Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>
2012 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 12/15/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a very enjoyable wine. It has a savory game flavored richness, which I love. For those who like to drink Châteauneuf-du-Pape wines young, this should be right up your alley.

2013 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 12/15/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a very delicious Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc! Rich, crisp and well layered. The combination of grapes work perfectly together. Enjoy this wine with a variety of fish or chicken dishes. This is also very easy to enjoy on its own.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 York Creek "Lake Block" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 12/15/2014 | Send Email
  After the rousing success of past vintages and the first couple of Single Block offerings, the 2005 “Sunny Hill” and 2004 “Track,” both of which sold out in a matter of weeks if not days, we have another great wine in the pipeline. The 2007 “Lake Block” is the youngest wine we’ve worked with to date from York Creek. But don’t let that youth fool you, this is one amazing wine. Powerful and completely reminiscent of some of the great wines from Spring Mountain, this is a superstar Cabernet. Full of the minty, sage, chaparral, black currant and licorice aromas so often found on the upper echelon Cabernets from the region. This is unmistakably “mountain” Cab. With its adolescent, grainy tannins and a tight core of black fruit, spice box and pipe tobacco flavors on the mid-palate, this is certainly a wine that can age for another 10-15 years without issue. Just look at some of the other wines we’ve already sold from YC if you need a track record. However with a perfect rare steak or other hearty/braised meat dishes this is about as close to a wide open Steph Curry 3 pointer as you can get in the wine world. Automatic!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 York Creek Spring Mountain District Meritage
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 12/15/2014 | Send Email
  After the last few years I think just about everyone has heard us pontificating about just how good, and how insanely inexpensive, the York Creek wines are. Luckily for us and our thirsty customers, Fritz Maytag kept deep cellars over the years and still has plenty of wine for us to sell. After the rousing success of past vintages we just keep reloading because the wines are that good and you keep asking us for more. We’ve found an extra special treat to roll out this time: The 1995 Meritage. That’s right... we are wildly excited to sell this wine, which was made when Clinton was president, people went to see Waterworld just because of Costner, and somehow Hootie and the Blowfish sold like seven million copies of a record. Luckily this wine has aged much better than at least those last couple things. Still vibrant and with a lovely bouquet of dried rose petals, new leather and red currants, this is a wine that is a testament to just how well California wines can age over long periods of time. With a solid entry of sweet black tea, fresh tobacco, cocoa powder, spearmint and dried blackberries, this is one complex and likeable wine that is just about perfect for folks that are fans of more mature wines. Fully meshed and with little to no desiccation of fruit, this is just great old wine for a silly price. Think Toy Story rather than Jumanji and Radiohead’s The Bends over anything from Silverchair.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Lafage "Grande Cuvée" Côtes du Roussillon Rosé
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 12/14/2014 | Send Email
  What a gorgeous rose. Bright strawberry, blood orange, & lemon dance across your palate. The texture is creamy yet finishes with a tangy, vibrant acidity. Brilliant!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart RP 94 BC 0

2012 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 12/13/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a very elegant, easy to drink rose. Crisp and refreshing...perfect for Christmas and New Year's Eve holiday parties!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 12/12/2014 | Send Email
  The Faust is rich and decadent. Ripe cherries, raspberries, mocha and soft cedar envelop your palate and warm your heart.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 12/12/2014 | Send Email
  Sophisticated and supple. Yes, the second label from Quintessa has done it yet again. The Faust Cabernet is pure and straightforward. Black currant, cassis and blackberry fruit on the nose, with just a wisp of toast. Fresh minerals and finely integrated tannins make this Napa classic very drinkable now or easily cellarable for the next 5+ years or so.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 12/12/2014 | Send Email
  This Estate Pinot Noir from Mount Edward is a very pretty and elegant style, and is a steal at this price. The red fruits in this wine are very soft, and have a pretty floral note. It is balanced out with baking spice and vanilla flavors with soft tannins. This is a great style of Pinot Noir for salmon.

