Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev  4 5  6   next  >>
Glenfarclas "The Faultline Casks" K&L Exclusive First Fill Oloroso Sherry Casks Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
  The Faultline Casks expression is deceptive in that the 57% alcohol overpowers the sherry at first, to the point that you get mostly malt and grain. With water, the magical flavors are immediately unlocked and all the Christmas cake and fudge begin oozing out of their hiding place. Super fun stuff and very holiday-oriented. What I love most about this, and our other Glenfarclas expression, is that there aren't many whiskies on the market that taste like this. It's a big, explosive flavor that isn't just dark sherry sweetness and oversaturation. It's still a very balanced whisky.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
  Last year’s Co-Branded Pinot Noir from Au Bon Climat was such a hit we couldn’t help but to make it again! Once again we think Jim Clendenen and his wildly talented crew at Au Bon Climat has out done themselves with the quality of the components that they allowed us to make this wine from. Just like last year this wine is 100% fruit from the famed Bien Nacido Vineyard, with both components coming from Block 2, which was planted in 1994. Made from 50% Clone 113 and 50% Clone 115, of which 50% was whole-cluster fermented, this was actually the first blend we put together once we ran through all of the components we had available to us. That’s right; we nailed this blend on the first go around! We certainly tried to improve it but it always lingered on our palates as the best of the bunch. Instantly drinkable this is packed with boisterous red fruits on the nose of Bing cherry and muddled raspberry with a hint of sassafras, tarragon and finely ground white pepper. Mouthfilling and with no roughness, which is impressive in its youth, this is one easily gulpable wine but it’s so much more serious than what you’d first expect. With velvety fine tannins and a persistent mouthwatering acidity this wine has plenty of structure to get better over the next 4-8 years. However if you drink it now you’ll be able to experience plenty of delicious flavors like red plum, dragonfruit, cola, violets and Rainier cherries. Long and lasting on the palate with a likeable plush texture we think this Pinot has a little something to please everyone. Go ahead prove us wrong.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Muirkirk Vineyard" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another majestic bottling from winemaker Duncan Forsyth at Mount Edward. This tiny vineyard sits in potentially the most highly regarded micro-region of Central Otago - Bannockburn. Here the combination of schist and heavy clay soils with the hillsides mostly northerly aspect produces wines of richness and intensity. This wine has a more opulent expression than the finer more elegant Morrison Vineyard release. The Muirkirk bottle has a mouth filling texture, riper red fruits, wild thyme, a "gamey" or "sauvage" character that so often signifies Bannockburn as the place of origin. The wine still has lovely balance and acidity but just seems more forward to me than the other single vineyard bottling. I have no favorite either way, but I love the exquisite sub-regional delineation captured by Duncan's gentle winemaking. Really special wines.
Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A beautiful bottling from Mount Edward. This is a combination of select barrels and parcels from each of their estate vineyards and the Pisa Terrace Vineyard, in different sub-regions of Central Otago. All of the vineyards are certified BioGro Organic. The blend skilfully combines the structure and length of Morrison Vineyard, the delicacy and detail and Pisa Terrace vineyard (both in Lowburn) with the broader riper flavors from the slightly warmer subregion of Bannockburn where the Muirkirk Vineyard is situated. The wine is very aromatic with ripe red fruits, sweet baking spices, clove and rose petal. The palate is juicy and medium bodied with soft expressive red fruit flavors and some darker edges. The purity of fruit is nicely punctuated with wild Thyme, warm earth and sandalwood notes. The tanins are super fine and silky soft. This is so drinkable and delicious!
Drink from 2014 to 2020

