Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:   prev  1  2 3   next  >>
2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  Good California Pinot Noir under $20 is increasingly rare. Finding good California Pinot Noir for under $15 is like winning the lottery. And this 2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir is just the ticket. Ripe, sweet, almost candied red fruits – bright cherry and raspberry with just a hint of spice. Unbeatable quality at this price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  I will always have a soft spot for Sancerre. It was the first Loire Valley wine I discovered, leading me to eventually explore the entire region in all its vinous diversity. Unfortunately over the years prices on Sancerre have continued to rise. $20 to $30 per bottle is now typical. In order to keep prices low, we now have three different Sancerres that we import directly from France. The least expensive of these and the best value in my opinion is the 2013 Domaine Cherrier Père et Fils Sancerre at $16.99. This is classic Sancerre with ripe, tangy gooseberry and tart, fresh grapefruit notes. It is lively and fresh, and intensely mineral in expression with hints of fresh herbs like tarragon and savory. Try it with your favorite local goat cheese and a fresh sourdough baguette.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne (previously Cuvee Reserve)
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  "You had me at Meunier..." So rare to have a chance to enjoy Champagne that is 100% Pinot Meunier. As if that weren't enough, this is one of the few non-vintage cuvees we sell that is more than 50% reserve wine. Oh, and at less than $30 one of the best deals among our directly imported grower producer Champagnes. Still not sold on this one? Each bottle is sealed with genuine 16k gold foil. OK. That's not actually true. But everything else, you bet. What are you waiting for?
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  Always my favorite rosé champagne here at K&L. Drank it with Thanksgiving dinner this year. Quite dry with a pronounced red fruit character - crisp red apple and tart cherry. For die hard Pinot fans - 50/50 Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Kalinda "Cuvée Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/29/2014 | Send Email
  The quality of the vintage really shines through on this 2012 Kalinda Cuvee Reserve Willamette Valley Pinot Noir, a stunning collaboration between our domestic wine buying staff and the very talented folks at Trisaetum Winery in Oregon. Intriguingly floral on the nose with hints of earth and spice. Tons of ripe red and black fruits. Impressive weight and a rich, silky texture that you want to linger over. A superb effort and a terrific value at private label pricing.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Filippi "Castelcerino" Soave Colli Scaligeri
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/26/2014 | Send Email
  What a tremendously interesting white! Citrus, tart green apple, leesy richness, and a saline character that is a result of the volcanic soils in which the grapes are grown. Medium-plus quite zesty acidity. The length of this wine is significant--about 10 minutes after tasting, it was still lingering on my palate. A fabulous value--I am excited to give this a go with a cheese platter, roasted chicken or scallops!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Guy Saget "Marie de Beauregard" Vouvray
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 11/26/2014 | Send Email
  This is a really lovely off-dry Vouvray that has a bouquet of dried apricot, lemon blossom, honey and wet stone. On the palate, the wine is rich with mouth-watering acidity and a fine persistent finish. One sip just brings you back for another, and for this price a whole lot of wine.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2012 Mossio Dolcetto d'Alba "Piano Delli Perdoni"
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/26/2014 | Send Email
  Wow!!! This definitely gets THREE Stars from me, what a mouthful of wine. The elegant perfumes will entice you to want to jump into the glass; medium to full-bodied and very supple with overripe cherries, blackberries, bitter-sweet chocolate and lots on minerals with soft tannins. This wine has such great structure it will stand the test of time; the big problem will be keeping enough around to age it. Thinking risotto dishes or a grilled Portobello mushroom, but honestly I am actually drinking this one with some dried cheese & salami.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Savage "White" Western Cape
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  As I said in the Savage Red review, Duncan Savage is making stunning Sauvignon Blanc at Cape Point Vineyards and this wine is singing! Made from a barrel fermented blend of 60% Sauvignon Blanc and 40% Semillon, the bouquet offers notes of lanolin, honeysuckle, kumquat, a hint of tangerine peel and a light nutty character. On the palate, the wine is rich yet with a fine citric acid line and mineral accents that lead to a long finish. Gorgeous stuff...Bravo!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2011 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  This has to be one of the most intriguing whites I've tasted all year. Very complex on aromas--jasmine, yellow peach and bright citrus fruits up front; very elegant on the palate with a silky texture. Solid acidity to finish off and well balanced--makes me want to go back for more!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  Toasty warm aromas, full of vanilla, sweet tobacco and hints of dark chocolate. Definitely not shy, this bottle is full-bodied, with a strong tannin backbone, could age for a few more years and will pair amazingly with a grilled tomahawk chop!

