bursting with minerality and stone fruits, while there are some noticeable oak characteristics, they are well integrated. This white is for those Chardonnay drinkers who want an Old World style Chard with the added bonus of decadence and the ability to lay this down for years to come.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 FRAM Pinotage Citrusdal Mountain
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 10/10/2014 | Send Email
  If you sit on the negative side of the fence when it comes to Pinotage, I believe we have found the one to bring you to the positive side. The Fram does not have the classic rustic Band-Aid qualities that most associate with this grape variety. What it does show is the integrity of the two parent varietals, Pinot Noir and Cinsault. The Pinot comes through with an elegant nose of red fruit and red flowers. The Cinsault shows a deep, concentrated mid-palate fruit and spice. The whole thing is complete on the palate with a sexiness that is pure South Africa. I've always said you need to eat the food of South Africa to understand the wines but the Fram is a wine you can drink and better understand the quality that can come from this exciting region.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

La Monacesca "Mirum" MV Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva 20th Anniversary
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 10/10/2014 | Send Email
  One of my top white wines in the store. This is a treat for any wine drinker. The blend of 85% Verdicchio from the 2008 vintage, with 15% Verdicchio coming from the 2000-2001-2002-2004 vintages. In the hands of Aldo Cifola--and the way he manages wine operation can be seen in every detail. Tropical fruits, honey, ripe citrus and roasted almonds. Finish for days! This is very special wine and at this price it is a steal. With the holidays fast approaching this gift is perfect for any occasion.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 The Three Foxes Clairette Blanche Coastal Region
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 10/8/2014 | Send Email
  I'm a sucker for white wines that see skin contact. A whole new range of flavors open up and show a wide range of new complexity. The Three Foxes is one that any drinker can access with its intriguing mouthfeel and flavors of peach and nectarine. There is also some serious minerality with a nose of wet stone and talc. Fascinating stuff and worth spending a long afternoon with.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Kalinda "Clone 828 Reserve" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 10/7/2014 | Send Email
  Exotic, spicy and ripe aromas jump from the glass. The mouthfeel is lush, explosive and layered. The finish is spicy, silky and long. This is flat-out delicious Pinot Noir!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Foxglove Central Coast Chardonnay
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 10/6/2014 | Send Email
  The Foxglove is simply the best under-$15 California Chardonnay in the store! While rich and full-flavored enough to give fans of the big, buttery style something to hang on to, this wine has the balance for those who are tired of the over-the-top style. Excellent quality wine at a very low price!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Foxglove Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 10/6/2014 | Send Email
  One of the top values on our shelves for Cabernet, the Foxglove has easygoing dark fruit, round tannins and plenty of body. This is perfect for folks looking for Cabernet to drink on its own, but that isn't manipulated like most of the others in this price range and style.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ancient Peaks/K&L Wine Merchants Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 10/6/2014 | Send Email
  What we agreed upon for the final blend was as follows: 40% Cabernet Sauvignon from Block 15 (the structural and aromatic backbone of the wine), 40% Cabernet Sauvignon from Block 49 “A” (the mouthfeel of the wine and oak richness), 10% Malbec from Block 45 (added mid-palate weight and density), 8% Merlot from Block 3 (finishing complexity and length) and 2% Cabernet Franc from Block 9 (toasty oak and sweet spices). This blend was easily the best on the table creating a complete and complex wine that we thought showed both the style of Ancient Peaks and the collective palate of K&L. Plum, cassis and a touch of mildly toasty oak came together instantly for a surprisingly integrated and pretty nose. Ripe, with plenty of plush fruit and a medium-full weighted palate the wine showed plenty of blue/red fruit interplay along with tobacco, gravel and pencil lead. The finish is bright and juicy with a lovely layer of oak toast adding a nice confectionery spice to long and energetic finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 10/4/2014 | Send Email
  While the Mâconnais district is well known as a great source of value-priced white Burgundy, the 2012 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes may very well be one of the best Chardonnays under $15 in the store right now regardless of region of origin. While 2012 was a challenging vintage for red wines in Burgundy, the white wines are quite good, and this wine is no exception. Wonderfully mineral in character with hints of wet stone and earth. Bright, fresh citrus notes. Round and smooth textured with surprising concentration and persistence. The old vine character really makes itself felt here. An extraordinary value at a mere $12.99.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Here again Tuscany shows us they can still produce truly fantastic wines at great values. Here's a beautiful and elegantly composed Brunello with lovely red fruits, silky rose petals, interwoven minerals and fine spices with an absolutely lovely texture hung on fine polished tannins, all in perfect harmony. Greg's imagery of a gemstone is perfect and polished rubies is one of the first images I had upon trying this wine too.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020

