Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>
2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Finally! The beloved Baricci Brunello and Rosso are back in stock! Fresh off the boat and tasting better than ever! I can't get enough of these wines. Classic structure with forward fruit, these are food-friendly, sultry, sexy wines that will win over your dinner date whether you're eating a pizza slice in front of your TV, or eating at a five star Italian restaurant!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Finally! The beloved Baricci Brunello and Rosso are back in stock! Fresh off the boat and tasting better than ever! I can't get enough of these wines. Classic structure with forward fruit, these are food-friendly, sultry, sexy wines that will win over your dinner date whether you're eating a pizza slice in front of your TV, or eating at a five star Italian restaurant!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Baricci Brunello is an on-going staff and customer favorite and we're excited that the 2009 has finally hit our sales floors. Considering the number of Brunelli priced well north of $50, this pure expression of Sangiovese is a must-buy for fans of Tuscan reds. While this classically styled, understated gem is approachable now it will certainly improve with a year or two in the cellar if you can wait that long.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2011 Arterberry Maresh Dundee Hills Oregon Chardonnay
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Positively bursting with bright, citric and stonefruit flavors, and bolstered by very strong acidity, this is my kind of Chardonnay. You can tell this is made from high-quality fruit, by someone who respects great white wine and old-timey Chardonnay. In a cold vintage especially, this for my money is a perennial candidate for best Chard in the store.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

2009 Vie di Romans "Dessimis" Pinot Grigio 375ml
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  This is such an exceptional wine! Made with added skin contact, extra time on the lees, extra time in barrel, and now extra time in bottle! Incredible on the palate, with a unique richness and a seductive bouquet. Peach, tangerine, white flowers, plumeria, and minerality that weaves its way throughout the slightly orange tinged liquid. This could be my desert island wine.

2010 Oddero Barolo
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Oddero Barolo is one for the ages. Maria Cristina took over from her father in 1997 and feels this is one of best vintages yet. Showing great complexity already. I found wonderful hints of floral, herb and mineral notes on the nose. First sip you get a wonderfully complex and powerful mouthfeel. With balanced fruit, tannin and acidity, you know this is built for the long haul. So, for all you traditional Barolo drinkers, this one is for you. Actually, anyone who loves a great glass of wine won't be disappointed!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Beringer, which is located in Napa Valley, has been producing this wine from Sonoma County's Knights Valley appellation for some time now, and it has always remained a consistent value in California Cabernet. The vineyard lies at a higher elevation than Alexander Valley in Sonoma County, and manages to combine the suppleness of that AVA with the fine tannin structure of Knights Valley. The bouquet offers black cherry, dark plum, cassis, earth and a hint of bittersweet chocolate. On the palate, there is the previously mentioned supple tannins blended with a fine dusting of cocoa powder, bringing the finer-grained, firmer tannin structure. It's all framed by lightly toasted oak that is well-integrated, with good length.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The 2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cab is an great example of the quality to come with the 2012 vintage in California. Upfront the wine smells like classic California Cab; hints of toasty oak, plum, black licorice and cocoa powder. The tannins are present but integrated and sweet, while the finish is long and lingering. Excellent, straightforward Cabernet that will not disappoint!
Top Value!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  The 2009 La Fortuna Brunello is at such a sweet spot for drinking right now, and also a great candidate for cellaring for the next several years. A touch on the ripe side, with concentrated fruit, but balanced with just the right amount of acidity.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Cantina Viola Rosso Viola
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  A very interesting wine, savory, with sage brush and black licorice candy, notes of vanilla bark, and a touch gamey. This wine would be great with the slow smoked coffee and cocoa rubbed ribs that we had for the fourth of July weekend!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $19.99
BC 0

