Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev  4 5  6   next  >>
1995 Imperial 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  This is just an updated version of a cask we bought a few years back. This one is both older and better. It's just everything you want: oily, resinous, fat-fruited, waxy, chewy, viscous, but never sweet. There's a bit of a tropical element on the finish, but it turns into something almost phenolic instead. Layers, upon layers, upon layers. 52.7% is perfect, so you don't need water. Imperial is no longer in operation, so there's a bit of a collectability factor here as well. One hot price. This is like cask strength Glenmorangie 18 (but for less!).
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1998 Mortlach 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Finish Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  So this guy started as a couple of hogsheads and was then finished in a sherry butt. You can tell because there's a lot of oak action on the nose, almost Bourbon-like with pencil lead, but then morphing into stonefruit. The sherry turns on however in the mid-palate, but as we saw with the Bruichladdich it only highlights the fruit. Holy cow, this is tasty. Lots of sweet apricot and pear notes, but like they were dipped in a bit of cocoa. I'm going back in again and there's another wave of sweet baking spices that washes over the finish. Wow, this is good.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Glen Ord 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  We wanted this as comparison to the other 1997 barrels we bought so folks could do a horizontal. Glen Ord is a distillery that we don't see much of and we usually like it (partially because of the exotic nature of drinking Glen Ord). This is more subtle and less-pronounced than the other casks on this list. There's a lot of straight-forward sweetness and soft fruit, but it will take a discerning drinker to appreciate the nuance. But I know there are easily 272 guys who will really enjoy this bottle. 58.3% makes this a great rocks whisky.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1990 Bruichladdich 23 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  23 years and 10 months old. Not quite 24, but close. Rather than fresh sherry, we have a refill which is really what Bruichladdich needs: just a bit of sweetness to help accent the salty goodness. In this case, it works like utter magic. There's a kiss of rich caramel on the initial sip, but the back end goes more towards the fruit and sea salt. It's absolutely charming and, if I were to do a blind tasting of all these new Signatory whiskies, I think I would have chosen this first. There's something just perfect about the flavor profile. It's everything I want from single malt. This is right there with the Blair Athol.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Bowmore 12 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  This one we did at full proof rather than 46% like the last barrel. The 59.1% is key to bringing out the best in this Bowmore. It's so powerful that the peat almost turns into that medicinal note, which is surprising given the level of richness from the refill sherry. It's nothing at all like the other Bowmore we brought in a few months back though. That was all campfire smoke and lazy vanilla, perfect for sipping on a cold winter evening. This is all high-tone phenolic notes with just a bit of sweet sherry that quickly explodes into something beyond all of those elements. It finishes entirely differently from where it begins. Bowmore collectors will be stoked.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Valandraud, St-Emilion
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  One of our suppliers was kind enough to hold this wine for several years before we purchased it for a ridiculous price (that is one way to look at it). A few extra years in the bottle has really rounded out and opened up the wine. It is just starting to hit its stride now as there is still plenty of tannin and structure underneath the enormous amount of fruit and toasty oak. Still, with a little air this wine is delicious right now!

2013 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro Alvarinho Vinho Regional Minho
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 11/10/2014 | Send Email
  Always a favorite easy-to-drink white wine. It is clean and crisp with enough bright fruit to make it too easy to drink. On the dry side with a touch of fizz, it will go well alone or with calamari, shell fish and chicken.

