Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev  4  5 6   next  >>
2013 Sadie Family "Old Vine Series--Treinspoor" Tinta Barroca Swartland
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/21/2014 | Send Email
  Dark and mixed berry fruits show some florality and and real structure. And of course intensity and real persistence on the palate. Yes!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Quartz Reef "Zero Dosage" Sparkling Wine Central Otago
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/21/2014 | Send Email
  A nicely textured bubbly, that has bright citric fruit, a nicely ripe yet dry style and very good overall balance that encourage expedient draining of the bottle! Very tasty, indeed.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 10/21/2014 | Send Email
  I gave this Brunello, Three stars, beautifully layered, expressive wine bursting with sweet ripe strawberries, black cherries intermingled with subtle tuscan earth and toasted oak notes, minerals and a hint of bitter chocolate on the on the finish, round and ripe tannins and a long aftertaste. Great for gifts, or the Christmas table. ( Jump on this, it won't be around long. (WARNING!!!)

2009 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 10/21/2014 | Send Email
  Big wine, little price!!! Do not let the price let you think that this is a lesser wine. This is a Great 2009 Brunello that will develop over the next couple years. I would give this an hour or two decanting time and serve with a winter stew. Yum!

2012 Apaltagua "Envero" Carmenere Gran Reserva Colchagua Valley
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/21/2014 | Send Email
  90% Carmenere and 10% Cabernet Sauvignon, this is another delicious bottling of Envero. If you love fuller bodied, richer California cabs, then this would be a terrific introduction to the Carmenere grape. Deeply pitched dark fruits combine with aromas and flavors of roasted coffee, grilled bread and a hint of homemade caramel, a nicely darkened and deeply flavored batch. For under $14, there is very little else out there that provides this intensity of flavor in this bigger style of red wine.

2012 Tenuta di Sesta Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 10/20/2014 | Send Email
  Just by the color in the glass you know you are in for a treat! Beautiful rose and violet hues greet you like the warm Tuscan sun. Wonderful aromas of earth and candied red raspberry. Mouth feel of tart cherry and Christmas spice. And this awesome lingering acidity. Nice grip of tannins on the back end. With a super long finish just waiting for that braised meat to come out of the oven.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2013 Rutherford Ranch Napa Valley Chardonnay
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 10/20/2014 | Send Email
  Round and juicy, this Chardonnay is driven by clean, tropical flavors of sweet citrus and pineapple. Its easy-going style, with a price to match, should make it a hit with those looking for an everyday white that has a little more richness than a Sauvignon Blanc, say, but avoids the oak-and-butter side of the Chardonnay spectrum.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2002 C.H. Berres Ürziger Würzgarten Riesling Kabinett
 By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 10/20/2014 | Send Email
  This ideally matured Kabinett has realized an excellent harmony between the fruit, petrol, and slate. Shades of white peach, lime, and wild strawberry still reside with the spicy and minerally terroir of Wurzgarten. The sweetness has largely dried out, and there's stinging zip that would satisfy even the biggest acid freaks. This wine is in a great place, but would easily hold for several more years. I encourage anyone to discover how dynamic and versatile this would be as an everyday table wine. You would have to try pretty hard to come up with a lousy food pairing.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Rutherford Ranch Napa Valley Chardonnay
 By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 10/20/2014 | Send Email
  Fans of the rich and tropical school of chardonnay should take note. Here's a full flavored Napa offering with tinges of pineapple, ripe apples and oak -- a total palate coater, but with just enough lemon pie acidity to keep it fresh.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2010 Yalumba "The Guardian" Shiraz-Viognier Eden Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 10/20/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Great value Shiraz showing both richness and restraint. This exceptional wine for the price point shows bright, fresh aromatics, has a juicy, fleshy, med-full bodied mid-palate. It displays lots of bramble fruit, forest berries, spice and scorched earth. The cooler, higher elevation Eden Valley fruit source lends lovely mid-palate acidity to give lift and definition. Exotic spices and earth draw out on the finish. A great deal at the MSRP of $20...a steal at our Insider advantage price of substantially less!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2018

