Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>
2012 Nalle Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 3/18/2015 | Send Email
  This is the kind of wine that I want to bring to France to share with my winemaker friends there... Real California soul wine! Yes, it is sunny in California and yes, our wines should be rich and fruity. But that doesn't mean that our wines have to be heavy or hot! This nuanced, balanced Dry Creek Zin has great poise and elegance without loosing its wild berry fruit. Tasting Zin this good made me proud to be a Californian!
Drink from 2015 to 2022
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 3/18/2015 | Send Email
  Another great bottle of Vintage Champagne from the wonderfully classic vintage that is 2004?. Lively and lifted, this wine possesses a vibrancy that carries it from stem to stern. Pithy and fresh on the entry, lemon cake and sweet almond, a touch of Meyer lemon zest as well to add verve. The palate has a rich lees quality to add balance and depth, more shortbread than brioche. Minerality and lift carry the day though, fresh and clean, lovely vintage offering.

2012 Nalle "Vinum Clarum" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 3/18/2015 | Send Email
  I thought that Zinfandel in this style had gone extinct. Luckily our California team is out looking for great stuff all the time, and their recent trip to Dry Creek reacquainted them with a classic; Nalle. This is perfect barbecue wine, with lots of wild, brambly fruit, low tannin, good acid and excellent poise and balance. The long finish on this wine surprised me- it has California soul!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Joseph Swan "Trenton Estate" Russian River Valley Syrah
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 3/18/2015 | Send Email
  I love it when Bryan Brick finds wines like this- aged to perfection, and priced to drink! This suave Syrah from Swan has a steak au poivre and blueberry nose and a supple texture from time-resolved tannin. If you are looking for a complex, multi-layered Syrah, look no further!

2012 Joseph Swan "Trenton Estate" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 3/18/2015 | Send Email
  The Trenton Estate is always top notch, but often a backward wine that needs a lot of time to show its stuff. The precocious 2012 is an exception and shows very well not, and should have the legs to age for as long as you want to cellar it. This is one of the very best California Pinot's that we have at any price, made in the old school way, with plenty of savory, brambly intrigue to go with its solid California fruit. The finish is almost endless. This is a must try for any Califoria Pinot lover.
Drink from 2015 to 2027
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart ST 92 BC 0

2014 Banshee Sonoma County Rosé of Pinot Noir
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 3/18/2015 | Send Email
  This was a knockout, and perhaps my favorite wine from our domestic staff tasting this past Tuesday. I don't like many domestic rose's as they are usually to heavy and way to expensive compared to their French counterparts. Not this Banshee Sonoma County Rose Of Pinot Noir! This has the high toned fruit and mineral drive of a great Sancerre Rose, but with more mid-palate presence. This is top notch stuff!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Do Ferreiro "Cepas Vellas" Albariño Rias Baixas
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/18/2015 | Send Email
  Proprietor and long-time grape grower Gerardo Mendez is rightfully proud of his 2013 Cepas Vellas. As usually is the case for this bottling from his home vineyard, featuring 200+ year old (yes you read correctly, 200!) pie franco, pre-phyloxera vines, this is intensely mineral and high in acid, but also high in fruit intensity and dry extract as well. 2013 was a tricky vintage in Rias Baixas, featuring a cooler and damper summer than usual in the north of Spain, but as usual this wine is delicious and a real treat. Incredible as it is now, try to stash away a few bottles to open in another few years, or longer. This is one of those sneaky agers that will absolutely impress with 8-10 years in bottle.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2010 Bodegas Muga Reserva Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/18/2015 | Send Email
  Muga's entry level wine is always delicious, but in a very good to great vintage like 2010, expect a bit better than delicious! It has mixed berry and darker cherry fruit flavors, a bit more on the darker side in most years, but with a mouth feel and tannin structure that nod towards modern day Rioja, while its spice, minerality and soul speak to traditional Rioja. A solid choice for Rioja fans and newbies alike, Muga's 2010 Reserva bottling is drinking well now and should age nicely over the next 5-7 years as well.

2012 Borsao "Tres Picos" Garnacha Campo de Borja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/18/2015 | Send Email
  Tres Picos is its usual, richly red fruited self in 2012. Borsao's Tres Picos has a loyal following, and if you like a lot of fruit framed by generous, sweet/spicy barrel notes, you will see why this is consistently one of our more popular Grenache based wines.