2013 Guy Saget "Marie de Beauregard" Vouvray
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  Whoa! Simply gorgeous Vouvray! Honey, apricot, pear, citrus, mineral and zesty, fresh acid. A hint of sweetness with perfectly balanced acidity means this is a fabulous wine to pair with food. Bring on the winter sauces and game--we've got a white contender! If you loved last year's vintage of this wine, trust me, you're going to go nuts for this one!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2012 Filippi "Castelcerino" Soave Colli Scaligeri
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is an incredible wine, grown in volcanic soil and partially macerated on the skins. That skin contact adds a tremendous flavor boost, like Granny Smith apple skins on steroids, yet balance with superb acidity and minerality. The wine has weight, complexity, intense flavors and a sensational finish. Long, powerful and something you won't soon forget. Have it with grilled sea bass or lobster, it's an experience.
Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Filippi "Castelcerino" Soave Colli Scaligeri
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  Serious Soave! With some skin contact this bottle really brings in the body and character! Rich honey and floral notes with a grippy mouthfeel, good acidity and a solid finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Savage "Red" Western Cape
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  Winemaker Duncan Savage has been making stunning Sauvignon Blanc at Cape Point Vineyards since 2002, and in 2011 decided to make wines under his own name. I was fortunate to have lunch with him at his home (sorry Neil Martin, the surf must have been flat that day!...see white wine review.) a few years ago and his talent was clearly undeniable. Well, apparently he knows his way around red wines as well. The Savage Red has a traditional Southern Rhone feel with earthy mineral notes combining with raspberry, boysenberry, coco powder, clove, white pepper and some meaty "savage" accents. On the palate, there is good acid balance with a fine grained tannin structure that will reward 3-5 years in the cellar, or decant for an hour or two.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 95 BC 0

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  After an initial bit of bottle shock upon release this wine has finally come into balance! If you are a fan of Bordeaux or California Cabernet this wine is more similar to them than other Italian Bordeaux blends. The nose if full of blackberry, currant with hints of vanilla and on the palate the 70% Cabernet Sauvignon 25% Merlot and 5% Petit Verdot blend gives a powerful impression. Layers of fruit, spice, and earth with a smooth and supple texture give this wine a balanced, long but luscious finish. Aged for 18 months in 80% new French oak barriques this wine can surely age for another decade plus but is still very drinkable now.
Drink from 2014 to 2024

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/25/2014 | Send Email
  Full-bodied, with well-integrated tannins and a long, balanced, dark chocolate-tinged finish. Lots of toasted oak and ripe fruit and loads of black fruit, gamy with some hints of vanilla, Giorgio Primo comes from winemaker Giampaolo Motta.

2012 Savage "Red" Western Cape
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 11/24/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Finely honed flavors and textures all intricately strung out with lovely acidity and silky long tannin chains. This truly reminds me of the glory days of Châteauneuf-du-Pape before high alcohol and new oak took its toll on many of those wines. This wine is about allowing every part of this complex symphony of grape varieties play its part. No one element is trying to out-play the other. Balance, poise and perfect synthesis is at the heart of this wine. Delicious now, but I can't wait to see where is goes with some time in bottle. Intriguing wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 95 BC 0

2010 Viticcio Chianti Classico Riserva
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/24/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This wine took me by surprise but it needed an equipment change suggested by my dining companion to fulfill its promise. It being Sangiovese-based, I went to my tried-and-true Chianti/Zin glass but this wine struggled--it was tannic and awkward. But switching to a Cabernet/Bordeaux glass opened up this wine's depth and smoothed out the tannins. Layers of spice, dark fruit and leather just flow from the glass and on the palate; the richness and concentrated character adds real length and concentration. Drinking well now, but still capable of aging another decade! Try it with a grilled rib-eye drizzled with extra virgin olive oil.
Drink from 2014 to 2022