2011 Barnett Vineyards Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 10/16/2014 | Send Email
  The 2011 Barnett Spring Mountain Cabernet is a solid effort for the vintage! It is a focused, balanced and study wine that shows a ton of complexity and minerality. Plenty of fruit fills out the mid-palate while the tannins give the finish a good grip and structure. A Cab drinker's Cab and a great buy for under $40!
Price: Hidden View Price AG 91 BC 0

2013 Blason Cabernet Franc Isonzo
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 10/16/2014 | Send Email
  It’s back! And as long as I can keep my coworkers at bay, you may be able to buy some for yourself. There is nothing simple about this Cab Franc, it has the classic blueberry, herbaceous plum, and a hint of cola; also a little white pepper on the finish. A staff and consumer favorite for many years now, this is a wine you will want to stock up on.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 10/16/2014 | Send Email
  It's back--but for how long?. When K&L introduced this producer to you last year, everyone who bought a bottle came back for quantities and it sold out quickly. This 2009 will be no exception. This wine is full of ripe Sangiovese fruit, plum, spicy blackberry, and cassis with cocoa powder, coating the palate with a little Tuscan dust on the finish of this full-bodied wine that is showing great acidity and very well-balanced tannins.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Scarbolo Sauvignon Friuli
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 10/16/2014 | Send Email
  Citrus aromas. Full on the palate. Tasty, bright fruit: peach, citrus, and even a hint of melon. The touch of grassy flavors and pure Sauvignon fruit will give you a great idea of what the Friuli appellation is all about.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Tenuta di Sesta Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 10/16/2014 | Send Email
  This Rosso was aged for one year in 20hl Slovenian oak barrels and unites the imposing structure of Brunello with the freshness and vivacity of a young wine; classic ripe strawberries, cherry-cola, and cranberry with a hint of leather and spice on the finish. This can be drunk young, but will evolve over the next couple of years. WARNING! This is one of those wines that will make you think: how did that bottle empty itself?
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2012 Pessagno "Central Avenue" Monterey County Pinot Noir
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 10/16/2014 | Send Email
  During a recent visit to the Santa Lucia Highlands appellation we discovered this outstanding value at tiny Pessagno Winery and bought it on the spot. This family-run boutique has a small portfolio of distinctive wines and this refreshing Pinot is one of the most elegant we encountered in the region. This is medium-bodied with aromas of spice, cherry and rhubarb that tingle the senses. The persistent cherry-vanilla fruit is enhanced by hints of tree bark, tea and a surprising minerality that lends a refreshing note to the finish. This is rare quality/price ratio for Pinot Noir.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Blason Pinot Grigio Isonzo (1L)
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 10/16/2014 | Send Email
  This is a mouthful of Pinot Grigio and a wine that has body and is perfectly balanced with zippy acidity and very aromatic, good complexity, length and that subtle elegance that shows muscle and long and flowing finish. It is a little spicy with red apple and melon, and LOTS of minerals on the aftertaste. The Best P/G they made ( so far) and a liter bottle ( Woohoo ) made for two!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Pewsey Vale "Contours" Museum Reserve Riesling Eden Valley South Australia
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 10/14/2014 | Send Email
  This dry Riesling is just getting started at six years after the vintage. So crisp and refreshing, yet it has also gained bottle characteristics and weight: a floral aroma with honeycomb, lemon pith and lemon oil, and a mouthfeel that's silky and light and has a certain sumptuousness at the same time that swaths and tames the searing, dry finish. This is a great example of South Australian Riesling, and I am sure that I will order more now that the bottle's empty!

