Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>
2010 Lestruelle, Médoc
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  An amazing value from the northern tip of Bordeaux's Left Bank, the 2010 Chateau Lestruelle is an excellent representation of the region's classic character and complexity. A blend of 85% Merlot and 15% Cabernet Sauvignon, this bottling has everything I want in a red wine. Opening with strong tannins that mellow out before going down smoothly, this is a rich and complex wine, combining elements of blueberry, tobacco, flint, and pencil lead on the back end. This all leads to a satisfying finish that makes you insist upon one thing, and one thing only: ANOTHER GLASS!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Elephant Hill "Le Phant Rouge" Gimblett Gravels Hawke's Bay
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  This wine is so good, I'm not sure whether to age it or drink it. Again, I'm not the kind of guy who looks too far from Bordeaux for my Bordeaux blends, but this is a serious wine with both pure, unadulterated fruit flavor and serious structure. You could decant it with a steak tonight, or throw it down in your wine cellar for 3-5 years. Either way, you're in good shape. The price is just insane.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Quarter Acre Bordeaux Blend Havelock Hills Hawke's Bay
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  I'm not usually one to buy my Bordeaux blends outside of Bordeaux, but for this guy I'll make an exception. This Merlot/Malbec blend is dark fruited, slightly structured, and shows lovely mineral notes underneath all the earth and berries. For the money, it's an absolute incredible find by Ryan, our buyer.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 E. Guigal Châteauneuf-du-Pape
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  Ron Burgundy once famously confused Chateauneuf Du Pape with Heinz Ketchup. Obviously, nothing could be further from the truth, a fact especially evident with this 2009 bottling from the famed producer of Rhone wines. Medium bodied and evenly laced with plenty of dark fruit, tobacco, and chocolate, the wine hits you in the face with complexity, while also being very approachable. The moderate tannins sit nicely in the middle of the spectrum between too dry and too sweet,and is sure to please lovers of both fuller, more tannic wines and those wanting something a bit more mellow. A lovely representation of the area.

2010 Majo di Norante "Contado" Riserva Aglianico di Molise
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Aglianico is a big, bold powerful grape and in Majo Norante’s Contado Riserva you get a real mouthful for the price. Smokey, earthy nose that seems to deepen as it escapes the glass, full of dense fruit and hints of vanillin. On the palate this wine is powerful, structured and decisive; layers of flavor explode across your tongue and leave you saying holy wow. The wine finishes with a bit of a reassuring grip long lasting flavors. This wine comes from one of Italy’s least know Regions called Molise, it’s on the Adriatic side of the peninsula between Abruzzo and Puglia.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

Bibi Graetz "Casamatta" Toscana
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Hard to imagine that you can get such good quality at this price but yes you can! One of the ways is to make a multi vintage blend (non vintage sounds so passé) like this one where one vintage’s lesser characteristics can actually balance out another’s. This wine is full of bold cherry and plum fruit, with lots of soft fleshy richness on the palate, just a wonderful drinking wine! Try it with your favorite pizza, or sausage and pepper pasta.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

2008 Bisceglia Aglianico del Vulture "Gudarrà"
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I love this wine’s complexity, layers of wild brush, smoke, truffle, tar, saddle leather and big bold plumy fruit. Aglianico is a powerhouse grape and the wines that come from Vulture, in Basilicata (the instep of the boot) have origins that come from an ancient volcano and that soil lifts and brightens this tannic variety into a superbly balanced and delicious wine. While definitely having a tannic signature this wine has such great balance that it is really drinking well right now and will age well for another 5-8 years. This is a wine that is perfect for braised meats or hearty pasta dishes.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

1995 Glenburgie 19 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  For me, this is the ultimate Speyside expression. Recently, Speyside has become synonymous big unctuous sherry bombs. That is not what we'd call a typical Speyside, but nonetheless distilleries are changes people perceptions of what a regional character should be. This Glenburgie does a good job of putting the Speyside back into its box. Perfectly floral and lifted, the lightness and elegance is apparent on first nosing. When someone asks you what heather smells like, this is the bottle you grab. Light citrus and fragrant candies, the finesse is mimicked on the palate perfectly. Utterly drinkable and unbelievably classic. While this whisky is not light on flavor, it has tons of light flavors. Know what I mean?
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine Cabirau Côtes du Roussillon
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Vibrant aromas of crushed blackberries, licorice and nutmeg spring from the glass of 2012 Domaine Cabirau Cotes du Roussillon, a blend of 70% Grenache, 20% syrah and 10% Carignan this wine is absolutely gorgeous! The palate is stuffed with rich blackberry and blueberry fruit, violet and plum accents with bright acidity and the perfect balance between tannins, fruit and acid. This is a delicious wine that can pair flawlessly with food but has enough body to be drunk on its own or with a charcuterie plate.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