2010 Mercedes Eguren Cabernet Sauvignon Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 11/24/2014 | Send Email
  Simply put, the best value Cabernet for this holiday season. Juicy, fruity and easy-drinking, this is a great choice for holiday parties or to have at home as your everyday Cabernet! Who said you can't find a good bottle of Cabernet for under 10 bucks?
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/23/2014 | Send Email
  An excellent NZ Riesling with a gold straw color. Its musky, apricot nose gives way to a generous body of sharp stone fruit, white flower, and honey flavors.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/23/2014 | Send Email
  A rich nose of earth and raspberry gives way to red fruit and fig flavors. This Marlborough beauty has many layers of fruit complexity and reminds me of an elegant Sonoma Pinot from the best of vintages, albeit a little more racy and edgy than most domestic Pinots can get.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Morrison Vineyard" Pinot Noir Lowburn Central Otago
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/23/2014 | Send Email
  Any fan of Pinot will love this bottle--it's one of the more well-rounded and delicious Pinots we've brought in from NZ. A light body of blackberry fruit notes is held up by subtle cinnamon and leather flavors. The finish is very long, full of the understated earthy tones one expects from a real Pinot of this caliber.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/23/2014 | Send Email
  Bright crunchy red fruit--cranberry, cherry and strawberry with medium-plus acidity. Zippy acid and fleshy fruit make this Pinot hard not to love!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 95 JS 95

2013 Savage "White" Western Cape
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 11/22/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Very skillfully crafted wine. Containing elements of both subtle minerality and textural power / intensity. As good as this is now, I suspect it will age like great white Bordeaux. Very serious wine of depth and intensity.
Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2007 Reinhold Haart Piesporter Goldtröpfchen Riesling Spätlese
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 11/21/2014 | Send Email
  What an impressive Riesling! It’s starting to come into its age by developing beautiful aromatics of petrol, honey, and orange blossom. While it does have the typical light body of the Mosel, it’s light without being thin and shows richness and complexity. The palate provide bright acidity, lemon zest, nectarine and white peach notes. This medium-sweet style can be admired on its own or paired exceptionally with spicy foods or dessert.

2012 Zepaltas "Clay Wheels" Rhone Blend
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  Former pro-skater Ryan Zepaltas really brings it with this juicy, drinkable red blend. Grenache, Syrah & Carignan. Plum, cherry, and currant with medium plus acidity. A fun wine for every day drinking!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Muirkirk Vineyard" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  Strawberry, thyme, red cherry, and rose leap out of this wine. Medium plus acidity with fine, easy tannin. Elegant and polished, a stunning example of Central Otago Bannockburn Pinot Noir. Love it!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  A sexy little find from our friends at Tongue & Groove, this wine shows black currant, red cherry, and cranberry with an underlying minerality, medium plus acidity and fine tannin. Beautifully balanced and elegant. Love it!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2012 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  The Tongue & Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling is a totally brilliant find! Apricot, citrus, mineral, slate with hints of botrytis. Medium plus acidity makes this wine so, so drinkable. Fabulous balance. A must for riesling-lovers everywhere!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Château Trillol Corbières
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  What an incredibly expressive nose! Crushed rose petals & smokey meaty wildness fly from the glass. The palate is full of dark, rich berries and savory forest floor. Incredible wine for less than $15.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  This one is the more earthy of the two tongue in groove pinots we're offering. The bright red fruit here is complemented by noticeable leather and dark cherry with a dark underbelly of minerality.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 95 JS 95

2013 Brewer-Clifton/K&L Wine Merchants "B-C. Kessler-Haak Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  Succulent and seamless, this Pinot is silky & rich with ripe red berries and soft savory earth. The finish is long, lingering and mouthwatering.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay Pays d'Oc
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  This is a killer Chardonnay for $10.99. It's unconventional and delicious! This is full of ripe stone fruit, fresh tropical notes and is wonderfully dry. It's a fantastic choice for your holiday gatherings!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