2012 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Tongue in Groove is an amazing new project from some of the savviest folks in the NZ wine biz. Ex-Pegasus Bay winemaker Lynnette Hudson leads the team creating these spectacular wines from some of the best vineyards in the country. Her many years of experience and expertise crafting Pinot Noir and Riesling (Tongue in Groove’s obvious focus) show in these stunning wines with silky textures, purity and depth. The “Vine Tender” is Nick Gill, is one of the most talented viticulturalists in NZ. As we know, one of the most important elements of any wine is what goes on in the vineyard! Managing Director is Angela Clifford, she is the one who pulls together Tongue in Groove’s wacky personality and hones it into one pretty slick package! The distinctive labels each represent a different character from the group of friends behind TIG and the designs illustrate their individual personality traits; just like the character of the wondrous, diverse, expressive wines inside the bottles!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Tongue in Groove is an amazing new project from some of the savviest folks in the NZ wine biz. Ex-Pegasus Bay winemaker Lynnette Hudson leads the team creating these spectacular wines from some of the best vineyards in the country. Her many years of experience and expertise crafting Pinot Noir and Riesling (Tongue in Groove’s obvious focus) show in these stunning wines with silky textures, purity and depth. The “Vine Tender” is Nick Gill, is one of the most talented viticulturalists in NZ. As we know, one of the most important elements of any wine is what goes on in the vineyard! Managing Director is Angela Clifford, she is the one who pulls together Tongue in Groove’s wacky personality and hones it into one pretty slick package! The distinctive labels each represent a different character from the group of friends behind TIG and the designs illustrate their individual personality traits; just like the character of the wondrous, diverse, expressive wines inside the bottles!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2012 Tongue In Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Tongue in Groove is an amazing new project from some of the savviest folks in the NZ wine biz. Ex-Pegasus Bay winemaker Lynnette Hudson leads the team creating these spectacular wines from some of the best vineyards in the country. Her many years of experience and expertise crafting Pinot Noir and Riesling (Tongue in Groove’s obvious focus) show in these stunning wines with silky textures, purity and depth. The “Vine Tender” is Nick Gill, is one of the most talented viticulturalists in NZ. As we know, one of the most important elements of any wine is what goes on in the vineyard! Managing Director is Angela Clifford, she is the one who pulls together Tongue in Groove’s wacky personality and hones it into one pretty slick package! The distinctive labels each represent a different character from the group of friends behind TIG and the designs illustrate their individual personality traits; just like the character of the wondrous, diverse, expressive wines inside the bottles!

2013 Brewer-Clifton/K&L Wine Merchants "B-C. Kessler-Haak Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  A man walks into a bar and says, "Give me the best Pinot Noir you have". The bartender quickly retorts, "Why, that's the 2013 Brewer Clifton, straight from the Kessler Haak vineyard in St. Rita Hills." Not a very good joke, but a truly PHENOMENAL wine. Medium-bodied and chock-full of alluring red fruit, vanilla, cola and perfectly balanced spice, this is a Pinot for those craving something a bit MORE. Simply delicious!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  Rioja that's ready to drink now, drinkable on its lonesome, perfectly food-friendly, and costs -$$? What? This is an amazing value for the holidays, or any time of year, for that matter. Super-classic aromas of dusty red fruit and old man cigars, lightly savory and earthy with a touch of chocolate. This is delicious!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  Wow, what a rich, decadent wine. The nose provides some herbaceous, mineral-driven notes with plenty of black cherry, blackberry and violet to balance. The body is plush and juicy with fine, well-integrated tannins and notes of chocolate, fresh ground coffee, cherry, blueberry and cassis. A glass, maybe a bottle, of this as dessert sounds about right.

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  What a wonderful find in some of the best vineyard sites of the Chianti Classico region (Conca D’Oro). On the hillsides of the town of Panzano this IGT first pops with vibrant color in the glass and lovely shades of violet and plum. On the nose it burst with floral, spice and seamlessly layered oak! Deep, rich and alluring mouthfeel. It keeps you reaching for the glass. Espresso roast, cassis, blueberries, blackberries and a hint of smoky tar rounds out the finish. This is one full-bodied wine! But, with that great Italian acidity. A fantastic gift for the holidays or any day for that matter! Enjoy--I know I am.

2012 Frog's Leap Napa Valley Zinfandel
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  I love Frog's Leap wines for many reasons. The most important thing they do is make food-friendly wines that are balanced, sophisticated, restrained, friendly, and age-worthy. I'm super impressed by their Napa Zinfandel in particular because it is the way Zinfandel used to be made years ago, before all the "Prisoners and Opolos" of the world came to take over! The 2012 Frog's Leap Zin is super classic in style and varietally correct. Bright and focused fruit with wonderful acid and not over-oaked and alcoholic like so many of its counterparts. This is a Zin that will never go out of style. Blackberry, currant, cassis, with slight hints of tobacco leaf and cocoa nibs on the finish. Juicy without over-extraction, and wonderful integration of oak tannins.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart W&S 91 BC 0