2012 Bogle "Essential Red" Old Vine Red Blend
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 10/14/2014 | Send Email
  For this price and quality get outta town! This is going to be everyone's bring-to-a-party pick and not get nervous about everyone gulping it down immediately, and not embarrassed about bringing a sub-$10 wine either! This is a Zin-based red blend that is juicy and full without being cloyingly sweet. It retains balance and gets you in the mood...to drink more!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

Beehive Distilling Jack Rabbit Utah Gin 750ml
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 10/14/2014 | Send Email
  Easily my gin of the year, and firmly in my "top five" gin rotation (yes, sadly we drink that much gin in my house). The botanical pairing of rose petal and sage makes for a complex, intriguing, and stunning gin. The nose is highlighted by the pretty rose notes, with just a hint of sage and juniper. The palate plays up the sage, soft and supple, with just the right balance of floral notes to keep it from becoming cloying. This bottle was empty exactly one week after I brought it home, I couldn't stop drinking it. Perfect with tonic, I also like it in French 75's or simply in a gimlet. Love it!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Tempranillo Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/14/2014 | Send Email
  Rounding out their trio of Riojas is this Tempranillo and Garnacha blend, a wine produced from mainly younger vine fruit in lower lying, iron heavy clay vineyards. This has everything I look for in young, unoaked Tempranillo from Rioja. Beautiful, pure mixed berry fruit, on the darker side, with fresh acidity and wonderful, crunchy freshness. Another winner from one of our new favorite producers of Spanish values.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Scarbolo Sauvignon Friuli
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 10/13/2014 | Send Email
  Friuli is one of the top areas for white wines anywhere. This Sauvignon does not disappoint! Fruit and herbs for days in this wine. Just when you think you are going to get hit with some flabby mouth feel, BAM! Bone-dry acidity. A little more weight to it than your average Sauvignon Blanc. What a wonderfully long lasting finish too!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Tatomer "Sisquoc" Santa Barbara County Riesling
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 10/13/2014 | Send Email
  I discovered Tatomer a year or so back at the International Alsace Varietals Festival in Anderson Valley, California, and was impressed with their wines and their focus on Riesling. Although I don't find any "petrol" notes in the 2012 Sisquoc, it's got an intoxicating blend of golden raisin and honey aromas--reminds me of drizzling dark, clover honey in amber rivulets onto a crostini. Even at a higher 14.1% abv, it's got enough acidity to balance whatever residual sugar there may be--the wine finishes dry, with a sensation of sweetness due to the aromatics--anyway, no less dry than most Chardonnays these days! I like this with a cheese plate of goat Gouda and seeded crackers, or creamy spaetzle.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Quinta dos Roques Encruzado Dao
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 10/10/2014 | Send Email
  An incredibly interesting and enticing wine made from the Encruzado grape, which is the most highly regarded white variety in Portugal, usually made in a very rich style, with intent for bottle aging. The Quinta dos Roques is no exception. A full, rich-bodied white with notes of almonds and hazelnuts, snap peas, sweet pears, resin and gorgeous floral notes. It’s bursting with minerality and stone fruits, while there are some noticeable oak characteristics, they are well integrated. This white is for those Chardonnay drinkers who want an Old World style Chard with the added bonus of decadence and the ability to lay this down for years to come.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 FRAM Pinotage Citrusdal Mountain
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 10/10/2014 | Send Email
  If you sit on the negative side of the fence when it comes to Pinotage, I believe we have found the one to bring you to the positive side. The Fram does not have the classic rustic Band-Aid qualities that most associate with this grape variety. What it does show is the integrity of the two parent varietals, Pinot Noir and Cinsault. The Pinot comes through with an elegant nose of red fruit and red flowers. The Cinsault shows a deep, concentrated mid-palate fruit and spice. The whole thing is complete on the palate with a sexiness that is pure South Africa. I've always said you need to eat the food of South Africa to understand the wines but the Fram is a wine you can drink and better understand the quality that can come from this exciting region.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