2013 Ancient Peaks/K&L Wine Merchants Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  This is seductive Cab. I am taken with the lush fruit and hints of herb on the nose. The fruit on the palate is obvious dark fruit with blueberry, and a little graphite on the finish. The tannins are noticeable yet soft and approachable. Although it doesn’t have some of the “power” that some of the big boys have, that’s exactly what makes this cab great--it’s inexpensive and it’s drinking lovely right now!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ponzi "Tavola" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  Let’s just make this as simple as possible. The 2012 Ponzi "Tavola" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir is one of the best bottles of Pinot Noir we have under $25. From the first moment I tasted the wine back in May at the Ponzi’s beautiful new winery and tasting bar I knew this was a wine that we would sell by the case--in fact I wrote just that in my notes that day. A perfect storm of a high yielding, forward fruited vintage and two generations of experience have made this one of the best entry level wines of 2012 in Oregon. Darkly fruited and showing considerable spice, this has a nose of a Pinot that could be twice its price. Juicy and fresh on the entry this has a wealth of loganberry, plum, violet, sandalwood and spice cake all wrapped into a simplistic yet wildly enjoyable wine. Long and savory on the finish this is one stellar wine that will take great care of you over the next few years if you can somehow not drink it all right away.

2013 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Rosado Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  Unlike white shoes, rosé wine is most definitely OK after Labor Day! A good thing, because what was going to be the rosé I put in everyone's hands did not quite make it in time for the summer season. That said, this is a mouthwateringly delicious, tangy rosé, full of warm citrus and red fruits. Whether you enjoy as an aperitif, with a platter of charcuterie, alongside a perfectly grilled piece of salmon or with a take home rotisserie chicken, Martinez Alesanco's rosé is amongst the best in this category.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Scarbolo Sauvignon Friuli
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is an excellent example of Friulian Sauvignon Blanc, far more subtle than the rash of Jalapeno like versions awash in the market, this is a muskier, earthier aromatic complimented by hints of white flowers and dried sage and it is couched in a richly textured body. The flavors are more integrated, saturated and have a long, persistent finish filled with flavor and hints of mineral while having superb balance. This is a wine that is perfect for Crustaceans, shrimp or crab would be spectacular or it would bring a bit of spice to a rotisserie chicken. Altogether a superb wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Joseph Phelps Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  If you have not had this wine recently this is the perfect vintage to renew your acquaintance with this unparalleled Napa value. Since 2009 Phelps has shifted entirely to estate grown fruit, reducing their overall production and improving quality. They now consider their estate wine something of a "second wine to Insignia" at one third of the price. This 2012 vintage is stunning, with loads of dark fruit and fine tannins. If you are a fan of Napa Cabernet, this is a "must try." Do not miss out.
Top Value!

