Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev  4 5  6   next  >>
Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/2/2014 | Send Email
  This keeps getting better and better. Now using more Pinot Noir, this traditionally made cava has a bit more substance than the previous very enjoyable (non)vintages. Great price for an exceptional sparkler.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Carballal "Sete Cepas" Albariño Rias Baixas
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/2/2014 | Send Email
  I've always thought this wine was good, but this vintage was great! A very solid wine, refreshing, with great minerality and loads of citrus and tropical fruit in the background. This will be a creekside wine for sure.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Losada "Pajaro Rojo" Mencía Bierzo
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/2/2014 | Send Email
  Big and juicy, a touch jammy even, slightly herbaceous, and a great price! Serve this slightly chilled and serve throughout summer.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart W&S 91 BC 0

2011 Don Ventura "Viña Caneiro" Ribeira Sacra
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/2/2014 | Send Email
  Great fruit, a very bold wine that will fit perfectly in line with Syrah and Zin lovers line ups. Grippy taninns and chartreusey herbs on the finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Guímaro "B2M" Mencía Ribeira Sacra
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/2/2014 | Send Email
  Big, rich, and powerful, with great minerality, blueberries and thyme.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Baron Fuente "Grand Millésimé" Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/2/2014 | Send Email
  Tasting this wine for the first time in Epernay with Baron Fuente's Eric de Brissis was a great experience. I loved the wine for its poised creaminess, lovely nutty flavors and clean, long finish. This is a very elegant, subtle bottle of wine that will impress the most jaded of palates. In my notebook from that day, I wrote "tastes expensive"... Then he showed me the price. Deals like this don't come every day, and I would suggest that you join me in buying a case, or maybe two!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2021
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 7/1/2014 | Send Email
  This iconic Napa Valley producer has done well with this 2012 Knights Valley. Sourced from vineyards in Sonoma County, Beringer has been making this wine for years. If you love California Cabernet, this wine is for you. Big, bright and extracted with generous spice. Vanilla and cedar are generous with the tannins being very soft and approachable. Enjoy now or for the next 5 years.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/1/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  In 2011 owners Pablo Härri & Claudia Ferrero produced a spectacular wine from their property in Montenero d’Orcia just across the river from Montalcino. It is a blend of 33% Cabernet Sauvignon, 33% Merlot, 17% Montepulciano and 17% Alicante. The Cab’s complex ripeness is accented by the peppery nature of the Alicante while the tannins of the Montepulciano are softened by the supple nature of the Merlot. The ripeness of the 2011 vintage gives this wine superb palate presence and it is delicious to drink now but will age for another 5-10 years. Truly a Super Tuscan blend, but the wine is stunning for the price!
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/1/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  In 2012 Pablo Härri produced fresh, vibrant and balanced Sangiovese, and there in Southwest Montalcino where the wines take on sort of a cross of Napa-like richness with Montalcino power, it is a refreshing result! A luscious 100% Sangiovese Rosso di Montalcino that has the structure to age and the balance to drink now. Grab some now, fire up the BBQ and grill yourself a Bistecca Fiorentina! Don’t forget to drizzle some extra virgin olive oil on it when it’s done!
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Rocca di Montegrossi Rosato
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/1/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Picking up the rosé gauntlet, Baron Marco Ricasoli made his Rosato first back in 2007 and since then it has become one of K&L’s most sought-after PINK wines! Made with 90% Sangiovese and 10% Canaiolo from Marco’s famous vineyards in the heart of Chianti Classico. Marco’s Rosato is vibrant on the palate with great balance, freshness and acidity. It is full of cherry spice, strawberry with a hint of rosemary and violets. The finish is long and lively, the perfect accompaniment to grilled salmon!
Drink from 2014 to 2015
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Villa Sandi "Il Fresco" Rosé
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/1/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Prosecco! Two of your favorite grapes blended together! This is an incredibly balanced and very flavorful every day sparkling wine that is brilliantly refreshing. The complex rose hip and blackberry flavors highlight the Pinot Noir portion of the blend while the Prosecco lightens, freshens and lifts the flavors in your glass while adding delicate white flower aromas. The palate presence has a persistent and focused mousse and gives you a feeling of textural richness but its subtle presence reinforces the wine’s natural elegance and refreshing character!
Drink from 2014 to 2015
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/1/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Nestled slightly to the east of Alexander Valley and to the north of Calistoga, Knights Valley straddles the imaginary line delineating Sonoma from Napa Valley. An emerging hotbed for great Cabernet Sauvignon values, Knights Valley offers a nice alternative to all the $50+ Cabs from Napa Valley. The 2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon at $22.99 is the perfect example of the kind of values that can be found in Knights Valley; this exact wine with the words Napa Valley would easily command upwards of $50 a bottle! A nose of dark cherry kirsch, mocha and tobacco give way to a richly-textured palate of black cherries, plum, spice and seductive chocolate notes. This wine is packed with dark berry fruit and luscious notes of mocha and chocolate with good acidity, silky tannins and bright fruit notes. The finish is long and energetic with lingering berry notes and just a hint of spice and milk chocolate. A killer value, this Cabernet Sauvignon definitely over-delivers given its modest price.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Villa Sandi "Il Fresco" Rosé
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/1/2014 | Send Email
  Classic pink with fine and persistent mousse, hints of red fruits and floral notes, with an elegant and long finish. This cuvee is a blend of two grapes: Glera (Prosecco) and Pinot Noir. Fun and inexpensive bubbles, that won't give you a headache after drinking. Buy a couple, the first one empties quickly!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Trabucchi Amarone della Valpolicella
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/1/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I recently had dinner at the Trabucchi estate, and while tasting wine is always important, there really isn’t anything like drinking it to get a complete picture. I was so impressed by the Trabucchi wines at the table. They had additional spice and earthiness and depth, not just the palate richness that one expects with Amarone, but real flavor/structure integration. The wines grew and grew as they sat in the decanter. The Trabucchi Amarone has less fruity ripeness and a fresher, more vinous quality, this bears more of a resemblance to Barolo than Amarone.
Drink from 2014 to 2021