La Monacesca "Mirum" MV Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva 20th Anniversary
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 10/10/2014 | Send Email
  One of my top white wines in the store. This is a treat for any wine drinker. The blend of 85% Verdicchio from the 2008 vintage, with 15% Verdicchio coming from the 2000-2001-2002-2004 vintages. In the hands of Aldo Cifola--and the way he manages wine operation can be seen in every detail. Tropical fruits, honey, ripe citrus and roasted almonds. Finish for days! This is very special wine and at this price it is a steal. With the holidays fast approaching this gift is perfect for any occasion.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 The Three Foxes Clairette Blanche Coastal Region
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 10/8/2014 | Send Email
  I'm a sucker for white wines that see skin contact. A whole new range of flavors open up and show a wide range of new complexity. The Three Foxes is one that any drinker can access with its intriguing mouthfeel and flavors of peach and nectarine. There is also some serious minerality with a nose of wet stone and talc. Fascinating stuff and worth spending a long afternoon with.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Kalinda "Clone 828 Reserve" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 10/7/2014 | Send Email
  Exotic, spicy and ripe aromas jump from the glass. The mouthfeel is lush, explosive and layered. The finish is spicy, silky and long. This is flat-out delicious Pinot Noir!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Foxglove Central Coast Chardonnay
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 10/6/2014 | Send Email
  The Foxglove is simply the best under-$15 California Chardonnay in the store! While rich and full-flavored enough to give fans of the big, buttery style something to hang on to, this wine has the balance for those who are tired of the over-the-top style. Excellent quality wine at a very low price!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Foxglove Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 10/6/2014 | Send Email
  One of the top values on our shelves for Cabernet, the Foxglove has easygoing dark fruit, round tannins and plenty of body. This is perfect for folks looking for Cabernet to drink on its own, but that isn't manipulated like most of the others in this price range and style.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ancient Peaks/K&L Wine Merchants Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 10/6/2014 | Send Email
  What we agreed upon for the final blend was as follows: 40% Cabernet Sauvignon from Block 15 (the structural and aromatic backbone of the wine), 40% Cabernet Sauvignon from Block 49 “A” (the mouthfeel of the wine and oak richness), 10% Malbec from Block 45 (added mid-palate weight and density), 8% Merlot from Block 3 (finishing complexity and length) and 2% Cabernet Franc from Block 9 (toasty oak and sweet spices). This blend was easily the best on the table creating a complete and complex wine that we thought showed both the style of Ancient Peaks and the collective palate of K&L. Plum, cassis and a touch of mildly toasty oak came together instantly for a surprisingly integrated and pretty nose. Ripe, with plenty of plush fruit and a medium-full weighted palate the wine showed plenty of blue/red fruit interplay along with tobacco, gravel and pencil lead. The finish is bright and juicy with a lovely layer of oak toast adding a nice confectionery spice to long and energetic finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 10/4/2014 | Send Email
  While the Mâconnais district is well known as a great source of value-priced white Burgundy, the 2012 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes may very well be one of the best Chardonnays under $15 in the store right now regardless of region of origin. While 2012 was a challenging vintage for red wines in Burgundy, the white wines are quite good, and this wine is no exception. Wonderfully mineral in character with hints of wet stone and earth. Bright, fresh citrus notes. Round and smooth textured with surprising concentration and persistence. The old vine character really makes itself felt here. An extraordinary value at a mere $12.99.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Here again Tuscany shows us they can still produce truly fantastic wines at great values. Here's a beautiful and elegantly composed Brunello with lovely red fruits, silky rose petals, interwoven minerals and fine spices with an absolutely lovely texture hung on fine polished tannins, all in perfect harmony. Greg's imagery of a gemstone is perfect and polished rubies is one of the first images I had upon trying this wine too.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020

