Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>
Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Pinot Gris (375ml can)
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  OK people, have a little faith in us, here--this wine is incredibly quaffable and delicious! Perfect for a summer picnic in the park, in the ice bucket poolside, on a hike up to a beautiful sunset or even backpacking in the woods, this little half bottle in a can delivers all of the freshness you would hope for. Melon, citrus, peach and medium acidity! I'm in! Just be careful--it's two glasses in one can!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart BC 0

El Dorado 12 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  A great rum that is distilled from molasses. It is rich, round, sweet and delicious. While this rum is on the sweeter and richer side, it is not sugary and has complexity to balance it out.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Cave de Tavel "Lauzeraies" Tavel
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  A wonderful rosé for any occasion. It is dry, bright, round and packed full of deep red fruit flavors. It is great alone and will go well with Mediterranean style foods.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

El Dorado 15 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml (ships in a 1.5 box)
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This rum is both tasty and interesting. It has the winning sweetness that one would expect from a rum from Guyana. The El Dorado 15 is also very complex, with layers of flavors from sweet to an almost subtle earthiness.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.3 Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I was really surprised by the elegance and flavor integration of this wine. I like Sauvignon Blanc but I don't like the overtly grassy versions or the exceedingly neutral, pseudo-Chardonnay styles either. This wine (once you get past the name) has energy, with fresh, almost citrusy flavor showing a brighter more focused wine. I love this style of wine with richer seafood or a grilled calamari, or with a runny poached egg over grilled asparagus. This isn't the first place you'd probably look for Sauvignon but it will be on your list after you have this wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Pure, elegant, focused, silky, layered and exotic. The descriptors could go on and on but all you need to do is buy a bottle and see for yourself. Next level quality from TWR; one of the best NZ Pinots I have tasted, period.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  NZ Chard is something that I think people don't understand. With all the hype about Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc, Chard and Riesling from down here don't get the attention of praise they deserve. TWR's 2013 Chard is tightly focused and precise. The wine combines richness and exotic fruit from the 35-year-old vines with flinty mineral tones and firm acidity. Certainly a Burgundy lover's wine rather than a butter bomb, but I think this will put on weight as the months and years go by. I really love Jason and Anna's ambition for their few rows of magic Chardonnay vines.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Teutonic "Laurel Vineyard - Bergspitze Schwarz" Chehalem Mountains Pinot Noir
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  There are plenty of people who will tell you that the 2011 vintage in Oregon was terrible. Horrible. Totally awful. Unfortunately for the winemakers in Oregon, that's all a lot of wine lovers ever hear. Unfortunate, I say, because so many of the wines made from the vintage are actually quite lovely--lean, aromatic and distinctive. Take this Pinot from the folks at Teutonic. It's the color of fire and ice roses, with a stunning, spicy and floral nose that makes me think of Chiavanesca. Taut fruit, this is not for people who like BIG Pinots, but if you like your wines like carefully crafted lace, this is for you.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Pirramimma Petit Verdot McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  Oddly enough, Petit Verdot has always been the "sleeper" varietal for this property. There is a fine bouquet with cedar, pencil lead, dark plum, red currant, pomegranate, some high-toned floral notes, tobacco leaf and a hint of dark chocolate. On the palate there is moderate acidity with fine-grained tannins and very good length. Very cool wine, and a steal at $15.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I love Sauvignon Blanc but as one might expect I am overly picky (who would have guessed) about the overtly grassy ones--for me, what so many NZ versions taste of is Jalapeno Jelly. For me, TWR's wines don't have that character but still taste like they're from NZ. The wines have body, drive and aromatic correctness but without that under-ripeness that I so dislike. Enough about the negatives, the wine is so pungent, savory, just decidedly flavorful, with sultry aromatics that segue onto the palate and those flavors give way to a textural density coupled with a good, mineral-driven center. The wine then has a long finish that brings the flavors and texture to a crescendo. Very, very good wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Bethel Heights "Estate" Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This comes from the underrated 2011 vintage, and from one of my favorite Oregon producers. Its nose offers a cascade of rose petals, spices, red fruit, mulch and white pepper. On the palate, it's integrated, lovely and spicy, with a subtly tannic foundation that just needs food or a little air to tame it.

