Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>
2011 Tamarack Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  This may be the least expensive Cab in our stock that will age beautifully for a decade or more, It's solid, well-made, masculine and has a nice acidity to keep it fresh on the palate. Decant and drink now or age for 5-15 years. Just do not miss it entirely and regret it later.
Top Value!

2012 Mount Eden Santa Cruz Mountains Rosé of Cabernet Franc
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  The winery made a tiny quantity of this wine (2 barrels), But we loved it so much we talked them out of 20% of the production for us to sell. Grab yours now, or the staff will buy all that is available of this amazingly fresh and bright rose.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Lagier Meredith Mount Veeder Syrah
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Fantastic New World Syrah, with a delicious entry, big fruit, but enough acid and structure to make the package balance beautifully. This is not only delicious, it is also approachable now, which is a bonus.

2010 Chehalem "Stoller Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  For those of you who wrote off the 2010 vintage because it was cool, all I have to say is HAH! For those of you who think Oregon Pinot Noirs cannot age, another HAH! Thanks to too many critics who think that same way, those of us in the know get a smoking good deal. This shows lovely crunchy cranberry fruit on the nose, followed by focused and interesting flavors. If you are looking for a big, jammy pseudo-Syrah, avoid this wine. If you are looking for delicious, bright Pinot Noir with a bit of age, and a lot of character on the finish, GRAB some of this before the staff gets it all. Thanks to our special purchase, we are selling this to you at less than we once paid at wholesale. 'Nuff said.
Top Value!

2013 Cantina Terlan "Terlaner Classico" Terlano
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  This blend of three different grape varieties, grown in the classic district of Terlano (South-Tyrol), is as versatile a wine as you'll find from anywhere, and a seriously good value besides. A blend used quite successfully for over 100 years, this cuvee of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc, fermented at controlled temperature in stainless steel vats offers fruity aromatics with light yeasty notes and a taste that is always harmonious though quite strong on the palate and very persistent.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Remo Farina Valpolicella Ripasso
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Valpolicella has undergone an amazing transformation from the 60s Bolla version with a red-checked tablecloth to the suave and ultra-hip wine region. This ripasso is a midway point between simple and fresh and the power and size of the Amarone taking the best from both. A wine to drink straight from the bottle, with a straw or with roasted rabbit, or complex pasta dishes. Rockin' Ripasso!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  For under $10 this is a solid everyday red that is perfect with just about everything. It's got a purple hue, and supple, blueberry and violet undertones that give lift to its inky, soft texture. Polished and clean with a velvety soft finish, this is a wine that can be drunk whatever the season. If its hot out, put a slight chill on it; pair it with everything from salmon to roast chicken or Argentine steak!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Spellbound California Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  I'm obsessed with Robert Mondavi Jr.'s latest addition to the Spellbound family! If you love California Cab, but don't want to spend Napa Valley prices, you've met your match! This fruit is sourced from some of the best vineyards in California but because of the family reputation, this Cab doesn't cost an arm and leg for high-quality juice. Great everyday red full of richness and depth, and still soft enough on the palate to drink on its own or with food. Supple tannins and acid make it a super juicy, food-friendly crowd pleaser! BBQ anyone?
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc Vin de Pays d'Oc
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Sancerre at half the price!!! Soft, subtle mineral notes are wrapped up in aromatics of melon and citrus. Clean, bright and refreshing, this is a perfect little Sauvignon Blanc. Tropical fruit, citrus and spice aromas and flavors, with vibrant acidity and minerality. Perfect for goat milk cheeses or seafood. This is the white wine that I always keep stocked in my fridge. Bright, fresh citrus peels (grapefruit & lime) lead into a bracing minerality that ends with a wonderfully dry, crushed wet rock finish. I love this wine (and it's an absolute steal).
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Castelfeder "Glener" Pinot Nero Trentino-Alto Adige
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Blauburgunder (Pinot Noir) is a lovely wine. Sweet perfumed cherries, flowers and spices all come together in this harmonious wine. Castelfeder’s Blauburgunder captures an attractive middle ground between the lighter and richer styles of Pinot being made in Alto Adige. If you enjoy European-influenced Pinot with acidity, vibrancy and balance, this will blow you away! Melt some strong cheese, dip some bread and veggies in there, and enjoy with a glass (or a bottle) of Tyrolean red!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Viña Robles "Estate" Paso Robles Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Clean, modern in style and focused like a laser beam. For this price, this is close to a no-brainer as I have seen in a while.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2013 Cantina Terlan Pinot Bianco
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  This is from a hillside in the town of Terlano in the Alto-Adige, where the soil is sandy, gravely and calcareous. A great place to plant grapes? This is what makes the wines of this region so unique. This Pinot Bianco is full-bodied, delicately fragrant and mildly floral, with ripe honeydew melon and Bartlett pear and lots of minerality, balanced by acidity. This can keep very easily over the next five years, but you will want to drink lots of it these last days of summer.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