2010 Seghesio Barolo
 By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/7/2014 | Send Email
  Exceptional vintages like 2010, truly bring out the best in elegant Barolos like those of Aldo and Riccardo Seghesio. This beauty from the hills of Monforte combines the richness of fruit and overall depth of the vintage with skillful winemaking and the result is a Barolo brimming with flavor, polished tannins and an incredible price/value ratio. A Barolo of this quality under $30 is simply a steal.
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/5/2014 | Send Email
  Year after year, The Badenhorst Family consistently makes quality value wines, the 2013 vintage might be the most impressive yet. A bit reminiscent of Chenin Blanc from Vouvray, this Chenin expresses aromas of honey, nuts, aloe and lemon grass. Flavors of stone fruits dominate the palate, with apple, pear, and nectarine while great minerality and acidity form a great structured, well balanced and extremely quaffable wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Teutonic "Crow Valley Vineyard" Willamette Valley Riesling
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/5/2014 | Send Email
  Yet another delicious bottling from the folks at Teutonic, their Crow Valley Riesling starts off floral, appley and with a creamy texture, with balanced but noticeable residual sugar. Give it some time (in my case, the better part of a week in the fridge) and it develops into an even more acid driven wine, with admirable intensity and LOTS of length. Maybe even what the critics call a "30+ second finish"! Very good value here.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/5/2014 | Send Email
  And now for something completely different! This is a Super Tuscan at a super price. This bad boy is made up of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Montepulciano and Alicante, and I swear you can taste all of these. On the palate you will find flavors of black cherry, plum and soft floral notes blended with silky tannins. The Cabernet gives this a backbone you can feel and a nice smooth and long finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Husch Mendocino County Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/5/2014 | Send Email
  This 2013 Sauvignon Blanc is a crisp, light to medium-bodied example revealing forceful, fragrant notes of melons, figs, dried herbs, and a hint of honey, delicious. A great value.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Cava Brut Rosé Penedes
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/5/2014 | Send Email
  This is a bone dry and serious bottle of bubbly offered at a ridiculous price. With its sophisticated bead, laser like red fruit flavors of cherry and berry and steely finish, this would be right at home with the classiest of fare. Try this with surf & turf or sushi and don't be embarrassed by the price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart W&S 91 BC 0

2012 Angeline Pinot Noir
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  A quality Pinot Noir from California for under $12? Absolutely! This little gem has been one of my favorite everyday Pinots for many years. Nice combination of cherries, raspberry, full mid-palate and a solid finish. The 2012 Angeline is 100% Pinot Noir sourced from Santa Barbara, Mendocino and Sonoma County, and definitely over-delivers for the price point. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Rhetoric 20 Year Old Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  What is there not to like about this bourbon? It has nice aromas of caramel and spice that are inviting and interesting. The Rhetoric is warm, spicy and dry and has a nice long finish.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Gosset Blanc des Blancs Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  The dry focus of this Gosset made it a perfect partner for the sushi that I ordered from my friends at Akasaka in Menlo Park. The wine is very light and elegant, but even with rich salmon nigiri has plenty of flavor... It is a classy beverage, and I found it to be understated, subtle, and intriguing. I love Champagne that is hard to describe but easy to drink, and the Gosset Blanc des Blancs is a great example of wine that is easier to enjoy than to describe. The texture and bead are perfection, with plenty of tiny streamers to delight. I loved the subtle apricot aroma and flavor that contrasted the baguette-like toast in this wine, but the best feature was the finish--long, detailed and chalky. If you have a special occasion coming, this is a treat that you will love. It is a great bottle of Champagne.

2009 Mas Codina Vinya Ferrer Cabernet Sauvignon Penedes
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  I've been a huge fan of Mas Codina since I first tasted their cava. Their Cabernet does not disappoint. Ripe and fleshy, stemmy, with notes of black licorice and soft tannins. A great alternative to domestic Cabs.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 La Perla del Priorat "Clos Les Fites" Crianza Priorat
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Milk chocolate and dried cranberries, with hints of dried tangerine peel. A very enjoyable, layered, and interesting wine. Pair this with a rustic dish of farro and roasted carrots.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Woo-hoo! Baricci is back in town! Every time I raise a glass of this wine to my lips, it brings me back to Montalcino. Why? Because there is so much Montalcino in the glass. This Rosso reveals perfumed ripe fruit of plum, cassis and kirsch, some leather and cassis mid- palate, and earthiness that meld into ripe strawberries, spices and minerals on the long finish. BUY, BUY, BUY--it will go quick !!!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Suñer Bibiloni Ca Sa Padrino "Montenegro" Binissalem (Mallorca)
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  I've only tasted a handful of wines from Mallorca, and I've thoroughly enjoyed each one. This was a standout, however. Incredible, bright nose, juicy fruit, great complexity and ethereal hints of almonds. Still drinking well after having been open for over a day, although I doubt I'll be as reserved with the next bottle that I open.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Marco Ricasoli grows some of the most distinctive and enjoyable Sangiovese in Tuscany, high up in the hills of Gaiole, in the deepest reaches of Chianti Classico. His Chianti is a classic blend of 90% Sangiovese, 7% Canaiolo and 3% Colorino. The 2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico is a stunner: soft, open and round in the mouth, the wine’s juicy fruit is readily apparent yet is layered with spice, rosemary and violets. Luscious cherry and plum like fruit flavors mixed with a crisp focus on the palate make this wine a real drinker. Try it with some grilled sausage or your favorite pasta.
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mesquida Mora "Sincronia" Negre Pla i Levant (Mallorca)
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  I might need to move to Mallorca if Joe keeps bringing in these ridiculously delicious wines. Open a hot dog joint on the beach or something. Actually, hot dogs might be a stretch for these inky balanced wines; maybe bison blue cheese sliders, side of duck fat French fries. Any VCs out there want to join in my vision?
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2013 Ameztoi "Rubentis" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Booyah. Light, spritzy, full of acid and minerality. And a screw cap which makes it that much easier to pour into your porron. Pair with all the tapas. No corkscrew or glasses needed!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Alberto Nanclares "Dandelion" Albariño Rias Baixas
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Is this an Orange is the New Black reference? If so, great timing, although I'd likely be inclined to drink a "40" while watching the women's prison drama. This Albarino has great, almost painful acidity, and very prevalent minerality. Bring me a platter of paella and we can make an evening of this.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Oakridge Local Vineyard Series "Guerin Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Easily one of the best Australian Chards I’ve had in a while. Done in more of an old world style, the Guerin develops a slightly flinty, almondy nose with hints of fresh lemon peel. The palate explodes with high acidity, a bit of a petrol quality and citrus fruits such as lemon, clementine, and orange peel. This certainly exceeds expectations.