2004 Pirramimma Petit Verdot McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I don't get a chance to taste much pure Petit Verdot but when I do I sometimes find them overly extracted or having very high tannin levels. This wine isn't anything like that; I really enjoyed this wine’s character; deep flavors flowing into a bold, lush palate presence where those powerful flavors seemed to accumulate into one big bass drum pounding a thick, rich and pleasing mouth-feel. Definitely a BBQ wine and for the price this is really worth checking out.
Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2011 Lange "Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  Red cherry, sandalwood, red plum, red currant and thyme with medium plus acidity and soft, elegant tannin. This wine is classic Dundee Hills Pinot!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Benchmark Marlborough Savvy. Sure there are plenty of quirky styles now coming from New Zealand that are equally exciting but this quote from the winemaker Jason Flowerday sums up the wine perfectly: "Hand on heart, I love Sauvignon Blanc, it should be juicy, it should be ripe, it should be able to age, I don’t want to make "alternative" Sauvignon, I just want to make it as good as it can be. We want Sauvignon Blanc that makes your mouth water and makes you want another glass"...as this baby sure does that!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Teutonic "Laurel Vineyard - Bergspitze Weisse" Chehalem Mountains Pinot Noir
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  I loved both the Bergspitze Pinots we brought in from Teutonic. The 2012 from the Bergspitze Weisse is really gorgeous, with a filigreed bouquet redolent of anise seed, rosewater, roasted fennel, forest floor and green tea, all of which are deftly woven together on the palate with tart black fruit. There's a lot of wine here for the money. If you like your Pinot with backbone and restrained fruit, this is for you.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Teutonic "Crow Valley Vineyard" Willamette Valley Riesling
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  I love German Riesling; it gives me the tingles. It's rare that I find domestic Riesling that evokes the same feeling, but Teutonic nailed it with this one. It has a distinctive, citrus and beeswax nose with a subtle underpinning of botrytis. All those characteristics are well-integrated on the palate, which is precise and long. Delicious.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Teutonic "Maresh Vineyard" Dundee Hills Pinot Gris
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This is a super aromatic Pinot Gris made in the Alsatian style, with just a touch of RS. Aromas of citrus and cream carry over to the palate, which finishes flinty and long.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Gaston Rivière Francois 1er Vieux Pineau Des Charantes 750ml
 By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  All I can say is: wow! Notes of mushroom, marshmallow, orange and lemon. This is refreshing and delightful, and just a touch funky.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bigallet Viriana China China Amer 750ml
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This is a cane-based French bitter macerated with bitter oranges and distilled three times. The floral orange aromas are complemented by flavors of clove and anise, with added bitterness from China bark. Quite viscous and mouthwatering. Use in place of Aperol in a spritz!
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Nonino Quintessentia Amaro 750ml
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  There's a reason this grape distillate-based Amaro from Friuli is one of our biggest sellers, it's the easiest-drinking Amaro I've every tried! Cocoa-dusted orange, cream, butterscotch, roasted nuts, lemon pitch and rosewater notes. Don't waste this in a cocktail, it sips smoothly on its own.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart WE 96 BC 0

Amaro Montenegro Di Bologna 750ml
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This is one of the most popular Amari in Italy. Packed with notes of nutmeg and bitter orange, it's very pretty and soft on the palate. It has a creamy, not-too-bitter creamsicle character. Medium-sweet.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart WE 97 BC 0