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 11/10/2014 | Send Email
  I think that everything that I have tasted from Baricci has been well crafted and tasty. This wonderful Brunello is no exception. It has bright fruit mixed with the dusty flavors producing a complex and very good Brunello. While on the young side, it can be enjoyed now with some decanting.Drink with hearty foods.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2013 Château Font-Mars Picpoul de Pinet
 By: Ed Donovan | Review Date: 11/10/2014 | Send Email
  This was the first wine I tried at my first-ever official K&L tasting, which was appropriate because I am always looking for bargain bubbles! Crisp and refreshing with mineral notes and a slight saline quality that makes me think oysters. At this price point, though, you can afford to experiment with pairing. How about just sipping a glass as you make dinner?
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Erik Banti Morellino di Scansano
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 11/10/2014 | Send Email
  A fantastic bright and expressive wine for a bargain price. It is medium bodied with nice red fruit flavors that is soft enough to drink now. It will go well with pasta, pizza or most sandwiches.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Textbook Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  Mention the word "textbook" and aside from the "textbook" definition, I flashback a decade or so to my poor niece Emily having to lug the equivalent of twenty pounds of school books in her beast of a backpack during the seventh grade. Fortunately times have changed, and today, with handheld tablets no one needs to be a human pack mule to get a decent education. Of course the best education for a student of wine is an uncorked bottle and a sparkling glass, allowing the winemaking talents of folks like Jonathan and Susan Pey to shine forth. With extensive experience in Bordeaux, Burgundy and the restaurant culture, they bring true sense and sensibility to their passion for wine, and their "newly published" Textbook Cabernet Sauvignon is defined by lovely aromas of ripe, juicy plums, succulent blackberries, licorice and camphor framed by subtly spicy oak, elegant tannins and scrumptious, mouthwatering acidity. An incredible Cabernet value, serve this throughout the holidays and into 2015. No homework required!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Textbook Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  The Textbook wines are made by Jonathan and Susan Pey, owners of several wine labels such as Pey Marin, Forager and Spicerack. Textbook wines focus on the Napa Valley with Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Chardonnay on offer. The 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon is made up of St. Helena, Oak Knoll and Oakville fruit. The wine spent 16 months in barrel, a small percentage in new wood. The wines consistently over-perform for the price point and have generated a great following at K&L.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2013 Oustric Picpoul de Pinet
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  Looking for that crisp white that will deliver the transition from summer to fall? Look no further. With this direct import Picpoul you get your perfect, crisp autumn white wine! Lots of pretty mineral white floral notes on the nose, but not overwhelmingly floral. It's a perfect fall white wine. A bit more richness than a typical Picpoul but great acid and lift. Lovely for the price too!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Kalinda "Clone 828 Reserve" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  Juicy, candied red fruit, savory Xmas spice, gobs of mixed berry jam, wonderful prickly mouth-feel from the great balance of acid and integrated tannin. Not oaky, but definitely has a nice toast:) Perfect holiday Pinot!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Valandraud, St-Emilion
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This wine possesses a really good combination of generosity, richness and power combined with structure, acidity and potential longevity. Where so many have failed (in my opinion) to "amp up" Bordeaux styles, losing elegance and balance, this wine has beautifully achieved a synthesis of power and poise. The wine is just about accessible now (with very hearty food a good spell in a decanter) but I think will be a great prospect for another 10+ years in the cellar.
Drink from 2018 to 2028

2005 Valandraud, St-Emilion
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  If you like your Bordeaux old-fashioned, earthy and not too powerful, this is NOT for you. But, if you love modern, rich, full-throttle Bordeaux, where they manage to find the balance of new oak, fruit and density, this IS for you. A dark and inky hue shows just a touch of ruby around the edge as the wine reaches almost ten years of age. This big, ripe, fleshy, almost burly wine shows toasty oak in the back palate and the material needed for hedonism today or a long nap in your cellar. A cult wine like this at 1/2 price, with bottle age already on it--what's not to like?
Drink from 2014 to 2026

Longmorn 21 Year Old Alexander Murray Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  A 21 year Longmorn, independently bottled release, for less than $100? This will not last long. The color here is amazingly beautiful--a hint of red from a very long time in used bourbon wood. The flavors are dense but soft on the palate, with dark caramel, tobacco, and a hint of chocolate and vanilla. Amazing single malt!
Price: $85.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  When we visited Sopra (consistently our best overall Montalcino producer, and probably the best winemaker in Montalcino period) the 2009 Brunello was our favorite. Even while the dark and earthy 2010 beckoned us from the barrel, this wine still had firm tannin and a great structure (more than most '09s from Montalcino) and loads of mindblowing flavor--a cascade of bright red fruits that dance on the palate and don't leave you for a very long time. That visit was 3 years ago--and finally it's here! A delicious Sangiovese that is not to be missed.

2012 Ridge Vineyards "Geyserville" Sonoma County Zinfandel
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  Usually I'm more of a fan of the Lytton Springs, but I think this year the Geyser has it beat. This is the best Geyserville that Ridge has ever made--a powerhouse Zin with intense chili spice and briary raspberry with a round finish and a floral, minty brightness.

