Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>
2011 Daou Vineyards "Seventeen Forty" Paso Robles Bordeaux Blend
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/9/2014 | Send Email
  I'm loving this Cabernet Franc based blend from Paso! The reason is that 2011 being a cooler vintage, the fruit is much prettier and showier without the over-ripe, reductive raisiny quality that so many big Paso reds struggle with vintage to vintage. Lots of gorgeous violet, blue fruit, spice, and soft velvety tannins that keep your palate balanced and loving every sip! Drinking great now no need to wait!

2013 Bodkin "The Victor's Spoils - Sandy Bend Vineyard" Lake County Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/9/2014 | Send Email
  Fresh, lively, bright, subtle citrus-stone fruit, and low alcohol! What more could one ask for a perfect summer Sauv Blanc! I love that it isn't grassy or oaky, its very much in the Loire style, and the price is perfect!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2006 Château des Tours Vacqueyras
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/9/2014 | Send Email
  With a lovely light red, almost brick color, you can see this wine has seriously developed. The nose reflects its light appearance with bright fruits like fresh cherry, candied orange peel and cranberry. The palate provides flavors of candied fruits with nice acidity for balance, fresh tobacco, cedar and a dry, almost amaro, finish. Open this bottle with pâté or gamey meats.

2013 Bodkin "The Victor's Spoils - Sandy Bend Vineyard" Lake County Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/9/2014 | Send Email
  Plain and simple I was shocked when I tasted the 2013 Bodkin "The Victor's Spoils -Sandy Bend Vineyard" Lake County Sauvignon Blanc. Why? Because in all my years in this business I can’t remember ever tasting a Domestic Sauvignon Blanc that was this close to the wines of the Loire. From the intense minerality and slight oiliness on the nose to the laser-like acidity and leafy, slate-y, grapefruit, quince and lemon rind on the palate this is a dead ringer for Sancerre or Pouilly Fume for a fraction of the cost. Hell, even some of our most Francophillic employees were raving about this wine after trying it. Seriously if you love Loire Sauvignon Blanc this is a must try, I think you’ll be as floored as I was.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2011 Alberto Nanclares "Dandelion" Albariño Rias Baixas
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/8/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  One of the best Albarinos I have tasted, period! This is not a wine for those afraid of a little acidity. It has laser-like focus and a firm acid line...but that is what I love about it. It's pure, racy, mineral-infused and zesty. The wine is fleshed out just a touch by a lovely, slightly raw leesy element that adds a nice savory grain or yeasty edge to the citrus blossom and purity of fruit. Serious wine to contemplate. A real benchmark wine for me.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Carlos Diaz "Estrela" Ribeira Sacra
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/8/2014 | Send Email
  Amazing value thanks to Joe's direct buy! A fresh wine with lots of floral notes, juicy raspberry fruit, lots of fresh spices, a hint of green tobacco and some darker edges of blackcurrant. There is a a real purity to the wine with some soil nuances coming through to add complexity to the eminently drinkable juicy fruit.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Brangero "Monvigliero" Barolo
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/8/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  My best descriptor for this wine is "authentic." Unfortunately this does very little to characterize the wine. It does however relate to how the French often compliment wine in a way that doesn't translate very well into English. They often say a wine is "typique" or "typical." While this could be taken as meaning "standard" or even "average" a more suitable translation is that the wine is a true reflection of its place and history. For me this wine from Brangero speaks purely of the soil from which it grew, unadorned by winemaking tricks and manipulation. This "sense of place" is often pretty much impossible to put into words so you are just going to have to buy a bottle and see how it speaks to you personally.
Drink from 2016 to 2036
Price: $66.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

2010 Oddero Barolo
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/8/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Lovely wine showing the purity and focus of the vintage. The 2010s are not showing as the biggest most masculine wines that often garner high scores. Instead they seem to be about purity, drive and subtle but substantial power. This wine has all the hallmarks of great Barolo, some floral highlights, dark fruit, scorched earth, worn leather and actually some quite exotic clove and cumin spice with sandalwood accents. The tannins are present but are long, fine silky chains that are not at all aggressive after being beautifully refined for years in large wood vessels. Classic Barolo in a very polished package.
Drink from 2014 to 2030
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