Lucano Amaro 750ml
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  The last time I ordered an Averna at the end of a meal, I sat considering its medicinal, bitter qualities, and lamenting its syrupy sweetness. The Lucano has the best of Averna's herbaceousness, with earthy, bitter citrus flavors and a light, balanced texture.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "D" Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  From the oldest Riesling vines on the property and some of the oldest in New Zealand. Intense linear drive, persistence and minerality. Crisp, focused acidity but nothing astringent or harsh. Just so refreshing, mouthwatering and food friendly. This is a summer classic.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "M" Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Any fan of Kabinett to Spatlese Riesling will appreciate this bottle. A fascinating combination of juicy exotic richness, racy acidity and wet stoney minerality (everything I want in Riesling!) Tastes drier than the 30g/l RS suggests thanks to the mouthwatering acidity.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Beaux Frères Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This blew me away! Never light in style, the 2012 is about as full and opulent as you can get from Oregon without being clumsy and disjointed. Despite its size and power, this wine has wonderful perfume and freshness, as well as length. I would love to hold a few bottles of this for five years or so to see how it rounds out.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Pirramimma Petit Verdot McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  Potentially my favorite of the 04 Pirriamimma bottles. This wine shows that not only is Petit Verdot a very useful blending component but that it can also stand alone and make very compelling wine. This shows tons of fresh tobacco, crushed mint, cigar box and small berry forest fruits. The tannin structure is beautifully developed at ten years of age but retains ample grip to tease out the wine long on the palate. Excellent persistence and brightness for a wine of this age especially when you consider our fantastic pricing on this bottle! Any Bordeaux lover will appreciate this wine and the price is very hard to beat!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.3 Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/13/2014 | Send Email
  The #3 Sauvignon Blanc is their version of a more tropical style Sauv Blanc. It’s quite aromatic with white flower, kiwi and grapefruit and tropical flavors on the palate like passion fruit, honeydew and lemon zest. A very bright, flavor intensive Sauv Blanc with lovely acidity, perfect for those hot summer days.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 7/12/2014 | Send Email
  The previous 2012 vintage of this wine was heavy on the green bell pepper, tomato leaf type characteristics. On the contrary, the warmer 2013 vintage has brought a rounder, more fruit forward style SB and I think it is delicious! Even though it has more fruit than it has in the past, this wine is far from being overly ripe. Apple, lime blossom, and white floral notes are paired with a crisp acidity and chalky minerality. Yum!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/12/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Love classic Brunello? Don't have as much patience as you might need!? Grab some of this little baby from one of our top Direct Import Brunello producers Baricci. All the classic flavors of Montalcino but ready to go now and a price tag barely over $20! Baricci is a very classic producer. The wines are about purity, elegance and balance. They are very food friendly and versatile. The 2012 vintage is remarkable supple and forward allowing easy drinking with dry, harsh tannins. This wine is always a huge hit with our staff so you better snag some now before we drink it all!
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/12/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another stellar effort from Baricci (my favorite Direct Import Brunello producer that we work with). This amazing vineyard site on Montosoli produces wines with such elegance, purity and drive. The wines are always precise and balanced and this 2009 is no different. What is really nice about this wine is that it is so accessible now! The flavors are bright and youthful but there is no hard tannin. A very classic flavor profile, beautifully unadorned by oak, dusty red and darker fruit tinges, sweet leather, spice and warm earth. Supple and drinkable now but will surely give lots of pleasure over the next decade (at least).
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2025
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