2013 Ancient Peaks/K&L Wine Merchants Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  This is seductive Cab. I am taken with the lush fruit and hints of herb on the nose. The fruit on the palate is obvious dark fruit with blueberry, and a little graphite on the finish. The tannins are noticeable yet soft and approachable. Although it doesn’t have some of the “power” that some of the big boys have, that’s exactly what makes this cab great--it’s inexpensive and it’s drinking lovely right now!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ponzi "Tavola" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  Let’s just make this as simple as possible. The 2012 Ponzi "Tavola" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir is one of the best bottles of Pinot Noir we have under $25. From the first moment I tasted the wine back in May at the Ponzi’s beautiful new winery and tasting bar I knew this was a wine that we would sell by the case--in fact I wrote just that in my notes that day. A perfect storm of a high yielding, forward fruited vintage and two generations of experience have made this one of the best entry level wines of 2012 in Oregon. Darkly fruited and showing considerable spice, this has a nose of a Pinot that could be twice its price. Juicy and fresh on the entry this has a wealth of loganberry, plum, violet, sandalwood and spice cake all wrapped into a simplistic yet wildly enjoyable wine. Long and savory on the finish this is one stellar wine that will take great care of you over the next few years if you can somehow not drink it all right away.

2013 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Rosado Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  Unlike white shoes, rosé wine is most definitely OK after Labor Day! A good thing, because what was going to be the rosé I put in everyone's hands did not quite make it in time for the summer season. That said, this is a mouthwateringly delicious, tangy rosé, full of warm citrus and red fruits. Whether you enjoy as an aperitif, with a platter of charcuterie, alongside a perfectly grilled piece of salmon or with a take home rotisserie chicken, Martinez Alesanco's rosé is amongst the best in this category.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Scarbolo Sauvignon Friuli
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is an excellent example of Friulian Sauvignon Blanc, far more subtle than the rash of Jalapeno like versions awash in the market, this is a muskier, earthier aromatic complimented by hints of white flowers and dried sage and it is couched in a richly textured body. The flavors are more integrated, saturated and have a long, persistent finish filled with flavor and hints of mineral while having superb balance. This is a wine that is perfect for Crustaceans, shrimp or crab would be spectacular or it would bring a bit of spice to a rotisserie chicken. Altogether a superb wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Joseph Phelps Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  If you have not had this wine recently this is the perfect vintage to renew your acquaintance with this unparalleled Napa value. Since 2009 Phelps has shifted entirely to estate grown fruit, reducing their overall production and improving quality. They now consider their estate wine something of a "second wine to Insignia" at one third of the price. This 2012 vintage is stunning, with loads of dark fruit and fine tannins. If you are a fan of Napa Cabernet, this is a "must try." Do not miss out.
Top Value!

Michel Forgeron K&L Exclusive XO Grand Champagne Cognac 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  A relatively full-bodied Cognac that is absolutely delicious. The expressive, soft and complex flavors are more concentrated than one usually gets in a Cognac, making this attractive and inviting. A "must try" for lovers of small Cognac producers.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  A great buy. A nice medium-bodied wine with expressive fruit flavors that are balanced with a nice dry finish. It will be good alone, or with pizza, pasta and lighter meat dishes. A lot of wine for this price.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Joseph Phelps Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I am always excited to taste the most recent release of Cabernet Sauvignon from Joseph Phelps since it is one of my perennial favorites. From the very first sniff from the glass I was brought back to my initial tasting impressions from our En Primeur trip to Bordeaux when we tasted the heralded 2009 vintage. The wine displays amazing depth with layers of fruit flavors as well as aromas cola, crushed berries, five spice and mocha notes. A fresh and lively palate consisting of fresh blackberries, crème de cassis and dusty tannins nicely augments against bright acidity. The wine finishes with a supple display of fruit and silky tannins with just a kiss of dark chocolate lingering at the end.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2014 Lake Chalice "The Nest" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 10/2/2014 | Send Email
  Our third vintage of this NZ classic and still one of our best values in a Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc. The slightly cooler 2014 vintage produced a more aromatic wine with tart gooseberry notes, a more pronounced mineral character, and a peppery finish.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Blanco Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/1/2014 | Send Email
  For those of you who really enjoy a brisk, bright, bracing white wine, something nicely dry to enjoy while cooking or winding down after work, this is definitely one to add to the rotation. Martinez Alesanco's white Rioja is amongst the most lively and expressive I have yet to find, and for under $10!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Blason Isonzo Bianco (3L Bag-in-aBox) (cannot ship)
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 10/1/2014 | Send Email
  Lucky for us in Los Angeles it is a never ending summer. So, no reason not to have this one on hand for family and friends! Heck or just hanging poolside. Wonderful floral and acidity. Super long finish to stand up to any finger food you throw at. Don't forget because of the magically bag it last for weeks in the fridge! Great for camping trips too. Enjoy!!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 10/1/2014 | Send Email
  So often when tasting Brunello I'll find myself loving the wine, but also wondering when would I drink this to appreciate all that it has to offer. Well, this is your chance to enjoy a fine Brunello NOW. Sure, you can hang on to it, but it already shows multiple dimensions with tart dried cherry, cedar, a hint of tobacco, earth, spice and a whiff of tar. On the palate there is a supple fine tannin structure with balanced acidity supporting a long finish. I wish I had this last night with my grilled pork tenderloin. Okay Greg sue me...I had the '12 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino instead!