2012 Envinate "Lousas" Vino de Aldea Ribeira Sacra
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/8/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A great nose of hard ground spices, clove, anise, nutmeg and sandalwood leads you into polished dark berries, purple fruit, plum and even blackberry. There is cedar, and cigar box also. A complex wine that keeps revealing new elements with every sniff. On the palate it is vibrant and dynamic. Mid-weight with plenty of structure but nothing too astringent. The wine broadens and picks up density towards the back end as more layers emerge. A rich and layered wine focused into a remarkably elegant package. Another standout Ribeira Sacra from a recent tasting.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Seghesio Barolo
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/8/2014 | Send Email
  Wow what a great intro to Barolo at a steal of a price! Fresh accessible bramble fruits, spice, supple leather and fine tannins. Very much a mid-weight wine, pretty, floral and elegant but with plenty enough structure and grip to go with rich foods. This wine shows the brightness and quality of the 2010 Barolo vintage without breaking the bank or requiring you to wait half a lifetime to drink it!
Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Foucher-Lebrun "Petit le Mont" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 7/8/2014 | Send Email
  Sometimes I just have to scratch my head in wonder. Foucher-Lebrun made only 250 cases of this little bejeweled bijoux of a wine, all from select parcels grown on the magical mineral border between Touraine and Haut Poitu. We're somehow (scratch, scratch) able to pass it on to your discerning palate for a song, and yes, rest assured, this little Sauvignon songbird sings~ a melodious lemony tweet, followed by a tympanic flourish of white peaches, pineapples and delicate floral notes, with an enticingly crisp, delicious finish! What a delight!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  One of the most approachable Brunellos in the bunch. Intense dark berry color meets you in the glass. Rounded fruit with hints of plum and floral notes. Great acidity and velvety tannins. This is a balanced and powerful wine ready for any cut of meat you want to throw at it.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Baricci is one of the most reliable direct imports for K&L. This family-run estate believes in traditional winemaking and brings out the best in bottle. This is wonderfully balanced, with sweet ripe, red fruits, herbs, lively acidity and integrated tannins that are fleshy and delicious. Age it for a couple of years or throw it in the decanter and enjoy!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2010 Chateau Paret Cotes de Bordeaux
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  That's a great example of what we often call a "petit château" meaning a good wine from either a not very well know appellation or producer. This one hails from Castillon which sits east of Saint-Émilion, not quite its official satellite, but also bases its wines mostly on Merlot and Cabernet Franc grapes. Château Paret is 85% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Sauvignon and 5% Cabernet Franc. Dark garnet color, with loads of plums and blackberry fruit. Although it is quite fruit forward, it possess nice spicy notes, along with a good amount of minerality. It is a lush, supple and full-bodied wine, with a soft glycerin texture and very velvety tannins. It will pair beautifully with roasted vegetables, lamb, steaks and stews. I would drink this now or save for 5 years or so. Definitely worth taking a look.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  The Ferrero Estate is located at the Podere Pascena, about halfway between Sant’Angelo in Colle and Sant’Angelo Scalo, on the southern slopes of Montalcino. Wonderful Tuscan earth and spice. Once again, Ferrero gives a rich, rounder style of fruit and tannins. But, enough acidity to handle any meat dish or pasta. Give it some time in the decanter and enjoy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