1998 Mortlach 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Finish Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  This Mortlach is going to make so many people happy. We were shocked earlier this year when the owners released and 18 year in the UK at £200 for the half bottle. We were equally surprised when Signatory pointed out the ten casks of Mortlach that had been undergoing a second maturation for over 2 years in Fresh Sherry Casks. We were allowed to taste one. We bought it immediately. The rugged Mortlach spirit is in perfect balance with the lovely sherry influence. While the whisky isn't as dark as I remember it being, there's still all that rich oloroso influence. The spirit is flamboyant and still showing the great youthful savoriness that Mortlach is known for. So much going on hear, a true display of why Mortlach is a true blue chip distillery.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  Do any of you remember the story about the little train that could? Maybe you read it to your kids/grandkids or maybe you remember having it read to you when you were young like I do. The way I recall this story, not having heard it in a couple of decades, is there was this little, forgotten, overlooked train that had great pluck and determination. He kept with it always knowing that he could pull with the best of them. One day he got his chance and wouldn’t you know it he saved the day! In my mind that’s a perfect metaphor for the 2011 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon ($24.99). We’ve always kept this wine around in corners of the store that sometimes just get passed by too quickly. The staff has always loved the wine but maybe it slips their minds when someone asks them for a recommendation. This year’s wine is just too good to forget. Simply put it may be their best effort yet and it certainly is one of the best Cabernets we’ve seen from the much, yet sometimes unfairly, maligned 2011 vintage at it respective price point. There is just so much wine in this bottle; the scope and largesse here is pretty spectacular with bold, rich flavors of tar, ink, blackberry, ash, fried sage and lavender. Add a ton of spicy, exotic oak notes in the nose and a rock solid tannic structure and this is a wine that will be mistaken often for a wine twice its cost. Come on; give the little train a chance.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart W&S 92 BC 0