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 12/12/2014 | Send Email
  An enticing nose of blueberries, blackberries, cloves and nutmeg will get you in the holiday spirit! The palate is full of black cherry, cassis, vanilla and cracked black pepper with plush tannins, great high acidity and a dry grippy finish. Drink now or allow a few years for integration.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

SMWS 36.82 Benrinnes 17 Year Old "Rare Release" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/12/2014 | Send Email
  Our second cask from the Scotch Malt Whisky Society is a BIG winner. I love Benrinnes distillery. When we visited the site during the Spring of 2014, the staff couldn't have been nicer and whisky couldn't have been tastier. We're always poaching casks of Benrinnes from Signatory when we see them available because of its rich, vanilla-laden, cookie dough character. This SMWS bottling is a 59% jolt-in-the-arm version of that flavor profile. Big, chewy richness, tons of power through the mid-palate, and a dessert-like finish that really drives home the flavor. Great whisky from an underrated distillery. That's what we're all about!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenfarclas "The Faultline Casks" K&L Exclusive First Fill Oloroso Sherry Casks Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/11/2014 | Send Email
  This should come with some kind of warning..."Dangerously drinkable"..."Caution: contents will disappear quicker than intended"..."Drinking this bottle will impair your ability to judge other releases fairly". It's seriously that good. Rich, soft, full of flavor and texturally enticing and just an out-and-out "crowd pleaser." You can search high and low and you won't find a better holiday gift than this bottle. It has brand recognition, it's limited edition, it's cask strength(ish) at 57% alc...and it tastes great!
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

SMWS 36.82 Benrinnes 17 Year Old "Rare Release" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/11/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  It is rare that I wax poetically about single malt Scotch but this extraordinary spirit was so unique and exciting that I had to put pen to paper. The nose struck me so much that I spent literally 10 minutes just nosing the glass--I usually find single malt to fall into either a peaty or fruity category but this was different, it was just magic. The nose was a twisting, flowing breadth of freshness. Never have I seen a minty sweetness in a malt nose, and this example was enchanting, and while it was so inviting there were hints of peat spice, not the simple camphorish version but saturated smoke, depth and persistence. So impressive on the palate but this malt needs water, it is cask strength and at 59.5% a little bit of water will open the malt up as well as your experience. Truly worth the price, a tremendous spirit.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Fujanera "Arrocco" Nero di Troia
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 12/11/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Medium-deep ruby in color, the exotic nose offers up truffles, forest floor, clove-like, leathery, mocha, and blueberry characteristics, which carry over to a distinctive, well-focused, round, rich, and viscous set of flavors and texture. The finish on this Gem is long and loaded. Rusty has informed me that we need to make this Gem one of our house reds for the next x-amount of months or for however long it is around. Don’t miss this puppy! ............... 13.0% ABV
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Spellbound California Petite Sirah
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 12/10/2014 | Send Email
  Deep purple in the glass. Aromas of ripe and dried blueberries and mixed berry pie. Luscious and velvety on the palate with velvety smooth texture, a touch of vanilla bean toast, and a very supple finish.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