 By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  We enjoyed sampling this latest release from La Fortuna not only because it's so darn tasty but also due to the fact that we know so many of our customers will simply love it. Thanks to some flavorful concentrated fruit, mild acidity and rounded tannins, this silky smooth Brunello is ready to open and drink. Delicious.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  So many Brunellis and so little time. This wine is from this extraordinary portion of Montalcino's most famous single vineyard, "Montosoli," and is full of black cherry, cinnamon, anise, cardamom, and leather; spicy, gamey, full of what I call sweet earth, (that Montalcino, dusty minerality) it's a more rustic wine than the one above. I would give this a couple hours of breathing time and drink this over the next couple of years.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Love these user-friendly Brunellos in 2009. Impressive nose, with loads of ripe fruit--this is full-bodied with great tannin structure, but won’t hurt your teeth. The fruit is impressive, rich and concentrated. The wine boasts excellent length, with sweet, ripe strawberry, black cherry, leather and a spicy nose with a little Tuscan dust and minerals on the finish. It is drinkable now, with a couple of hours in a decanter, or I would give this wine time to improve and continue to evolve for another 2-4 years. I am thinking this will work great with a pork roast loin or lamb.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 La Fortuna "Fortunello" Rosso Toscano
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Here is a wine that earned lots of stars from me. This is 100% Sangiovese and spent a few months in oak. The nose is classic, ripe cherries and strawberries with a hint of cocoa powder. On the palate of this full-bodied wine, you will find the fruit described above, plus a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and an incredibly long finish.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Rocca di Montegrossi Rosato
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  From Rocca di Montegrossi and simply put, their best effort yet! This robust rosato has a light salmon pink color and fascinating aromas of ripe wild mountain strawberries, and I found a hint of mandarin zest. It's fresh and lingering on the palate with a very dry finish.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  This is a user-friendly Rosso: bright fruit hits you first, black cherries, cassis and ripe strawberries, and then Tuscany starts to roll across you palate; the terroir takes on the rest of this wine, giving it a long finish that lingers. Needs an hour or so of breathing time.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Finally! The beloved Baricci Brunello and Rosso are back in stock! Fresh off the boat and tasting better than ever! I can't get enough of these wines. Classic structure with forward fruit, these are food-friendly, sultry, sexy wines that will win over your dinner date whether you're eating a pizza slice in front of your TV, or eating at a five star Italian restaurant!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Finally! The beloved Baricci Brunello and Rosso are back in stock! Fresh off the boat and tasting better than ever! I can't get enough of these wines. Classic structure with forward fruit, these are food-friendly, sultry, sexy wines that will win over your dinner date whether you're eating a pizza slice in front of your TV, or eating at a five star Italian restaurant!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Baricci Brunello is an on-going staff and customer favorite and we're excited that the 2009 has finally hit our sales floors. Considering the number of Brunelli priced well north of $50, this pure expression of Sangiovese is a must-buy for fans of Tuscan reds. While this classically styled, understated gem is approachable now it will certainly improve with a year or two in the cellar if you can wait that long.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2011 Arterberry Maresh Dundee Hills Oregon Chardonnay
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Positively bursting with bright, citric and stonefruit flavors, and bolstered by very strong acidity, this is my kind of Chardonnay. You can tell this is made from high-quality fruit, by someone who respects great white wine and old-timey Chardonnay. In a cold vintage especially, this for my money is a perennial candidate for best Chard in the store.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