1997 Glen Ord 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  Glen Ord is a funny little distillery and this whisky is no different. Here we 100% on the waxy pear and apple fruit. Also some green grapes and fresh herbs. With air it throws aromas of some very unusual exotic tincture. This is idiosyncratic whisky to say the least. The real scotch lovers will be able to coax a lot out of this special cask, but they must be patient and listen.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Bowmore 12 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  Beautiful Bowmore! We owe you so much. This fabulous distillery holds a place close in our hearts for many reasons, but the number one reason is they keep putting out RIDICULOUSLY good whisky. This is exactly what I want in an everyday Islay peater. The nose is all smoke, but surprisingly little peat. Instead, we get flinty embers, dried underbrush, fresh sugar cookies, dried sultanas, and a hidden sherry note to balance. The palate brings all the Islay you could want focused like a laser around a bevy of complex flavors. This is another one of these contrast whiskies that I just can't get enough of.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1990 Bruichladdich 23 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  This, for me, is the quintessential 'Laddie. Often we compare Bruichladdich to it's smoky siblings on Islay. By describing it in this context, we are undoubtedly misrepresenting it's character. It is not a light fresh floral malt, but remains a rugged powerful ocean whisky. Despite it's lack of peat, this whisky shows power and depth. The nose draws the perfect line between the exotic wood and savory nuts of the refill sherry. IN the background, a fresh saline spray is apparent. Upon entry, what seemed dark and pensive is now expressive and free. Beautiful fresh fruit flavors mingle perfectly with deep flavors inherent. All along a slight salt nibble. It is indeed non slouch, but instead an Islay stunner of the truest sense.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Glenrothes 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  Oh man, oh man this is a doozy. This whisky is going to make so many people happy. I don't remember this being quite so good back in Scotland and what this Glenrothes does right is exactly what lovers of Glenrothes will notice. The nose is powerfully sweet, dried figs, spiced cakes, chocolate frosting. Based on the nose the mouth was certain to keep this theme, but instead the earthy depth of the 'Rothes spirit pops its head up. Bringing earthy and leathery notes into the fold balances any fears of this being overly sweet. A fine Rothes to say the least.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Imperial 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  Without a doubt the Imperial is the biggest surprise of the trip. When we found this cask is was among a host of similar Imperials. We painstakingly examined each one, but even in the cold warehouse this cask stood out. Aromatically unabashed, the nose is all dark spiced oranges coating freshly made almond brittle. The balance on the palate is impeccable staying focused and lifted for power. This is a real stunner.
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/17/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The desire to call Sesta's 2012 Rosso a "baby" Brunello is really coursing through my veins, as much as I don't like to use the phrase, but man this wine is something. This wine so complete, with such depth of flavor, so much fruit and such perfect balance; it is stunningly good for the price and remarkably drinkable now, although I'll be aging a six-pack myself for another few years. If you're new to Brunello, this is a great wine to get familiar with the region at a really good price.
Drink from 2014 to 2022
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2013 Fujanera "Bellalma" Falanghina Puglia
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/17/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This 100% Falanghina is delicious, it's fermented in stainless steel, and then kept on its lees for two months before being bottled. The nose is a complex perfume of elderflowers and white peach, with a bit of crushed stone that is couched in a med-full body, and it has a long and decidedly refreshing finish. Perfect with Crab or just by itself!
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana (1.5L)
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/17/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  2012 Erik Banti Carato Toscana IGT $7.99 Erik Banti’s Carato is a Mini Super Tuscan! It’s a blend of 75% Sangiovese, 15% Merlot and 10% Ciliegiolo aged for 10 months in oak barrels and is just delicious. The wine tastes like it should cost much more, full, smooth, flavorful with excellent balance. A K&L Direct Import that offers you extraordinary value, and at this price you will be saying Wow!
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Blason Pinot Grigio Isonzo (1L)
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/17/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Giovanni Blason’s tiny winery is only 10 miles from Italy’s eastern border with Slovenia, and here he produces excellent wines for bargain prices! This 2013 vintage was Giovanni's best Pinot Grigio so far, the richness, complexity and balance. This wine recived 2 Glasses in Italy's #1 wine reviewer Gambero Rosso with an additional indication for its unbelievable price to quality ratio. This wine sees no oak treatment just some gentle lees stirring to add a bit of richness. Your holiday go to Pinot Grigio for sure!
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Lestruelle, Médoc
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/16/2014 | Send Email
  Full bodied and concentrated, this Bordeaux displays an intense nose of dark chocolate, licorice, dark cherries and some beautiful notes of violets. On the palate the high acidity is noticed and very welcomed for the over all balance of this wine, along with a good amount of oak spices. The fairly high tannins need some resolving with a few years in the cellar, or a good decanting will do. The sustainable agriculture method used by this property make it even more enticing. As for pairing, I would suggest heavy dishes, like stews, or a fatty cut of meat.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/14/2014 | Send Email
  We have carried this wine for a couple of years now and I have always enjoyed it. The 2013 just came in last week and...wow! The BEST yet! Three stars from Guido. Lots of limestone and flint on the palate; has wonderful length and is food friendly. This would be a great luncheon wine -- maybe baked goat cheese with fines herbs and baguette?
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Ostler "Caroline's" Pinot Noir Waitaki Valley North Otago
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 11/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a highly fragrant wine. Purple flowers, a touch of lavender and anise on the nose. The palate is fresh and vibrant with lifted tones of fresh forest fruits, ground clove, star anise and some juicy raspberry as the mid-palate fleshes out with air. The wine is incredibly exotic and yet very focused and quite structured at the same time. It possesses a bright acidity and the unmistakable vibrancy that comes from deep limestone-rich soils. I can't wait to see how this wine ages; something tells me that it has a decade-plus ahead of it, and yet it is so expressive right now. This type of wine experience illustrates why people persist trying to make wine in very challenging places like the Waitaki Valley...because when things come together, vines on the edge of their existence produce the most exquisite and remarkable wines...just like this one!
Drink from 2014 to 2024