1997 Glen Ord 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  An obscure distillery and a crazy good bottle for the money! This is a classic Highland, with caramel malt flavors with aromas of fresh flowers and tobacco. I can't believe this malt was aged all in hogshead--the flavor is long and satisfying, with oaky and pronounced notes of coffee and vanilla.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Glenrothes 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  You rarely see independent casks of Glenrothes, and even more rare are ones with this much age that are this good. This whisky is molasses over buttered toast--with a round, smooth texture. The finish is short and leathery, but the malt is extremely enjoyable, unique, easy to drink, and very well priced!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1998 Mortlach 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Finish Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  The legendary, elusive Mortlach distillery is with us yet again! You will never see a distillery bottling of this malt--most of the production goes straight to Johnnie Walker Blue. A big, sweet vanilla nose leads into a whisky packed with cedar and Indian spice notes. The sherry cask influence is noticeable--it tastes like dried apricot and leather dipped in chocolate.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1990 Bruichladdich 23 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  This barrel must be from the days when Jim Beam owned the Bruichladdich distillery--it's much different than other bottlings on our shelf. When you sip it, you are reminded of fresh cut grass and heather, with slight coffee, oaky, and wet vanilla notes to finish. This one is bright, with little to no peat notes at all. The last of the old heritage of a great distillery.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Valle dell'Acate "Case Ibidini" Nero d'Avola Sicilia
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  Always a favorite, but love this 2012! Cranberry and raspberry, the palate is immediately charming and (incredibly) the fruit yields to the wine’s minerality; eliminating any possibility of it being overbearing. Impeccably balanced and wonderfully smooth, Valle del Acate is a renowned producer that has taken an indigenous Sicilian grape, often known for its weight and power, and given it grace.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Terre da Vino "La Casa in Collina" Barbaresco
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  Grab it while you can. Ripe and laced with tobacco and gravel flavors as well as leather and tar. Would drink now and over the couple of years.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Glen Ord 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  Delicious and enjoyable single malt. Beautiful nice sweet aromas are very inviting. There are nice and malty flavors that are balanced out with a hint of savory goodness. A pretty and long finish continues for quite some time. A lot of whisky from a distillery that is off the beaten path.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Jacques Bavard Monthelie Rouge
 By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 11/9/2014 | Send Email
  This wine is clever and subtle, but won’t let you alone. The color is a light mahogany with notes of strawberry and cherry wood, and a hint of clove on the nose. The tannins are light to match the body, and smoothly integrated with delicate oak. At our direct import price, this is an excellent bargain, and is sure to pair beautifully with a festive fowl.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Guy Saget "Marie de Beauregard" Vouvray
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 11/7/2014 | Send Email
  The Marie de Beauregard displays a clean mineral streak, wed to deep aromas of apple, pear, quince, and spice. While the palate begins with a dense texture and broad flavor, on the finish it is a chameleon, turning firm, taut, and bracing, with a slight mineral rasp: this is a lot of Vouvray for the price!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

1998 Mortlach 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Finish Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 11/7/2014 | Send Email
  Very drinkable. This bottle has the nice roundness that one expects from Mortlach. The sherry barrel finish did not fatten it up but added layers of flavors to enjoy. For fans of Mortlach, or for those looking for a single malt that is not smokey and is easy to drink, this Signatory has a lot to offer.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine Cabirau Côtes du Roussillon
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 11/6/2014 | Send Email
  What a lovely wine! Raspberries, cedar, and crushed violet invite your nose. Silky floral and grippy earth entice your palate. This is a very pretty wine at a pretty awesome price!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

2012 Hewitson "Miss Harry" Rhône Blend Barossa Valley South Australia
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/6/2014 | Send Email
  One of the best deals in the store, and one of the must buys of our Australian selections this year. Hewitson always offers an incredible wine for a great value in their miss harry release. The fact that this one comes from a perfect vintage is even better! Loads of nuanced spice and lush strawberry are evened out by bright acidity and a hint of menthol. There is a little tannic backbone to lend structure and complete this well crafted surprise.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2017

2005 Valandraud, St-Emilion
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/6/2014 | Send Email
  The flagship wine of garagiste Jean-Luc Thunevin, this 2005 Chateau Valandraud, St-Emilion is a superb example of both the vintage and the "modern" style of Bordeaux winemaking. It offers loads of dense, dark fruit, black fig and damson plum, with a bit of spicecake thrown in for good measure. Rich, almost silky in texture, finishing with fine tannins. A very well made wine, generous in every way but with excellent balance. Needs another five to ten years in the cellar but will more than reward the patient connoisseur.

