Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>
2010 Maison Blanche, Médoc
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 1/15/2015 | Send Email
  This is a fantastic, Merlot-based Bordeaux at a fantastic price. The wine is 80% Merlot and 20% Cabernet Sauvignon from the fabulous 2010 vintage. Red and blue ripe fruit with healthy notes of chocolate, tobacco and cedar wrapped by brilliant acidity. Tannins are alive and on the harder side but an hour in a decanter and this baby will open up and taste great.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

2009 Columbia Crest "Reserve" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 1/15/2015 | Send Email
  Dark purple-black color in the glass. Subtle aromas of chocolate, earth, truffles, cassis, and blackberry. Juicy and plush on the palate with fair acidity and integrated oak tannins. This is ready to drink now and is a lovely wine that expresses Washington terroir very well.

2013 Petit Clos (Henri Bourgeois) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 1/15/2015 | Send Email
  Made by esteemed Sancerre producer, Henri Bourgois, it's no surprise that this wine has some of that character. Lemon and lime blossom aromas mix with notes of grapefruit, passion fruit, a hint of tarragon and a flinty mineral note. On the palate there is good texture due to some time on the lees supported by zesty acidity that leads to a long finish.

2013 Petit Clos (Henri Bourgeois) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 1/15/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Fantastic Savvy! Grown on a close-planted, organically farmed estate in Marlborough's Southern Valley sub-region. Clos Henri is a project owned by master vigneron family Domaine Henri Bourgeois from Sancerre. The wine is a lovely combination of New Zealand's typically overt, bright fruit and Sancerre's more classic, restrained personality, with focus and minerality. We really liked this wine and took a serious position on it to bring you the best pricing around. This is a real bargain for lovers of dry, crisp, refreshing whites.
Top Value!

2011 Cos d'Estournel, St-Estèphe
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 1/15/2015 | Send Email
  Off vintages? Cos d'Estournel doesn't have off vintages. That's why their 2011 (an "off vintage") is still loaded with soft, succulent fruit, an earthy core of integrated goodness, and pretty notes of flowers and spice on the finish. The price is right as well. A good Cos vintage to invest in considering the lower bottle cost and the outstanding quality here.

2012 Poujeaux, Moulis
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 1/15/2015 | Send Email
  There's nothing like shopping in an off vintage to really illustrate how meaningless terms like "good year" or "bad year" really are. 2012 isn't a "good year" for Bordeaux, but you wouldn't know it after drinking a glass of the 2012 Poujeaux. The fruit is soft and open on the initial sip, but slowly fades into mineral notes and more earthiness. This is a wine that will definitely reward a few years in the cellar, but with decanting can be enjoyed now with a steak (or two).

2009 La Cardonne, Médoc
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 1/15/2015 | Send Email
  Despite the ripe vintage, the 09 Cardonne doesn't stray from the classic Bordeaux flavor profile. It uses the fantastic ripeness as a strength, but it still maintains a leaner, more subdued, classically claret-style of palate with dusty tannins on the finish. A great grab to drink now for those that appreciate the most restrained French flavor.

2010 Maison Blanche, Médoc
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 1/15/2015 | Send Email
  If you're looking for a more fruit-forward style of Bordeaux to drink now (as in tonight) then look no further. It doesn't get much better than this. The aroma is just stunning: lush red fruits that linger long on the nose. The palate has more of that promising aroma, but with just enough tannic structure to balance out the ripeness. California drinkers could easily crossover with this one. No need to lay it down. It's drinking perfectly right now.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