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/1/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  When I first tasted this in Montalcino last February I was blown away by the supple texture and weight but as the wine has finally come together and it is the layers of dried violets, sweet earthy notes and wild cherry that just flabbergasts me! Layers of spice, wild fruit aromatics give the presence of a distinctly bold wine but it is really elegantly balanced and so easy to drink right now! Try it with a grilled pork tenderloin rubbed with rosemary, garlic, fresh cracked pepper and sea salt. Absolutely delicious!
Drink from 2014 to 2022
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Seven Hills "Seven Hills Vineyard" Walla Walla Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/1/2014 | Send Email
  Seven Hills has long been one of favorite Washington producers here at K&L and one of my personal faves for about as long as I’ve been in this business. This first generation Washington winery has made great wines, seemingly continuously, since its founding in 1988 in all price points and from all varietals. However I think that this winery really shines with its Cabernet Sauvignon. There is a depth, richness and texture to their wines that rivals some of the best America has to offer, yet they do it for a fraction of the cost that we’ve come to expect from Napa or even comparative Sonoma Cabs. The Seven Hills Vineyard bottling is from the “Old Blocks” on this prestige site in Walla Walla Valley and while these old blocks may not be 100 years old they are certainly mature vines of the highest quality that you’ll find in Washington. Deep, inky and powerful this wine initially comes off as a bit of a brute, however as it develops in the mouth you realize just how complex and nuanced it really is. Layers of oak toast, dried black currants, road tar and black olive are tightly woven together with a long, persistent finish. This is a wine that needs a bit of air if you want to drink it right away so make sure you have a decanter handy, but if you have the time, patience and space I can’t think of a wine right now, for this sort of value, that would be better lived in your cellar for the next 5-10 years.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart WE 94 BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/1/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Montalcino’s premier vineyard site “Montosoli” is home to one of the region’s best wine deals too! You could pay $40 more a bottle for the other “Montosoli” Brunello but this is the real deal! “Sweet earth” were my first notes for this wine. That classic “Montosoli” nose, elegantly spicy, full of cinnamon, cardamom, anise and leather. The wine exudes a rather feminine mystique: lithe, supple, delicate, giving then taking, hinting not demanding, complex however simple, yet leaves you with a warm, round and complete feeling on the palate. The finish is a delicate reminder, not a forceful demonstration of power. It is intriguing, subtle and memorable. Drink now with a couple of hours in a decanter, or allow the wine to continue to evolve for another 5-10 years or more.
Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2009 Querceto Chianti Classico Riserva
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 6/30/2014 | Send Email
  If you thought Chianti was all dusty tannins and acidity, this wine will change your tune. Black cherry and a hint of fine pipe tobacco greets you in the glass. This being a Riserva, you get a bigger, richer, darker flavor in the glass. That being said, it's still a very balanced wine. With that wonderful Sangiovese acidity! Firm tannins and a long, sturdy finish. Makes it great for any of your Italian dishes!