2009 Vie di Romans "Dessimis" Pinot Grigio 375ml
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  This is such an exceptional wine! Made with added skin contact, extra time on the lees, extra time in barrel, and now extra time in bottle! Incredible on the palate, with a unique richness and a seductive bouquet. Peach, tangerine, white flowers, plumeria, and minerality that weaves its way throughout the slightly orange tinged liquid. This could be my desert island wine.

2010 Oddero Barolo
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Oddero Barolo is one for the ages. Maria Cristina took over from her father in 1997 and feels this is one of best vintages yet. Showing great complexity already. I found wonderful hints of floral, herb and mineral notes on the nose. First sip you get a wonderfully complex and powerful mouthfeel. With balanced fruit, tannin and acidity, you know this is built for the long haul. So, for all you traditional Barolo drinkers, this one is for you. Actually, anyone who loves a great glass of wine won't be disappointed!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Beringer, which is located in Napa Valley, has been producing this wine from Sonoma County's Knights Valley appellation for some time now, and it has always remained a consistent value in California Cabernet. The vineyard lies at a higher elevation than Alexander Valley in Sonoma County, and manages to combine the suppleness of that AVA with the fine tannin structure of Knights Valley. The bouquet offers black cherry, dark plum, cassis, earth and a hint of bittersweet chocolate. On the palate, there is the previously mentioned supple tannins blended with a fine dusting of cocoa powder, bringing the finer-grained, firmer tannin structure. It's all framed by lightly toasted oak that is well-integrated, with good length.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The 2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cab is an great example of the quality to come with the 2012 vintage in California. Upfront the wine smells like classic California Cab; hints of toasty oak, plum, black licorice and cocoa powder. The tannins are present but integrated and sweet, while the finish is long and lingering. Excellent, straightforward Cabernet that will not disappoint!
Top Value!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  The 2009 La Fortuna Brunello is at such a sweet spot for drinking right now, and also a great candidate for cellaring for the next several years. A touch on the ripe side, with concentrated fruit, but balanced with just the right amount of acidity.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Cantina Viola Rosso Viola
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  A very interesting wine, savory, with sage brush and black licorice candy, notes of vanilla bark, and a touch gamey. This wine would be great with the slow smoked coffee and cocoa rubbed ribs that we had for the fourth of July weekend!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $19.99
BC 0

2010 Seghesio Barolo
 By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Exceptional vintages like 2010, truly bring out the best in elegant Barolos like those of Aldo and Riccardo Seghesio. This beauty from the hills of Monforte combines the richness of fruit and overall depth of the vintage with skillful winemaking and the result is a Barolo brimming with flavor, polished tannins and an incredible price/value ratio. A Barolo of this quality under $30 is simply a steal.
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/5/2014 | Send Email
  Year after year, The Badenhorst Family consistently makes quality value wines, the 2013 vintage might be the most impressive yet. A bit reminiscent of Chenin Blanc from Vouvray, this Chenin expresses aromas of honey, nuts, aloe and lemon grass. Flavors of stone fruits dominate the palate, with apple, pear, and nectarine while great minerality and acidity form a great structured, well balanced and extremely quaffable wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Teutonic "Crow Valley Vineyard" Willamette Valley Riesling
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/5/2014 | Send Email
  Yet another delicious bottling from the folks at Teutonic, their Crow Valley Riesling starts off floral, appley and with a creamy texture, with balanced but noticeable residual sugar. Give it some time (in my case, the better part of a week in the fridge) and it develops into an even more acid driven wine, with admirable intensity and LOTS of length. Maybe even what the critics call a "30+ second finish"! Very good value here.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/5/2014 | Send Email
  And now for something completely different! This is a Super Tuscan at a super price. This bad boy is made up of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Montepulciano and Alicante, and I swear you can taste all of these. On the palate you will find flavors of black cherry, plum and soft floral notes blended with silky tannins. The Cabernet gives this a backbone you can feel and a nice smooth and long finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Husch Mendocino County Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/5/2014 | Send Email
  This 2013 Sauvignon Blanc is a crisp, light to medium-bodied example revealing forceful, fragrant notes of melons, figs, dried herbs, and a hint of honey, delicious. A great value.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Cava Brut Rosé Penedes
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/5/2014 | Send Email
  This is a bone dry and serious bottle of bubbly offered at a ridiculous price. With its sophisticated bead, laser like red fruit flavors of cherry and berry and steely finish, this would be right at home with the classiest of fare. Try this with surf & turf or sushi and don't be embarrassed by the price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart W&S 91 BC 0

2012 Angeline Pinot Noir
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  A quality Pinot Noir from California for under $12? Absolutely! This little gem has been one of my favorite everyday Pinots for many years. Nice combination of cherries, raspberry, full mid-palate and a solid finish. The 2012 Angeline is 100% Pinot Noir sourced from Santa Barbara, Mendocino and Sonoma County, and definitely over-delivers for the price point. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Rhetoric 20 Year Old Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  What is there not to like about this bourbon? It has nice aromas of caramel and spice that are inviting and interesting. The Rhetoric is warm, spicy and dry and has a nice long finish.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Gosset Blanc des Blancs Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  The dry focus of this Gosset made it a perfect partner for the sushi that I ordered from my friends at Akasaka in Menlo Park. The wine is very light and elegant, but even with rich salmon nigiri has plenty of flavor... It is a classy beverage, and I found it to be understated, subtle, and intriguing. I love Champagne that is hard to describe but easy to drink, and the Gosset Blanc des Blancs is a great example of wine that is easier to enjoy than to describe. The texture and bead are perfection, with plenty of tiny streamers to delight. I loved the subtle apricot aroma and flavor that contrasted the baguette-like toast in this wine, but the best feature was the finish--long, detailed and chalky. If you have a special occasion coming, this is a treat that you will love. It is a great bottle of Champagne.