2012 J-L Chave Selection "Celeste" Saint-Joseph Blanc
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Based on Roussanne, this is very intriguing white wine. It has notes of nectarine, honeycomb and beeswax. There is ample acidity to balance the wonderfully creamy texture. Fans of northern Rhone whites will find much to like here whether you drink Hermitage Blanc or Chateauneuf Blanc. Don't miss it.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Rosenblum Contra Costa County Zinfandel
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  If you're looking for your summer BBQ red, look no further! The 2011 Rosenblum Zin is just what the doctor ordered. With plenty of juicy, lush, upfront fruit, and a velvety soft finish, this wine will keep you drinking from pre-dinner cocktail hour all the way through post-dinner chocolate and cigars! Super food-friendly with everything from ribs to pork to rib-eye!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  I have to admit I was pretty impressed when I tasted the latest vintage of the Knights Valley Cabernet. It had more structure and depth than I anticipated. Loads of the gorgeous dense black fruit as always, but with the integrated tannins and grip of a Napa Cab twice its price. Pair this with something fatty like a New York or rib-eye steak!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Rosenblum Contra Costa County Zinfandel
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  This is your summer party Zinfandel! This one bursts right out of the glass with ripe black cherry, blackberry and mocha. On the palate, there's plenty of rich texture and a bit of spice....this will stand up to your heartiest BBQ fare. Stock up--your friends will thank you!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Clos Pegase "Mitsuko's Vineyard" Carneros Chardonnay
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Chardonnay lovers, listen up. This bright, tropical Chard will keep you cool and quenched during the warm summer evenings. It's drenched in pineapple, a hint of coconut (from the oak), and zingy stone fruit. This would pair dreamily with grilled peaches!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 J.L. Chave Selection "Mon Coeur" Côtes du Rhône
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  The Mon Coeur is based on a majority of Syrah with the rest Grenache. It has beautiful blackberry and blueberry notes with classic spicebox aromas. It is always one of my favorite Cotes du Rhones.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2013 Domaine La Manarine Côtes du Rhône Blanc
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Best white Rhone I've had in a really long time! This is a Grenache Blanc-based white wine that has beautiful tree fruit, citrus, and white nectar fruit on the nose and palate. Gorgeous minerality and acidity keeping the fruit balanced and bright! Perfect for summer!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Charles Smith "Chateau Smith" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  The era of deals in the realm of Cabernet Sauvignon is closing rapidly, if not all but dried up these days. I seldom see wineries or vendors looking to move Cabernet for pennies on the dollar even in difficult vintages, more less rock-solid ones. So it comes to me as some surprise that a wine like the 2012 Charles Smith "Chateau Smith" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon can still come in under $15. From the larger-than-life personality, Charles Smith (K Vintners, Charles & Charles), who is known as much for what comes out of his mouth as what goes into his bottles, this Cabernet is just a rocking deal. From the moment the big inky, chunky nose that is packed with tar, cassis, chocolate covered cherries and a touch of gravel hits your nose you’ll know that this wine is punching way over its weight class. With its plush, round, crowd-pleasing mid-palate full of blackberry, olive, mocha and black tea this is packed with flavor and is something that you just have to twist the cap off and pour without thinking too much about whether or not it is going to be appropriate, chances are high it will be the right wine for most jobs. Add some slick, polished oak in the finish and an overall feel that couldn’t be farther away from big box manipulation and this is one of the last great deals in Cabernet land.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2013 Foucher-Lebrun "Petit le Mont" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  A super score! An incredible organic Sauvignon Blanc from the Loire Valley. Meyer lemon, pineapple rind, chalky minerality, and bright acidity. An incredible price for such a well-made and enjoyable wine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2011 Rosenblum Contra Costa County Zinfandel
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Stock up on this great summertime red! It’s perfect for any outing or Tuesday night barbecue. Lovely, deep, dark fruit and hints of mocha. Rounded out by some surprising acidity on the back end. All this for $9.99! Buy it by the case.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Pinot Gris (375ml can)
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  I'm extremely excited to announce the inaugural release of our favorite value Oregon Pinot Gris in the best possible package for easy and efficient summer sipping! Yes people, it's in a can! But don't let that fool you, it's the same juice that goes into the 2013 750ml bottle. Union Wine Co. orders labeled empty cans in quantity. This allows more flexibility with future cannings and makes sure they don't end up with unused vintage specific cans. The Pinot Gris is a crispy, dry, fresh, bright and slightly fruity style white wine and not at all sweet, thank goodness. It's absolutely perfect for summer sipping. Serve ice cold and be the star wherever this summer takes you, whether it be camping, boating, picnicking, beaching or the Hollywood Bowl this year!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Pinot Noir (375ml can)
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  I'm extremely excited to announce the inaugural release of our favorite value Oregon Pinot Noir in the best possible package for easy and efficient summer sipping! Yes people, it's in a can! But don't let that fool you, it's the same juice that goes into the 2013 750ml bottle. Union Wine Co. orders labeled empty cans in quantity. This allows more flexibility with future cannings and makes sure they don't end up with unused vintage-specific cans. This is very similar to the beloved 2012 vintage that flew out of here before we could take a breath between sips! It has gorgeous aromatics of bright red and purple fruit--strawberry and pomegranate--with great texture and supple acid on the palate, pepper spice and a mineral finish. Serve with a slight chill and be the star wherever this summer takes you, whether it be camping, boating, picnicking, beaching or the Hollywood Bowl this year!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Domaine du Pégaü "Cuvée Réservée" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  This Châteauneuf is a baby, yet has developed some sophisticated characteristics in its short life. On the nose you get whiffs of freshly seared mushrooms, green vegetables, and tomato. Across the palate, flavors of dark plums, anise and chocolate, while sweet tomato, green pepper, tobacco and other tertiary flavors have begun to develop. Buy one to drink now and at least one to cellar; tracking this wine's progress will be a delicious and rewarding task.