2012 Kalinda Rheingau Riesling Qba
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 6/30/2014 | Send Email
  In case if you are wondering what this "Kalinda" brand is all about (like I did eight months ago when I first started working here), here it is: Kalinda is a brand created by K&L. We work with wineries and grape growers from different regions of the world to bring you a high-quality wine at a great value. The Riesling this year is sourced from one of the top producers in Rheingau (although I can't tell you exactly who it is...) and is crisp, refreshing and expressive, with white peach, jasmine and honeysuckle aromatics. On the palate it's just slightly off dry; combined with the lower abv and lively minerality it's a perfect wine for BBQ, summer pool party and to pair with any salty and/or spicy food.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $8.99
BC 0

2012 Olema Sonoma County Pinot Noir
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 6/30/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Olema is a winery we hold near and dear. They are family owned, friendly and produce high-quality wines at a great value. We had the 2011 vintage as part of our wine club offering last year and people went nuts over it! I've never seen so many people coming back for the same bottle of wine. Considering 2011 was a more difficult vintage, can you imagine how great the 2012 is now? With that said, this is a classic Russian River Valley style Pinot Noir (even though the label reads Sonoma County, more than 80% of the fruit is sourced from Russian River Valley). Rich, expressive, with juicy cherry and a silky mouthfeel. Overall, a balanced wine with a good finish--and a great value for domestic Pinot Noir, for sure!
Top Value!

2011 Domaine la Collière "La Fontaine" Rasteau
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 6/30/2014 | Send Email
  If you like a rich, flavorful and full-bodied GSM blend, this is a bottle for you! Sourced from the oldest vines of the estate (around 50 years old). This bottle drinks like big-time Chateauneuf-du-pape, without the big price tag.

2013 Margerum "K&L Cuvee" Happy Canyon Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 6/30/2014 | Send Email
  You tend to see two main styles of Sauvignon Blanc in California. They are either lighter in style, very dry and crisp with tart citrus notes, or fuller-bodied, with more texture and weight (often due to barrel aging), showing more tropical fruit. The 2013 Margerum "K&L Cuvee" Happy Canyon Sauvignon Blanc somehow seems to combine the best of both. There is real richness here with exotic melon and mango notes. At the same the wine has a taut, linear style with a marked acidity and an admirable tension unusual in a California Sauvignon Blanc. Really superb, and the perfect wine for those who like having their cake and eating it too.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $14.99
BC 0