2013 Spellbound California Chardonnay
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  Robert Mondavi Jr. hits it out of the ballpark again with the 2013 vintage of Spellbound Chardonnay. I have to say, this is the richest, creamiest, toastiest vintage of this wine I've tasted! You really can not beat the value here. Lots of buttered popcorn, creme brulee, caramel-dipped apple, and freshly buttered toast. This is A LOT of wine for the price! If you're a Cali-Chard fan, this is one not to miss!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Baccinetti is a tiny producer on Montlacino’s south face, their winery located kitty corner between Sesta di Sopra and Tenuta di Sesta. Giovanni and Mieke's wines come from their vineyard a mile or so west adjacent to Lisini. Their wines are pure, unadulterated and natural, the initial textural smoothness belies its complexity, the nose is racy, deep red fruit, gamey, filled with sauvage overtones full of rich strawberry fruit with layers of spice. Earth and leathery components back up the fruit and spice elements and finish the richly textured body with a subtle grip. It will benefit from some age, but is very drinkable now.
Drink from 2014 to 2019

2012 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  This wine has been a top value for quite some time now and the 2012 vintage does not disappoint! Rich fruit with a little spice that goes down smooth! Stock up!
Top Value!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Malmaison, Moulis-en-Médoc
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  An amazing vintage from vineyards managed by the Rothschild family helps make the 2009 Malmaison Moulis a top Bordeaux deal! Pure, rich fruit, great spice, and a long finish. Beautiful wine that should not be missed!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Jean-Louis Denois Pinot Noir Brut Rosé
 By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  Stunning at this price! Thanks once again to our direct import, this little brut rose is a steal. Crisp, bright cherry, strawberry, and well balanced acidity. Perfect party pick!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Chartreuse "V.E.P." Green 1L
 By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 12/1/2014 | Send Email
  The most extraordinary digestif ever made. The most extraordinary anything ever made. My desert island one-and-only.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart WE 96-  100 BC 0

2013 Philippe Tessier "Le Point du Jour" Cheverny Rouge
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 11/30/2014 | Send Email
  Rose petals for miles flanked by briar, bramble and wild spice. I long for this wine.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Joël Taluau "Vieilles Vignes" St-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 11/30/2014 | Send Email
  This wine is big and structured and very good. It needs about one hour of decanting, and then opens up, providing soft big round flavors that will go well with hearty foods. I had it with chicken and it also went well with that.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 11/30/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is one of my favorite Pinots in the store, and not just because of the price, although that is a factor. It is from a great vintage and a second label from one of best Pinot producers in the state, Talley Vineyards, and it is a wonderful glass of wine to drink. Medium to medium deep ruby in color, the nose is bright and highly perfumed showing rose petals, red cherries to raspberry fruit aromas, with undertones of mild meaty to filings to slate-like notes. This Gem is well-integrated and structured, with the aforementioned components carrying over to a full, lush, viscous mouthfeel and an excellent mid-palate, good complexity, and a long, warm finish. Rusty has informed me that we need cases of this Gem in our collection, immediately… and so do you. It drinks great right now, but will improve and get better with a few more years in the cellar. I’m doing both! .......... 14.0% ABV
Drink from 2014 to 2019
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2010 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  Kudos to Joe Manekin, our Spanish buyer, for the work he has done to develop our Spanish direct import program. It has yielded astonishing results in just a few short years with some truly amazing wines available to our customers at incredible prices. Case in point? The 2010 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja at a mere $12.99. 100% Tempranillo lightly accented with oak. (Bodegas Puelles neatly bridges the traditional vs modern divide in Rioja and uses a 50/50 mix of American and French oak.) This 2010 vintage is by far the best we have offered, and really over delivers at this price point. A great introduction to the wines of Spain or to the Rioja region, and a superb value.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  Good California Pinot Noir under $20 is increasingly rare. Finding good California Pinot Noir for under $15 is like winning the lottery. And this 2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir is just the ticket. Ripe, sweet, almost candied red fruits – bright cherry and raspberry with just a hint of spice. Unbeatable quality at this price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne (previously Cuvee Reserve)
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  "You had me at Meunier..." So rare to have a chance to enjoy Champagne that is 100% Pinot Meunier. As if that weren't enough, this is one of the few non-vintage cuvees we sell that is more than 50% reserve wine. Oh, and at less than $30 one of the best deals among our directly imported grower producer Champagnes. Still not sold on this one? Each bottle is sealed with genuine 16k gold foil. OK. That's not actually true. But everything else, you bet. What are you waiting for?
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  Always my favorite rosé champagne here at K&L. Drank it with Thanksgiving dinner this year. Quite dry with a pronounced red fruit character - crisp red apple and tart cherry. For die hard Pinot fans - 50/50 Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Filippi "Castelcerino" Soave Colli Scaligeri
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/26/2014 | Send Email
  What a tremendously interesting white! Citrus, tart green apple, leesy richness, and a saline character that is a result of the volcanic soils in which the grapes are grown. Medium-plus quite zesty acidity. The length of this wine is significant--about 10 minutes after tasting, it was still lingering on my palate. A fabulous value--I am excited to give this a go with a cheese platter, roasted chicken or scallops!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Guy Saget "Marie de Beauregard" Vouvray
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 11/26/2014 | Send Email
  This is a really lovely off-dry Vouvray that has a bouquet of dried apricot, lemon blossom, honey and wet stone. On the palate, the wine is rich with mouth-watering acidity and a fine persistent finish. One sip just brings you back for another, and for this price a whole lot of wine.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2012 Mossio Dolcetto d'Alba "Piano Delli Perdoni"
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/26/2014 | Send Email
  Wow!!! This definitely gets THREE Stars from me, what a mouthful of wine. The elegant perfumes will entice you to want to jump into the glass; medium to full-bodied and very supple with overripe cherries, blackberries, bitter-sweet chocolate and lots on minerals with soft tannins. This wine has such great structure it will stand the test of time; the big problem will be keeping enough around to age it. Thinking risotto dishes or a grilled Portobello mushroom, but honestly I am actually drinking this one with some dried cheese & salami.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Savage "White" Western Cape
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  As I said in the Savage Red review, Duncan Savage is making stunning Sauvignon Blanc at Cape Point Vineyards and this wine is singing! Made from a barrel fermented blend of 60% Sauvignon Blanc and 40% Semillon, the bouquet offers notes of lanolin, honeysuckle, kumquat, a hint of tangerine peel and a light nutty character. On the palate, the wine is rich yet with a fine citric acid line and mineral accents that lead to a long finish. Gorgeous stuff...Bravo!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2011 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  This has to be one of the most intriguing whites I've tasted all year. Very complex on aromas--jasmine, yellow peach and bright citrus fruits up front; very elegant on the palate with a silky texture. Solid acidity to finish off and well balanced--makes me want to go back for more!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  Toasty warm aromas, full of vanilla, sweet tobacco and hints of dark chocolate. Definitely not shy, this bottle is full-bodied, with a strong tannin backbone, could age for a few more years and will pair amazingly with a grilled tomahawk chop!