2006 Castello di Monsanto "Nemo" Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 11/6/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  If you’re a fan of the Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva then you owe it to yourself to try the 2006 Castello di Monsanto Nemo Toscana. I was excited to taste this wine and I was immediately rewarded with aromas of bitter chocolate, volcanic rock, saline and cherry kirsch aromas. The palate was a supple blend of black cherry fruit, licorice, spice and subtle oak accents. The wine is in a perfect place for drinking right now, with a touch of age the tannins have softened and the fruit has perfectly integrated with the oak to produce a flat out deliciously drinking wine. At $40 this is one of my favorite super Tuscans that we currently have in stock.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2018

2012 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
 By: Ed Donovan | Review Date: 11/6/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This wine has an expressive nose with loads of dark fruit carrying over into a soft palate with plums and wild strawberries and a hint of wild herbs. Very enjoyable, and at just 12.5% ABV feel free to pour yourself another glass!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Cantine Ascheri Barolo
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 11/6/2014 | Send Email
  Patience will be very rewarding with this Barolo. It’s big and has the potential to live a very long life. Decant to drink now. It’s full of bright cherries, cedar, leather and tobacco with hints of those classic Barolo characteristics of tar and roses. A powerful wine will all the right elements for ageing. Definitely one to add to the cellar.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Valandraud, St-Emilion
 By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 11/6/2014 | Send Email
  A great vintage of Valandraud at this price; I am all in! As always, this wine exhibits deep, saturated purple fruit, sweet blackberry fruit on nose with toasty oak. On the palate exotic flavors of chocolate and blackcherry lead to a dry finish. This wine features the hallmark qualities of the outstanding 2005 vintage; purity of fruit, with great acidity and fantastic freshness! Ralph Sands
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2012 Byron Santa Barbara County Pinot Noir
 By: Ed Donovan | Review Date: 11/6/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Tasted this recently in the San Francisco store and was truly impressed. Plenty of ripe red fruit here but also an elegance that suggests the fruit was picked at the perfect moment. Tastes way above its league!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart W&S 91 BC 0

2012 Remo Farina Valpolicella Ripasso
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/6/2014 | Send Email
  Red cherry, dried cranberry, leather, dried meat notes, mineral, spice with medium plus acidity and fine, easy tannin. Absolutely gorgeously balanced, this wine is perfect for the complicated assortment of flavors of your Thanksgiving table! Cin cin!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Kalinda Napa Valley Chardonnay
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 11/5/2014 | Send Email
  The best Kalinda Chardonnay to date! I'm not typically a Cali-Chard drinker but this hits all the high notes! This is filled with richness but not in the buttery-oaky way. It has depth and minerality with pure citrus and stone fruit and perfectly integrated acidity that gives it just the right amount of lip-puckering lift! This is my Thanksgiving Chard for sure:)
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Textbook Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Patrick Cu | Review Date: 11/5/2014 | Send Email
  Textbook consistently produces great value wines, and this 2012 Napa Cabernet Sauvignon is no exception. Aromas of mocha, toasty oak, and blackberry emerge from the glass. Cinnamon, raspberry, and dark chocolate are pronounced on the palate. There is a fullness in body and richness in texture that make this wine a fantastic deal for just $20.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Lewis Cellars Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 11/5/2014 | Send Email
  When we visited Lewis Cellars on our Napa Trip and I tasted the 2012 Napa Cabernet, the first descriptor I wrote was “polished”. This wine is very young with a big backbone, but since it is so polished it is already a pleasure to taste. This wine is full of lush dark fruits, exotic spices, tobacco leaf and earthy qualities with a long, chocolate liquor finish. While this wine is delicious now, it will definitely improve with some cellar aging. Get this wine before it’s gone!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart WS 94 BC 0