Michel Forgeron K&L Exclusive XO Grand Champagne Cognac 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  A relatively full-bodied Cognac that is absolutely delicious. The expressive, soft and complex flavors are more concentrated than one usually gets in a Cognac, making this attractive and inviting. A "must try" for lovers of small Cognac producers.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  A great buy. A nice medium-bodied wine with expressive fruit flavors that are balanced with a nice dry finish. It will be good alone, or with pizza, pasta and lighter meat dishes. A lot of wine for this price.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Joseph Phelps Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I am always excited to taste the most recent release of Cabernet Sauvignon from Joseph Phelps since it is one of my perennial favorites. From the very first sniff from the glass I was brought back to my initial tasting impressions from our En Primeur trip to Bordeaux when we tasted the heralded 2009 vintage. The wine displays amazing depth with layers of fruit flavors as well as aromas cola, crushed berries, five spice and mocha notes. A fresh and lively palate consisting of fresh blackberries, crème de cassis and dusty tannins nicely augments against bright acidity. The wine finishes with a supple display of fruit and silky tannins with just a kiss of dark chocolate lingering at the end.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2014 Lake Chalice "The Nest" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  Our third vintage of this NZ classic and still one of our best values in a Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc. The slightly cooler 2014 vintage produced a more aromatic wine with tart gooseberry notes, a more pronounced mineral character, and a peppery finish.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Blanco Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/1/2014 | Send Email
  For those of you who really enjoy a brisk, bright, bracing white wine, something nicely dry to enjoy while cooking or winding down after work, this is definitely one to add to the rotation. Martinez Alesanco's white Rioja is amongst the most lively and expressive I have yet to find, and for under $10!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Blason Isonzo Bianco (3L Bag-in-aBox) (cannot ship)
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 10/1/2014 | Send Email
  Lucky for us in Los Angeles it is a never ending summer. So, no reason not to have this one on hand for family and friends! Heck or just hanging poolside. Wonderful floral and acidity. Super long finish to stand up to any finger food you throw at. Don't forget because of the magically bag it last for weeks in the fridge! Great for camping trips too. Enjoy!!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 10/1/2014 | Send Email
  So often when tasting Brunello I'll find myself loving the wine, but also wondering when would I drink this to appreciate all that it has to offer. Well, this is your chance to enjoy a fine Brunello NOW. Sure, you can hang on to it, but it already shows multiple dimensions with tart dried cherry, cedar, a hint of tobacco, earth, spice and a whiff of tar. On the palate there is a supple fine tannin structure with balanced acidity supporting a long finish. I wish I had this last night with my grilled pork tenderloin. Okay Greg sue me...I had the '12 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino instead!

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 10/1/2014 | Send Email
  Just when you thought that we had found all of the amazing, tiny producers in Montalcino to bring you incredible Brunello, Greg St. Clair has scored another coup with the Il Valentiano wines. Valentina and Fabbiolo blended their names together to create the name- and we are proud to say that the lovely estate near Caprili is quite the find. This 2009 is showing beautifully right now, but would easily quite happily slumber in your cellar for a while, too. Open it now and decant it, and it will delight you with notes of red cherry, cassis, spice, stewed cherries and earthiness. Medium plus acidity and medium tannin, this elegant, classy Brunello will not disappoint you!

2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 10/1/2014 | Send Email
  This wine is fascinating on so many levels- it feels like it has density and sweetness from wood and residual sugar, but nothing could be further from the truth. Pure, perfect physiological ripeness because of long hangtime, combined with high altitude cool temperatures, ample sunlight, marine soil- and zero oak use- 100% stainless steel. Even better? Sub-14% alcohol! Gorgeous citrus, floral, apricot, saline and mineral with medium plus acidity and rich body- a long, lasting finish create a plush, round, layered wine worthy of your best celebrations! And yes- it comes in magnum format too!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Stéphane Ogier Syrah "d'Ogier" Collines Rhodaniennes
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/30/2014 | Send Email
  Ogier is one of the greats of the northern Rhone Valley. This Syrah has a lush texture, cool spiced fruit and a supple finish. Not tannic but still structured, it coats the palate but never overwhelms. This is truly one of the most complete Syrahs in the store.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ponzi "Tavola" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 9/28/2014 | Send Email
  For anyone interested in reading more about West Coast Pinot Noirs, I'd strongly recommend Pacific Pinot Noir by John Winthrop Haeger, an exhaustively rich tome guaranteed to enhance your pleasure while delighting in a favorite bottle. I discovered, for instance, that Dick Ponzi of Ponzi Vineyards started out as an aeronautical engineer and once designed rides for Disneyland before re-venturing into his first love, winemaking, way back in 1969. His vibrantly talented and energetic daughter Luisa has been the winemaker since 1993, and her mastery of the nuances of their various vineyards in Willamette Valley is evident in this balanced, artfully-blended Pinot Noir. Bright fruits scintillate in the glass, revealing generous aromas and flavors of lush plums, black cherries, fresh violets and cola, with supple tannins and a touch of spice on the finish. A wonderful, generously mouthwatering everyday Pinot for sharing with fine friends and family. Drink up!
Top Value!