2013 Guy Saget "Marie de Beauregard" Vouvray
 By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 11/14/2014 | Send Email
  Guy Saget has crafted a perfect introductory Vouvray, striking all the hallmarks that define the region’s expression of Chenin Blanc. The nose is subtle, if not restrained, but the palate is where the wine reveals its abundance of fresh pear, orange blossom, fennel, and honey. Sea shell minerality and just a touch of residual sugar add welcome dimensions of complexity, while the lifted but comfortable acidity keeps everything afloat. If you’ve not yet experienced the perfection that is Vouvray paired with Thanksgiving dinner, do yourself a favor and give this crazy value a chance.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2013 Claude Riffault "Les Boucauds" Sancerre
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 11/14/2014 | Send Email
  The ‘Les Boucauds’ is very racy and zippy. The nose shows notes of bright lemon peel, a hint of flint and minerality. The palate provides sharp, mouthwatering acidity and a very linear and focused backbone of minerality. Notes of limoncello, orange blossom and lime zest are perfect for seafood or simply sipping on those inevitably, unseasonably warm winter days in SoCal.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2013 Daou Vineyards Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 11/14/2014 | Send Email
  This is the most bang for the buck you can get in California! Loaded with black licorice, mocha, black cherry, cola and Asian spices, the 2013 Daou really blew me away. The concentration of this wine is deep and intense, while still keeping a round, seamless mouth feel. When you taste this wine it is hard to believe it is under $25!

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 11/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  It is remarkable to me, and to much of our wine staff, some of the unique, profoundly produced Champagnes from the small producers that Gary Westby, our Champagne Wine Buyer, has discovered over the last decade. Virtually all of these producers, including the Aristons, are making sparkling wine strictly from estate fruit from Grand Cru recognized vineyard sites, and in small lots. As with any small producer, these wines are “hands-on” creations that are given extensive individual attention and long term aging before being disgorged. The Ariston “Carte Blanche’s” exquisite, superb quality is at a mind boggling low price vis-à-vis its style and complexity. Rich and authoritative both on its nutty, doughy yeasty nose and in the mouth, the very fine mousse leads to an amazingly rich, full style brut, with a long, intense finish. Some of you will probably not enjoy this Gem, due to the fact that you have gotten use to flavorless, bulk productions from the international, well-known, simply made name “brands,” but for those of you that seek complexity and profoundness in your Champagne, you will not find one even close in quality to this Gem at this price. The Guys (Rusty, Eby, The Beaner, and Rizzo) have forcefully made this our house sparkling wine forever. Don't be afraid to age this wonderful Champagne; it will only keep getting better. ABV 12%
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Ostler "Caroline's" Pinot Noir Waitaki Valley North Otago
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 11/14/2014 | Send Email
  Seriously stunning Pinot! A lovely perfume on the nose is quick to announce its presence. Soft tannins and persistent fruit on the palate with remarkable focus. The fruit and over-all loveliness of the wine continues beautifully into the finish. There won't be a lot of this available so you'll be well-served not to hesitate.

2010 Ostler "Caroline's" Pinot Noir Waitaki Valley North Otago
 By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 11/14/2014 | Send Email
  A lovely, expressive nose with a nice hint of development. A stylish and elegant Pinot drinking beautifully right now!

2011 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 11/13/2014 | Send Email
  Obsidian Ridge Cab has always been my "go to" when I don't want to spend twice as much as some of the Napa Valley counterparts. From just north of Napa, this densely packed Cab hits all the right notes. Dark and full in the glass, with great aromatics of black current, cedar, baking spice and cassis. Super lush and forward on the palate with well-integrated oak and tannins making it the perfect winter red that can be enjoyed solo or with a juicy steak!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart W&S 92 BC 0