Lost Spirits Distillery Leviathan III Single Malt Whiskey 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  Like the "Seascape," there's a honey-maple smoked sweetness to the aroma, but in the Leviathon, it trends toward leathery, like a sweet-smelling new leather handbag or something; nutty and rich, the fire on the back palate is delayed, but still there, on this whisky. Definitely exceeds my expectations for a California single malt whisky.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Lost Spirits Distillery Seascape II Single Malt Whiskey 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  "Warning" duly noted, but this whisky was as friendly as a Sunday brunch...sweet, smoky maple syrup on the nose, glazed ham notes, and rich palate...until the hot "kick" up the retronasal on the finish. Definitely different, has a structure, and with the smoky maple aromas, it's quite intriguing.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1989 Cragganmore 23 Year Old Faultline Single Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  Is it any wonder that this is richer than the silky, golden Cragganmore 12? This one's a deep gold-bronze, has a deeply nutty aroma of caramelized walnuts, and an earthy touch of wet plaster. Good, rich sipping, and very interesting.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Kilchoman K&L Exclusive Single Bourbon Barrel #74 Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  Wow, this is a spicy, forward, yet ethereal whisky with a distinctive personality, indeed. Mr. Driscoll got it right about the cinnamon Red Hots aroma that hits your nose on the wind of a burning field of flowering heather. My only previous taste of Kilchoman was a wee airplane bottle of young, lightly heathery whisky; this one's richer, and more sure of itself--the only comparison I can make is with Port Charlotte Scottish Barley Heavily Peated.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  This organically and biodynamically-grown Pinot Noir shows a bit more flesh than past vintages, as it comes from two vineyards. One has gravelly soil, the other is a steep slope with more clay. The result is a Pinot of both finesse and power, at a very reasonable price for the quality. Bravo!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.3 Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  OK, folks, this is a crazy good deal. A splash of barrel-fermented Semillon adds complexity and a nice fig note to the mid-palate. But the overwhelming impression is of pure, focused Sauvignon Blanc with the minerality you expect from mountain fruit. It is a crazy world, where this wine can travel half-way around the world and make it to our shelves, still at such a value price!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  I have to admit I was expecting something a little fruitier and rounder after tasting the 2012 vintage, but the 2013 is excellent. It’s really well balanced, adding a little earth, spice and tannins. There’s an excellent leafy, brambly quality to this wine that I love, integrated into the cranberry, black cherry and raspberry fruits. A great Pinot and a great vintage from TWR.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A long time K&L favorite La Fortuna’s Brunello is a product of two growing zones in Montalcino. The winery’s home vineyard and winery is a short distance east of the town of Montalcino right next to one of Montalcino’s big names Fuligni and just scant meters across the valley from another super star, Siro Pacenti. La Fortuna’s home vineyard gives their Brunello a focused core and structure with high-toned fruit aromatics; they also own a vineyard just south of Castelnuovo dell’Abate (just like Siro Pacenti) the strong southern facing gives the wine from this vineyard a riper, deeper, more saturated flavor. In this 2009 La Fortuna Brunello the two vineyards are blended together creating a wine with a centered core of structure with a cherry, plumy richness woven into the heart of the wine. Supple yet lively on the palate, this wine is perfect for richer dishes; perhaps a creamy, porcini risotto where the fruit and earthy flavors join together. A beef stew...or Cinghiale if you really want to be authentic would be ideal as well.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  Big wine, little price!!! Do not let the price make you think that this is a lesser wine. This is a great '09 Brunello that you can open tonight and will drink well over the next couple of years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "D" Marlborough
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  As an unabashed fan of Riesling, and a very occasional drinker of Sauvignon Blanc (no disrespect to all you SB fans out there, it's just typically not my thing) I would like to encourage you to try something new. Step outside your comfort zone, and live dangerously! Well, not too dangerously, since you probably already know and love TWR's Sauvignon Blanc, possibly their Pinot Noir as well. Their Riesling "D" has beautifully focused citric flavors, with a soft texture and lots of length. Try this dry Riesling; you may find that you have a new favorite.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Sherman & Hooker's Shebang! "Seventh Cuvée" Red Blend
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  Morgan Twain-Peterson may be the most talented young winemaker in United States. How could he not be, growing up in vineyards beside his well-known father, winemaker Joel Peterson (Ravenswood). Morgan has done exceptionally well in the eyes of the press, and us here at K&L, with his label Bedrock. His wines are thoughtfully crafted small production bottlings from old vines located in “heritage” vineyards throughout California. Hard to come by, these Bedrock wines already have a loyal and rabid following. But where I think Morgan really shines is in his entry level bottling: the Sherman & Hooker’s Shebang! This particular cuveé is 46% Zinfandel, 40% Grenache, 5% Alicante, 5% Petite Sirah, 4% Sangiovese and 100% delicious! A bit darker-seated than last cuveé, this has a powerful nose of black pepper, ripe black cherries and a bit of wet asphalt with a very easygoing and friendly nature. Fruity but not jammy, structured but instantly drinkable this is a steal of a wine. Briary wild berry, a return of the black pepper found on the nose, raspberry and some old leather and tobacco notes combine on the palate to really over-deliver on the $12 price tag. Year after year I keep saying it, and I’ll say it again here, there still isn’t a better value for an inexpensive red wine in the store when the Shebang is in the house.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