2013 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  I feel in love with this wine last vintage, and the 2013 is making me fall in love all over again! Classic Chenin Blanc texture with the silky honey and citrus fruit, with gorgeous minerality and a bright high acid finish that makes your mouth water. I will be drinking a lot of this again!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Jardesca California Aperitiva 750ml
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Ah yes, I can already see Jardesca spritzers in my future. Light and refreshing, not overly sweet, not too herbaceous, just really nicely balanced, floral, well-made, nicely packaged goodness. I vote for one for your fridge, and one as a gift for the host of the next party you go to!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/3/2014 | Send Email
  Cherry, spice and everything nice! Silky, chocolaty tannins, fruits reminiscent of black cherry, raspberry, plum, and fresh figs. A crowd pleaser for any hearty, robust meal!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Jardesca California Aperitiva 750ml
 By: Cindy Westby | Review Date: 7/2/2014 | Send Email
  Looking for a lighter, fresher alternative to a "Bloody Mary Bar"? Serve this little beauty over ice with a few pretty bowls of herb and citrus garnish at your next brunch, BBQ, book club or pool party - and watch it disappear!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Clos Pegase "Mitsuko's Vineyard" Carneros Chardonnay
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 7/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I dare you to find a Chardonnay for under $13 that has this stuffing! Upfront, the 2011 Clos Pegase "Mitsuko's Vineyard" Carneros Chardonnay is very tropical, creamy and lush. The mid-palate is held together with a fresh, citrus backbone and the finish his fresh and lingering. Hints of oak are present but not overpowering. Really a great buy!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/2/2014 | Send Email
  Classically rich and full bodied. Lots of lush currant fruit and black cherry too. You can see the excitement behind the 2012 vintage showing through with this luscious and delicious domestic Cabernet. Very pleasing style.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/2/2014 | Send Email
  This has a lovely nose of cola and mushrooms with notes of dried leaves and dried raspberries. On the palate the complexities really come out with a solid core of raspberry fruit. There's still enough stuffing to keep this going for a few more years. A phenomenal steal when you factor in the cellaring and perfect provenance of this wine.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/2/2014 | Send Email
  This keeps getting better and better. Now using more Pinot Noir, this traditionally made cava has a bit more substance than the previous very enjoyable (non)vintages. Great price for an exceptional sparkler.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Carballal "Sete Cepas" Albariño Rias Baixas
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/2/2014 | Send Email
  I've always thought this wine was good, but this vintage was great! A very solid wine, refreshing, with great minerality and loads of citrus and tropical fruit in the background. This will be a creekside wine for sure.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>