2013 Cantina Terlan Lagrein Rosé Alto Adige
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Spicy and bursting with bright fruit and even a touch of mineral, this is not your everyday pink wine. Hearty enough for food, even red meat, this Lagrein rosé is made by one of the Alto Adige's finest wine producers. It will elicit oohs and ahhs from all of your summertime guests.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Cantina Terlan "Gries" Lagrein
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  This Lagrein is made in the Alto Adige. This wine has an elegant perfume, subtle even, with fruit, vanilla and violet notes. On the palate it is a touch austere and quite full bodied, just the thing to match the rustic, rich foods of the mountainous region like lamb with rosemary and hard cheeses.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 7/30/2014 | Send Email
  In the barrage of barrel samples that we tasted over the trip, 50-plus on the day we found this little gem alone, I had somehow forgotten how much I liked this. After tasting it in a lineup of far more heralded and expensive single malts, this reminded me why I love Bowmore so much. The perfect balance of richness and complexity, not too much sherry as to cover up the sweet grain and spice notes, but enough nutty richness to lend a seductive and soft mouth feel. The smoke is dark and brooding like Bowmore should be, perfectly integrated and stunning.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Melville "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 7/30/2014 | Send Email
  Melville was established by Ron Melville and his two sons in 1996, developing 82 acres just outside of Lompoc, California. Planted to mostly Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, this vineyard has become a prized grower/producer in the Santa Rita Hills appellation. With winemaker Greg Brewer at the helm, the wines have become some of the most sought after in the region. The 2012 Estate Pinot Noir is an explosion of bright red fruit, Asian spice and cinnamon. Touches of cedar, mint and orange peel add to this silky, opulent Pinot Noir.

2012 Melville "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Amy Monroe | Review Date: 7/30/2014 | Send Email
  Winemaker Greg Brewer consistently coaxes lovely aromatics from his wines; it's one of the reasons I like them so much. Right out of the gate scents of rose petals, lavender, and sweet earth beckon. On the palate this wine is beautifully plush with notes of black cherry, cinnamon, and just a touch of smoke. If you've never tried Melville Pinot Noir, you should. If you're already a fan, don't miss this one!