2013 Ancient Peaks/K&L Wine Merchants Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 11/12/2014 | Send Email
  The Best Paso Cab I've had in a LONG Time! I love Ancient Peaks for its unique mesoclimate and being able to construct Paso Robles AVA Cabs that are so beautifully structured and food friendly. This has all the fruit you need but the structure, acid, and tannin that Paso Cabs usually lack, and it's not overripe, raisiny, or stewy as can be the case, either! Love, love, love this Cab and so will you!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Brewer-Clifton/K&L Wine Merchants "B-C. Kessler-Haak Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 11/12/2014 | Send Email
  Bright, forward, yet sweetly seductive, this K&L Barrel selection Pinot Noir delivers all the goods! Not as candied as the typical Brewer Clifton Pinots tend to be, yet still shows the same intensity of red fruits. The aromatics burst out of the glass and the palate is full of juicy, bright fruit, acid, and seamless texture. This is amazing to drink now or put away for a few years! Such a Thanksgiving classic!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Bethel Heights/K&L Wine Merchants Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 11/12/2014 | Send Email
  On our recent trip to Oregon this summer we certainly found plenty of great wines and met with a multitude of amazingly talented people. Many of the wines we found on that trip have already come in and sold out mostly due to our sheer excitement about the quality of wines we found. One of the most exciting opportunities from that trip was to work closely with our friends at Bethel Heights to put together a Pinot Noir exclusive to K&L as part of our burgeoning Co-Branded project. This 2013 Bethel Heights/K&L Wine Merchants Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir ($24.99) is a blend of the young vibrant fruit of the bordering Bjornson Vineyard, a vineyard planted in 1996, and the more nuanced, ethereal fruit from the old Wädenswil block at Bethel Heights Estate, planted in 1977. Ben Casteel (winemaker for BH), the K&L staff and I came up with and tasted numerous blends before we enthusiastically chose the one in the bottle here. We thought it was a perfect middle ground between the sappy, rich black fruits of Bjornson and the more earthen, sage and subtle red fruits from the Estate. We loved how the nose really spoke of classic Oregon Pinot focusing on earthen, sous bois and floral tones rather than chunky fruit. The wine is seamless in texture at this point with a feminine frame and well integrated acid/tannin interplay. A bit of aeration, either by untwisting the convenient Stelvin closure or popping this into a decanter, will really help to heighten the lovely tones of loganberry, evergreen, black currant, white sage, new leather and lavender found here. Thanks to the entire Casteel Family for helping make this wonderful wine that we couldn’t be prouder to have our name on!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Zind Humbrecht Pinot Blanc
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 11/12/2014 | Send Email
  The aromatics of this Pinot Blanc blew me away, never have I had a Pinot Blanc with so much intensity. The nose is extremely complex, full of honeysuckle, snowbell flowers, honeycomb, apricot, pears, and I can go on and on and on....The palate starts out similar to the nose with honey and pear until all of a sudden you're smacked with high acid, slate, wet stone, and steely minerality. The finish is long, dry, and satisfying. An exceptional Alsatian white that is sure to become a staple in my home.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart WE 89 BC 0

2012 Domaine Cabirau Côtes du Roussillon
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 11/12/2014 | Send Email
  The wine reminds me of the holidays! With a nose of clove, black pepper, cardamom, and bramble fruits and a palate full of ripe plums, blackberries, baking spices and fine tannins, all you’ll need is this bottle to season and spice up your holidays.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

2012 Greywacke Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 11/12/2014 | Send Email
  Former Cloudy Bay winemaker Kevin Judd has knocked it out of the park with his 2012 Greywacke Pinot Noir. The bouquet opens with ripe raspberry, cherry, earth, clove, forrest floor and dried orange peel that is framed by light toasted oak that is perfectly integrated. On the palate there is good acidity giving a juicy mid-palate that is supported by dusty fine supple tannins and a long finish. Delicious.

2009 Domaine Cabirau "Malgre les Fonctionnaires" Côtes du Roussillon
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  This is one of these wines that completely surprised me. Crimson color and a very meaty, irony nose. Loved that, and expected a somehow savory herby palate. Than the surprise commenced... Cocoa powder, raspberry coulis, and plums, fruity for sure, but delicately so, and with lots of minerality. Very well balanced with silky-soft tannins. Think of it as a dry and lighter Banyuls-like wine. An absolutely delicious Roussillon (Catalan) wine.

2009 Domaine Cabirau "Malgre les Fonctionnaires" Côtes du Roussillon
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  As it has added a couple of years, this wine has opened to reveal its true mineral side. Layers of black fruit are interspersed with notes of granite and iron. Medium bodied with nice complexity and showing the potential for a few more years. Why wait any longer though, this is a pleasure right now. This would complement grilled lamb and hearty braised meat dishes.