2013 Clendenen Santa Maria Valley Mondeuse Rosé
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 6/30/2014 | Send Email
  Each year here at K&L the advent of warmer weather yields a brand new crop of rosé wines from all over the world. Rosés are the perfect summer wine – dry (for the most part), lighter in body, yet robust in character and flavor. I try to taste as broadly as possible in the early days yet, inevitably, one or two become my favorites and we end up drinking our way through a case or two over the summer. The early favorite this year was, rather unexpectedly, the 2013 Clendenen Santa Maria Valley Mondeuse Rosé. A bit obscure, Mondeuse is found primarily in the Savoy region of France. Jim Clendenden, of Au Bon Climat, maintains a few rows of the grape in the Bien Nacido vineyard. In some years, he adds a small amount to Pinot Noir for his Santa Barbara County bottling. The same grape makes for a bright, tangy rosé, very dry and crisp in style, with tart red fruits and a refreshing minerality. Delicious.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Teutonic "Laurel Vineyard - Bergspitze Schwarz" Chehalem Mountains Pinot Noir
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 6/28/2014 | Send Email
  This is a barrel selection that is based upon aromatic intensity and textural delicacy; not surprisingly, we love it! Not trying to be Burgundy, and for that matter, nor is this very Willamette. It is very, well, Teutonic - light, beautifully cherry scented, and surprisingly complex and satisfying while being so light on its feet. Absolutely worth a try.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Teutonic "Laurel Vineyard" Chehalem Mountains Rosé of Pinot Noir
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 6/28/2014 | Send Email
  Unquestionably one of my favorite rosés this season, there is something very refreshing and gulpable about this rosé. Whether due to the 10.1% ABV (and by extension the lower brix these grapes are picked at), the very cold vineyard site, or Olga and Barnaby's savoir faire, this is a wine I love and want to drink by the bucketful. I suddenly find myself very thirsty.....
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Rosenblum Contra Costa County Zinfandel
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 6/27/2014 | Send Email
  Normally $15 and over, this wine is a steal for under $10! The 2011 Contra Costa Zinfandel is almost black in color, with aromas of smoked meats and dried, black fruits. The flavors explode from the glass but are not over the top; helped by the cooler 2011 vintage I am sure. Best paired with big meat dishes, this is perfect summertime BBQ wine!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Bodkin "Musque Clone" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  A delicious, crisp Sauvignon Blanc of the quality of a very good one from the Loire Valley in France. BRAVO! This is made from the clone brought in from Bordeaux in the early 1960s, which Doug Meader at Ventan discovered did not get those vegetal notes in a cooler climate. So, this shows none of that vegetal quality that this varietal can sometimes exhibit, and is a wonderful wine. It's summer, and this wine will quench your thirst and brighten your spirits. But only if you are wise enough to buy some.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Val de Mer Bourgogne Rosé
 By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  This is a rosé that demands your attention. The nose is all about very soft and delicate red-fruited Pinot Noir--you cannot wait to taste it. Those flavors are echoed on the palate, then snap! There is that Chablis acidity. Mouthwatering and delicious, this is everything that I want from a rosé.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Envinate "Parcela Seaone" Ribeira Sacra
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  This elegant, feminine expression of Mencia from Ribera Sacra has completely changed my mind about the wines of this region. A single parcel expression, the wines shows beautiful red fruits--red cherry, strawberry, raspberry and red roses with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Absolutely worth the splurge if you are seeking an unusual wine which drinks gracefully, and is not intimidating--but which your friends and family will most definitely enjoy with everything from roasted chicken, pork tenderloin, turkey, ribs, lamb or steak.
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ameztoi Getariako Txakolina
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  It's summertime once again, and for me--it's Txakoli time! This is one zippy little puppy--classically Txakolina notes of pear, citrus and mineral with a light fizz and tons of refreshing acidity! Low alcohol at 10.5%. I'm heading to the store now for some Manchego & Marcona almonds to get ready for patio entertaining with this fun vino. Just add good music, great friends, and lots of laughter!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Avinyó "Vi d'Agulla" Petillant Penedès
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  Those who know me would not be surprised one single bit that I love this wine! An unusual blend of 80% Muscat a Petits Grains and 20% Macabeu, it shows pretty apricot, grape and citrus, with great minerality which balances its slight hints of sweetness. Crazy drinkable--fantastic! I would absolutely serve this with nibbly bits--appetizers--on my warm patio, at brunch with a cheese souffle, alongside a roasted chicken or with some spicy seafood Pad Thai--or just the good company of my loved ones! Better watch out--I might buy it all before you do!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Fossil Point Edna Valley Chardonnay
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  A tasty and easy to drink Chardonnay. There is nice fruit that is balanced out with a refreshing finish. It is not a big, heavy wine but is more medium-bodied. The Fossil Point Chardonnay will be enjoyable alone or with fish and fowl.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2011 Fossil Point Edna Valley Chardonnay
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  We have seen a tremendous amount of good Chardonnay coming from the Edna Valley region over the last couple of vintages. Fossil Point needs to be included in that group. Light cedar and a touch of butter married well with bright tropical fruit, and a lovely touch of acidity rounds it out. This is a wonderful Chardonnay for the price and should be enjoyed over the next 1-2 years.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2012 DuMol Russian River Valley Chardonnay
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  Dumol offers you a tasty treat with this 2012 Chardonnay. Winemaker Andy Smith has been weaving magic at Dumol for 14 years, but the 2012 wines could be his masterpiece. Power and finesse combine nicely. The bright fruit is wrapped with soft acidity and just a touch of cedar. Apple, pear and a hint of melon with lovely hints of spice. A touch of mineral is found throughout. A wine that can age 2-3 years or opened tonight and enjoyed as well.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 DuMol Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  We have been waiting with bated breath for many of the 2012 wines to hit the market and the 2012 Dumol wines are at the top of many a list. The Pinot Noir explodes out of the glass with lovely red fruits and rose petals with just a touch of clove and cinnamon. The mouth bursts with ripe red fruits, cola, cinnamon, mushroom and a touch of cedar. This is a wine with great backbone and balance, a wine of amazing grace and style. It's one of the prettiest wines I have tasted in a long time and probably the best Russian River Pinot Noir I have tasted from Dumol. Andy Smith has found the promise land with this one. The wine is approachable right away but can age for 3-5 years. Dumol followers will be very pleased. If you haven't tasted the wines before, now is the time.