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.3 Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  If you can pronounced the name of this wonderful SB, we might sell you a bottle or two or twelve. Unlike those coming from New Zealand with gobs of grapefruit and lemon tones, this South African Gem offers a lovely melon-like to clove-like presentation in the nose and on its dry, clean, crisp, well-structured, yet mouthwatering presentation and finish. The Bean has told me that we need cases of this Gem and that if you bypass this beauty, you might as well stop drinking wine. A non-linear, completely satisfying SB that will rival many of the wonderful SB wines coming from Sancerre and Graves, and at a super low price. 13.5% abv.
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Relyea-Wood Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
  Santa Cruz Mountains Cab for only $15?! With only five barrels made of this 2011 Cabernet Sauvignon from R&W Vineyards on Montebello Ridge, it is the very definition of a boutique wine, but one without the extravagant price tag of many Napa bottlings. The cooler summer in 2011 meant harvest was delayed until early November. For all that, the wine is surprisingly full-bodied with plenty of ripe fruit. Bright, sweet red fruits – sour cherry and plum and fresh-picked raspberry. Notes of tobacco and blackcurrant leaf. A balanced, well-built wine with nicely integrated oak and a very reasonable 13.2% alcohol. A terrific value.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Jardesca California Aperitiva 750ml
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
  Looking for your summer aperitif wine that's local, light, aromatic, complex, and wont give you a hangover?! This small production aperitif is made in Northern California's Sonoma County and is loaded with natural aromatic botanicals like basil, Kaffir lime, fresh herbs, mint, flowers, and citrus. This is a drier style aperitif wine whose cocktail combinations are endless! Splash of soda, lime, fruit, or lavender, and you've got yourself one complex concoction! I've been enjoying it on my deck during sunset for an immediate summer refreshment! You must try! You will be hooked.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Château de Ripaille Vin de Savoie-Ripaille
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
  Have you ever stood next to a mountain stream and wanted a wine to have that fresh vibrant quality? Probably not, but if you did, this would be the wine. This 100% Chasselas is the epitome of alpine freshness. Light citrus notes, good viscosity, tons of clean minerality, it's pretty brilliant stuff. It's freshness personified.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 JP & JF Quénard "Les Damoiselles" Vin de Savoie-Chignin Bergeron
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
  My favorite Roussanne (the local name in Savoie is Bergeron) on its own as a grape variety is Beaucastel's Chateauneuf du Pape Blanc Vieilles Vignes. With that wine approaching the $200 mark, I can't say it is a fair comparison, but for about 10% of that cost, you can get a LOT of wine in the "Les Damoiselles." What I'm trying to say is, this is one of the sexiest, most intriguing Roussannes on the market at any price. Copious amounts of stone fruit flavors with notes of dried mango and a nice thread of chalky minerality. You gotta try it.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Domaine Eden Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
  This is a taste of the real thing. The Domaine Eden is one of the most perfectly balanced Chardonnays that we carry. It has excellent quality lime-like fruit, nice medium-to-light weight and a long finish. If you are looking for well-balanced wine, you have found it!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Arterberry Maresh "Maresh Vineyard" Dundee Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
  The Maresh Vineyard Dundee Hills Pinot Noir from Arterberry Maresh is the purest example of Oregon Pinot Noir that we have at K&L. It has the perfect dark cherry fruit on the nose and silky texture that I associate with the best of this estate's wines. If you are curious to see how good these wines can get, check this bottle out!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Charles Trosset Mondeuse "Prestige des Arpents" Vin de Savoie-Arbin
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
  Mondeuse has become one of my favorite reds. It has the spice box qualities you find in aged Syrah, the tobacco of old school Grenache and the floral lifted qualities of crazy northern Italian reds. Trosset is a genius with the grape and makes one of the best. It's like walking into a Penzey's Spices. It's floral with violets and lavender, spicy with pink peppercorns, crazy with celery seed and meaty enough and fruity enough to keep it from being too dramatic. Give this a shot, you won't regret it.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Melville "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Patrick Cu | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
  Winemaker Greg Brewer has presented us with another great vintage for the Melville Estate Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir. Melville is consistently good from year to year, but the 2012 is incredibly impressive and exceptional. Aromas and flavors of wild strawberry, raspberry, light cinnamon spice, lavender, and floral notes make this a compelling wine. Melville fans should not miss this very enjoyable bottling.

2010 Louis Magnin Gamay Vin de Savoie
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
  From one of Savoie’s greatest producers, this is one of the most fascinating and complex Gamays you are likely to drink. This holds its own amongst Beaujolais greats like Foillard and Thevenet. This has a beautiful core of wild strawberry fruit with subtle game and earthy nuances. Don’t think of this as a substitute for great Beaujolais, it’s entirely its own thing and well worth the price.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Chehalem "Stoller Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
  What an unbelievable value! The Stoller Vineyard from Chehalem is an ambitious, top level Pinot Noir that we are offering at a spectacular price. It has a generous bouquet of new leather and dried cherry and an incredibly silky texture. It takes time to get balance like this, and the extra few years have made all the difference. I can't wait to have this with some duck confit!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2025