2013 Guy Saget "Marie de Beauregard" Vouvray
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  Whoa! Simply gorgeous Vouvray! Honey, apricot, pear, citrus, mineral and zesty, fresh acid. A hint of sweetness with perfectly balanced acidity means this is a fabulous wine to pair with food. Bring on the winter sauces and game--we've got a white contender! If you loved last year's vintage of this wine, trust me, you're going to go nuts for this one!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2012 Filippi "Castelcerino" Soave Colli Scaligeri
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is an incredible wine, grown in volcanic soil and partially macerated on the skins. That skin contact adds a tremendous flavor boost, like Granny Smith apple skins on steroids, yet balance with superb acidity and minerality. The wine has weight, complexity, intense flavors and a sensational finish. Long, powerful and something you won't soon forget. Have it with grilled sea bass or lobster, it's an experience.
Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Filippi "Castelcerino" Soave Colli Scaligeri
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  Serious Soave! With some skin contact this bottle really brings in the body and character! Rich honey and floral notes with a grippy mouthfeel, good acidity and a solid finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Savage "Red" Western Cape
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  Winemaker Duncan Savage has been making stunning Sauvignon Blanc at Cape Point Vineyards since 2002, and in 2011 decided to make wines under his own name. I was fortunate to have lunch with him at his home (sorry Neil Martin, the surf must have been flat that day!...see white wine review.) a few years ago and his talent was clearly undeniable. Well, apparently he knows his way around red wines as well. The Savage Red has a traditional Southern Rhone feel with earthy mineral notes combining with raspberry, boysenberry, coco powder, clove, white pepper and some meaty "savage" accents. On the palate, there is good acid balance with a fine grained tannin structure that will reward 3-5 years in the cellar, or decant for an hour or two.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 95 BC 0

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  After an initial bit of bottle shock upon release this wine has finally come into balance! If you are a fan of Bordeaux or California Cabernet this wine is more similar to them than other Italian Bordeaux blends. The nose if full of blackberry, currant with hints of vanilla and on the palate the 70% Cabernet Sauvignon 25% Merlot and 5% Petit Verdot blend gives a powerful impression. Layers of fruit, spice, and earth with a smooth and supple texture give this wine a balanced, long but luscious finish. Aged for 18 months in 80% new French oak barriques this wine can surely age for another decade plus but is still very drinkable now.
Drink from 2014 to 2024

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  Full-bodied, with well-integrated tannins and a long, balanced, dark chocolate-tinged finish. Lots of toasted oak and ripe fruit and loads of black fruit, gamy with some hints of vanilla, Giorgio Primo comes from winemaker Giampaolo Motta.