2010 Ostler "Caroline's" Pinot Noir Waitaki Valley North Otago
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  If any one Pinot Noir makes a statement that New Zealand has joined the ranks of great Pinot producers of the world, this incredible Gem from Ostler is it! Deeply colored, the high profiled, profound aromatics of dried rose petals, raspberry, black cherry, and spices fruit characteristics with distinctive undertones of slate-like minerality, and meaty notes, all of which carries over nicely in the mouth. It is deeply complex, broad and viscous, well-integrated and wonderfully balanced, has great structure, acid backbone and excellent mid-range, yet is lush, rich, and beautifully focused with a finish that seems to go on and on. This is an amazing Gem, and Rusty has told me that we need at least a case of this in our collection. This lovely Pinot should easily age and get better for the next five to ten years, although I think once you taste it, you will find it very difficult to keep your hands off of it. In any case, you should not miss this Gem and need to buy it in quantity. Also, Matt Kramer recently wrote glowingly about this great Pinot in one of his columns, equating it to a single vineyard production from a great vintage from Chambolle-Musigny, but he did not give it a score. So, I'll do that for him - 96 points! 13.5% ABV
Drink from 2014 to 2024

2012 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  I LOVE this Clayvin Vineyard Pinot! This wine is loaded with juicy dark cherry and currant, earthy forrest floor notes, backing spice and purple flowers. The fresh acidity balances out this wine and has enough structure to age well. It is delicious now, but I hope I will practice discipline and save some for about 5 years from now.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2013 Brewer-Clifton/K&L Wine Merchants "B-C. Kessler-Haak Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  Fans of Santa Rita Pinot Noir will love this wine. This unique blend from the Kessler Haak vineyard is loaded with red fruits, Asian spice and cola notes. The texture is lush and round in the mouth while the finish is supple and smooth. Even though this Pinot Noir is still very young it is drinking great right now and should develop even more complexity with some extra time in the bottle. A very cool wine to serve friends as it is a unique item that can only be found at K&L!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Ostler "Caroline's" Pinot Noir Waitaki Valley North Otago
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
  The 2010 Ostler shows a darker edge and more body than any other Pinot in this cool, limestone laced Northern region of Otago that I have ever had. The nose is lifted with notes of violets , herbs, dark plum, black cherry and a mineral note. On the palate the wine is rich with medium to full bodied weight supported by good acidity and structure with a rewarding long finish. Yet another reason the Pinot Noirs from Otago are gaining deserved recognition.

2013 Blason Friulano Isonzo
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/20/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Giovanni Blason is a dynamo. His small winery on the extreme eastern edge of Italy produces about 3,000 cases annually and Giovanni, with the help of his consulting enologist Andrea Rossi, is producing wines of outstanding quality for bargain prices. His wines have received high marks from Italian critics. I Friulano, this is the Friulian national drink I love the freshness this wine has, the crisp minerality, the hint of tarragon in the finish, lively and fresh on the palate. Sprightly and nicely acidic, it is also somehow creamy with peach and apricot notes and a hint of clover honey on the end. No oak here, thank you. It is so refreshing and sensationally balanced, crisp and refreshing. Enjoy it with sautéed red snapper, grilled vegetables or with some Frico! Frico is fried Montasio cheese that crisps up and is absolutely delicious! (Greg St Clair, K&L Italian buyer):
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2004 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/19/2014 | Send Email
  After almost 10 years in the bottle, this classic Bordeaux is starting to show some color development. Beautiful notes of cedar wood, currants and a touch of vanilla. The acidity is high (always a blessing in my book) and the tannins are still quite apparent. This wine is not about the fruit, rather about the intense peppery spices, and how good a pairing it would be with a nice cut of meat! Very good indeed.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Filippi "Castelcerino" Soave Colli Scaligeri
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/19/2014 | Send Email
  WOW! That's what several of us were saying at a staff tasting where this Soave was the first wine we tasted. Pure and fresh, this is a delicious dry white wine. Soave is one of Italy's most popular white wines, probably because the good ones like this are so smooth, light, and easy to drink. This wine comes from an area just east of Valpolicella and the grape is Garganega. A great sipper for your holiday brunches.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 11/19/2014 | Send Email
  If you like Pinot Noirs with more restrained fruit, then this Cabal/Smith Vineyard is a must try! The nose on this wine is very aromatic with pretty floral notes. There is a lot of pepper, herbs and minerality on the palate with soft fruits such as dark cherry and raspberry. The tannins are very polished and the long finish will have you reaching for more.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 95 JS 95