2009 Mas Codina Vinya Ferrer Cabernet Sauvignon Penedes
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  I've been a huge fan of Mas Codina since I first tasted their cava. Their Cabernet does not disappoint. Ripe and fleshy, stemmy, with notes of black licorice and soft tannins. A great alternative to domestic Cabs.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 La Perla del Priorat "Clos Les Fites" Crianza Priorat
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Milk chocolate and dried cranberries, with hints of dried tangerine peel. A very enjoyable, layered, and interesting wine. Pair this with a rustic dish of farro and roasted carrots.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Woo-hoo! Baricci is back in town! Every time I raise a glass of this wine to my lips, it brings me back to Montalcino. Why? Because there is so much Montalcino in the glass. This Rosso reveals perfumed ripe fruit of plum, cassis and kirsch, some leather and cassis mid- palate, and earthiness that meld into ripe strawberries, spices and minerals on the long finish. BUY, BUY, BUY--it will go quick !!!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Suñer Bibiloni Ca Sa Padrino "Montenegro" Binissalem (Mallorca)
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  I've only tasted a handful of wines from Mallorca, and I've thoroughly enjoyed each one. This was a standout, however. Incredible, bright nose, juicy fruit, great complexity and ethereal hints of almonds. Still drinking well after having been open for over a day, although I doubt I'll be as reserved with the next bottle that I open.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Marco Ricasoli grows some of the most distinctive and enjoyable Sangiovese in Tuscany, high up in the hills of Gaiole, in the deepest reaches of Chianti Classico. His Chianti is a classic blend of 90% Sangiovese, 7% Canaiolo and 3% Colorino. The 2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico is a stunner: soft, open and round in the mouth, the wine’s juicy fruit is readily apparent yet is layered with spice, rosemary and violets. Luscious cherry and plum like fruit flavors mixed with a crisp focus on the palate make this wine a real drinker. Try it with some grilled sausage or your favorite pasta.
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mesquida Mora "Sincronia" Negre Pla i Levant (Mallorca)
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  I might need to move to Mallorca if Joe keeps bringing in these ridiculously delicious wines. Open a hot dog joint on the beach or something. Actually, hot dogs might be a stretch for these inky balanced wines; maybe bison blue cheese sliders, side of duck fat French fries. Any VCs out there want to join in my vision?
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2013 Ameztoi "Rubentis" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Booyah. Light, spritzy, full of acid and minerality. And a screw cap which makes it that much easier to pour into your porron. Pair with all the tapas. No corkscrew or glasses needed!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Alberto Nanclares "Dandelion" Albariño Rias Baixas
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Is this an Orange is the New Black reference? If so, great timing, although I'd likely be inclined to drink a "40" while watching the women's prison drama. This Albarino has great, almost painful acidity, and very prevalent minerality. Bring me a platter of paella and we can make an evening of this.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Oakridge Local Vineyard Series "Guerin Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Easily one of the best Australian Chards I’ve had in a while. Done in more of an old world style, the Guerin develops a slightly flinty, almondy nose with hints of fresh lemon peel. The palate explodes with high acidity, a bit of a petrol quality and citrus fruits such as lemon, clementine, and orange peel. This certainly exceeds expectations.

2012 J-L Chave Selection "Celeste" Saint-Joseph Blanc
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Based on Roussanne, this is very intriguing white wine. It has notes of nectarine, honeycomb and beeswax. There is ample acidity to balance the wonderfully creamy texture. Fans of northern Rhone whites will find much to like here whether you drink Hermitage Blanc or Chateauneuf Blanc. Don't miss it.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>