2013 Saracco Moscato d'Asti
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/5/2014 | Send Email
  Mr. Saracco is the toast of the US rappers who sip his Moscato d’Asti at parties and name-check it in their lyrics. Indeed, hip hoppers’ vocal endorsement is credited as being one of the reasons why producers are popping their corks at the growing popularity of this sparkling wine. Since Kanye West’s mention of Moscato d’Asti in the song “Make Her Feel Good” sales have been spiralling upwards. Moscato d’Asti is, like Champagne, from a controlled appellation of origin. Made from Muscat Blanc grapes grown exclusively in Asti, Alessandria and Cuneo, it proudly traces its heritage back to Roman times when it was called Moscatellum. The alcohol content remains low, typically at 5% ABV. This is a great wine to serve for all your spring parties.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Textbook Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 11/4/2014 | Send Email
  Textbook has all the qualities one expects from a lush Napa Cabernet, but at a price point that makes for an extremely smart buy. Perfumed with hints of blackberry, plum and dark chocolate, this wine is rich in texture, balanced and a joy to drink. Excellent when paired with a Gruyere cheeseburger, braised ribs or simply with a bit of aged Gouda.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Château de la Font du Loup Châteauneuf-du-Pape
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 11/4/2014 | Send Email
  Châteauneuf du Pape has lost its luster for me. Especially on the affordable price point. Not very complicated. Way too much fruit. Then along came La Loup! This is the best Chateauneuf I have tried in years!! Earth tones, floral and spice meet you in the glass. Very elegant mouthfeel, smooth, soft and harmonious. A good length and lovely acidity. Integrated tannins really round out this wine. Once again I must mention, elegant! This is a perfect holiday wine!

2010 Terre da Vino "La Casa in Collina" Barbaresco
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/4/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The first thing you’re going to think when seeing this offering is that it can’t be real or it's flawed wine somehow or another. Well, I know how you feel, I felt the same. Yet this wine is really good at the price, and you want to know why? Well Terre da Vino is a co-op, made up of co-ops; their economy of scale is incredible and because of that they can offer wines at prices way under the market value. I was skeptical, but after tasting this wine I said OK, this is actually really good! The nose is a classic Barbaresco, leather, spice with hints of rose petals and smoke; on the palate the wine is archetypal, the tannins frame the wine on your palate but are supple, sweet yet give the wine that firm edge that says yes this is Barbaresco. This wine is full-bodied but very well balanced good palate weight and a long smooth finish. Try it with your favorite risotto, hopefully with wild mushrooms, pasta with meat based sauces or with braised meats, you’ll love this.
Drink from 2014 to 2022
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/4/2014 | Send Email
  Wow! This is really one of the best Pinot Noirs I've tasted at this price point. The bouquet has notes of plum, dark strawberry, clove, chocolate and earth. On the palate there is beautiful balance, with good acidity, soft tannins and very good length. If you're a fan of Pinot, don't miss this great value.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Fujanera "Arrocco" Nero di Troia
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/4/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Hands down the best Nero di Troia I've had! OK, so what does that mean to you? An indigenous grape to Puglia that has traditionally been blended into other wines, but by itself this wine is Sensational! Wild, spicy aromatics of cedar, rosemary, leather lead into the palate that shows serious palate presence but only at 13% alcohol. Supple and smooth in the mouth but with a soulful rendition of intrigue and terroir. Truly an exceptional wine at the price point. Try it with roasted chicken, tomato based pasta or grilled sausage.
Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese Toscana
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/4/2014 | Send Email
  From one of our all-time-favorite Brunello producers. This wine could easily compete with wines twice the price. Drinkable now, utterly delicious in fact, but could age beautifully if you wanted to lay a couple bottles down. Highly recommended.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Arnaldo Caprai Rosso di Montefalco
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/4/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a bold and spicy Umbrian wine that shows what high quality Sangiovese can do when given a backbone of Sagrantino (15%). Wild cherry aromatics laced with spicy cedar notes, nutmeg, sage and finishes with hints of vanilla. The wine spends a year in big Slavonian oak barrels and then finishes with four months in French oak barriques. Supple, rich and exceedingly well-balanced, this is a superb wine for the price and is the perfect accompaniment for grilled meats or rich, meat sauce pasta.
Drink from 2014 to 2019

2006 Castello di Monsanto "Nemo" Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/4/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Tuscany and Napa meet together in this 30-year-old Cabernet Sauvignon vineyard. The classic structure of Tuscany's 2006 vintage is showing well in this full, spicy wine. 18 months in French oak barrique have developed Nemo's initial structure but another six years in the bottle have blossomed into a rich, complex and well-developed Cabernet. To imagine a Napa Cabernet at this age and at this price is...well, hard to imagine. This wine has a lot of similar character to Napa, lots of black fruit, full of berry flavored richness with a touch of toasty vanillin in the finish. All of you California Cab lovers should give this a try!
Drink from 2014 to 2024

Page:  <<   prev  4 5  6   next  >>