2012 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 11/19/2014 | Send Email
  This Tongue and Groove Riesling is a fun wine at a great price! It is a medium dry style Riesling brimming with stone fruits, honeysuckle, chalky acidity and zesty minerality. Enjoy!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 E. Guigal Châteauneuf-du-Pape
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  One of my go-to Chateauneuf-du-Papes, Guigal has been fashioning one of the most dependable and value-oriented Chateaneuf-du-Papes for as long as I can remember. The 2009 vintage in the Rhone Valley was a hot vintage and the 2009 Guigal Chateauneuf-du-Pape displays all the character of a warmer vintage with intense aromatics of marzipan, clove, grilled meat and cherry kirsch explode from the glass while the palate blends spicy cherry fruit, cranberry, red licorice and spice into a tightly-wound package. Dense and chewy this large-scaled offering is just beginning to open up and show all that it has to offer. This is shaping up to be one of the better Guigal Chateauneuf-du-Papes I have had.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2030

2009 E. Guigal Châteauneuf-du-Pape
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  Guigal is synonymous with the Rhone Valley. Consistently producing some of the region's best wines, their Chateauneuf is no exception. The 2009 CdP is decidedly old school, which is a very welcome expression. The nose has beautiful notes of Turkish coffee, roasted plums and spiced blackberries. The palate is loaded with even more exotic spices, marzipan and confiture of raspberries. This is finely balanced and expressive. This 2009 has that extra something that a lot of Chateauneuf has been lacking as of late - finesse! Ready to drink now with its polished tannins or worthy of laying away for a few years. Either way this is a terrific drink worthy of stocking up on.

2012 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  I've completely curbed my Burgundy spending in favor of our newest direct imports from New Zealand; specifically the Mount Edward wines. The cherry fruit is soft and pretty, the mixture of floral notes and baking spices in the estate selection enticing. Perfect balance of acidity. A fabulous Pinot Noir.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2013 Mount Edward Estate "Morrison Vineyard" Riesling Lowburn Central Otago
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  Hot deal. There's not much, so grab what we have. Petrol, minerality, stoney schist, serious Riesling.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Quarter Acre Viognier Hawke's Bay
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  Viognier isn't everyone's bag; it's definitely not mine. But this is just pure peaches and pears, not an ounce of overpowering perfume or flagrant floral notes. There's no sweetness either; instead just a crisp layer of acidity. I wish all Viognier tasted like this. Then it definitely would be my thing.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Quarter Acre Sauvignon Blanc Hawke's Bay
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
  This is a barrel-fermented Sauvignon Blanc and that wood influence makes a huge difference in the flavor of this wine. I'm not a big grassy, grapefruity NZ Sauv Blanc guy. I like the mineral-driven wines with leesy richness. The Quarter Acre is definitely in the latter group. This is a crisp, stony, acidity-driven SB with great weight and balance. The barrel influence just takes the edge off, rather than providing toasty oak or chardonnay flavors. It's like a high-end white Bordeaux but for a way better price.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/18/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Erik Banti’s Carato is a Mini Super Tuscan! It’s a blend of 75% Sangiovese, 15% Merlot and 10% Ciliegiolo aged for 10 months in oak barrels and is just delicious. The wine tastes like it should cost much more, full, smooth, flavorful with excellent balance. A K&L Direct Import that offers you extraordinary value, and at this price you will be saying--Wow!
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:   prev  1  2 3   next  >>