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 10/1/2014 | Send Email
  Just when you thought that we had found all of the amazing, tiny producers in Montalcino to bring you incredible Brunello, Greg St. Clair has scored another coup with the Il Valentiano wines. Valentina and Fabbiolo blended their names together to create the name- and we are proud to say that the lovely estate near Caprili is quite the find. This 2009 is showing beautifully right now, but would easily quite happily slumber in your cellar for a while, too. Open it now and decant it, and it will delight you with notes of red cherry, cassis, spice, stewed cherries and earthiness. Medium plus acidity and medium tannin, this elegant, classy Brunello will not disappoint you!

2011 Stéphane Ogier Syrah "d'Ogier" Collines Rhodaniennes
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/30/2014 | Send Email
  Ogier is one of the greats of the northern Rhone Valley. This Syrah has a lush texture, cool spiced fruit and a supple finish. Not tannic but still structured, it coats the palate but never overwhelms. This is truly one of the most complete Syrahs in the store.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ponzi "Tavola" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 9/28/2014 | Send Email
  For anyone interested in reading more about West Coast Pinot Noirs, I'd strongly recommend Pacific Pinot Noir by John Winthrop Haeger, an exhaustively rich tome guaranteed to enhance your pleasure while delighting in a favorite bottle. I discovered, for instance, that Dick Ponzi of Ponzi Vineyards started out as an aeronautical engineer and once designed rides for Disneyland before re-venturing into his first love, winemaking, way back in 1969. His vibrantly talented and energetic daughter Luisa has been the winemaker since 1993, and her mastery of the nuances of their various vineyards in Willamette Valley is evident in this balanced, artfully-blended Pinot Noir. Bright fruits scintillate in the glass, revealing generous aromas and flavors of lush plums, black cherries, fresh violets and cola, with supple tannins and a touch of spice on the finish. A wonderful, generously mouthwatering everyday Pinot for sharing with fine friends and family. Drink up!
Top Value!

2012 Ponzi "Tavola" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 9/26/2014 | Send Email
  One of the prettiest wines in all of Oregon! We got to taste this wine in the winery and visit their new facility and I'm excited about what Luisa and Maria are accomplishing! This particular wine has such rich round fruit, and lovely flowers on the first inhale! On the palate is a rich, ripe, succulent fruit with just a hint of herbal undertones. The finish comes off without a hitch and extends long and focused with a subtle spice to it. A lovely effort, and a killer value all wrapped up in one delicious package.

2012 Frog's Leap Rutherford Estate Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 9/25/2014 | Send Email
  Dark currant, rose petal, black olive, anise, cedar and dusty, earthy flavors are already showing in this young Cabernet. This wine is structured for the long haul, but is so clean and balanced you will love drinking it at any age.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<   prev  4  5 6   next  >>