2012 Franck Peillot "Altesse" Roussette de Bugey-Montagnieu
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
  Peillot as a producer is truly special. You would pay $50-$100 for wines of the caliber in Burgundy and yet for $23, you get something authentic and unique. This has beautiful quince notes with candied apple flavors. This is a wine of length and finesse. The region of Bugey-Montagnieu is famous for the Poulet de la Bresse, a chicken that has its own regional designation. I can think of nothing better than a beautiful roasted bird to go with this wine.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
  A perfect marriage of fruit and oak, this beautifully balanced Tuscan red is big, rich, and intense with tons of ripe, dark fruit and fine, silky tannins. Lots to admire here, and at a very attractive price. Drinkable now, and should continue to develop for several years yet.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Poggio al Tufo Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The 2011 vintage in Tuscan produced a lot of richness in the wine including Poggio al Tufo’s excellent Cabernet value. Aged for a year in large 65hl Slavonian oak barrels this wine has the ripeness of California Cabernet while having a more focused center, longer finish than anything I’ve seen in this price range you could buy from California. Supple, rich, smooth with lots of ripe cassis, hints of tarragon and a touch of fresh leather, a long finish but what really remains with you is the palate richness, this is a mouthful without being overripe and only 13% alcohol. You’ll love the drinkability of this wine and it will pair nicely with grilled meats or even just Cabernet Cocktailing!
Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2011 Poggio al Tufo "Rompicollo"
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  OK, that may seem like a very high score for a wine of this price category, but I adjusted it for the value and this wine is just an outstanding value. Rompicollo - Breakneck in Italian - is a coastal Super Tuscan of impeccable quality, it is a blend of 60% Sangiovese and 40% Cabernet Sauvignon aged in big 65hl barrels from grapes harvested from a vineyard with southern exposure and mostly volcanic soil. The aromatics tell you right away this is a serious wine; the fresh, focused Sangiovese fruit is cherry like and coupled with the Cabernet's earth and cassis filled flavors just fills your nose with anticipation. On the palate the richness of the Cabernet is lengthened by the Sangiovese’s acidity creating a very long finish filled with spice, fruit and earth while still maintaining a textural richness on the palate. This is a wine that will age well for another 5 years and be just a stunning value at that time, but you’ll have to buy a lot because it is just so darn good to drink right now. Buy a case…no better make it two cases, it’s great.
Drink from 2014 to 2019
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart WS 92 BC 0

2013 Charles Smith "Kung Fu Girl" Columbia Valley Riesling
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/28/2014 | Send Email
  I like Riesling with a little something to it, you know, a little steely, limey, slightly diesel-stinky crunchy toasty marmalade to it; I like South Australian Riesling. The Brooks 2009 Willamette Valley that we had a while back, that was nice. I've hesitated to check out the Kung Fu Girl for years, because, you know, hip label, but what's it really got? Surprisingly a lot. Peach and pineapple fruit, yes, and maybe a little golden raisin, but a right limey seriousness to it. I wouldn't be surprised if this got more interesting in two years but it's delicious now; a little off-dry but totally balanced.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Louis-Antoine Luyt Carignan "Trequilemu" Maule Valley
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/28/2014 | Send Email
  If you like earthy, dirty, mineral-driven wines, this is the wine for you. I adore this Carignan, it’s very green with notes of bell pepper and jalapenos, scorched earth, iron and forest floor. The winemaker, a native Burgundian whose vineyards are still plowed by horse, uses a very hands-off approach, producing natural wines that are complex and terroir-driven. This is definitely my Chilean favorite.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/28/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a Barossa Shiraz that isn't overly extracted, overly ripe or overly alcoholic. You might think that's a lot of overlys... well you'd be right and it is why I'm so impressed with this wine. My Barossa experience has been full of wines that are way too sappy for my palate, but this wine's bracing acidity and properly stated alcohol level is refreshing. You still get that Barossa power but with more focus; the flavors are cleaner and fresher and you still get that supple, textural richness that is Barossa. I'm thinking BBQ'd ribs would be just the match for this fascinating wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2018

2012 Raccaro Malvasia Collio
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/28/2014 | Send Email
  What a complex and well-done Malvasia! The Roccaro boasts notes of Fuji apples and honeysuckle with a brightness and crisp acidity coming across on the palate with zesty lemon rind notes balanced by a waxy texture and some sweeter stone fruits. An absolutely beautiful expression of Malvasia.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Plaisance "Cuvée Alix" Bordeaux Supérieur
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/28/2014 | Send Email
  Garnet color showing some development. Enticing aromatics of ripe plums, coffee, cocoa, pepper and graphite. On the palate it possess all those attributes as well, along with medium tannins and medium acidity. Soft textured wine, but the coffee, toasty notes bring it to a level that no Merlot outside Bordeaux can achieve... Drinking now, and it will be delicious with a steak or filet mignon!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/28/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Power, precision and persistence sum up this wine perfectly. I love how Duval's wines capture the richness that I love in Barossa Shiraz but always remain refined, elegant and fine boned. Exceptional purity of fruit, silky tannin structure and some complex earthy, savory undertones. A subtle kiss of oak frames everything perfectly. Forget about trying to cellar this one...it's way too good right now to leave alone!