Highland Park "Dark Origins" Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 1/14/2015 | Send Email
  Highland Park peat is like no other that I've encountered, so far, on my whisky journey. And this whisky's response to a heavy dose of sherry is singular, too. "Dark Origins" is a NAS (no age statement) single malt, and as I understand it, many people have reservations and/or criticisms of this genre of whisky. Certainly, the opaque black bottle, the price point, and the "outlaw" backstory may set off some alarms, for some. Caution--am I being marketed to? Yes, but here's what I found: Highland Park don't fool around. This is a medium-bronze hue, not luridly dark (the label says, a naturally dark hue but does not specifically say it's not colored; it does state non-chill filtered). The peat aroma is of a floral, gentle heather sort, not a hot, burning heather like some young Islay peaters; there's milk chocolate, too, accenting the perfumy sherry--no walnut or rancio character, here. Like an HP 21-year that I sampled last year, this retains its applejack character to the last, but it's so refined, it's like the champagne of whiskies--the warmth spreads slowly across the palate, instead of quickly burning a retronasal path out and up. Maybe, eventually, I'll appreciate the more subtle, ethereal whiskies for what they are, but for now, this is like my perfect fantasy of what Highland Park can be--the subtle grace, plus a wee bit more stuffing.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Georg Albrecht Schneider "vom Rotliegenden" Niersteiner Hipping Riesling Spätlese Trocken (dry)
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 1/14/2015 | Send Email
  The nose on the Schneider Red Slate offers spice, sweet pea blossom, honey, golden apple, and just the faintest whiff of mineral and petrol way in the background. On the palate it is graceful and elegant, sporting a lush mouth-feel and weight, without any heaviness. The flavors keep to the floral, delicate side, and it wears its mineral component lightly. While dry, it finishes more plush and supple than brisk or austere. All in all, this is a complex and charming white wine that’s yours for a pittance!

2001 Tertre Daugay, St-Emilion
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 1/14/2015 | Send Email
  Developed wine still showing beautiful fruit and elegance. Plums, sweet coffee, dark cherries and very enticing spices, along with soft tannins and bright acidity framing the palate. This wine will benefit with an hour or two of decanting. It is a delightful Bordeaux that is ready to drink right now.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Raymond Lafon, Sauternes (375ml)
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/14/2015 | Send Email
  Sauternes is the most expensive wine to make in Bordeaux, and many would say the best value for the wine lover. They are nearly eternal wines which develop effortlessly across generations, yet they are very charming young. The 2010 Raymond Lafon has it all, beautiful honey and dried apricot flavors and aromas, luscious sweetness and fantastic focus and acidity on the endless finish. If you haven't had Sauternes in a while, this is a great one to try!
Drink from 2015 to 2040
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2010 Raymond-Lafon, Sauternes
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/14/2015 | Send Email
  Sauternes is the most expensive wine to make in Bordeaux, and many would say the best value for the wine lover. They are nearly eternal wines which develop effortlessly across generations, yet they are very charming young. The 2010 Raymond Lafon has it all, beautiful honey and dried apricot flavors and aromas, luscious sweetness and fantastic focus and acidity on the endless finish. If you haven't had Sauternes in a while, this is a great one to try!
Drink from 2015 to 2060
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2009 La Cardonne, Médoc
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/14/2015 | Send Email
  The real story of the great 2009 vintage is wines like this La Cardonne. A Cabernet blend with this sort of balance is a rarity at any price in California. At the price we have now, this Medoc is simply a steal. The aromatics have opened up beautifully after six years and the texture has developed perfectly. Have this dark, curranty wine tonight with a steak and put down 11 more for the future!
Drink from 2015 to 2024

2009 Columbia Crest "Reserve" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 1/14/2015 | Send Email
  This is an incredibly elegant wine that displays everything one might desire from a California Cabernet. A very well balanced structure of dark fruit, spice, and toasty aromas of espresso and toast, this wine is a great choice for a big ol' piece of meat! Delicious!

2009 La Cardonne, Médoc
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/14/2015 | Send Email
  Here is yet another fantastic value from the great 2009 Bordeaux vintage. This is quite firm, very smooth and wonderfully warm with a nice chewy texture on the finish. There is great mid-palate sweetness to this substantial and overachieving wine so don't hesitate to decant tonight or cellar for a few years.