The Original Grand Crus of Burgundy by Charles Curtis MW
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 12/10/2014 | Send Email
  Anyone who loves Burgundy needs a copy of this book. Mr. Curtis puts these great wines into historical context… And what a rich context there is! It is humbling to know that the greatest sites in the world were identified hundreds of years ago, and this book brings that story to light. While the price for this paperback book is low, be warned, it will end up being expensive after you buy all of the “secret sites” forgotten by the current system of crus!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Wittmann Estate Riesling Trocken
 By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 12/10/2014 | Send Email
  This has filled out nicely and is drinking very well. Firm minerality with a lavender-like overtone stands on equal ground with the bright tropical and stone fruit. Displays excellent terroir for an entry-level wine from Wittman's plots in and around Westhofen. I tasted this wine at the estate in 2011, but they didn't have any wine left to sell. The 2010 vintage saw extremely low yields and this is an excellent find. For their value and versatility, QbA trockens from top estates are the foundation of modern fine wine culture in Germany. This is a prime specimen.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Michael & David "6th Sense" Lodi Syrah
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 12/9/2014 | Send Email
  Incredibly surprising or surprisingly incredible, either way I think those two statements describe the new releases from the Michael & David winery. Always known for their amusing labels and marketing I think the most recent batch of wines will make people take notice for just how much quality is in the bottle for such little cash. The style of wine is still full throttle, fruit driven and bold, as the wines always have been but there is much better balance in the wines overall and most importantly I found there to be no discernible residual sugar in the wines. These are a must try for fans of exuberant Domestic Wines for reasonable prices. The 2012 6th Sense Syrah was really eye opening for me. I’ve tried this wine for years and it’s always been a bit clumsy in regards to its ripeness levels, not so much this year! Now don’t get me wrong this is not Northern Rhone Syrah but it is a wildly pleasurable fruit driven Syrah for a measly $12.99 and there is certainly nothing wrong with that. Aromas of chocolate ganache, wet black top and white pepper are very alluring leading to a exuberant palate of raspberry coulis, sweet licorice, pipe tobacco and wild berry cobbler with fine tannins and a stealthy long finish of toasted coconut and black pepper. A complete steal for fans of “big” wines.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 Michael & David "Freakshow" Lodi Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 12/9/2014 | Send Email
  Incredibly surprising or surprisingly incredible, either way I think those two statements describe the new releases from the Michael & David winery. Always known for their amusing labels and marketing I think the most recent batch of wines will make people take notice for just how much quality is in the bottle for such little cash. The style of wine is still full throttle, fruit driven and bold, as the wines always have been but there is much better balance in the wines overall and most importantly I found there to be no discernible residual sugar in the wines. These are a must try for fans of exuberant Domestic Wines for reasonable prices. I’m a big fan of party rock. Think Rick Springfield’s Working Class Dog album or any of the great Power Pop Albums of the late 70’s early 80’s like The Beat’s Self Titled album. These are certainly not the most critically acclaimed albums but when you hear them, especially at a party they really make everyone feel good, loosen up and start moving around the room. I sort of felt this way about the Freakshow Cab. Not the most critically amazing wine but damn if it doesn’t taste great and won’t please everyone in the room. Under $20 this is like a record that has 3 hits on it that you’ll never get tired of and is in the dollar bin, pure magic. Deep, with silky black fruits and a nice waft of tobacco this is palate coating and intense wine that really brings some fun to the Cabernet game. Blackberry, spice cake, toffee and café con leche flavors are all apparent here and are meshed nicely. It’s going to be hard to beat this cab for this price.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/9/2014 | Send Email
  'Tis the holidays, and that means one thing: SPARKLING WINE! Straight from the Limoux (the ORIGINAL producers of sparkling wine in France - yes, they beat Champagne) comes this gorgeous blend of Chardonnay, Meunier, and Mauzak. Vibrant apple and pear notes sit perfectly amongst a tight concentration of bubbles with a long finish. An awesome choice to toast the season of giving. HAPPY HOLIDAYS!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Bethel Heights/K&L Wine Merchants Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A little more reserved and should age well in the cellar. If drinking now decant one hour and serve with lamb shanks or cassoulet.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Solid and well-balanced--a bit of toasty vanilla oak aromas that follow to palate. Quite good Edna Valley Chard—has more acidity than the usual overdone Edna Valley plonk. This is a crowd pleaser.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1990 Glenfarclas K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
  I am usually all about the bourbons...but this Scotch might be the one that converts me! Amazing color, structure and flavor. I will be getting a bottle to add to my spirits collection for sure. I am so glad our buyer got this in for all of us to enjoy! Get a bottle while you can--if you love Highland whisky, you won't regret it at all.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1990 Glenfarclas K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
  Glenfarclas is such a quality producer of single malts that it is always a joy to taste one. The 1990 Glenfarclas is wonderful and luscious, with inviting aromas and big, expressive flavors. Balanced and not too sweet, is is easy to drink yet is complex enough to give one something to think about.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenfarclas "The Faultline Casks" K&L Exclusive First Fill Oloroso Sherry Casks Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
  Joyful deliciousness in a glass. There is a beautiful deep brown color with sweet, inviting aromas. It is fantastic and round but not too sweet. There is enough complexity to make this single malt very interesting.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I absolutely love this wine’s aromatics, so intriguing, full of Middle Eastern spice, elegant plum, bramble, dried-cherry fruit and nuances of fresh Provencal herbs. On the palate the wine is supple, medium bodied while still being so full flavored, easy to drink, only 13.0% alcohol yet this multifaceted red always beckons you for another sip and then another it is just so tasty. Made from 100% Negroamaro fermented in stainless steel and aged in 1-2 year old barrique for 6 months. This complex yet elegant wine comes from Puglia, the heel of the Italian Peninsula and is the perfect accompaniment to your favorite tomato based pasta dish.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2010 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
  This is one of those wines, (under ten dollars), that once people try it, it will be flying off the shelves! It is so easy to drink with a wonderful fruit and spicy taste. It has a cool mineral note with great acidity, and a good lift on the back end. All of this for $9.99.This is perfect for those big cheeses or a beef stew on a cold winter night. Stock up for the holidays! It is a perfect party wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2010 Inglenook "Cask" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/6/2014 | Send Email
  A full bodied, moderately extracted bottling from the famed Rutherford area producer, this wine has something for everyone. Dark, dried fruit, prevalent tannins, and just enough hints of tobacco, spice box, and a long earthy finish. Drinking it one major thought came to my mind-- "Steak anyone?"
Price: Hidden View Price AG 91 BC 0