2012 Luca Malbec Uco Valley
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/18/2015 | Send Email
  Laura Catena's Luca Malbec continues to bring the goods. Dark fruited, with nice barrel spice overtones and serious structure, this is a great Malbec from a very good vintage in 2012, a year that gives this wine even better bones than usual. A terrific Malbec for those who prefer reds with more body and lots of flavor.

1998 Bodegas Riojanas Monte Real Gran Reserva Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/18/2015 | Send Email
  Based right in the middle of Rioja Alta, in the village of Cenicero, Bodegas Riojanas is one of the region's centenarian bodegas, a winery with a rich history that continues to uphold their high standards for traditionally made Gran Reserva wine. Monte Real has been made for decades, and is one of the winery's two flagship wines, produced from primarily Tempranillo grown in Cenicero. This is always a more intensely fruited counterpart to the earthier Viña Albina. The '98 is drinking terrifically now, arguably at its apex, though it should continue to provide pleasure for at least the next 5-7 years.

1998 Bodegas Riojanas Viña Albina Gran Reserva Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/18/2015 | Send Email
  Based right in the middle of Rioja Alta, in the village of Cenicero, Bodegas Riojanas is one of the region's centenarian bodegas, a winery with a rich history that continues to uphold their high standards for traditionally made Gran Reserva wine. Viña Albina always has a stronger imprint of Mazuelo, with a pleasant earthy/savory interplay of fruit, spice and leathery notes. While the wine is a proven ager, this 1998 is in a great spot for drinking now.

2013 Lora Tempranillo Syrah Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  Made from organic grapes farmed on the cooler, high meseta in Cuenca, in the far east of Castilla La Mancha, this dark fruited blend is nicely round, juicy, and bursting with fruit, without being at all overripe or overoaked. It's simply a delicious and easy red for mid-week enjoyment. Also of note is that Miguel Merino Navajas, the son of one of our favorite Rioja producers Miguel Merino, makes this wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Jefferson's K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Reserve Very Old Bourbon 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  This is quite lush, a soft and savory palate of oak and herbaceous notes that, to me, tastes like it might come from Heaven Hill. It's not a whiskey that impresses you with power, but rather with restraint. I haven't had a bourbon in this style for quite some time. I rather miss it.
Price: $45.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Knappogue Castle K&L Exclusive 12 Year Old Single Barrel Single Malt Irish Whiskey 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  In the vein of Glenmorangie or Clynelish, this is 100% single malt whiskey with a soft vanilla flavor and a lovely, rich smack of stone fruit on the finish. In classic Cooley fashion, there's a note of white wine, Sauvignon Blanc maybe, and a kiss of sweet barley on the finish. I wish wea had access to more stuff of this quality and this concentration, but the occasional cask will have to do!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Lora Verdejo Sauvignon Blanc Vino de la tierra de Castilla
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  This is a brightly fruited, crisp, delicious blend of Sauvignon Blanc and Verdejo, straight out of the Rueda regional playbook. Made from organic grapes as well. Unlike in Rueda, though, where good Verdejo shines on its own, in Castilla La Mancha the Sauvignon Blanc adds some additional bright acidity and citric fruit notes to perfectly complement Verdejo's richer, riper, profile. For an aperitive before dinner, something to accompany seafood, or a perfect foil to a lighter meal of salad, cheese and bread, it does not get much tastier!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Alexander Jules Amontillado "Singular" K&L Single Barrel 19/27 Sanlucar de Barrameda
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  I don't have too much more to add to the notes I entered last year (yes, this has been a rather long-term project for us!) other than the fact that I love Amontillado, it is one of the wine world's truly great, inimitable classics, and this is one of the best I've ever had (and I've had a lot of 'em!) This is the second of two knockout barrels we selected at the bodega earlier this year. Compared to the 4/27, this one is perhaps more masculine, with spicier and headier aromatics, yet linear on the palate, with a clear flor and salt driven personality that speaks both to its Sanlucar origins and the highest quality of Argueso's old Amontillado. Very limited, when it's gone it's gone! Don't miss the chance to own this rarity and take part in a small slice of K&L history ! (Joe Manekin, K&L Spanish & Portuguese Wine Buyer)
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Alexander Jules Amontillado "Singular" K&L Single Barrel 4/27 Sanlucar de Barrameda
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  I don't have too much more to add to the notes I entered last year (yes, this has been a rather long-term project for us!) other than the fact that I love Amontillado, it is one of the wine world's truly great, inimitable classics, and this is one of the best I've ever had (and I've had a lot of 'em!) Of the two barrels, this one has more dried and candied fruits on the nose, and a softer palate that is bone dry, but more supple and giving than the 19/27. Very limited, when it's gone it's gone! Don't miss the chance to own this rarity and take part in a small slice of K&L history !
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Bodegas Alto Moncayo "Veraton" Garnacha Campo de Borja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  This is a perennial customer favorite: big, ripe, red and dark fruited Grenache that has a healthy dollop of oak. Veraton is a decidedly international take on this Spanish and French grape variety.