2012 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 7/28/2014 | Send Email
  With a very fine 2012 vintage in the Barossa, you'd expect nothing less than a superb wine from an iconic winemaker like John Duval. Well, he did not disappoint! The nose shows blue and blackberry fruits with dark plum, peppery spice, meats, damp earth and a hint of mocha. On the palate the wine offers seamless balance with supple, ripe refined tannins that are supported by juicy acidity with exceptional drive and length. Bravo John!

1983 Caol Ila 30 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/28/2014 | Send Email
  A great example of Caol Ila. This cask brings out the best that Caol Ila can offer. There is plenty of smoke that is followed by a lighter body that is layered with complex flavors. This is one to enjoy and contemplate.
Price: $279.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Urbanite "Amplio" Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/28/2014 | Send Email
  2012 was an exceptional vintage in California. The 2012 Amplio reflects this with its nice round juicy fruit and ready to drink deliciousness.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 La Graside Blanc, Bordeaux
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/27/2014 | Send Email
  Light straw yellow color. Intense aromatics full of lemon oil, gooseberries, grapefruit. On the palate it carries all these fruit flavors, and a touch of yellow flowers too, but none of the tropical notes that some Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc have. Instead, this has a focused minerality, and bright, juicy acidity. Perfect wine to pair with a garlicky seafood or a ceviche, salads, Thai food and let's not forget...Sushi!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Cava Brut Rosé Penedes
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 7/26/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is an absolutely wonderful, delicious Cava Brut Rose with distinctive red fruit characteristics of strawberry and red cherry, not only in the mouth, but in its high-profile aromatics. Dry, clean, and crisp across the palate, this Gem finishes with a mouthwatering set of flavors. The Bean has informed me that we need cases of this brilliantly produced Gem before the summer ends. It will be our house sparkler for however long it is around. You should not miss this beauty.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart W&S 91 BC 0

2012 Franck Peillot "Altesse" Roussette de Bugey-Montagnieu
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/25/2014 | Send Email
  Another fabulous vin de savoie! Peillot is making wildly impressive wines of impeccable intensity and finesse. Bruised mirabelle, fresh Fuji apples, slight citrus peel. All that flavor is perfectly framed in a textural and perfectly weighted core. If you're smart you'll buy all of this. If you don't I will.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Château de Ripaille Vin de Savoie-Ripaille
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/25/2014 | Send Email
  If you want to be refreshed instantly, then drink this delightfully crisp and minerally white from the Savoie made from 100% Chasselas from a 1,000-year-old estate! This reminds me of skiing down the Swiss Alps getting fresh chucks of snow in my face! Yes, it's just like that!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Louis Magnin Gamay Vin de Savoie
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/25/2014 | Send Email
  A wild Gamay from one of Savoy's most respected producers. This stuff only alludes to the famous Gamay being produced 100km to the west. The nose is like the most concentrated red flowers and in the very background the slightest Chanel No. 9 (in a good way). The palate is all wild red fruit picked off the forest floor. This is an experience to say the least.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/25/2014 | Send Email
  TWR is coming up. Solid little offering for what will surely one day be known world-wide as one of Marlborough's best. Right now, be one of the lucky few who know how special these wines are. Top quality.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Caves Jean Bourdy Côtes du Jura Rouge
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/25/2014 | Send Email
  Every time I open a bottle of the Bourdy Rouge, I do a snorty laugh-cry. It's sooo good. He's sooo old school. It's my perfect wine. Don't buy this, I want it all.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Domaine de la Tournelle "Fleur de Savagnin" Arbois
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/25/2014 | Send Email
  An absolute stunner. The perfect crossover to get your friends who are afraid of Jura into this very special category. The complexity and focus is unparalleled for this style. While it's aged for years in barrel, there's only the slightest nutty oxidized aroma. The freshness and purity is unlike anything else. Don't think, just drink.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Pas de l'Escalette "Les Petits Pas" Languedoc
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/25/2014 | Send Email
  What a surprise! Languedoc with low alcohol and good acidity? Powerful flavors of pepper and brambly dark berries, but all this stays ultra lifted and fresh. This is the total package. A killer option under $20 for summer quaffing.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>