Price: $67.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Alberto Nanclares "Dandelion" Albariño Rias Baixas
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  Aside from the playful groovy label, which has a line drawing of tiny people being blown along in the wind holding onto a dandelion puff, this is one serious Albarino! There is an interesting Riesling-like slate quality here, with tropical papaya and apricot playing off of citrus and mineral. Medium plus acidity with great balance and brightness. Love Albarino? Pick this one up as part of your regular rotation!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Suñer Bibiloni Ca Sa Padrino "Montenegro" Binissalem (Mallorca)
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  Red wine from Mallorca, you say? Why, yes indeed! We have had this pretty little wine on our shelves for some time, but revisiting it this week, I was struck again by how lovely it is. I would like to think it shows the light-hearted joyfulness of the island- red cherry, dried apricots, tarragon, and dried orange peel with medium plus acidity and soft, easy tannin. Fun, bright, fresh and very easy to drink. Crazy price for such a great wine!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Guimaro Mencía Ribeira Sacra
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  For an "entry level village wine", this little Mencia is awesome! Because there is already some bottle age here, this Ribera Sacra has lost its super flashy, floral fruit that I usually associate with Mencia from this region. Instead, you get a beautifully ageing wine for a ridiculous price. Stewed red cherry, warm saddle leather, thyme, cranberry, and spice with medium plus acidity and fine, elegant tannin. I want to make a meaty meal, have some friends over, and toast Espana!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Evening Land Arroyo Grande Valley Chardonnay
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  Tally Vineyard fruit. Check. Soshi Moorman, winemaker. Check. 2012 Vintage. Check. The only thing wrong with this wine would be the price you would have to pay. $ 15.99. Check. There isn't a reason in the world not to buy this wine. Apple and pear notes with just hints of citrus, vanilla and cedar. A touch of acidity rounds out the beautiful balance. A fantastic value which we sell out very quickly.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Oddero Barolo
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Full bodied and classically styled this Oddero Barolo is a fusion of the ripe but focused fruit in this 2010 vintage coupled with the leathery, earthy, woodsy flavors. On the palate this wine has a mouth-filling presence, wonderful texture punctuated by little reminders that yes there is tannin and yes this is Barolo but it is so pleasant I could drink it now. Fleshy and fruity enough now to drink if you like the primary flavors but still capable of being a solid wine in your cellar for years to come.
Drink from 2020 to 2035
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 6/26/2014 | Send Email
  Lively, clean and crisp with nice citrus overtones. The Messias Santola has a hint of fizz to provide a delicious freshness to the wine. Great alone or with light foods. Very dry and very good.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Isle Of Skye 12 year old Matured Scotch Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 6/25/2014 | Send Email
  Yes, this really does have a bit of the Talisker character. With a hint of orange rind over slightly smoky, bacon scone-y sweet characteristics, it's a fine Scotch on the rocks that retains some of its grain alcohol character while offering something more interesting than a lot of blended Scotches. But it's not a substitute for single malt Talisker: while I may enjoy it as a Scotch on ice from time to time, I follow it up, when I can, with a nice Talisker 10 or Distiller's Edition--neat!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Bodkin "The Victor's Spoils - Sandy Bend Vineyard" Lake County Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 6/25/2014 | Send Email
  Wow - Bodkin canceled amateur hour with this excellent bottling! Don't let the reasonable price fool you, the Sandy Bench Vineyard Lake County Sauvignon Blanc is as focused, high-toned and precise as they come. This would make a great ringer in a tasting of Sancerre, and has minerality and length that one rarely finds in stateside SBs. If you like your white wine bright, don't miss this one!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 6/24/2014 | Send Email
  This is a new project coming from a small boutique producer out of San Luis Obispo's Edna Valley region. Perfectly suited for cool climate loving varietals like Pinot Noir. This is one that absolutely over-delivers for the price. Very aromatic with ripe strawberry, black cherry, and rose petals, light purple-red in the glass that actually looks like Pinot, not some Syrah-infused Pinot that we see so often these days. Juicy and bright on the mid-palate with great acidity and not too much oak. This is the perfect summer red to drink with almost anything.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc (1.5L) Pre-Arrival
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 6/24/2014 | Send Email
  *V This property makes the best value wine every year. Black fruit flavors and great balance. Sleeper of the vintage.

2012 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc (3L) Pre-Arrival
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 6/24/2014 | Send Email
  *V This property makes the best value wine every year. Black fruit flavors and great balance. Sleeper of the vintage.

2012 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc Pre-Arrival
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 6/24/2014 | Send Email
  *V This property makes the best value wine every year. Black fruit flavors and great balance. Sleeper of the vintage.

2012 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc Pre-Arrival
 By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 6/24/2014 | Send Email
  **V One of the hottest wines in Bordeaux today and for good reason: Cantemerle is a lovely blend.

2012 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc (3L) Pre-Arrival
 By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 6/24/2014 | Send Email
  **V One of the hottest wines in Bordeaux today and for good reason: Cantemerle is a lovely blend.

2012 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc (1.5L) Pre-Arrival
 By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 6/24/2014 | Send Email
  **V One of the hottest wines in Bordeaux today and for good reason: Cantemerle is a lovely blend.

Page:  <<   prev  4 5  6   next  >>