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is classic Laurent-Perrier style. Nutty notes on nose with chalky notes. On the palate,anjou pear and yellow apple fruit, lemon notes and clean, fresh minerality on the finish. A clean, classic stlye! A blend of 50% chardonnay, 15% pinot meunier and 35% pinot noir. A pleasing 10.7 grams per litre of dosage, though it tastes more like 7 or 8 grams.
Top Value!

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This Brut Rose has consistently been the darling of both staff and customers. It is composed of 100% pinot noir and retains a classic, clean, fresh raspberry and strawberry character. it fleshes out on the mid-palate with ripe strawberry fruit but, ends with the classic LP clean and mineral-driven finish. Classic Brut Rose!

2004 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  I have been telling everyone who will listen that the 2004 vintage in Champagne is one not to miss. The region used to get "classic" vintages like this twice a decade, seasons that offered even weather, cool conditions and produced wines that are streamlined, bright and mineral. Not anymore... A vintage like 2004 has not come along since 1988, and there have been none since. This LP has all of the virtues of the vintage; spectacular length, elegance and lift, as well as the toasty richness that one expects from a long-aged vintage bottle from a great house. Don't miss this!
Top Value! Drink from 2015 to 2029

Nikka 21 Year Old Taketsuru Pure Malt Japanese Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  A marriage of 21 year old whiskies from both the Yoichi and Miyagikyo distilleries, the Pure Malt 21 is a stunning display of incredible balance, sweetness of barley, richness of malt, and depth of flavor. One of Japan's true treasures.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenmorangie 10 year old The Original Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  The best single malt deal there is--period.

Faultline K&L Exclusive St. Lucia Rum 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  Root beer, fruit tea, juicy fruit, oh my. Big, bold flavor like you've never tasted in a rum.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Nikka 12 Year Old Miyagikyo Single Malt Japanese Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  The price seems steep for a simple 12 year old single malt, but the quality is there and the flavors explode with malty richness and soft stonefruit. One of the two main Nikka distilleries, Miyagikyo is Japan's version of a Highland malt. Lovely.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Nikka 12 Year Old Taketsuru Pure Malt Japanese Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 3/17/2015 | Send Email
  Soon to be a thing of this past due to supply issues, the Nikka 12 year old Pure Malt will become simply the "Nikka Pure Malt" with no age statement. That means snap up what you can get while you can get it. This is simply one of the best deals in whisky. There's a rich, and layered core of toffee, but it's nowhere near as sweet as Glendronach or Balvenie with the sherry. It's more like Macallan 12 meets the soft fruited Glenmorangie, but with more elegance. A great bottle of hooch.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

2010 Chapoutier-Laughton (La Pleiade) "Cluster M45" Shiraz Heathcote Victoria
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/16/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  An incredible story and a beautiful wine. It's seems cliched to say (given the concept of this wine) but this seems to strike the perfect balance between "Old World and New" just like the vine material from whence it came. There is power and richness here with plush dark fruit, tar, sweet floral notes...but there is also a nice underlying savory quality. Stony earth, meat, pepper and subtle leather. I still think this wine has more to give as it develops into its adolescence but the hallmarks of great Syrah/Shiraz are already in place.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2013 Woodstock Estate Cabernet Sauvignon McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/16/2015 | Send Email
  I'm not always the first to appreciate Australian Cabernet Sauvignon but when I tasted the Woodstock, I was impressed. Lush and vibrant dark fruit with chocolate, tobacco, cedar and vanilla wonderfully layered. The wine is big but has a good level of structure and acidity, which helps balance it out. A wonderful wine for $16.99.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

Faultline K&L Exclusive St. Lucia Rum 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 3/16/2015 | Send Email
  This rum has a lot to offer. It shows that rum is not one dimensional, and how individual and different rums can be. The Faultline St. Lucia has floral and herbal aromas that are very interesting. In the mouth it is spicy, with a nice vanilla finish. Most important is that this rum tastes very good.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Torbreck "The Steading" Grenache-Shiraz-Mataro Barossa Valley
 By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 3/16/2015 | Send Email
  This is a very interesting, complex and tasty blend. The old vine fruit is deep and sweet, but not fruity. Round in the mouth and nicely developed with flavors of kirsch and cassis, interacting with hints of black licorice, smoke and earth all leading to a strong Grenache finish. Like it, and good to go now!