Figata Spritz
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  If you ever been to Europe and had a pre-dinner cocktail called a spritz, we have it here already to go. Pour, add ice and an orange slice and you are done. This is a great holiday party sipper, only eight percent alcohol, so you can have a nice big glass. Buy a few, this bottle empties quickly.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I've sometimes found ABC's wines just a bit lean in their striving for a more Burgundian approach to California wine, and for that I applaud them, but there's something to be said for full flavored California Pinot, and I think with this wine they've done both. There is an extra level of textural pleasure on the palate that one doesn't usually get in ABC but it still has excellent length and that wild touch of complexity that makes it so ABC. Wonderful wine; you should definitely buy this wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Brewer-Clifton/K&L Wine Merchants "B-C. Kessler-Haak Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  One of the best wines I've had from Brewer-Clifton, slightly more reserved, less of the opulent fruit and more complexity. This wine has superb balance, great length and makes a bold statement of flavor, just not over-ripe! Great to drink now, this might end up on my Thanksgiving table for those Pinot lovers.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Compass Box Great King Street "Glasgow Blend" Scotch Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  It's not often we get new, limited releases that are both plentiful, affordable, and this tasty. Imagine the regular Great King Street, but richer, fuller, and with a healthy dollop of peat smoke. That's all there really is to know! Just a super tasty, well-formulated blend from our buddy John Glaser.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Glenburgie 19 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  This baby is as advertised. WOW....does it deliver on the finish. It starts out subtle enough with standard single malt flavor, but then BAM the richness just comes rolling through on the finish, bringing vanilla, oak spices, and rich malty flavor like "a dump truck driving through a nitroglycerin plant," to quote Christmas Vacation. There's nothing out of the ordinary going on here, just really, really good Scotch. And, my God, is it really good Scotch.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Cantine Ascheri Barolo
 By: John Downing | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  Thanks to Matteo Ascheri's sizable vineyard holdings and long-term vision he has managed to craft an outstanding quality Barolo at a very affordable price. This terrific red is ideal for those wanting to try Nebbiolo for the first time as well as for Barolo drinkers looking for serious value. Although it's delicious now, it will only improve with a bit of time in the cellar. Don't miss this one!
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine Cabirau Côtes du Roussillon
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  The Cabirau is functionally one of the best values I have tasted from the Roussillon this year. It has deep black plum and mission fig flavors with brambly blackberry juice and dried blueberries. This has weight but is not overtly concentrated (ie. not over-extracted). The notes of Asian spices and violets add to the complexity. There is great balance that leads to a harmonious finish. A lingering memorable wine that will make you forget that it's only $12.99! Just don't forget to buy more before it's all gone.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

2012 Domaine Cabirau Côtes du Roussillon
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  Incredibly pleasing and easy-going wine in the best sense of the way. A light violet color, with a very brambly/Blackberry nose. On the palate the cocoa powder, and the brown sugar surface. Delicate spices follow with soft tannins. I can think of nothing better to drink with a plate of Charcuterie, light cheeses and yeah... I'll go there: buffalo wings! Seal of approval!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

Big Peat Islay Holiday Edition Blended Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  The Big Peat Xmas Edition won best blended single malt from the Whisky Advocate in 2013, and the new edition, in my opinion, is better than last year's. Imagine the lithe, briny character of Ardbeg Uigeadail with the baking spices and cinnamon peat of Laphroaig and Caol Ila on the finish. At cask strength, it really comes on strong at the back, letting you know this isn't some watered-down well drink. The flavors are potent and balanced from front to back. Of course, there's a bit of Port Ellen mixed in as well, just for the fun of it. Those who take the plunge on this bottle will be well-rewarded. It's another solid attempt from the Big Peat team.
Price: $66.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Imperial 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  This is just an updated version of a cask we bought a few years back. This one is both older and better. It's just everything you want: oily, resinous, fat-fruited, waxy, chewy, viscous, but never sweet. There's a bit of a tropical element on the finish, but it turns into something almost phenolic instead. Layers, upon layers, upon layers. 52.7% is perfect, so you don't need water. Imperial is no longer in operation, so there's a bit of a collectability factor here as well. One hot price. This is like cask strength Glenmorangie 18 (but for less!).
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1998 Mortlach 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Finish Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  So this guy started as a couple of hogsheads and was then finished in a sherry butt. You can tell because there's a lot of oak action on the nose, almost Bourbon-like with pencil lead, but then morphing into stonefruit. The sherry turns on however in the mid-palate, but as we saw with the Bruichladdich it only highlights the fruit. Holy cow, this is tasty. Lots of sweet apricot and pear notes, but like they were dipped in a bit of cocoa. I'm going back in again and there's another wave of sweet baking spices that washes over the finish. Wow, this is good.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Glen Ord 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/11/2014 | Send Email
  We wanted this as comparison to the other 1997 barrels we bought so folks could do a horizontal. Glen Ord is a distillery that we don't see much of and we usually like it (partially because of the exotic nature of drinking Glen Ord). This is more subtle and less-pronounced than the other casks on this list. There's a lot of straight-forward sweetness and soft fruit, but it will take a discerning drinker to appreciate the nuance. But I know there are easily 272 guys who will really enjoy this bottle. 58.3% makes this a great rocks whisky.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>