2009 Iron Horse "Ocean Reserve" Green Valley Blanc de Blancs
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 12/5/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I had the 2009 at the Wine & Spirits Top 100 Wineries tasting in San Francisco this fall, where owner Joy Sterling was pouring her sparkling wine next to a Bay Area restaurant's table full of oysters. What a match! Is it the power of suggestion or does this wine, in each vintage, have something of the sea to it? Fresh, salty, and possessing of a steady power, the Ocean Reserve is not just a "charity" wine with the Iron Horse label, it's one of their top wines, in my opinion. It's also fairly dry and zippy.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart WE 94 BC 0

Ardbeg Corryvreckan Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 12/5/2014 | Send Email
  For sure, the next time I have enough spare change to be able to decide between purchasing a Talisker 18 or the Corry, I am likely to experience some cognitive dissonance--and I mean before I have had any whisky! UPDATE: After first sampling the Corryvreckan, I was able to purchase a bottle and am very happy with it. This whisky presents luxe aromas of vanilla, caramel, and a hint of chocolate liqueur, haunted by a roasted seaweed, smoked fish and bacon sort of peatiness. If you've tried the Ardbeg 10 but felt it was just somewhat too aggressively peaty for you, at least for now, check out this one. It's got all the soft, lovely smoky beauty of a Talisker Distiller's, say, but with a spicier, cinnamon mint finish--like a younger Islay, like our Kilchoman single barrels, for instance. If you don't mind a hot finish, and love a single malt that tantalizes your nose with seductive, smoky and sweet aromas, this is it.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart WA 96 BC 0

2010 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 12/5/2014 | Send Email
  Bright, tangy cherry and pomegranate with lovely, dusty, mocha tannins on the finish.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2010 Inglenook "Cask" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 12/5/2014 | Send Email
  Deep purple and ruby color in the glass with high-toned and beautifully perfumed bouquet of crushed red fruit and holiday spice box. Very supple and elegant palate with powdered raspberries, currant, boysenberry and cassis flavors on the palate with gravely minerality and strong yet integrated tannins. New World in fruit and Old World in style, this baby will age beautifully or can be enjoyed now with a quick decant.
Price: Hidden View Price AG 91 BC 0

2010 Inglenook "Cask" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 12/5/2014 | Send Email
  Gorgeous! Polished blue fruits, forest floor, savory herbs, brilliant acid and tannic grip....This is your Napa Cab for gift giving or for treating YOURSELF. You'll adore it.
Price: Hidden View Price AG 91 BC 0

Charles Baur "Emotion" Cremant d'Alsace Brut
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  Sometimes sparkling wines with no dosage are piercingly acidic but the Emotion manages to be completely dry while still maintaining balance. The nose has a touch of toasty, brioche aromas without being overpowering, while yellow apples, pears, toasted walnuts and honeysuckle round out the nose. There’s great mid-palate weight and texture with some brioche, apple and quince characteristics showing through and frothy, clean bubbles with a long, lovely dry finish. The perfect accompaniment to tapas and charcuterie!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2012 Charles Baur Eichberg Riesling Grand Cru
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  Beautiful pear fruit with lots of stony minerality. This has really nice persistence on the palate. Great dry-styled Riesling and perfect for the holiday season.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2012 Charles Baur Eichberg Riesling Grand Cru
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  A pretty Riesling, with fabulous acidity! With a tiny hint of sweetness, starfruit, citrus and mineral, this wine really showcases the seriousness of Grand Cru Alsatian Riesling.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  Simply put, the wines from Mount Edward may be the best direct import we've brought in for the category. The Estate offers aromas of plum, ripe black cherry, clove, some forest floor notes and a hint of dried orange peel. On the palate there is fine, tangy acidity with a light dusting of cocoa powder to the supple tannin structure. Fine balance and drive bring a long persistent finish.

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  The sparkling rose is for more than just parties, it can certainly hold up to heavier food and cuisine. Once popped you can smell bright cherries, melon and rose petals, with an underlying salinity. The palate has cranberry and black cherry, but also has an earthy, smoky minerality and intense acidity that can easily hold up to heavier cuisine. Enjoy now.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart WE 89 BC 0

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  Crunchy cranberry and juicy strawberry make this lovely sparkling wine an easy choice for elegant and fun holiday entertaining! Spice things up with this top value rose!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart WE 89 BC 0