2011 Ornellaia "Le Serre Nuove"
 By: John Downing | Review Date: 3/15/2015 | Send Email
  Despite the hot weather of 2011, Ornellaia crafted another gem with the release of their "Le Serre Nuove" or second label. It's made primarily from Merlot but those preferring Cabernets might want to give this one a go. Aromas of black fruit, earth and graphite are complemented by an impressively rich and flavor-packed palate. It's smooth and concentrated and surprisingly fresh considering the warmth of the vintage. Although nice to drink now it will continue to improve with a couple years of cellaring.

2010 Pian dell'Orino Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/15/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The nose on this wine is wild, untamed, dried herbs, brush, fresh earth, smoked meats, dried floral notes along with a plumy brightness, just incredibly vibrant. The nose is just amazing but it is on the palate that this wine shows the most, it has such a feel, so light, energetic yet couched in a rich, powerful body that has an incredibly deep structure. The tannins are extraordinarily well integrated and the acidic balance lifts and powers the palate texture, supple yet firm, dense yet effortless. In the mouth more flavors emerge, wild fruits, cherry, and nectarine add to the meaty richness, that umami like character that is the principle flavor component. Finish is the wrong word for this wine because it is a long, balanced and easy path full of the vast array of flavors layering themselves on a seemingly endless journey. The only negative about this wine is they only make 500 cases, it is fabulous.
Drink from 2015 to 2035
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 D'Anice Blanc, Bordeaux
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 3/14/2015 | Send Email
  Here comes Summer! Well, at least in SoCal... And the d'Anice offers the perfect accompaniment for those salads, seafood, oysters, and the like that come with the warm weather. Very aromatic nose of citrus fruit, white currant, pineapple and starfruit, followed by a palate that is crisp, zippy, and very enticing. A light white wine with a full personality.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Napa Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay
 By: Patrick Cu | Review Date: 3/14/2015 | Send Email
  This is a tremendous value for the classic California style of Chardonnay. For those seeking a richer, buttery Chardonnay at an affordable price, this will do the trick. Notes of pineapple, oak, citrus, and vanilla help complement the richness. The 2013 has a little more acidity than the previous vintage as well. All in all, consider this for casual nights at home or even buying in bulk for parties.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape "Vieilles Vignes"
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 3/14/2015 | Send Email
  Deep, rich and sexy. The Vieilles Vignes is serious wine with a serious pedigree. It comes from three parcels of the estate's oldest vines and the quality of the fruit shows. Hoisin, black raspberries, fresh tilled earth, pipe tobacco and creosote all add up to a complex palate that lingers long on the finish. Keep this wine in the cellar for a couple of years if you can or decant for an hour or two before serving.

2012 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 3/14/2015 | Send Email
  My favorite "work horse" CDP. This hits all the classic notes. Roasted plum, mission figs, notes of garrigue. This is really pretty Chateauneuf and comes in at a price that blows the competition away.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 3/14/2015 | Send Email
  Rich but focused with nice underlying acidity. This is vibrant CDP Blanc. It has notes of candied pear, nectarines and persimmons. The finish lingers and would be ideally suited with some smoked trout served on a salad of greens and citrus.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Torbreck "The Steading" Grenache-Shiraz-Mataro Barossa Valley
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 3/13/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A great valued GSM Blend. Rich, deep and structured. The fruit flies forward from the Grenache, with great grip and follow through from the Mataro and Shiraz. I will definitely be laying a couple bottles down for 2-4 more years to see where it goes. I am sure it will take me to a great place, once my patience wears off!

2010 Torbreck "The Steading" Grenache-Shiraz-Mataro Barossa Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/13/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Super expressive wine, explosive nose of ripe red fruits, warm earth, toasted spices, and wild herbs. It has a soft saturated mid-palate with easy, fleshy fruit and super fine silky tannins the coat the mouth. The Steading is powerful and decadent but refined and balanced. Packed with fruit and sweet spice but also showing some lovely earthy, mineral undertones from the deep rooted ancient vines. A big, pure wine for sure but never seems over-the-top, there is good acidity to keep the ripeness in control. The finish goes on and on as the juicy fruit dissipates leaving the more subtle terroir-driven nuances for you to enjoy. This is going to be a serious contender for Best Grilling Wine of the year 2015.
Top Value! Drink from 2015 to 2022

2010 Torbreck "The Steading" Grenache-Shiraz-Mataro Barossa Valley
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 3/13/2015 | Send Email
  Just lovely, lovely, supple, classically appealing red wine. The fruit is lush and deep, but gentle and peripheral. The tannins are delicate and accent the palate with finesse. The flavors themselves are complex, graceful, yet reserved. It's a complete wine from beginning to end, never forceful or in-your-face like we've come to expect from many big market Aussie Shiraz wines. This is a Bordeaux lover's Shiraz. It's for people who appreciate nuance and subtlety.