2012 Evesham Wood "Temperance Hill Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 1/12/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This Pinot had just the right amount of everything I was hoping for. The spice, complexity, and yet gentleness were all very satisfying. This producer uses no irrigation in their vineyards, which makes every vintage from every plot true and unique at its roots. If you love Pinot Noir and have not had anything from Evesham Wood (or from Oregon in general), definitely give this one a try. I doubt you'd regret it.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sharp Zombie Rioja
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 1/12/2015 | Send Email
  This is a crisp, very clean Rioja. Not aged in any wooden barrels; I kept thinking this would be great to use to make sangria. It still has that great Rioja fruit-driven taste, but without the oak finish. Not to mention that for less than $10, it's a steal of a deal!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 1/12/2015 | Send Email
  A wonderful easy to drink and enjoy Chardonnay. The Olema Chardonnay offers nice juicy fruit that is complemented with oak and butter flavors. Drink alone or with roasted chicken.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé (last of vintage)
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 1/12/2015 | Send Email
  I confess a particular weakness for a good Sancerre rose, and Domaine des Cotes Blanches twenty thirteen vintage showcases its virtues handily. I find it holographic. There is beauty and dimensionality here, and yet this is buoyant, almost weightless: there and not there, with delicately floral and fruity flavors dancing along a knife edge of citric vibrancy.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Michael & David "6th Sense" Lodi Syrah
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 1/12/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A great deal on an even greater wine! If you love Syrah as much as I do, give this one a try. Amazing depth and juicy fruit. The bottle looks and drinks like a thirty dollar bottle easily, yet it is under fifteen dollars. Get 'em while they're here!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 Savage "Red" Western Cape
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 1/12/2015 | Send Email
  This is an amazingly balanced wine. The winemaker, Duncan Savage, gives the winemakers of the Rhone a run for their money. A must try for red blend lovers.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 95 BC 0

2011 Tassi Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 1/11/2015 | Send Email
  The soothing warm sun...The luscious meals...All the wonderful memories from any of our trips to Italy comes flying back into our consciousness with this lovely and complex Sangiovese. Dark fruit, lingering herbaciousness and earty spice. Drink this now and drink it again later!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Bushmills 21 Year Irish Whiskey 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 1/9/2015 | Send Email
  $79.99 for this whiskey is one HOT steaming deal. What many don't know (and I had completely forgotten until retasting this week) is that the Bushmills 21 is finished in Madeira cask, lending the whiskey a rancio, burnt orange peel sweetness on the back end. It's a damn fine whiskey for $120. For $79.99 you have to start thinking about a case.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

1998 Mortlach 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Finish Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/9/2015 | Send Email
  This Mortlach is going to make so many people happy. We were shocked earlier this year when the owners released an 18 year in the UK at £200 for the half bottle. We were equally surprised when Signatory pointed out the 10 casks of Mortlach that had been undergoing a second maturation for over two years in fresh sherry casks. We were allowed to taste one. We bought it immediately. The rugged Mortlach spirit is in perfect balance with the lovely sherry influence. While the whisky isn't as dark as I remember it being, there's still all that rich oloroso influence. The spirit is flamboyant and still showing the great youthful savoriness that Mortlach is known for. So much going on here; a true display of why Mortlach is a true blue chip distillery.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Low Gap 4 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Stitzel-Weller Barrel Wheat Whiskey 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/9/2015 | Send Email
  What a ridiculous score this was. One thing that makes our position at K&L unique among spirits buyers across the country is our ability to not only select great whiskey for our store, but also to create new whiskey. For this one I must commend Mr. Driscoll as what was once an off-the-cuff idea has now become a truly unique product, nearly half a decade in the making. With the first sip of the special sauce you're reminded of the incredible attention to quality Ansley Coale puts into everything he does. This whiskey reminds me of everything and nothing, all at once. It's like you took a bit of the Nikka Coffey, a dab of the Weller 12 year, a pinch of a solid single malt and thimble full of the Stranahan Colorado and mushed it all together. Supple and seductive the nutty oak aromas and the distinct yet understated malted wheat tones are exciting, but nevertheless familiar and satisfying. Good work Double D & Mr Coale. A perfect collaboration.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Tertre Daugay, St-Emilion
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/8/2015 | Send Email
  Here is yet another example of how fantastically the wines from the very good 2001 Bordeaux vintage are drinking at 10 years of age. This is a dark plum color with aromas of ripe cherry, savory herb and potting soil. The wine has lively acidity and as it opens up very fresh flavors and aromas of blackberry and dark cherry become even more evident. The smooth, creamy middle is substantial and is supported by dry, fine tannins on the intense, mineral finish. Decant one hour.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Trimbach Riesling
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 1/8/2015 | Send Email
  Trimach Riesling continues to set the bar for dry Riesling. The 2012 provides aromas of orange blossom, peach and nectarine with a hint of salinity. The palate is superbly balanced, dry, and high acid while still having great weight. Flavors of lemon zest, green apple, and chalky minerality will have you reaching for this bottle every time you have seafood.