2012 Ponzi "Tavola" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 9/26/2014 | Send Email
  One of the prettiest wines in all of Oregon! We got to taste this wine in the winery and visit their new facility and I'm excited about what Luisa and Maria are accomplishing! This particular wine has such rich round fruit, and lovely flowers on the first inhale! On the palate is a rich, ripe, succulent fruit with just a hint of herbal undertones. The finish comes off without a hitch and extends long and focused with a subtle spice to it. A lovely effort, and a killer value all wrapped up in one delicious package.

2012 Frog's Leap Rutherford Estate Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 9/25/2014 | Send Email
  Dark currant, rose petal, black olive, anise, cedar and dusty, earthy flavors are already showing in this young Cabernet. This wine is structured for the long haul, but is so clean and balanced you will love drinking it at any age.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 9/24/2014 | Send Email
  This 2012 Verdicchio di Matelica, is a very good example for the vintage. Offers crisp and refreshing citric fruit flavors and aromas with the characteristic touch of green herbs, is a wonderful value, a well rounded wine, beautifully structured, soft on the palate but with a slight suggestion of almond (typical for Verdicchio), a great autumn sipping wine and is very food-friendly.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica (1.5L)
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 9/24/2014 | Send Email
  This 2012 Verdicchio di Matelica, is a very good example for the vintage. Offers crisp and refreshing citric fruit flavors, and aromas with the characteristic touch of green herbs, is a wonderful value, a well-rounded wine, beautifully structured, soft on the palate but with a slight suggestion of almond (typical for Verdicchio), a great autumn sipping wine and is very food-friendly.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 9/24/2014 | Send Email
  I just opened this for our staff tasting recently and this little “Tuscan blend” stopped the show, with lots of oohs and ahhs from my coworkers. This wine has lots of bang for the buck (or EURO, very tough to beat these days). Medium–bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana (1.5L)
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 9/24/2014 | Send Email
  I just opened this for our staff tasting recently and this little “Tuscan blend” stopped the show, with lots of oohs and ahhs from my coworkers. This wine has lots of bang for the buck (or EURO, very tough to beat these days). Medium–bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. A mag for $15 bucks! Grab these while you can!!!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Clot de l'Origine Macabeu "l'Original" Blanc
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/24/2014 | Send Email
  I am loving the wines of Marc Barriot. They are pure, fresh and expressive of their varietal character. They also have a distinctive edge. This white sees skin contact for two weeks, making it an "orange wine." It has lovely aromatics of peach pit, persimmon, honey and flowers. The skin contact gives it a distinctive texture adding body and complexity to the wine. If you have never tried this style before this is the perfect one to start with. Serve it with fresh cheeses, herb salad and maybe a walnut and eggplant spread.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Vasse Felix Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/23/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Once again delivering amazing quality for a very reasonable price. This is CLASSY Chard that is a real benchmark for the Margaret River region if not Australia as a whole. The wine has a beautiful balance of golden baked orchard fruits and some riper stone fruit aromas and flavors. Subtle toasty oak notes and some lovely nutty, brioche lees characters add complexity and texture. Very long and persistent on the finish. That classic Margaret River stoney minerality and saline quality coming through in spades. I think this is one of the most serious and well-made Chardonnays in the world at this price point. Super versatile with the holiday season quickly approaching, this has a bit of something for everyone!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020

2012 Vasse Felix Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 9/23/2014 | Send Email
  The 2012 Vasse Felix "regular" Chardonnay is simply a beautifully crafted wine. Aromas of pear, Fuji apple, lemon blossom, jasmine, lightly toasted hazelnut and a flinty mineral note leap from the glass. On the palate, there is a perfect integration of fruit and the nine months in French oak the wine sees along with a focused juicy acid line through the wine that delivers a long finish that just makes you want more. No wonder winemaker Virgina Willcock and Vasse Felix were named winemaker and winery of the year in 2012 by Wine & Spirits magazine!