2010 Tassi "Franci" Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/13/2015 | Send Email
  The Brunelli’s from Fabio Tassi always remind me of Montalcino. They have the classic Tuscan dust and a little cedar, tobacco as well as fruit. The “Franci” is no exception, this is a bottle that when you remove the cork, I am almost transported back to this little hill town of Montalcino. This is a wine that is Old World in style with enough fruit and balance to keep everyone at the table happy. I will try to keep my hands off for quite a few years, the longer the time, the more I will be rewarded.

2010 Tassi Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/13/2015 | Send Email
  This 2010 Brunello di Montalcino fleshes out beautifully on the palate with layers of super-expressive red fruits, coffee, some plum and spices with just hint of dust and well balanced tannins. The supple, forward personality is best suited for drinking over the three to five years.

2010 Torbreck "The Steading" Grenache-Shiraz-Mataro Barossa Valley
 By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 3/13/2015 | Send Email
  Very impressive. I tend to be a skeptic of big Syrah blends from Barossa. Usually they are so big and ripe that the fruit and spice bowl me over, leaving me reeling and wanting to crawl back to my French reds. This is a complete exception. Yes, it is big, full bodied, with good fruit and spice, but there is so much more going on here. There's a great, underlying layer of minerality and nicely integrated oak flavors that pull this wine together beautifully. Everything is in balance here: Torbreck has won me over, and what a deal at this price!
Top Value!

Johnnie Walker Green Label 15 year old Blended Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/13/2015 | Send Email
  Surprisingly good! I have sometimes thought that the cheaper Walker bottles weren't worth their salt. Sure the Johnnie Blue has always been a pretty serious bottle but it's hardly inexpensive. This Green Label release however is seriously good! Layers of flavor, excellent mouth-filling texture, touches of sherry, spice, savory grains and toasted wood notes all very well integrated and supple. This is seriously good malt at a very economical price point.
Top Value!

2012 Woodstock Estate "Octogenarian" Old Vine Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 3/13/2015 | Send Email
  Rioja Baja from down under? With old vine Grenache it is too easy to draw a direct comparison with Châteauneuf-du-Pape, but really good Grenache (Garnacha) is also grown in Spain. The brightness of the fruit, the exotic spice and the good structure (not to mention it's blended with Tempranillo!) makes me this Spain not France. Dust off the grill, this wine is crying out for savory smoky goodness.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart JH 96 BC 0

2013 Woodstock Estate Cabernet Sauvignon McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 3/13/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Like the other wines from Woodstock Estate, the Cabernet retains bright cherries on the finish and cedar and earth notes. It does differ a bit with a rich mid-palate laden with black fruits and cocoa. It shines in a surprising finish that lingers a bit.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

2012 Woodstock Estate "Octogenarian" Old Vine Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 3/13/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a lively blend of 80% Grenache and 20% Tempranillo. It is big and rich but retains admirable acidity on the finish. Raspberry and cherry fruit with a touch of white pepper and licorice on a bright finish that lingers. Will work well with most types of food, particularly roasted chicken and barbecued pork dishes.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart JH 96 BC 0

2012 Comte Louis de Clermont-Tonnerre (Alain Corcia) Cotes du Rhone Villages Cairanne
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 3/13/2015 | Send Email
  The Cotes Du Rhone Villages from Alain Corcia is a great everyday drinking wine at a great price! Use this wine for entertaining friends and family with a wine that drinks at more than it is worth. This Cotes Du Rhone has soft tannins, and a medium body that starts with a lovely tartness on the tongue and finishes with wonderful earth and a little minerals. Plus, just the right touch of spice. This wine has great fruit on its nose - it seems to be in its prime drinking window. Salute!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/13/2015 | Send Email
  Wow! Is what I first wrote down as this exploded on my palate, this has a lot more Montalcino in the glass than past years. Dark fruit, leather, terroir and good tannin structure, balanced with acidity, this is Brunello at its best!!! It reminds me of the 2007, that’s still in my cellar. A wine to buy for long term, will age over the next ten to fifteen years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>