Low Gap 4 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Stitzel-Weller Barrel Wheat Whiskey 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 1/8/2015 | Send Email
  If I had to pick one word to describe the 4-year-old Low Gap, it would be pretty. Other words that could possibly come into consideration would be pure, elegant and delicious. It has beautiful aromatics and is very easy to drink and enjoy.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Trimbach Riesling
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 1/8/2015 | Send Email
  This is as classic as the blind wine they would pour at the Court of Master Sommeliers blind tasting. If you're looking for non-petrol driven dry Riesling, this is where it's at! Chock-full of minerality and acid, with subtle fruit, it's extremely food-friendly and versatile.

2012 Trimbach Riesling
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 1/8/2015 | Send Email
  When someone is pouring Riesling, I either feel reticent or jazzed. Depending on who's producing it and where it's from, Riesling varies SO MUCH. This little beauty from Alsace is glorious. Upon opening, the nose is sumptuous with orange blossom nectar and lemon zest. Upon tasting, there's white stone fruit, blood orange pith and a lovely high-toned acidity. This Riesling is bone dry and a feast for the senses.

2013 Patient Cottat "Le Grand Caillou" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 1/8/2015 | Send Email
  Stellar as always, this wine again over-delivers for the price. Bright tropical fruit balanced by great acid and mineral notes that bring the wine together beautifully. Stock up!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Colonel E.H. Taylor, Jr. Small Batch Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon 750ml
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 1/8/2015 | Send Email
  Fans of soft, supple, easy-sipping bourbon should snap this puppy up immediately. Sweet corn, vanilla, spice and light caramel with a long, lingering finish. You will absolutely want to have this on your bar for sipping on the rocks, or as a killer component in any bourbon cocktail. It's awesome!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Patient Cottat "Le Grand Caillou" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 1/8/2015 | Send Email
  This wine amazes me every vintage for its balance, deliciousness, and price performance. Grapefruit and mineral with bright, refreshing, zesty acidity. A must for your daily-drinker white category! Buy by the case--this budget-friendly wine will take you easily from January through summertime, delighting your friends and family with its accessibility--and quaffability!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/8/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  We just had the opportunity to taste this latest release of Banshee Pinot Noir today (6 January) and though I liked the 2012 version of this wine, I think that I prefer the 2013. As with the previous vintage, this one has bright red fruits, rhubarb and pine notes, where the 2012 had black fruits; in the mid-palate, the 2013 stays bright and clean with a long finish of generous acidity. Being a fan of Burgundy, this works for me! This is a wonderful, affordable Pinot Noir with excellent quality and character that will pair very well with chicken and fattier fishes such as salmon. A real winner, this.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 1/7/2015 | Send Email
  Since the 2008 Sonoma Coast and Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noirs, we have been great supporters of the Banshee label. Whether it's the everyday wines or the single vineyard wines, the quality is second to none. We have always believed in the label and the great people behind it. The 2013 Banshee is a beautiful, predominately red fruited Pinot Noir with lovely notes of forest floor, black tea and rhubarb with just a touch of plum and cedar. The 2013 reminds me of the 2010 and 2011 with it's higher acid levels,candied red fruit and less blue and black fruit. Fresh, vibrant with lovely layered flavors. One heck of a Pinot Noir for $ 23.00
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Seghesio Sonoma County Zinfandel
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 1/7/2015 | Send Email
  Back in 2011 there was quite a scare in the world of Zinfandel. That was the year that the Seghesio Family sold their winery to a large company named Crimson Wine Group. This was a bit unsettling at the time being that the Seghesio Family was second only to the Foppianos for the crown as the longest running winemaking family in Sonoma County. We were all a little depressed by it for a while but then nothing really changed. The family still held control of the old vine plots like Cortina and Home Ranch, Pete stayed on as CEO and Ted as winemaker. The quality and branding was the same as it ever was and quite honestly I think most people even forgot that the Winery changed hands. This was great news to all Zin fans, especially when they kept churning out tremendous, affordable Zin like the 2013 Sonoma County. Just released this is a great wine for $20 with all of is warm spice cake, berry cobbler, whole peppercorn and sweet tea aromatics. Big and burly but with wild acidity acting as a counter weight this has a little something for everyone in the Zin world with its briary richness of fruit, bushels of pepper, fresh berry notes and a sweet oak lacing which ties up the substantial finish. I guess change, or the lack thereof, isn’t always a bad thing!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WS 92 BC 0