2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/23/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Amazing wine. Hard to fathom this combination of soft, rich, ripe texture, stunning purity, defined structure and piercing minerality all rolled into one. This wine is so unique and multidimensional. Very versatile and crowd-friendly and yet interesting enough for the "wine geek" inside all of us! Nice work Greg!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Mount Trio Sauvignon Blanc Great Southern
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/23/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  If you're looking for an alternative to the grassy Kiwi styled SVB this is your wine. Very clean, bright but more fig aromas than grass, it has nice balance and a compelling, fresh finish.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart JH 92 BC 0

2012 Vasse Felix Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/23/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  For lovers of California Chardonnay, this is an excellent wine with subtle toasty oak aromatics and a pliant texture on your palate, however it has so much more than that, the wine is fresh, has vibrant apple skin and leesy flavors and superb acidic structure. A real bargain at this price, and one of Western Australia's finest producers.
Drink from 2014 to 2017

2012 Joseph Jewell Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 9/22/2014 | Send Email
  I first brought in the Joseph Jewell wines back in the 2009 vintage. I always thought the wine was well made and our customers have always enjoyed them. The 2012 Russian River has reached new heights for the winery. A very feminine style of Russian River Pinot Noir with lovely cherry fruit, baking spice and just a hint of vanilla and cedar. Earthy notes show nicely throughout the mouth and the generous acidity weaves well through the lovely ripe fruit. Adrian and Micah have added another notch on their belt with this one.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart W&S 95 BC 0

2010 Von Strasser "Estate" Diamond Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 9/22/2014 | Send Email
  A blend of 90% Cabernet Sauvignon, 6% Malbec and 4% Merlot, the 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon Diamond Mountain is a gem. A blend of five vineyards from Diamond Mountain which Rudy has complete control of. Dark black and blue fruit with touches of cedar and spice with soft tannin and a lovely mineral backbone. Decant for an hour or hold for 3-5 years.

2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 9/22/2014 | Send Email
  This is one of my top five white wines! Late harvest, low yields and a mineral-laden soil produces such a amazing wine. I know it is great when I can sit for a half an hour with one glass. Wonderful with food or on its own. No oak involved and none needed. Did I mention superb natural acidity? Give it a good decanting and watch the magic unfold. Intense, dry and fruity! What more could you want from a bottle under $20?
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Joseph Jewell Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 9/22/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Very pretty nose of red cassis, dark cherry, cream and light earth. Unfined and unfiltered, yet, not blocky or chunky. Bright cherries on the palate, with notes of spice and earth. Excellent acidity on the finish that adds grace and balance. A very substantial, and delicious, effort.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart W&S 95 BC 0

2011 Robert Craig Howell Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 9/22/2014 | Send Email
  If I had to pick a Napa mountain that I love the wine from, Howell Mountain would be at the top of my list. Dunn, Ladera, Neal Family, O'Shaugnessey and of course Robert Craig. Bright blue fruit combined with chocolate, menthol, pepper and cedar. The wine is deep and powerful with incredible length. A cellar candidate for sure.

2012 Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 9/22/2014 | Send Email
  How does a winery make a wine of such beauty and balance for only $ 19.99? Rudy Von Strasser can. A nice balance of Diamond Mountain structure and acidity with valley floor ripeness just kissed with a touch of wood. One of my favorite wines on our California shelf.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Cain "Cuvée NV10" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 9/21/2014 | Send Email
  Wow! I have always loved the Cain NV releases, and this NV10 did not disappoint. Instead of manipulating young wine to make it drinkable early, they blended two vintages to make a Cabernet blend that is naturally ready to go. The deft combination of even parts 2010 and 2009 has made for a curranty, fresh, medium bodied, fabulous drink!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

Cain "Cuvée NV10" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 9/21/2014 | Send Email
  Combining the richness of the 2009 vintage with the freshness of the 2010, this incredible multi-vintage red offers an extraordinarily balanced Napa Cab. The dark fruit is layered with notes of raspberry and currant, laced with savory leather. To add balance to this blend, the 2010 brings freshness, red cherry and herbal components, fresh mint and crushed sage. The sum is greater than the parts in this case.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2013 Honig Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 9/21/2014 | Send Email
  Always a stellar value for 100% pure, estate-grown, Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc at a price that hasn't gone up in over 10 years! Great citrus and mineral notes, juicy mouthwatering acidity, and easy to drink with or without food. It's a no-brainier if you ask me!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ramey Napa Valley Claret
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 9/21/2014 | Send Email
  Always one of my favorite Bordeaux blends of the Napa Valley that is done in an old-school style that actually has gorgeous structure and minerality. I even get a touch of gravel from the soil on the finish. Well integrated French oak and purity of fruit. Love the forward quality of 2012s; this you can enjoy or keep for years to come!

Page:  <<   prev  4  5 6   next  >>