Sherman & Hooker's Shebang! "Seventh Cuvée" Red Blend
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  Big. Bold. Bright. Delicious. This version of the Shebang offers aromatic black cherry, cedar, and dark chocolate on the nose. There’s spicy rich fruit, with cassis and herb on the palate. This has a nice satin, lingering, herbal finish and is an incredible value! You can’t afford not to get a case!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

Sherman & Hooker's Shebang! "Seventh Cuvée" Red Blend
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  This keeps getting better! Big, juicy mix of blackberries and cranberries, spice and leather...this is going to make a lot of Personal Sommelier customers very happy!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

Sherman & Hooker's Shebang! "Seventh Cuvée" Red Blend
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  Morgan and team have hit it out of the park yet again! Totally delish brambly, juicy fruit with great acidity and balance. Need a house red? Look no further!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  Most any Pinot Noir fan will find something to like in this extremely well crafted bottling: juicy yet crisp fruits that fall somewhere in the middle of the red to dark spectrum, lovely floral inner mouth aromas, and balanced tannins that frame the wine and should give it enough structure to handle lamb chops equally well as a healthy slab of grilled Alaskan salmon (it is July, after all!)
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Nairac, Sauternes
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I have a confession, I am ashamed that I don’t drink as much Sauternes as I should. As a whole there may not be another wine that delivers as consistently for the price as Sauternes. The 2009 Nairac is a perfect example, at $39.99 this wine is a screaming deal. Liquid gold in the glass this wine has seductive aromas of dried mango and pineapple along with roasted almonds and the slightest hint of coconut. The palate is unctuously smooth with flavors of candied orange, ginger, apricot and notes of caramel. Powerful but light on its feet this is a delicious Sauternes.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2034

2012 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  This is drinking GREAT ! right now and will over the next couple of years (but only if you can keep your hands off it and keep some in the cellar). Here is a wine that packs a wallop and lots of bang for your buck all in one! Give this rosso about an hour to open up and stand back, on the palate you will find strawberries and black cherries, a little bitter coco and some toasty oak & vanilla, fine tannins and a hint of Montalcino dust on the long finish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I’ve been tasting Ferrero’s wines for a decade and I really think this is one of the best balanced Brunello that winemaker/owner Pablo Härri has made and from the first time I tasted it this wine put a smile on my face! Aromatically focused, the ripe plum is very inviting and it gives the impression of freshness. The flavors are clean, tight plum with hints of smoked meats in the background but the really impressive portion of the wine is its palate presence, supple, soft, round but with enough tannic tension to buoy the wine and keep extending it to a long and vibrant aftertaste. Really easy (and so pleasurable) to drink now, I’d have it with a more complex meaty pasta dish or just about anything meaty off the grill!
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Brangero "Monvigliero" Barolo
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/9/2014 | Send Email
  This wine is so stunning. I've been enjoying it for two days, and it continues to evolve and morph into pure pleasure. Soft and seductive on the palate, intriguing nose, begging for a grilled pork chop with a cherry compote or rack of lamb charred over rosemary twigs and eaten off the bone.
Price: $66.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

2012 Ridge "Three Valleys" Sonoma County Zinfandel Blend
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/9/2014 | Send Email
  This is surprisingly a softer style of Ridge than I've seen in vintages past, which means it's super food-friendly and accessible for every occasion!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>