2013 Patient Cottat "Le Grand Caillou" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Eric Story | Review Date: 1/6/2015 | Send Email
  One of my go-to grab bottles when I need something crisp and crowd-friendly. Has all of the qualities that a wine guy like me looks for in a wine, but, without being overly geeky or cerebral. Clean, fresh and inviting is what you’ll be getting in this wine. Yes, it’s a great deal, but even more so, it is a fantastic wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Lafage "Grande Cuvée" Côtes du Roussillon Rosé
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 1/5/2015 | Send Email
  Domaine Tempier Bandol Rose, Clos Ste. Magdelaine Cassis Rose, Chateau Peyrassol Provencal Rose. These are some of the great rose wines we receive each year and they always sell through in an instant. Each is worthy of cellaring, even if just for a short period of time. Now from the Languedoc we finally have a wine to rival these greats. The Lafage Grande Cuvee is like summer in a glass, even though it may be winter. It has notes of blood orange, seascape strawberries and wet slate. Long on minerality and finish. I'm personally glad this arrived late. The wine had a little time to become even more spectacular. You can drink it now, this is California after all and sunny days are always ahead, or hold it a few months in anticipation of next summer, you won't be disappointed.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart RP 94 BC 0

Glendronach 12 year old Distillery Bottling Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 1/4/2015 | Send Email
  This whisky just keeps getting better, in my estimation. Rich and sherried, reminiscent of summer and winter treats: caramel apples and roasted, candied nuts. The Glendronach 12 has spicy, rum-raisin aromas, roasted nuts--filberts, Brazil nuts--and baked apple and pear notes, which repeat on the palate, so cotton-candy smooth, and the fruit flavors deepen toward the dry, smoky finish. Similar to: Aberlour 16. More flavor than: Glenlivet 12. Fiercer, less smooth than: Macallan 12 or Glenmorangie 10. More easygoing but in a somewhat similar profile to: Glendronach Allardice, Aberlour A'Bunadh. A standby, a classic. UPDATE: I have tried the Glendronach 15 Year Port-finished edition, a really svelte, nice dram, for sure, but I STILL prefer the 12 Year. If you like rich, nutty, sherried single malt, you really ought to try the Glendronach 12.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Louis Moreau Chablis
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 1/4/2015 | Send Email
  From one of the premiere areas in the world for Chardonnay comes this immensely drinkable white Burgundy. Opulent citrus notes, a silky mid-weight mouth-feel, and the faintest hint of petrol make this surprisingly complex, considering the amazing price. Well balanced acid and minerality lead to a finish that ends at just the right time. A lovely, crowd pleasing white!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvee Dilection" Brut Rose Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/3/2015 | Send Email
  If you love fine, subtle, elegant rose, the Dilection is not to be missed. The base wine is composed of 60% Chardonnay and 40% Pinot Noir from vines of 40 years or older. To give it the rose color, flavor and aroma Alexandre adds 15% red Meunier from the vignes d’etoges, a plot in Monthelon that was planted in 1902… Easily the oldest vines I have ever seen in Champagne. All of the vinification is done in wood. I found it to have incredibly pure, Burgundian cherry fruit and a seamless, medium to light body. This wine has so many layers that it will reward those who taste it quietly, but it is so delicious that one does not have to ponder it to enjoy it. The finish is, like all of the Le Brun wines, the best part- a true peacock’s tail!
Drink from 2015 to 2028
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/3/2015 | Send Email
  If you are a fan of Meunier based Champagne, trying this is a must. The Revelation is composed entirely of Meunier from vineyards of fifty years or older, only 1200 bottles of this incredible wine were made. The vines for this Champagne are in the very cool micro-climate of Monthelon, just south of Epernay, and thus have a far racier character than any of our other Meunier’s that come from the Western Valley of the Marne. With quince like fruit, subtle brioche and ample mineral drive, this serious wine has a finish that lasts like a blanc de blancs. It is dry at only four grams per liter of dosage, but not austere. A classic!
Drink from 2015 to 2039
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Alexandre Le Brun "Passion" Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/3/2015 | Send Email
  Although labeled as non-vintage, this is in fact all 2005, and has been given eight years of ageing time o the lees. This Champagne is composed of half and half Chardonnay and Pinot Noir and tastes much more expensive that it is. If you like creamy, toasty Champagne with depth and richness, this is one of the best that we carry.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/3/2015 | Send Email
  This is composed of a third each Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Meunier from Mr. Le Brun’s estate, and nearly every wine in this blend has gone through malolactic. This Champagne has a rich bready nose from the over 20 months it has aged on the lees and some very nice savory qualities as well. In the mouth the high quality Meunier gives this wine great roundness as well as some tasty baked apple flavors. The cool climate Chardonnay and Pinot Noir show their stuff on the dry, long finish. It is dosed at 6g/l.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $34.99
BC 0