2012 Savage "Red" Western Cape
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 11/24/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Finely honed flavors and textures all intricately strung out with lovely acidity and silky long tannin chains. This truly reminds me of the glory days of Châteauneuf-du-Pape before high alcohol and new oak took its toll on many of those wines. This wine is about allowing every part of this complex symphony of grape varieties play its part. No one element is trying to out-play the other. Balance, poise and perfect synthesis is at the heart of this wine. Delicious now, but I can't wait to see where is goes with some time in bottle. Intriguing wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 95 BC 0

2010 Viticcio Chianti Classico Riserva
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/24/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This wine took me by surprise but it needed an equipment change suggested by my dining companion to fulfill its promise. It being Sangiovese-based, I went to my tried-and-true Chianti/Zin glass but this wine struggled--it was tannic and awkward. But switching to a Cabernet/Bordeaux glass opened up this wine's depth and smoothed out the tannins. Layers of spice, dark fruit and leather just flow from the glass and on the palate; the richness and concentrated character adds real length and concentration. Drinking well now, but still capable of aging another decade! Try it with a grilled rib-eye drizzled with extra virgin olive oil.
Drink from 2014 to 2022

2010 Mercedes Eguren Cabernet Sauvignon Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 11/24/2014 | Send Email
  Simply put, the best value Cabernet for this holiday season. Juicy, fruity and easy-drinking, this is a great choice for holiday parties or to have at home as your everyday Cabernet! Who said you can't find a good bottle of Cabernet for under 10 bucks?
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/23/2014 | Send Email
  An excellent NZ Riesling with a gold straw color. Its musky, apricot nose gives way to a generous body of sharp stone fruit, white flower, and honey flavors.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/23/2014 | Send Email
  A rich nose of earth and raspberry gives way to red fruit and fig flavors. This Marlborough beauty has many layers of fruit complexity and reminds me of an elegant Sonoma Pinot from the best of vintages, albeit a little more racy and edgy than most domestic Pinots can get.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Morrison Vineyard" Pinot Noir Lowburn Central Otago
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/23/2014 | Send Email
  Any fan of Pinot will love this bottle--it's one of the more well-rounded and delicious Pinots we've brought in from NZ. A light body of blackberry fruit notes is held up by subtle cinnamon and leather flavors. The finish is very long, full of the understated earthy tones one expects from a real Pinot of this caliber.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/23/2014 | Send Email
  Bright crunchy red fruit--cranberry, cherry and strawberry with medium-plus acidity. Zippy acid and fleshy fruit make this Pinot hard not to love!

2013 Savage "White" Western Cape
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 11/22/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Very skillfully crafted wine. Containing elements of both subtle minerality and textural power / intensity. As good as this is now, I suspect it will age like great white Bordeaux. Very serious wine of depth and intensity.
Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2007 Reinhold Haart Piesporter Goldtröpfchen Riesling Spätlese
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 11/21/2014 | Send Email
  What an impressive Riesling! It’s starting to come into its age by developing beautiful aromatics of petrol, honey, and orange blossom. While it does have the typical light body of the Mosel, it’s light without being thin and shows richness and complexity. The palate provide bright acidity, lemon zest, nectarine and white peach notes. This medium-sweet style can be admired on its own or paired exceptionally with spicy foods or dessert.

2012 Zepaltas "Clay Wheels" Rhone Blend
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  Former pro-skater Ryan Zepaltas really brings it with this juicy, drinkable red blend. Grenache, Syrah & Carignan. Plum, cherry, and currant with medium plus acidity. A fun wine for every day drinking!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Muirkirk Vineyard" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  Strawberry, thyme, red cherry, and rose leap out of this wine. Medium plus acidity with fine, easy tannin. Elegant and polished, a stunning example of Central Otago Bannockburn Pinot Noir. Love it!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  A sexy little find from our friends at Tongue & Groove, this wine shows black currant, red cherry, and cranberry with an underlying minerality, medium plus acidity and fine tannin. Beautifully balanced and elegant. Love it!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2012 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  The Tongue & Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling is a totally brilliant find! Apricot, citrus, mineral, slate with hints of botrytis. Medium plus acidity makes this wine so, so drinkable. Fabulous balance. A must for riesling-lovers everywhere!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<   prev  4 5  6   next  >>