Charles Baur "Emotion" Cremant d'Alsace Brut
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  Bright, fresh and elegant, the Chardonnay in this sparkling wine really shines with citrus, pear, apple and mineral. Looking for an affordable, classy wine for your holiday parties? Look no further!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Muirkirk Vineyard" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  The "Muirkirk Vineyard" is a bit more muscular and shows its Bannockburn spine derived from the schist and dense clay soils there. Wild thyme and spice permeate the black raspberry and dark cherry in the nose with earth and some meaty accents. On the palate the wine already shows a layered complexity that is concentrated and yet poised with superb balance, structure and length.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Morrison Vineyard" Pinot Noir Lowburn Central Otago
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  The "Morrison Vineyard" brings the brighter side to the single vineyard Pinots with a lifted floral, rose petal bouquet along with plum and red fruit that dominate along with some spice notes. While elegant, there is good mid-palate weight that remains ethereal with signature purity, balance and expressive length.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica (1.5L)
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The 2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica* is harvested the first 10 days of October, fermented and aged in stainless and released after a year. The wine is so powerful and intense that bottle aging, or decanting, is needed to get to this powerful wine’s mineral core. The nose is full pear-like fruit spiced with anise, citrus and a bit of brioche-like toastiness, although the wine sees no wood.
Drink from 2014 to 2022
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

1990 Glenfarclas K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  The 1990 vintage is a soft and supple whisky bottled at 100 proof that really captures the rich, cakey, textural elements of Oloroso sherry. A special marriage of sherry butts all chosen from one particularly good year at Glenfarclas, it's a straightforward, easy-to-like, and deliciously round whisky that offers easy accessibility, but also depth. When you're thinking about 24 year old, sherry-aged single malt it's exactly what you hope it will be. Not big, not powerful, not overly-sweet, not sulphured or bitter from too much time in wood, and not all that spicy. Just flat-out awesome in the most basic of ways. This is our replacement to the 18 year old Glendronach casks we used to do annually. We just added an extra 6 years of maturity. Hot deal.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
 By: Eric Story | Review Date: 12/4/2014 | Send Email
  How can you go wrong with a rosé sparkler — especially under $20? Made from 100% Pinot Noir, this is jam-packed with crunchy red fruits and spicy strawberry sweetness. Delightful on its own, as an aperitif, with a first course salad, or with a plate of cheese and a hearty loaf of fresh-baked bread. The label should say "A Happy Rosé"
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart WE 89 BC 0

2010 Inglenook "Cask" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 12/3/2014 | Send Email
  A great package and superb wine, the 2010 Cask Cab shows classic cedar, leather and spice flavors, mixed in with concentrated black cherry and red currant fruit. It is a full-bodied wine that is firm on the finish but still balanced and very approachable right now.
Price: Hidden View Price AG 91 BC 0

2013 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/3/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Nice strawberry and brambly aromas--quite forward and plenty of ripe berry fruit on the palate. Round tannins--ready now and should last several years in a cellar. Smooth and seamless. Excellent balance. Try with a veal roast. Value.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Villegeorge, Haut-Médoc
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
  In my own version of the French language, the word "Bordeaux" simply means "delicious," and this wine is a perfect example of that translation. From the incredible 2009 vintage, this Haut-Medoc bottling has everything one could want: An ample amount of dark fruit perfectly balanced with tobacco, spice box, toasty vanilla, and dark chocolate. Medium-plus acidity and well-balanced tannins throughout the palate lead to a lingering finish sure to warm you up. Simply put, a lovely selection that is showing wonderfully now and will continue to improve with age.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Morrison Vineyard" Pinot Noir Lowburn Central Otago
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A tiny production of just 260cs. This wine is hand-chosen from the very best blocks and single barrels from Mount Edward's stunning "Morrison" estate vineyard in the Lowburn sub-region of Central Otago. The vineyard is composed from layers of glacial deposit - schist and quartz gravels. To one side of the vineyard towers the snow-capped Pisa Range Mountains; to the other side, the majestic Lake Dunstan. This really is a magical site for growing grapes! The wine has stunning length and structure. The fruit flavors of ripe forest berries, clove, nutmeg, Porcini mushroom and subtle oak spices are so pure and expressive. The tannins while evident are very refined and polished. Fresh acidity from Central Otago's cool nighttime temps are evident here giving the whole wine lift and vibrancy. This is top quality Pinot really showing winemaker Duncan Forsyth's pedigree. Some of the best Pinot New Zealand produces.
Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2010 Langmeil "Blacksmith" Cabernet Sauvignon Barossa Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/2/2014 | Send Email
  Great deal in Cabernet. Rich black fruit, touches of cedar, tobacco, dark earth and graphite. Med-full bodied with nice acidity to balance the dark fruit. This will keep a lot of people happy. This is not a simple fruit-driven wine by any means--there are some good tobacco notes and herbal edge complexity here. Great pricing on this bottle from a top-quality vintage.
Top Value!

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>