Colonel E.H. Taylor, Jr. Small Batch Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 1/3/2015 | Send Email
  The E.H. Taylor series is an interesting side project from the Buffalo Trace distillery portfolio (Eagle Rare, Weller, Elmer T Lee, Pappy, etc) offering a drier, less sweet profile than what many of us expect from Bourbon. For me, the Taylor Small Batch 100 proof is the most intriguing of the series; truly a grainy and evocative Bourbon that goes from oak, to oil, to sweet corn, and then back to a dry grainy finish. For me personally, the whiskey is great on the rocks, but really shines in a Manhattan or Old Fashioned. The 50% helps bump up the flavor, allowing it to hold its own with the added sweetness, and the drier profile doesn't add too much extra sugar. The oak and corn flavors are really well balanced as well, creating a back and forth of sweet vanilla and baking spices that goes on forever even after you drink it down. It's a fun change of pace from the standard Bourbon fare and a chance to really delve deep into the complexity that Bourbon can offer. There's a lot going on in this whiskey; perhaps more than you're really looking for. Each time I taste it I find something I didn't taste the previous time. It's almost like the Boigneires Armagnac equivalent; that's a brandy that cuts out all the sweetness and gets right down to the core flavor. It's the Bourbon version of that.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Seikyo "Omachi" Junmai Ginjo Sake 720ml
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 12/31/2014 | Send Email
  A real treat for sake lovers - a chance to try a sake made from the historic "Omachi" rice rather than the dominant "Yamada Nishiki" variety. Fat and spicy with hints of melon and grapefruit.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Tozai "Typhoon" Futsu Sake 720ml
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 12/31/2014 | Send Email
  Our best value futsu-shu. Soft, round and fruity. Delicious either chilled or gently warmed.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ichishima Tokubetsu Honjozo Sake 720ml
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 12/31/2014 | Send Email
  Hands down, one of the best values in our sake selection, and an excellent example of the Niigata style. So pure, so clean. Quite dry. It would do well paired with traditional sushi or any type of fresh seafood. I enjoyed it with our local Dungeness crab, and it really showed off the sweetness of the meat. Superb.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 12/31/2014 | Send Email
  The current disgorgement of the Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne is perhaps a little firmer, a little less open knit than previous bottlings. But the tradeoff is more focus, more purity, and more length. Quite dry, but with remarkable sweetness of fruit and a light toast that adds depth and character. The ideal New Year's Eve companion - complex enough to be interesting but not so serious as to dominate the conversation.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>